Search

InMotion Hosting reviews [Updated: October 2019]

Please enable JavaScript to view chart

On average, InMotion Hosting is recommended by users on our web site.

This statement was automatically generated by analyzing the reviews and ratings about the company.

See the metrics that we looked at
Page RelevancyFootnote 1 Very High
# of Reviews 136
# that Recommend 121
Very High
% that Recommend 89%
Very High
Overall RatingFootnote 2 92.2%
Very High
Review QualityFootnote 2 Footnote * 100%
Very High

If this host does not meet your expectations, please browse our search section to find one that does.

3 years of experience with InMotion hosting

Hi,
I've been using InMotion hosting since 2017 it used to rank first in top 10 hosting providers now it is down to 9th. I am using there pro plan and I have hardly experienced any issue I'm running multiple websites, domains, applications, even an email marketing application which is tested about everyday by many users to send email campaigns in bulk quantity.

The speed is fine I have seen faster response time on other service providers. Though there was one time last year when we were testing a few APIs and the response time was horrible 80 seconds while on another server we were getting 3 milliseconds, when I contacted them about it they told me it has to be on application end (which I still doubt) as they are getting around 3-8 milliseconds on their side too.

Apart from this everything has been pretty okay their staff is very cooperative they always make sure the issue is resolved, they even gave me discount on my plan this year as I have been their customer for 3 years now.

To conlcude what I like most about their hosting would be their pro plan as it offers about everything an IT company or a freelancer would need to get things done other than that I think they can work on their speed/load time.

Thank you.

InMotion Review

After working with different hosting providers in Nigeria, with a reduced server service and a wait of several days, I knew that the time had come to change. At first, I was skeptical of going to a US-based provider, but I have no regrets.
In the world of technology, I have come to understand that nothing is perfect. What matters is customer service. Especially when there's a question to be asked or a problem to be solved. Receiving a call and talking to a human being when you open your account to make sure everything works well is a brilliant start for me. The technical assistance is incomparable and can not be criticized under any circumstances. Being in Africa, the time difference does not affect the 24/7 support I get, especially from the Live Chat.
Their uptime is perfect for me.
However, my problem is related to brute force attacks. I received a warning about excessive overage. When I contacted their customer support to find out what's happening, they refused to investigate it and instead, were turning me in circles. For instance, they suggested installing a specific cache plug-in. I knew this was not the problem: my usage statistics indicated when the excesses occurred, and I had no connection with work or most of the traffic. It took almost a month to admit that I was right and that the problem was brute force attacks.

Biggest Pro: Uptime
Biggest Con: No Refund Policy

InMotion Hosting Preferred for Non Technical Fellows

Since June 2018, I am running my website along with InMotion hosting. In my journey with InMotion, I have some great and worst situations. But undoubtedly, I prefer to continue with their service.

I have tried Digital Ocean previously than InMotion hosting. As I am not a programmer, Digital Ocean was pretty tough for me to navigate, setup & manage. Also, they do not provide any live chat support which makes more difficult for me to continue.

After that, I found InMotion hosting service in my budget. I must say they have excellent customer support. A few months back, my account was suspended due to financial issue. After a week of suspension, they were able to back up my all data with no loss. Even they are very flexible in terms of the billing date. I got a 72 hours extension because of my bank holiday.
I observed a single downtime issue for 10-15 minutes due to some maintenance work. Otherwise, no downtime at all. My site's desktop loading time is only 2 second. I am happy with it too.

I was about having an issue with canonicalization and reached out to InMotion technical support team. They took about two hours to resolve that issue of 4 lines of code. That was my worst experience with them.

Lastly, I vouch for InMotion for their excellent support. If you don't have much technical knowledge, it is OK to try InMotion hosting. They are ready to help you.

Biggest Pro: Excellent customer support
Biggest Con: Not biggest but issues with technical support

Our experience was not in line with the other reviews...

We host our business site on the inmotion "PRO" plan - the best they offer in terms of shared hosting.

We picked inmotion for the fast servers, and good customer support. Unfortunately uptime is not their strength. In our first month we had a major outage, but we stayed around thinking this was a one-off. We should have left then while we were still eligible for a refund...

Our site goes down for a few minutes now and then, on an almost weekly basis. Our investigations and logging have revealed that the cause is usually high CPU usage or overloaded database connections on the server. Inmotion has no uptime guarantee, unlike many other providers, and these short (yet not infrequent) outages do not seem to be taken very seriously. The tech support is always polite and efficient, and the wait times are usually very short, but our issues keep reoccurring on an almost weekly basis so we are thinking of moving.

Since we prepaid a whole year, we stand to lose a fair amount of non-refundable $ too... not happy.

Biggest Pro: Fast servers
Biggest Con: No uptime guarantee.

Fool me once...

I am impressed that their support is 24/7 and there's not much of a wait. BUT: I have 17-of-unlimited (yes, they advertise unlimited) email accounts. InMotion blocked me because some of my accounts were being checked every 10 minutes, others every 15 or 20 minutes. I have two PCs that can access all 17 accounts (one is usually off, and seldom runs my eMail client when it's on, since it's about 1 foot from my main machine). We have two smartphones and two tablets that access an average of 2.7 accounts, but these have much longer intervals for checking eMail due to our former limited wireless data plans. They said that my IP address had exceeded the server's connection quota and blocked my IP to stop an attack. I couldn't access cPanel either until support unblocked it. They can't or won't tell me how many connection attempts came from my IP, only when it happened. They said it wasn't spoofed.

Now, this setup has worked with four previous hosts in the past 15 years, sometimes with four PCs turned on, and with update intervals as short as 2 minutes. But they refuse to make it work with their servers. I switched to InMotion on 10/09/2017. I also checked uptime robot for my sites. The longest uptime since I switched has been 94 hours. The shortest has been 33 hours, 39 minutes. Just before I switched (that is, with A2Hosting) my uptime was 375 hours (until I changed the DNS servers), and before that it was 596 and 568 hours.

Two different tech support people have told me that they can't (or won't) do anything to alleviate these serious (intolerable) issues.Their responses have either been vague and unhelpful or beside the point. They keep trying to have me select a more expensive plan. But, I figure; fool me once, shame on you... I think I made a mistake switching to InMotion.

Biggest Pro: short wait for support
Biggest Con: Hosting promises aren't true in the real world

the absolute best company

Been with Inmotion since 2004. This company always gives heads up about any down time/server maintenance and it is always just for a few minutes in the least web traffic times. They have always gone above and beyond in their help in tech issues that they are not really required according to contract to work on. i have called to ask about tech problems that I am having, nothing to do with their service and they have provided good solutions quickly. Love the company and the people that work for it.

Biggest Pro: tech support always available
Biggest Con: none

WORST HOSTING FOR BUSINESS or RESELLER

Worst Hosting for both Individual Plans and Reseller plans.
1. Yes CS is available 24x7 - easy access but PATHETIC / RUDE Service / racists
2. Pathetic Technical Help. I have Lost Websites worth 500Hrs of efforts on CMS because hey simple deleted my Public_HTML folder;
3. On Investigation they said that it is quarantined and files can be restored - Please understand that there was no Malafied / Infected file on my joomla3.6 installation;
4. They have continuous attacks on their servers form hacks which in turn harm the sites hosted;
5. They have pathetic way of handling DNS requests and they don't understand the niche in DNS management and can't answer half of queries;
6. They Hosted domain System is not white labelled and like SLY people they show the server hosted on by way of Email Bounces etc. So No Reseller While Labelled Solution is available;

The Story goes on. They have DND resolution issues, CS reps, do not read service requests and just simple answer for older queries ignoring new ones, the DNS does not get resolved everywhere in the world, they are expensive for add on services and they charge for almost everything, intact the Web transfer requests also are paid which they claim are free at the time of signing up both Individual Business Host as well as Reseller Hosting, their IP addresses are not dedicated as they claim during the signup process, etc, etc, blah blah.

I would strongly advise not to work with them.

thanx for reading - You saved your Head & Ache.

Biggest Con: SLY, RUDE, NON-TECH, NON-Trustworthy & Non Dependable.

False Advertising!!

They don't have very good tech support. Don't give solution to a problem but you get email that says "Your request to cancel the.... has been received" when I didn't cancel anything! They cancelled my request for support.

The advertising of Satisfaction Guarantee & We transfer you for FREE! GET UP TO 30 FREE cPanel Account Transfers. Not True!!! There are Hidden Fees. You don't get 100% money back either.

After 2 months of testing had to finally put the relationship to an end. Too bad as they had really good features.

Biggest Pro: Features
Biggest Con: Not very good tech support, charge you for everything.

Only the Trouble with Changing Made Me Renew

InMotion Hosting remains, in my opinion, a low-cost Web host with a decent platform as long as you never need any additional support. They claim their support is totally U.S. based, although some recent exchanges have left me wondering given the difficulties in communicating in the English language.

When you do need support, expect to reiterate your needs several times before you get through the automatic, read a few words and press what you think is the correct F key to send a boilerplate response. I have come to expect this from off-shore support but have been disappointed to see it with InMotion's allegedly U.S. support.

The biggest problem I have had is that things that with other hosts work a certain way, don't always seem to on the InMotion platform. For example, in creating white or black lists most hosts allow you to use either a specific email address or block everything from a domain with an @[domain name]. InMotion requires a wild card as well. Simple, but confusing if you miss that on an explanation somewhere. Another concern is the lack of follow-up. I have found it typical to get an email saying support is escalating a problem to the Support Supervisor Department and then hear nothing further.

InMotion, in my opinion, is best suited for two types of users: 1) Very basic needs who never use any of the more advanced features; or 2) Power users who can figure out workarounds without getting bogged down in multiple exchanges.

Biggest Pro: Cheap
Biggest Con: You Get What You Pay For

Previous reviews by Charles Anderson

The information below is no longer valid because the user has posted a follow-up review above.

WebHostingReviews Only Posts Positive Reviews of This Company

I don't know why you continue to ask me to post reviews of InMotionHosting every six months. I have pointed out that except for one review in September 2015, all the other laudatory reviews are at least four years old. In my experience tech/customer support has deteriorated sadly since then. However, none of my negative reviews has ever appeared. Even the link you sent me in an email doesn't lead to my last review. The best t

The only reason I am still a customer is that because of family matters time ran out on me to research and find a better company and I had to renew. I almost immediately regretted it with the first problem I had that generated numerous email exchanges because like to many outsourced support, the agents do not read carefully a customers issue.

So, this is largely a waste of time on my part. How about just not asking me anymore to update my review?.

By C. Anderson on March 7th, 2016 at 21:22 EST
URL: [Hidden but verified] Customer for 1 - 2 years
Plan: Shared | Platform: Linux | Email: [Logged]

Was this review helpful?
1 person voted yes

No Change--Still Cheap--Good if Everything Works

I notice the most recent reviews are from 2012 when this company was still small and support was excellent. I also notice my last review of InMotion Hosting six months ago was never posted, which makes me wonder if WebHostingReviews.com only publishes very positive reviews.

I do not know why I am bothering in that case so I will just say this host is fine if nothing goes wrong. Because it is cheap you get what you pay for in the way of Customer Support, which is often problematic.

By Librarian on October 28th, 2015 at 11:33 EST
URL: [Hidden but verified] Customer for 6 - 11 months
Plan: Shared | Platform: Linux | Email: [Logged]

Was this review helpful?
1 person voted yes

InMotion Seems a Victim of Their Own Success

As you consider this review, note that the most recent review (one of many glowing reviews) is dated Mary 16, 2012. After six months with inMotion Hosting, I cannot in good conscience give this company such outstanding reviews.

In looking at how the customer service has changed at inMotion, I see a typical progression from a small company with few staff giving great service. As the company grows, and at least in part based on these reviews, the company expands. Customer support staffing lags behind support needs probably due to cash flow. Within a finite amount of time, the company becomes a victim of their own success. Customer support worsens, wait time becomes longer, the evil desire to outsource support becomes attractive. For one of the best examples, look at Dell Computing!

Their web hosting uptime, with the exception of recurrent email issues, is generally outstanding. From this aspect, it is a great host. They have posted on their web site fine tutorials. If you have problems, then you are going to be disappointed. The first problem you encounter is getting someone to talk to you or chat because of a complicated security verification routine.

If you want to use a Chat session for support, which I recommend because it gives you a transcript, you log on to your secure account with user name and password in their Account Management Panel. When you click on “Support Chat,” you are prompted for basic identification again: name, email, domain, what department you need and you question. Before an agent will talk to you will be asked for your log on password or the last four digits of the credit card you used to register. If you do not like entering your password again, particularly if you have a lengthy random one, then you must remember which credit card you used to register. The same thing happens if you telephone support directly. I find this annoying because you cannot get to this section without already have verified your identity.

As the support staff has increased, and staff training becomes more difficult and time-consuming, you begin to see typical boilerplate response based on a partial reading of your question. This leads to endless back-and-forth in chat or rounds of email exchanges if you use that method for support. For example, you might have a simple question about an inMotion policy. You probably will get first a link to a site that might help (but probably won’t because the agent misunderstood your question, followed by their most used phrase: “If you need us to change anything or give you any personal information, please verify the account with either the current Account Management Panel (AMP) password or the last 4 digits of the credit card we have on file.” Even if you do not want to do either of these things, the agent will not talk with you further unless you comply.

Most annoying are the recurrent email problems, both with direct POP and Webmail. Their Webmail, most useful when traveling, seems to have problems keeping your password in the database. One agent told me that some sort of refreshing that went on at times causes the password to be dropped. For business people, access to Webmail is critical. In the past few months, they seem to be having many problems with perfectly good email providers being blacklisted.

If the Customer Support matched the uptime record, inMotion would be a great company. If there is no improvement over the next six months of my contract, I will be strongly tempted to drop them out of frustration at the difficulties of getting help when it really is critical.

By Charles on September 7th, 2015 at 16:43 EST
URL: [Hidden but verified] Customer for 6 - 11 months
Plan: Shared | Platform: Linux | Email: [Logged]

Was this review helpful?
1 person voted yes

Always Check the Currency of Very Positive or Negative Reviews

This Web host has a 99.46% positive rating here. However, the most recent review dates from 5/16/2012. My experience so far, with a few exceptions, has been in the most part drastically different. My problems began two days after switching to InMotionHosting. It is almost as if the company had a complete turnover. Starting with FTP login problems uploading my existing Web pages, continuing through bizarre email problems leading to my having to switch friends and clients to a gmail mail account to ensure delivery rather than go through my own domain and culminating recently with an unauthorized WordPress change to my existing Web pages, it is only the annoyance of trying to find another hosting company so soon after a change that has kept me with InMotionHosting.

PROS: Technicians seem to really want to help even if they have problems understanding the issue;
Management seems sincerely interested in your feedback;
A series of good tutorials for those unfamiliar with Web features;
Rapid response time;
Many free features;
Uptime seems just fine;
They claim 24/7/365 U.S. based support (see CONS)

CONS: Cumbersome system of at least three different logon procedures depending on what you want to do and what kind of support you want (not counting email accounts);
Annoying way of structuring email servers where even if you set your own mail software to delete email on the server when read, it builds up on various trash and junk folders that can impact your email quota (this warning is on their pages);
You cannot contact support by telephone, email, or chat without providing either your full administrative password or last four digits of a credit card. Supposedly, if you log on through their administrative page, this verification is not necessary but you still get a boilerplate response warning you they can't do anything involving your account without that verification. In fact you get the same boilerplate if you submit a compliment!
Agents work on a "kudos" system (something I was told by several agents), so each contact ends with an email address for a manager to leave a compliment plus a request by the agent to do this;
Although they claim all U.S.-based support, the company now has data centers in Turkey, India and Brazil. Several times the confused English syntax of responses or complete blank on an issue raised questions in my mind about where the agent was located.

To be fair, a manager told me they recently increased their support staff and were going through new training. Like other Internet and computer companies, I suspect they are a victim of their own success and trying to deal with growth. Also, compared to other Web hosts I have had over the past 15 years, InMotionHosting is better than some.

I am giving them a guarded recommendation, which I hope I will not have to change in the coming months.

By Librarian Reviewer on April 26th, 2015 at 15:35 EST
URL: [Hidden but verified] Customer for 1 - 2 months
Plan: Shared | Platform: Linux | Email: [Logged]

Was this review helpful?
1 person voted yes

Always Check Date of Latest Review

In looking for a better host than iPage, I was blown away by 100% positive reviews for InMotion. I have never seen that before. I forgot the basic principle regarding host performance--a tendency to deteriorate over time as success builds and companies become victims of their own success. I had learned this over 20+ years of dealing with hosting companies, but ignored the principle given the reviews. However, the most recent review was 5/16/2012. I was also encouraged by hearing that purportedly, their support was 100 percent U.S. based.

My initial experience in signing up and getting an answer to my first question was outstanding. It was only as I began to use their system over the next few days and attempted to use Dreamweaver CS6 to upload files that I began to run into trouble. There are strange quirks such as having to register with a different password to access your trouble tickets; an inability to send jpeg attachments even though there is a link to send them; an insistence that every time you send support an email you must either include your master password in the email or the last four digits of your credit card, which is unfortunate because trying to get support when logged on to their master panel has problems; and most importantly from my point of view difficulties uploading files even with the certainty of using the right user name and password. Odd little screen freezes in parts of the online editing capabilities are annoying but transient.

I do want to give high credit to an enthusiastic and friendly support staff. They have been uniformly pleasant, if occasionally marred by the typical, it must be the user's fault approach to problem solving. It is very nice to deal with people where language is not a barrier. So far, it appears to me they are doing their best with some buggy areas in UI. While I have not yet been able to restore my Web pages to what they were before this transition, because of very nice support staff I am willing to ride this train for awhile to see if things improve.

By charles on March 7th, 2015 at 10:37 EST
URL: [Hidden but verified] Customer for Less than 1 month
Plan: Shared | Platform: Linux | Email: [Logged]

Was this review helpful?
1 person voted yes

Sure don't like what's happening

In motion started out OK, until I realized that the sales team sold a package that is nearly impossible to implement. It's been down hill from there. Nothing transfers easily, I'm afraid, no matter what the folks in sales have to say.

I've been working on this transfer for 3 months. Still it's not completely done, although a tech support person did some tweaking and billed me for incomplete work. My sites are not all up and running as they should be.

In addition, I can no longer get in touch with support via chat or phone. This is extremely disconcerting. I'll think twice before changing hosts or domains again.

InMotion Hosting Offer

Visit InMotion Hosting
  • Filters (Advanced)

    Filters

    Only show reviews for:

    Selecting a filter will display only the reviews that match the filter. The rating averages at the top of the page will also change. Use if you want to severely limit the information visible to you.


  • More Options

    More Options

     first
     entries
Date modified:

Support our work: We earn a referral fee when you sign-up with some of the hosts listed on the site.

20 years operating About us

© 1999-2019 User Reviews Inc. Address: L0070-323 Coventry Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 3X6. Terms of Use & Privacy Policy