Search

SiteGround reviews [Updated: September 2019]

Please enable JavaScript to view chart

On average, SiteGround appears to be viewed with caution by users on our web site.

This statement was automatically generated by analyzing the reviews and ratings about the company.

See the metrics that we looked at
Page RelevancyFootnote 1 Very High
# of Reviews 77
# that Recommend 39
Low
% that Recommend 51%
Low
Overall RatingFootnote 2 58.2%
Low
Review QualityFootnote 2 Footnote * 100%
Very High

If this host does not meet your expectations, please browse our search section to find one that does.

Worth the money

I have been using SiteGround for last 2 years and had a very few issues during this time. The issue I faced were minor and they fixed them immediately.

And, I must appreciate their customer support. Very professional and helpful. I was having issue with setting up my email and the CSR walk me through the whole process which last for more than 30 minutes. I got very quick response from them.

Also, they developed a plugin for WordPress which works like charm! Which call SG Optimizer. If you are using WordPress and SiteGround then it will significantly improve your site load speed. My load time improved from 7 second to 3 second when I starting using their plugin.

The problem I face sometimes is internal server error. I believe that happen most when the internet speed is slow. I think they should work on improving this issue. Many other hosting works fine in this situation. But this issue of SiteGround could lead to bad user experience.

But the sudden raise of fees after the first year could be confusing for the new people. Which could be 3X time more than the first year fees. Still, I like their service and will definitely recommend to anyone who is just starting a website or have decent amount of traffic.

Biggest Pro: Affortable price and very good uptime

The Best Company for Hosting

Siteground performance is very efficient as I have witnessed in the last 14 months. My website has had an average uptime of 100% and my website visitors have been having an easy time accessing my content. The page load time was quite fast , earlier on I had used other hosting companies whose load time was quite low but as for Siteground it has never disappointed me on this one.

My Customer care experience with the staff was impeccable. I contacted their customer care team over the phone and also via chat support, they handled me with a a lot of professionalism which I really enjoyed. The team is both courteous and knowledgeable with the technical know how. I really didn't have any information on how to setup a website on their cpanel but they quickly guided and taught me on how to upload webpages. It was was a great encounter.

Also, Siteground offered a 30-Day money back guarantee to all shared hosting plan, or 15-Day refund for VPS, cloud, or dedicated hosting plans. This gave me an assurance that I could receive my hard-earned money back if I could not be satisfied with their services. I was also happy with their free SSL and CDN from cloudflare, this made my visitor gain trust in my website and It went a long way in improving my search engine ranks.

Biggest Pro: From my personal exprience Siteground is has been the best for website performance, webpage load time, and technical support.
Biggest Con: Its has high renewal rates and its quite pricey for setup fee which is billed monthly.

Another good Hosting provider.

When I plan to start my new Dropshiping and affiliate blog one thing that I had to decide very carefully was choosing the best Hosting provider for me. Because we know page speed is an important thing for good user experiences. So I make a list of good hosting provider and short them by a few parameters like uptime, Server connection speed, and price. Then I decide to go with SiteGround.

So it's about 9 months I am using SiteGround for hosting my website and happy to say that I'm pretty happy with this provider. Honestly, I already use a few other hosting providing companies and, for some way SiteGround is one of the best that I use before. They have free SSL for 1 year too.

As I'm getting good results with this provider so I move a few other websites to this account and I got improvements on page loading time. And last 9 month I did not get any downtime and there is no connection issue for me. So happy with this part.

But 2 month ago I got some human error and my developer makes some mistake and deletes all of my data from hosting and I did not get the chance to recover the data through Cpanel. As I had the backup copy into my computer so immediately I did recover the lost without contacting to SiteGround support.

One feedback from one of my friends helps me to stay safe and recover my problem first. My friends say that he also get this type of issue and unfortunately there was no backup so he contacts to support and they ask a big ($$$) amount of money for the backup.

Overall I am happy with SiteGround.

Biggest Pro: Better server and connection speed.
Biggest Con: Price a bit high then other.

Very happy with service and support

I have 30+ active websites on SiteGround.

The most impressive aspect is their Customer Service. Usually, I can get on chat in under 60 seconds. If I create a support ticket, a response comes in minutes.

Yes, sometimes things get complicated and things can take a bit longer, but for the most part, things are very fast and easy to handle.

The fabulous service/support makes any potential difference in pricing meaningless.

Recommended! There is a reason they have 300,000+ users and a top rating.

Biggest Pro: Support
Biggest Con: Issues when your site(s) gets overwhelmed.

Siteground Has Killed My Site

Siteground is a truly terrible company and it has ruined our site, lost our emails and lost many posts.

Siteground has also actually caused problems as when it fixes one thing it messes up others
Siteground has been completely incompetent and has tried really hard not to help us.
Siteground was dishonest when we asked questions before moving - what they said they could do they cannot
They have reset the site to a previous time and thrown away dozens of hours worth of work - WITHOUT PERMISSION
Siteground speed is dreadful - it took us hours to get them to admit it - we can speed test
Siteground have damaged our business, damaged our credibility and lost us money.

This is a dreadful company that does not even try to help - the operatives also seem to have a collective IQ of 9 and English is very much a second language - so if English is the language of your business and of you - DO NOT USE SITEGROUND - IT WILL BE A MASSIVE MISTAKE

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: Everything

Switched from GoDaddy

I loved GoDaddy and used their Cpanel hosting for years, but after a unexplained change my site began to go down repeatedly and GoDaddy support could do nothing. All they could offer was a new site that I could manually transfer to. I contacted SiteGround and switched: they moved my site for free and troubleshot some post move CMS issues. Tech support is way more helpful and fast. Chat support is within 5 minutes and email is < 1 hour. They even provide CMS support and will login to your install to troubleshoot. My site is faster now and has never gone down. I also use their premium "HackAlert" scanner and standard "CloudFlare" CDN.

Biggest Pro: Tech support and site reliability is way better than GoDaddy
Biggest Con: Cpanel DNS, site auto update, and scheduled backup is not as easy as Godaddy

Why I will never deal with Siteground again

I hosted with Siteground for years. I hosted two domains with them, but needed to add a third domain. Their tech support recommended I upgrade from their "startup" plan to their "GrowBig" account for one of my domains, then add the other two domains as "add-on domains". I agreed, they charged me $178 to upgrade and moved the websites for me. This caused major problems with my email. I spent several days on their chat and filing support tickets trying to get things straightened out. It never did get straightened out. I even tried going back to my original hosting configuration and the email problems persisted. I finally got so exasperated, that I moved all three websites to a new hosting service and canceled my Siteground accounts. This was 3 weeks after the upgrade. When I heard nothing from Siteground about a refund of the $178, I tried to use both their chat line and their support ticket ssystem, but I could not access either because I had "no open hosting accounts". So, I called them and was told that since it was an "upgrade", there would be no refund. I will never deal with them again and caution others bout them.

Biggest Pro: uptime
Biggest Con: poor tech support and customer service

Response by Lilyana Yakimova, who is an employee of SiteGround:

Hello George,
We are sorry that you have decided to cancel your hosting account. From our records we see that the missing email folders issue would have been most probably resolved by simply re-subscribing to the desired folders. Unfortunately 2 days after the upgrade, you decided to go back to the lower plan, without testing this option. After that you contacted for assistance only our Customer Care team via chat, but did not follow their instructions to contact our Advanced technical team again.
Indeed, after a customer cancels their account, they no longer have access to the help desk system for tickets. Yet our team is available to answer any hosting-related questions via phone and chat - they is always the option to contact us as non-customer.
On your request for refund - although we have a no refund policy on upgrades or extra services different than hosting, we have made an exception and refunded the money for the upgrade on the services you did not use with us.

Posted on March 14th, 2016 at 10:20 EST

Good Hardware, Good Support, Shady Billing Practices

My Major complaint are their billing practices. They bill 5-days in advance of renewal date. I got my bill receipt and decided to downgrade my plan 4-days in advance of renewal start date and one day after paying. Downgrade was from $160/month to $80/month. Despite my actual renewal date not taking effect yet; they said I would lose my $80 difference! That's called stealing for services not rendered. I threatened to switch hosting companies and they gave me the $80 credit for next month. You should not have to fight with your Vendors to get what is right. This is not the first time I have clashed with their business practices. I like their platform for hosting, but for the premium they charge you think they would focus on the customer enjoying the business relationship. I do not!

Biggest Pro: Great Hardware Platform
Biggest Con: Shady Billing Practices

Terrible for email - avoid them

Their email is flaky at best, and at times terrible. I’ve had no end of trouble, not least that my sites keep going down because of too many open IMAP connections.

If you need more than one email address, or more than one client (eg a phone and a desktop and a laptop) you will quickly have too many IMAP requests. They offer technical solutions, none of which work and they refuse to take any responsibility. They fob you off. So your email doesn’t work and your sites are down.

They recommended I switch from a £6 a month scheme to one that costs £36 in order to get decent email. That’s bait and switch if you ask me.

I'm having to move all my email somewhere else because they can't be trusted with it. Don't sign up with these people.

Biggest Pro: Polite
Biggest Con: Dishonest marketing, terrible email services

Response by Lilyana Yakimova, who is an employee of SiteGround:

Hello Simon, we understand the inconvenience this situation is causing you, but please keep in mind that the server on which your account is hosted is a shared one. As a result, all of the accounts in the shared environment are using their fair share of the server's resources (20 simultaneous connections on this specific plan). In your case up to 4 times more connections were used by your local email client, a situation which is very rare among our other customers. This is why until now there hasn't been a need for the global limits for the server to be increased. Our techs have tried to assist you as good as possible considering that they have no access to your local email clients. Since you did not find the rest of their suggestions (switch to an alternative email client) suitable for your case, the only other option would be an upgrade to a higher one.

Posted on February 28th, 2016 at 14:02 EST

Still going strong

Still going strong with SG. Haven't had any issues so far but having moved on of my hosting to Google Apps for Business, the SG support team assisted me with email issues I was having. The support was dedicated and have knowledge in what they were doing. Really impressed with them. Keep up the good work

Previous reviews by PV

The information below is no longer valid because the user has posted a follow-up review above.

Read other entries by this user:

Nuff said

Looking for good hosting ? Look no further. SG IS the hosting for you. No, I'm not doing any marketing for them but I have very happy with them. After sitting with my old host for so many years pondering where to go next, I ran into SG. It took me a month to sign up, i did a lot of reading and research and they were the only host to come back with a rating of 9 / 9.9 / 10 on most review sites. So I signed up and there I am. All problems solved. They migrated all my sites from my old host (complete CPANEL). I'm as happy as pig in sh*t but meh. I can't complain. I will not go into details, but I would highly recommend these guys.
Keep up the good work you guys.

By PV on April 17th, 2015 at 14:44 EST
URL: [Hidden but verified] Customer for 3 - 5 months
Plan: Shared | Platform: Linux | Email: [Logged]

Was this review helpful?
1 person voted yes

{host_name} Alternatives

Host Gator – {host_reviews2} reviews

Overall: {host_score2}/10

KnownHost – {host_reviews3} reviews

Overall: {host_score3}/10

Visit SiteGround
  • Filters (Advanced)

    Filters

    Only show reviews for:

    Selecting a filter will display only the reviews that match the filter. The rating averages at the top of the page will also change. Use if you want to severely limit the information visible to you.


  • More Options

    More Options

     first
     entries
Date modified:

Support our work: We earn a referral fee when you sign-up with some of the hosts listed on the site.

20 years operating About us

© 1999-2019 User Reviews Inc. Address: L0070-323 Coventry Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 3X6. Terms of Use & Privacy Policy