SiteGround reviews – Page 33

Please enable JavaScript to view chart

On average, SiteGround is recommended by users on our web site.

This statement was automatically generated by analyzing the reviews and ratings about the company.

See the metrics that we looked at
Page RelevancyFootnote 1 Very High
# of Reviews 392
# that Recommend 353
Very High
% that Recommend 90%
Very High
Overall RatingFootnote 2 90.4%
Very High
Review QualityFootnote 2 Footnote * 100%
Very High

If this host does not meet your expectations, please browse our search section to find one that does.

Switched from GoDaddy

I loved GoDaddy and used their Cpanel hosting for years, but after a unexplained change my site began to go down repeatedly and GoDaddy support could do nothing. All they could offer was a new site that I could manually transfer to. I contacted SiteGround and switched: they moved my site for free and troubleshot some post move CMS issues. Tech support is way more helpful and fast. Chat support is within 5 minutes and email is < 1 hour. They even provide CMS support and will login to your install to troubleshoot. My site is faster now and has never gone down. I also use their premium "HackAlert" scanner and standard "CloudFlare" CDN.

Biggest Pro: Tech support and site reliability is way better than GoDaddy
Biggest Con: Cpanel DNS, site auto update, and scheduled backup is not as easy as Godaddy

Why I will never deal with Siteground again

I hosted with Siteground for years. I hosted two domains with them, but needed to add a third domain. Their tech support recommended I upgrade from their "startup" plan to their "GrowBig" account for one of my domains, then add the other two domains as "add-on domains". I agreed, they charged me $178 to upgrade and moved the websites for me. This caused major problems with my email. I spent several days on their chat and filing support tickets trying to get things straightened out. It never did get straightened out. I even tried going back to my original hosting configuration and the email problems persisted. I finally got so exasperated, that I moved all three websites to a new hosting service and canceled my Siteground accounts. This was 3 weeks after the upgrade. When I heard nothing from Siteground about a refund of the $178, I tried to use both their chat line and their support ticket ssystem, but I could not access either because I had "no open hosting accounts". So, I called them and was told that since it was an "upgrade", there would be no refund. I will never deal with them again and caution others bout them.

Biggest Pro: uptime
Biggest Con: poor tech support and customer service

Response by Lilyana Yakimova, who is an employee of SiteGround:

Hello George,
We are sorry that you have decided to cancel your hosting account. From our records we see that the missing email folders issue would have been most probably resolved by simply re-subscribing to the desired folders. Unfortunately 2 days after the upgrade, you decided to go back to the lower plan, without testing this option. After that you contacted for assistance only our Customer Care team via chat, but did not follow their instructions to contact our Advanced technical team again.
Indeed, after a customer cancels their account, they no longer have access to the help desk system for tickets. Yet our team is available to answer any hosting-related questions via phone and chat - they is always the option to contact us as non-customer.
On your request for refund - although we have a no refund policy on upgrades or extra services different than hosting, we have made an exception and refunded the money for the upgrade on the services you did not use with us.

Posted on March 14th, 2016 at 10:20 EST

Good Hardware, Good Support, Shady Billing Practices

My Major complaint are their billing practices. They bill 5-days in advance of renewal date. I got my bill receipt and decided to downgrade my plan 4-days in advance of renewal start date and one day after paying. Downgrade was from $160/month to $80/month. Despite my actual renewal date not taking effect yet; they said I would lose my $80 difference! That's called stealing for services not rendered. I threatened to switch hosting companies and they gave me the $80 credit for next month. You should not have to fight with your Vendors to get what is right. This is not the first time I have clashed with their business practices. I like their platform for hosting, but for the premium they charge you think they would focus on the customer enjoying the business relationship. I do not!

Biggest Pro: Great Hardware Platform
Biggest Con: Shady Billing Practices

Terrible for email - avoid them

Their email is flaky at best, and at times terrible. I’ve had no end of trouble, not least that my sites keep going down because of too many open IMAP connections.

If you need more than one email address, or more than one client (eg a phone and a desktop and a laptop) you will quickly have too many IMAP requests. They offer technical solutions, none of which work and they refuse to take any responsibility. They fob you off. So your email doesn’t work and your sites are down.

They recommended I switch from a £6 a month scheme to one that costs £36 in order to get decent email. That’s bait and switch if you ask me.

I'm having to move all my email somewhere else because they can't be trusted with it. Don't sign up with these people.

Biggest Pro: Polite
Biggest Con: Dishonest marketing, terrible email services

Response by Lilyana Yakimova, who is an employee of SiteGround:

Hello Simon, we understand the inconvenience this situation is causing you, but please keep in mind that the server on which your account is hosted is a shared one. As a result, all of the accounts in the shared environment are using their fair share of the server's resources (20 simultaneous connections on this specific plan). In your case up to 4 times more connections were used by your local email client, a situation which is very rare among our other customers. This is why until now there hasn't been a need for the global limits for the server to be increased. Our techs have tried to assist you as good as possible considering that they have no access to your local email clients. Since you did not find the rest of their suggestions (switch to an alternative email client) suitable for your case, the only other option would be an upgrade to a higher one.

Posted on February 28th, 2016 at 14:02 EST

Still going strong

Still going strong with SG. Haven't had any issues so far but having moved on of my hosting to Google Apps for Business, the SG support team assisted me with email issues I was having. The support was dedicated and have knowledge in what they were doing. Really impressed with them. Keep up the good work

Previous reviews by PV

The information below is no longer valid because the user has posted a follow-up review above.

Read other entries by this user:

Nuff said

Looking for good hosting ? Look no further. SG IS the hosting for you. No, I'm not doing any marketing for them but I have very happy with them. After sitting with my old host for so many years pondering where to go next, I ran into SG. It took me a month to sign up, i did a lot of reading and research and they were the only host to come back with a rating of 9 / 9.9 / 10 on most review sites. So I signed up and there I am. All problems solved. They migrated all my sites from my old host (complete CPANEL). I'm as happy as pig in sh*t but meh. I can't complain. I will not go into details, but I would highly recommend these guys.
Keep up the good work you guys.

By PV on April 17th, 2015 at 14:44 EST
URL: [Hidden but verified] Customer for 3 - 5 months
Plan: Shared | Platform: Linux | Email: [Logged]

Was this review helpful?
1 person voted yes

Willing to Help...Will help...Very supportive.

Siteground is Awesome. They are so helpful and try their best. They are very supportive with SE PHP. Unique feature is that their shared hosting supports memcache and optimization unlike most other hosting. Recently I had issue with memcache stability. Here was their solution:
“Furthermore, I have read your ticket history and as far as I understood the issue that you are experiencing is with the memcached server. I have noticed that once the memcached cache is flushed, the issue is resolved. This is why I have suggested to upgrade to a cloud server, where we could set a cron job to flush the cache frequently.

Still, I have searched on the Internet for similar issues and I have found a work-around in this case. I have set a cron job for your account that will run every hour on the hour and will open a telnet connection on the memcached port to flush the cache.

You could change the frequency at which the cron job will be executed through cPanel –> Cron Jobs. Keep in mind that according to our Terms of Use, a cron job could not be executed more than once for a period of thirty minutes on our shared servers.”

You won’t get awesome service like this with other shared host providers.

Keep up the great work Siteground!

Siteground support.

Siteground has provided me with excellent service & support since I first started with them many years ago.

I have used Siteground's support numerous times as I am an older user & find at times things don't work out.

Support from Siteground is provided quickly. I use the email ticket support as I cannot type fast enough to use the
online support.

Nothing has been a problem for Siteground downloading & activating shopping carts, help with SSL etc.

Biggest Pro: Sitegoround always slolves the problem promptly.

Previous reviews by Phil Seghers

The information below is no longer valid because the user has posted a follow-up review above.

Read other entries by this user:

Ultimate support from Siteground Web Hosting

Being over 70yrs of age I find siteground to be number1 with the support siteground supply.

The staff at siteground have been patient & precise with the support supplied to me.

Support issues have been dealt with quickly & back & forth information flow is not delayed.

I would definitely reccomend Siteground to any friend requiring hosting.

Phil Seghers

By Phil Seghers on December 27th, 2013 at 00:25 EST
URL: Customer for More than 5 years
Plan: Shared | Platform: Linux | Email: [Logged]

Was this review helpful?
1 person voted yes

Great support.

Hi there,

Being over 70yrs of age & not web enlightened I have found Siteground great to host my site.
Nothing is a problem to Siteground, when it comes to answering my questions which must sound simple to them but difficult to me.

Response time on support tickets is second to none, usually only one answer is required to solve my problem.
Activations carried out by Siteground happen promptly.
I don't hesitate to recommend Siteground to all my friends.


By Phil Seghers on June 26th, 2013 at 21:02 EST
URL: Customer for More than 5 years
Plan: Shared | Platform: Linux | Email: [Logged]

Was this review helpful?
1 person voted yes

Terrible company to leave

Site ground lied on what their reps could offer and basically made it impossible for me to leave without a ton of extra charges and headaches. Their reps would promise one thing and then not follow through. They conveniently couldn't find a chat where a rep promised me something and then they didn't have to honor it.

Beware of the good rating - when I chatted with them for a quick question, I always was asked to rate them and give feedback. However, when I had an issue that they did not resolve or wouldn't help with, they never asked for a rating. This completely skews the numbers and makes them look great on paper.

This company is not customer centered. All they care about is their bottom line.

Biggest Con: Trick you into extra charges

The are willing to help but don't really do much to help.

I have a real nightmare right now. All my email on many computers with several URLs stopped working after Siteground did an upgrade of their severs. They claim it is my settings but I never changed them on any of the these computers or URLs. Even my I-phone email which I use them for stopped working. It's insane to assume it is on my side that is the problem. They respond quickly to every issue but send the same response that simply does not work. I am so frustrated that I fear I will have to change all of my URL hosting and my web hosting away from them and that is a real headache. I have no other complaints with their hosting but this is a deal killer. It does seem that given all the email complaints on this and other sites that they simply do not have control of that element and potential customers need to think about that before hosting with them.

Inexpensive but quality host

I used to bounce around trying to find a host that pretended to give a **** about their customers. I ran across site ground. They have a very good understanding of what is needed and trending. Support is very good. I am very happy with their service and prices.

Biggest Pro: Site up 100% since I have been with them
Biggest Con: None so far

Previous reviews by Leland Faber

The information below is no longer valid because the user has posted a follow-up review above.

Read other entries by this user:

What's the Beef??

I have been with sightground after trying GoDaddy and a few of the others. Sure you have to pay of some services. It's a business for Gods Sake. Do you expect everything in the world to be free just because the stupid government wants it that way?
I have had an opensource site for four years and am upgrading to a later edition. Siteground has been very good at installing the scripting I don't have the knowledge to do myself. When I got shutdown for being hacked, of course the wanted paid to clean up the mess and secure it, but on request, they gave me all the info I neede to clean it up myself.
I have been much happier with their service than any of the other hosts tried prior to them.
I haven't tried to cancel so I can't speak on that subject. I am sure there are som legitimat complaints, but probably from people who expect something for nothing or don't have the knowledge on how to ask for help. Just whine.

By Leland Faber on October 3rd, 2013 at 11:15 EST
URL: [Hidden but verified] Customer for 3 - 5 years
Plan: Shared | Platform: Linux | Email: [Logged]

Was this review helpful?
1 person voted yes

Siteground is Awsome

I have had a website so long than when I would Google my site, my site name was "it". All instances such as .net,;org etc., were still open for purchase. I have gone through a lot of hosts over the years, but when I landed on Siteground, that was it. I stayed. They have a great support team and 100 percent up time for my site. Even though it is a shared server, I have never had any trouble until I recently got hacked. Their team was there for me through the dozens of "Tickets" to resolve the problem. I could write a book on their quality and professionalism .Needless to say, I am one happy camper....

By Leland Faber on April 2nd, 2013 at 15:11 EST
URL: Customer for 3 - 5 years
Plan: Shared | Platform: OS commerce | Email: [Logged]

Was this review helpful?
1 person voted yes

SiteGround Offer

Visit SiteGround
  • Filters (Advanced)


    Only show reviews for:

    Selecting a filter will display only the reviews that match the filter. The rating averages at the top of the page will also change. Use if you want to severely limit the information visible to you.

  • More Options

    More Options


Support our work: We earn a referral fee when you sign-up with some of the hosts listed on the site.

25 years operating About us

© 1999-2024 User Reviews Inc. Address: 1405-100 Boteler Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8Y1. Terms of Use & Privacy Policy