Search

InMotion Hosting reviews – Page 2

Please enable JavaScript to view chart

On average, InMotion Hosting is recommended by users on our web site.

This statement was automatically generated by analyzing the reviews and ratings about the company.

See the metrics that we looked at
Page RelevancyFootnote 1 Very High
# of Reviews 139
# that Recommend 122
Very High
% that Recommend 88%
Very High
Overall RatingFootnote 2 91%
Very High
Review QualityFootnote 2 Footnote * 100%
Very High

If this host does not meet your expectations, please browse our search section to find one that does.

False Advertising!!

They don't have very good tech support. Don't give solution to a problem but you get email that says "Your request to cancel the.... has been received" when I didn't cancel anything! They cancelled my request for support.

The advertising of Satisfaction Guarantee & We transfer you for FREE! GET UP TO 30 FREE cPanel Account Transfers. Not True!!! There are Hidden Fees. You don't get 100% money back either.

After 2 months of testing had to finally put the relationship to an end. Too bad as they had really good features.

Biggest Pro: Features
Biggest Con: Not very good tech support, charge you for everything.

Only the Trouble with Changing Made Me Renew

InMotion Hosting remains, in my opinion, a low-cost Web host with a decent platform as long as you never need any additional support. They claim their support is totally U.S. based, although some recent exchanges have left me wondering given the difficulties in communicating in the English language.

When you do need support, expect to reiterate your needs several times before you get through the automatic, read a few words and press what you think is the correct F key to send a boilerplate response. I have come to expect this from off-shore support but have been disappointed to see it with InMotion's allegedly U.S. support.

The biggest problem I have had is that things that with other hosts work a certain way, don't always seem to on the InMotion platform. For example, in creating white or black lists most hosts allow you to use either a specific email address or block everything from a domain with an @[domain name]. InMotion requires a wild card as well. Simple, but confusing if you miss that on an explanation somewhere. Another concern is the lack of follow-up. I have found it typical to get an email saying support is escalating a problem to the Support Supervisor Department and then hear nothing further.

InMotion, in my opinion, is best suited for two types of users: 1) Very basic needs who never use any of the more advanced features; or 2) Power users who can figure out workarounds without getting bogged down in multiple exchanges.

Biggest Pro: Cheap
Biggest Con: You Get What You Pay For

Previous reviews by Charles Anderson

The information below is no longer valid because the user has posted a follow-up review above.

WebHostingReviews Only Posts Positive Reviews of This Company

I don't know why you continue to ask me to post reviews of InMotionHosting every six months. I have pointed out that except for one review in September 2015, all the other laudatory reviews are at least four years old. In my experience tech/customer support has deteriorated sadly since then. However, none of my negative reviews has ever appeared. Even the link you sent me in an email doesn't lead to my last review. The best t

The only reason I am still a customer is that because of family matters time ran out on me to research and find a better company and I had to renew. I almost immediately regretted it with the first problem I had that generated numerous email exchanges because like to many outsourced support, the agents do not read carefully a customers issue.

So, this is largely a waste of time on my part. How about just not asking me anymore to update my review?.

By C. Anderson on March 7th, 2016 at 21:22 EST
URL: [Hidden but verified] Customer for 1 - 2 years
Plan: Shared | Platform: Linux | Email: [Logged]

Was this review helpful?
1 person voted yes

No Change--Still Cheap--Good if Everything Works

I notice the most recent reviews are from 2012 when this company was still small and support was excellent. I also notice my last review of InMotion Hosting six months ago was never posted, which makes me wonder if WebHostingReviews.com only publishes very positive reviews.

I do not know why I am bothering in that case so I will just say this host is fine if nothing goes wrong. Because it is cheap you get what you pay for in the way of Customer Support, which is often problematic.

By Librarian on October 28th, 2015 at 11:33 EST
URL: [Hidden but verified] Customer for 6 - 11 months
Plan: Shared | Platform: Linux | Email: [Logged]

Was this review helpful?
1 person voted yes

InMotion Seems a Victim of Their Own Success

As you consider this review, note that the most recent review (one of many glowing reviews) is dated Mary 16, 2012. After six months with inMotion Hosting, I cannot in good conscience give this company such outstanding reviews.

In looking at how the customer service has changed at inMotion, I see a typical progression from a small company with few staff giving great service. As the company grows, and at least in part based on these reviews, the company expands. Customer support staffing lags behind support needs probably due to cash flow. Within a finite amount of time, the company becomes a victim of their own success. Customer support worsens, wait time becomes longer, the evil desire to outsource support becomes attractive. For one of the best examples, look at Dell Computing!

Their web hosting uptime, with the exception of recurrent email issues, is generally outstanding. From this aspect, it is a great host. They have posted on their web site fine tutorials. If you have problems, then you are going to be disappointed. The first problem you encounter is getting someone to talk to you or chat because of a complicated security verification routine.

If you want to use a Chat session for support, which I recommend because it gives you a transcript, you log on to your secure account with user name and password in their Account Management Panel. When you click on “Support Chat,” you are prompted for basic identification again: name, email, domain, what department you need and you question. Before an agent will talk to you will be asked for your log on password or the last four digits of the credit card you used to register. If you do not like entering your password again, particularly if you have a lengthy random one, then you must remember which credit card you used to register. The same thing happens if you telephone support directly. I find this annoying because you cannot get to this section without already have verified your identity.

As the support staff has increased, and staff training becomes more difficult and time-consuming, you begin to see typical boilerplate response based on a partial reading of your question. This leads to endless back-and-forth in chat or rounds of email exchanges if you use that method for support. For example, you might have a simple question about an inMotion policy. You probably will get first a link to a site that might help (but probably won’t because the agent misunderstood your question, followed by their most used phrase: “If you need us to change anything or give you any personal information, please verify the account with either the current Account Management Panel (AMP) password or the last 4 digits of the credit card we have on file.” Even if you do not want to do either of these things, the agent will not talk with you further unless you comply.

Most annoying are the recurrent email problems, both with direct POP and Webmail. Their Webmail, most useful when traveling, seems to have problems keeping your password in the database. One agent told me that some sort of refreshing that went on at times causes the password to be dropped. For business people, access to Webmail is critical. In the past few months, they seem to be having many problems with perfectly good email providers being blacklisted.

If the Customer Support matched the uptime record, inMotion would be a great company. If there is no improvement over the next six months of my contract, I will be strongly tempted to drop them out of frustration at the difficulties of getting help when it really is critical.

By Charles on September 7th, 2015 at 16:43 EST
URL: [Hidden but verified] Customer for 6 - 11 months
Plan: Shared | Platform: Linux | Email: [Logged]

Was this review helpful?
1 person voted yes

Always Check the Currency of Very Positive or Negative Reviews

This Web host has a 99.46% positive rating here. However, the most recent review dates from 5/16/2012. My experience so far, with a few exceptions, has been in the most part drastically different. My problems began two days after switching to InMotionHosting. It is almost as if the company had a complete turnover. Starting with FTP login problems uploading my existing Web pages, continuing through bizarre email problems leading to my having to switch friends and clients to a gmail mail account to ensure delivery rather than go through my own domain and culminating recently with an unauthorized WordPress change to my existing Web pages, it is only the annoyance of trying to find another hosting company so soon after a change that has kept me with InMotionHosting.

PROS: Technicians seem to really want to help even if they have problems understanding the issue;
Management seems sincerely interested in your feedback;
A series of good tutorials for those unfamiliar with Web features;
Rapid response time;
Many free features;
Uptime seems just fine;
They claim 24/7/365 U.S. based support (see CONS)

CONS: Cumbersome system of at least three different logon procedures depending on what you want to do and what kind of support you want (not counting email accounts);
Annoying way of structuring email servers where even if you set your own mail software to delete email on the server when read, it builds up on various trash and junk folders that can impact your email quota (this warning is on their pages);
You cannot contact support by telephone, email, or chat without providing either your full administrative password or last four digits of a credit card. Supposedly, if you log on through their administrative page, this verification is not necessary but you still get a boilerplate response warning you they can't do anything involving your account without that verification. In fact you get the same boilerplate if you submit a compliment!
Agents work on a "kudos" system (something I was told by several agents), so each contact ends with an email address for a manager to leave a compliment plus a request by the agent to do this;
Although they claim all U.S.-based support, the company now has data centers in Turkey, India and Brazil. Several times the confused English syntax of responses or complete blank on an issue raised questions in my mind about where the agent was located.

To be fair, a manager told me they recently increased their support staff and were going through new training. Like other Internet and computer companies, I suspect they are a victim of their own success and trying to deal with growth. Also, compared to other Web hosts I have had over the past 15 years, InMotionHosting is better than some.

I am giving them a guarded recommendation, which I hope I will not have to change in the coming months.

By Librarian Reviewer on April 26th, 2015 at 15:35 EST
URL: [Hidden but verified] Customer for 1 - 2 months
Plan: Shared | Platform: Linux | Email: [Logged]

Was this review helpful?
1 person voted yes

Always Check Date of Latest Review

In looking for a better host than iPage, I was blown away by 100% positive reviews for InMotion. I have never seen that before. I forgot the basic principle regarding host performance--a tendency to deteriorate over time as success builds and companies become victims of their own success. I had learned this over 20+ years of dealing with hosting companies, but ignored the principle given the reviews. However, the most recent review was 5/16/2012. I was also encouraged by hearing that purportedly, their support was 100 percent U.S. based.

My initial experience in signing up and getting an answer to my first question was outstanding. It was only as I began to use their system over the next few days and attempted to use Dreamweaver CS6 to upload files that I began to run into trouble. There are strange quirks such as having to register with a different password to access your trouble tickets; an inability to send jpeg attachments even though there is a link to send them; an insistence that every time you send support an email you must either include your master password in the email or the last four digits of your credit card, which is unfortunate because trying to get support when logged on to their master panel has problems; and most importantly from my point of view difficulties uploading files even with the certainty of using the right user name and password. Odd little screen freezes in parts of the online editing capabilities are annoying but transient.

I do want to give high credit to an enthusiastic and friendly support staff. They have been uniformly pleasant, if occasionally marred by the typical, it must be the user's fault approach to problem solving. It is very nice to deal with people where language is not a barrier. So far, it appears to me they are doing their best with some buggy areas in UI. While I have not yet been able to restore my Web pages to what they were before this transition, because of very nice support staff I am willing to ride this train for awhile to see if things improve.

By charles on March 7th, 2015 at 10:37 EST
URL: [Hidden but verified] Customer for Less than 1 month
Plan: Shared | Platform: Linux | Email: [Logged]

Was this review helpful?
1 person voted yes

Sure don't like what's happening

In motion started out OK, until I realized that the sales team sold a package that is nearly impossible to implement. It's been down hill from there. Nothing transfers easily, I'm afraid, no matter what the folks in sales have to say.

I've been working on this transfer for 3 months. Still it's not completely done, although a tech support person did some tweaking and billed me for incomplete work. My sites are not all up and running as they should be.

In addition, I can no longer get in touch with support via chat or phone. This is extremely disconcerting. I'll think twice before changing hosts or domains again.

Fabulous Service; Reliable Hosting

Hosting from 2009-2015. I would recommend InMotion Hosting. I originally found them as one of the best in Customer Service in 2009 and highly recommend them in 2015. Server response times were always fast. Any server maintenance or information was communicated regularly and promptly. If there was any downtime, it was minimal and unnoticed. Customer Service is very courteous and helpful. The hosting service is also full of value - no nickel-and-diming here.

Biggest Pro: Helpful customer service
Biggest Con: None in our experience

AVOID InMotion Hosting!!! Credit Card Fraud!!

AVOID THEM!!

I had a web hosting service plan as well as ELEVEN (11) domain names with them.
I was ready to change hosting companies and I had not updated my credit card information on file. Instead of the some of domain names expiring due to no payment, InMotion hosting CHARGED MY EXPIRED CREDIT CARD!!! THIS IS FRAUD!!

Even MASTERCARD agreed and did a charge back. Guess what, the domain names are still registered to me but InMotion hosting has locked them and will not release them to me.
They committed credit card fraud and are now essentially hold my domain names hostage so that they can't be transferred to another hosting service.

AVOID THEM!!

Biggest Con: They committed credit card fraud and are holding my domains from release

Not as good as expected

I guess I'm the only person that has had a problem with this company. My 2 biggest problems with the company was e-mail delivery speed and tech support. I'm use to having servers deliver e-mail (1000+) at lightning speed. I had a VPS3000 account so I would expect the same - wrong. It delivered 25 e-mails per minute. According to support, this was normal. This means that it took hours to send the entire church congregation an e-mail notice from the pastor via eBlast. The other problem was tech support. I was struggling with an e-mail delivery issue. When a web user submitted a form from the website, an e-mail would be delivered to the intended recipient. These e-mails were being blocked by the server not allowing the e-mail to be sent. The server considered the e-mail SPAM. This included Prayer Request, Notification of a death in the family, etc. I spend much time working with support and they finally concluded the problem was in my code. I insisted it was not, because I use the same code for 18 other church websites. I finally gave up and InMotion Hosting did provide a full refund. I moved the exact code to HostGator with a slightly less expensive VPS account and everything worked fine. No problems whatsoever! The eBlast is now delivered in seconds instead of hours and the form submittals are not being blocked. If you plan to use this company, expect these issues for more advanced websites,

Biggest Con: E-Mail Deliver Performance and Tech Support

Fantastic company, better then GoDaddy, BlueHost, and Host Gator.

I have been with 4 companies now, GoDaddy, BlueHost, and Host Gator, all trash, but then, I found Inmotion Hosting. My VPS has a load time on average of 1.6 seconds (The smallest VPS they have) and they were extremely helpful wilt setting things up, stuff that normally companies wouldn't do. i.e. Zend Opcache when I was having config issues. They are upfront and honest, although the phone chat people seem to be a lot more helpful and less, blunt per say, might be a little my fault though. Support is awesome though, uptime, well I haven't had any that wasn't my fault or scheduled. Support is great, although sometimes its an I don't know at first, but then they find out later a majority of the time (Granted its complex issues usually, not run of the mill I can't post this or that. Value A++ I want to see some student pricing for VPS though, I get its only for shared, but its hard to shell out $359 a year.

Biggest Pro: Speed
Biggest Con: Nothing

charged a year after closing my account

I never really used the web site that I purchased, so after getting chaged to renew for the second year, I shut down the account (there are many hoops to jump through to do this) A year later I get a surprise renewal charge from them. After sitting in their live chat for 15 minutes waiting for someone to talk to it just shuts down. Just spent 45 minutes on hold after being transferred from someone on the sales team, only to be told by the guy who answered that he cant help me (supposedly I didn't jump through all the hoops correctly) and I have to fill out a form on the web site to cancel my account. So you can't call them and cancel your account.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: charged a year after closing my account. called customer service and service they can't can't help.

Quick Solution

Our website was apparently hacked last week and for a few hours our customers and potential registrants were getting an error message instead of reaching our site. When I became aware of the issue, I called and spoke with Dominic at In-Motion Hosting. In a matter of a couple of minutes he accessed our site and recognized the problem. He put me on hold for a few minutes while he and Jason and the two of them isolated and solved the problem. The site was back up and running with no problems and nothing lost.

What I just described is what should happen when you need technical support... you get it. The wonderful thing about my experience was that these two technicians were polite, professional and swift with the delivery of a total solution. I could not be happier than using In-Motion Hosting. They are prompt and reliable. Thank you!

In Motion's Excellent timely and to the point No Nonsense Service

I so very much appreciate the help extended by your Service Support Agent : Joshua H. Excellent - To the Point.. Quick diagnosis of problem and - Immediate solution . Perfect

I wish to point out . first : My Support request was an Unusual one....This was to change primary domain name > another name.
This request would have fell on deaf ears with my Earlier Hosting company(Jumpline) they shy away from doing anything that needs change. There I would have been subjected to Questions like Why I did not give them the Right name beforehand....and so ..many fuss....

This change request of course shall take your resources at INMOTION but the way your company is dealing with me and the kind of support I get........I wish WHY I DID NOT COME HERE BEFORE>.....Heartly appreciation...

I am a small entrepreneure and every such support move , is greatly appreciated by me ...I am not only appreciative but Grateful...

Biggest Pro: Outstanding ....Service support via Live Chat

InMotion Hosting Offer

Visit InMotion Hosting
  • Filters (Advanced)

    Filters

    Only show reviews for:

    Selecting a filter will display only the reviews that match the filter. The rating averages at the top of the page will also change. Use if you want to severely limit the information visible to you.


  • More Options

    More Options

     first
     entries

Support our work: We earn a referral fee when you sign-up with some of the hosts listed on the site.

21 years operating About us

© 1999-2020 User Reviews Inc. Address: L0070-323 Coventry Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 3X6. Terms of Use & Privacy Policy