Search

Arvixe reviews – Page 4

Please enable JavaScript to view chart

On average, Arvixe is not recommended by users on our web site.

This statement was automatically generated by analyzing the reviews and ratings about the company.

See the metrics that we looked at
Page RelevancyFootnote 1 Very High
# of Reviews 53
# that Recommend 8
Very Low
% that Recommend 15%
Very Low
Overall RatingFootnote 2 25.4%
Very Low
Review QualityFootnote 2 Footnote * 100%
Very High

If this host does not meet your expectations, please browse our search section to find one that does.

I don't get it

I understand that most people only write a review when they're ticked off, and any problems with web hosting companies and their tier one support can be extremely frustrating. I've hosted a lot of places and before I switched from GoDaddy to Arvixe I checked their support, I checked if I could do what I wanted to do on their servers. And then I spent weeks before going live testing and tracking and making sure it would all work the way I wanted.

I have been doing web development for 10 years with lots of hosting companies and Arvixe is really good. Yes their tier one people are mostly ignorant, that's the way it is everywhere. Yes it takes time to get complicated things fixed, that's the way it is everywhere.

BUT.... In my experience Arvixe (as a whole) has been responsive, qualified, committed, and professional. They get done quickly all the normal hosting stuff. They are not so great at debugging complex, server side, driver based technical issues that it takes me days to figure out myself. But as a developer, that's my job not theirs. Hosting is what they do and they do it very well.

I'm pleased, I'm staying, and its because their upper level tech support and management have been consistently helpful, professional, and accommodating.

I highly recommend them.

Biggest Pro: Very Flexible Windows Shared Hosting Plans
Biggest Con: No cons, it's a lot like having your own server in a shared hosting environment.

So long as you don't need customer support they are fine...

Its a low price for linux cPanel hosting, but customer service is just awful I had early on figured out that contacting support was an exercise in frustration, but figured I shouldn't really need them for anything. Most of the first level support people are not good for anything other than a password reset, and typical response to get an answer on a ticket is 24 hours.

Then last week they made server changes last week that broke mySQL access.

Tried live chat 10 minutes to get someone to respond, and then another 15 minutes without any type of response.

Tried submitting a ticket....that got a 'we need more information message' 24 hours later.

Starting calling them later that day, hold times of 20 minutes plus, then talk to someone who says they say they will fix it or get back to me and do neither. On a subsequent call get someone who doesn't even understand the problem . Get told it will be fixed in an hour for sure, and next morning its still broken. 36 hours and 5 phone calls later the reported bug is fixed. However, along the way someone reset permissions on all my files, which broke all my scripts.

Still having problems a week later, multiple phone calls, and a manager inadvertently picks up my call. When I describe the problem he says that they made some other changes on the server that are causing things not to run. Not only can't I fix it myself, none of the first level support people have a clue as to what this is about, and if he hadn't picked up the phone I'd still be trying to explain this to the uniformed first level support folks.

Even then, there is no sense of urgency, its now another 6 hours and another 4 phones later and I still don't have a solution, a response, and the ticket shows "normal" priority in spite of the 3 phone calls where the rep said they would make it urgent.

Signing up with them was a BIG mistake, a 2 year deal an ever bigger one. Will be looking for a new hosting company and having a 'interesting' discussion with them about a refund.

Biggest Pro: connectivity has been mostly decent
Biggest Con: customer service is beyond terrible

Response by Noah - Customer Relations, who is an employee of Arvixe:

===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== To potential Arvixe Customers: WebHostingReviews.com is affiliated with those on the top list and does not approve good reviews for Arvixe. Arvixe is one of the fastest growing companies in the world and has been in business since 2003, there will naturally be complaints. We do our best (such as below) to identify what may have caused the issues for our customers and resolve them. We have partnerships with some of the biggest names in open source (OpenCart, Joomla) which we would not be able to do if we provided a sub-par service. However, this site (WebHostingReviews) has chosen to deceive web hosting customers by only posting bad reviews about our services and discarding the good reviews. As you can also see there has been no new reviews for the top 3 listed hosts in over a year. WebHostingReviews earns a commission off of the higher rated hosts' sales and has completely ignored our communication. ===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE =====
Hello,

I'm sorry to hear about the frustrations you've experienced with our services. Unfortunately the nature of your issue was particularly complex; we were however happy to get our server management involved all the way to upper management and I'm glad that we're well on our way to resolution at this point.

I'm not completely sure why you had so much trouble getting through to our support as that's certainly not typical but I can assure you that it will be looked into and perhaps more urgently important, you're in direct contact with our management team so should you have any further issues, please do not hesitate to work with us.

I am glad we were able to reach out to you in an effort to resolve the issues you've been having, and we really do appreciate you working with us on getting things resolved. Should you need anything from us though, please do let us know.

Posted on April 16th, 2013 at 15:39 EST; Last edited on August 21st, 2013 at 12:18 EST

Excellent overall hosting company

I got 1and1 about 5-6 years ago.
I was happy generally, they had fairly good prices untill about two years ago.
Now their prices are average.
Customer service has always been bellow expectations, slow and unresponsive at times, but with the site being up most of the time, I didn't mind putting up with it.
At times I found myself helping them rather than vice versa.
I recently started a ecommerce(about a year ago) and found a different hosting service (Arvixe). I was very pleased and surprised with their knowledge, prices and services.
I have been down for the last few days with my 1and1 account and they just could not fix my website. The site went down after a "scheduled server upgrade". So we went down because of 1and1, and they could not fix it. We ended up moving to another host (Arvixe), and are up in a few hours, with email and everything.
Great job Arvixe.

Biggest Pro: Price, customer service, and support
Biggest Con: None

Worse Technical Support I have Ever Used (in over 10 years)

What a joke - you take out a hosting plan to build a business upon - and then you have to speak to Arvixe support!

DONT WASTE YOU TIME OR MONEY? READ THE REVIEWS HERE - I WISH I HAD!!

The technical support are clearly uneducated (technically), fail to read questions and answer honestly, giving you half the solution you need.

If this wasn't bad enough, when they take 'action' such as a CPanel/WHM upgrade - they don't tell you - oh no.

Instead they let you carry doing what you are doing, in my case SQL updates, and yes half way through Mysql and PhpMyadmin "fall over" - the result? Inconsistent data in the Database!!

They're response? It was a bad user on the server that we have terminated.. Really! Its funny how all the Cpanel/WHM graphics have suddenly updated and version number is greater!!! Welcome to Arvixe support!

The usual way they support people is like this:

"we cant see the problem" (E.G. Go away)

Biggest Pro: Nothing because everything is based on things working, and support
Biggest Con: Support, Technical Ability, Lies, etc...

Response by Noah - Customer Relations, who is an employee of Arvixe:

===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== To potential Arvixe Customers: WebHostingReviews.com is affiliated with those on the top list and does not approve good reviews for Arvixe. Arvixe is one of the fastest growing companies in the world and has been in business since 2003, there will naturally be complaints. We do our best (such as below) to identify what may have caused the issues for our customers and resolve them. We have partnerships with some of the biggest names in open source (OpenCart, Joomla) which we would not be able to do if we provided a sub-par service. However, this site (WebHostingReviews) has chosen to deceive web hosting customers by only posting bad reviews about our services and discarding the good reviews. As you can also see there has been no new reviews for the top 3 listed hosts in over a year. WebHostingReviews earns a commission off of the higher rated hosts' sales and has completely ignored our communication. ===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE =====

Hello,

I am sorry you had issues with the service. When a problem occurs on a server, Arvixe works to fix it. If the Arvixe staff can not see the exact problem we ask the customer that is experiencing the issue to provide all the steps they took to create the problem. Sending us all the information and including screenshots can help us locate the issues faster.

For our Linux servers we use cPanel which is set to automatically update. The auto update is for the most stable release version. This is to ensure that our customers get the best of what cPanel has to offer but with stability. cPanel does not push out updates that would cause instability of the server. Whenever a server is in need of an update that would affect user's performance we send out an e-mail in advance to let them know what will happen.

On our shared plans there are multiple users on each server. That is why every single technical staff member (of which we have over 50, 24/7) has a nagios system which updates every minute on their browser. We also have a 24/7 QA team as well as a 24/7 server management team whose sole purpose is to improve the stability of servers and our services. We make sure that if someone is abusing the servers they are handled quickly and correctly. If customers feel they have not been treated correctly by staff then we encourage an e-mail to QA [at] arvixe.com so that issue can be handled.

Posted on April 5th, 2012 at 17:05 EST; Last edited on August 21st, 2013 at 12:18 EST

Worst Web Host I Ever Had

My main problem with Arvixe was email spam on a Windows account. They say they have emails bumped against a list, etc. and that there are also email filters for their Windows WebMail service. The filters are there but they don't work. I was badgered by SPAM with titles like "Penis Enlargement", "Make Her Moan with an Incredible Erection" and other worst possible filth you can possibly imagine.

SPAM email started trickling in slow at first then it got to the point I was deleting over 200 SPAM emails a day. Arvixe's technical support first told me over the phone they would have better spam filtering for Windows accounts in about two weeks just short of the end of my 60 days mark. Later I did some more web searches and found out on various blogs and posts from their own support people they have been making this promise for about a year.

I waited, deleted SPAM and then three weeks past still no new filtering. I even tried a third party filtering solution, didn't work and then they tried to get me to purchase an additional email service on Linux that had email filtering. I wasn't giving them any more money and by that time my trust level with them was gone.

I am a systems developer with over 22 years of experience, and I've never encountered a hosting group as bad as this one.

In trying to get a partial refund from them for the months not used when I canceled my account, I was told they don't give partial refunds and they would give me a credit for additional Arvixe purchases. Since I was never going to do business with Arvixe again, I told them that was unsatisfactory and when I wrote their sales division I was going to take action and contact the Better Business Bureau and my credit card company, the sales rep. wrote me back and accused me of extortion. I'm still going to report them to the Better Business Bureau and contact my credit card company.

"BUYER BEWARE", Arvixe is terrible to do business with and in the future, I wouldn't let them host a tea party. They lure you in with low prices but spending a little more elsewhere will save you a lot of time on the phone and on their support ticketing site with issues.

My strong advice is DO NOT PURCHASE THIS SERVICE.

Biggest Pro: Web Control Panel very simple.
Biggest Con: Terrible customer service, spammy email and weak technical support

Response by Noah - Customer Relations, who is an employee of Arvixe:

===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== To potential Arvixe Customers: WebHostingReviews.com is affiliated with those on the top list and does not approve good reviews for Arvixe. Arvixe is one of the fastest growing companies in the world and has been in business since 2003, there will naturally be complaints. We do our best (such as below) to identify what may have caused the issues for our customers and resolve them. We have partnerships with some of the biggest names in open source (OpenCart, Joomla) which we would not be able to do if we provided a sub-par service. However, this site (WebHostingReviews) has chosen to deceive web hosting customers by only posting bad reviews about our services and discarding the good reviews. As you can also see there has been no new reviews for the top 3 listed hosts in over a year. WebHostingReviews earns a commission off of the higher rated hosts' sales and has completely ignored our communication. ===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE =====

Hello,

I am sorry you had issues with our support and the hosting account. Our Windows hosting provides mail services through the hmailserver service which uses several different checks for spam such as checks against Spamhaus and spamcop RBLs. While this is enough for 99% of our customers, those who receive large amounts of spam require heavy third party spam protection which we always recommend.

As far as webmail, Arvixe currently offers 2 for Window servers, one is Afterlogic and another is myWebmail. Due to issues with Afterlogic, Afterlogic has been discontinued and this is clearly outlined. myWebmail is a stable webmail with all features properly working and is fully supported. Any and all issues that our customers may find is quickly reported to the developer and rectified.

We also encourage all customers to email us at qa [at] arvixe.com with any such issues so that our senior management staff can assist them 24/7.

Again, I am very sorry that you had issues with our service.

Posted on March 30th, 2012 at 11:21 EST; Last edited on August 21st, 2013 at 12:18 EST

Worst company I've had the displeasure of being a customer of

Arvixe looks like a professional company that will deliver quality service at a great price. In my experience, though, this could not be further from the truth.
Here is what Arvixe promises that they have not been able to follow through on:

1 Free install of XenForo forum hosting within 48hrs. It took more than 72 hours for Arvixe to install XenForo and when we tried to access we saw they had install an upgrade, instead of full version. Thanks to their work, we had to completely wipe the install directory and install from scratch oursleves. Thankfully it turnout out to be easy and took less than 1 hour to do properly, with no former experience.

99% uptime and availability. This couldn't be further from the truth. In the 43 days I've been a customer of Arvixe, I have had to open well over 50 trouble tickets about the site either being exceptionally slow to load (20+ seconds) or just not available at all. We have averaged well over 1 ticket a day as I have not always been available to check the site and others have had to do so too.

Even with all of the issues listed above, I tried to work with Arvixe to see if they were able to find permanent solutions to these ongoing and systemic issues in their infrastructure. Not once have I received any indication that any root cause has been found or that any ongoing work is being done to improve reliability. I have been far more patient than the other 60 people in our community who have been clamoring for us to find another host for weeks now. I assure you that Arvixe is a well known name in our community now and will certainly not be recommended by anyone we know.

This has been, by far, the worst company I have ever had the displeasure to be associated with. I would not use their service even if it were free.

Biggest Pro: They have a 60 day money back guarantee
Biggest Con: Simply can not provide stable service

Response by Arvand Sabetian, who is the owner of Arvixe:

Hello,

I am extremely sorry for the trouble you had at Arvixe. Please understand this is not the normal way we do business. I was unable to look up your account from the information provided so I can not provide any insight on to what happened or what we can fix. Would you please e-mail [email protected] with this information?

Please note that we are a web host. Our job is not to install scripts. But we do so and we appreciate customers' patience. We also always suggest the customer to install the scripts themselves because it is a simple process and most scripts can be installed automatically through our control panel.

In regards to the uptime every single technical staff member (of which we have over 50, 24/7) has a nagios system which updates every minute on their browser. We also have a 24/7 QA team as well as a 24/7 server management team whose sole purpose is to improve the stability of servers and our services.

We do understand if you would no longer want to have us as a hosting provider but we would like to fix the issues at their source. Again I am very sorry you had this experience with Arvixe and we would like to make it right.

Posted on March 29th, 2012 at 18:03 EST; Last edited on March 30th, 2012 at 10:05 EST

Arvixe Reseller pack is just not working!

I made a big mistake and I transferred all my 30 websites from a reseller pack in UK (because of low speed) to Arvixe! Among others, if you buy a reseller pack you will come into these problems all the time:
1. application pool stopped all the time even if you use dedicated app poll (they said that there is a memory limit of 150MB but sites with 50-60MB memory usage are down all the time)
2. Terrible e-mail problem: All my domains could not receive or send any e-mail for four days. Chat was concluded to tickets and tickets were replied after 1 day, informing me that the problem was solved. After one minute the problem was back again. We lived a nightmare for 4 days with no support and no hope
3. Very slow load time

So, I wonder: 250$/year is cheap for hosting that simple does not work!
PS: to Arvixe people - Do not reply to my post. I know the answer ...."we are sorry, send e-mail to qa ..bla bla bla"
PS2: I am hiding my domain name and e-mail address because I do not trust Arvixe and I still have my sites there.

Response by Arvand Sabetian, who is the owner of Arvixe:

Hello,
While I understand your frustration, I can assure you that this is not a common occurrence with Arvixe.
Most often, the application you are running is causing the app pool to crash.
I don't have any details regarding you mail server issue(s), however It's been a very long time since we've had a mail server down for any significant time.
We would love the opportunity to look into this further, please feel free to contact us directly qa [at]arvixe.com

Posted on March 13th, 2012 at 01:23 EST

Great Price! Horrible Uptime!

STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE! I have been with this company for 2-3 years. The first year or so was great! After that, everything went to hell. Must have been a change in management or ownership. Support went down the drain along with server uptime.

They guarantee 99.9% up-time. This is laughable! Especially with some of their older servers. At one point I managed 3 separate accounts on 3 different servers(server names were LEAF, GALL, and MAPLE). LEAF was by far the worst. One hour of downtime a month was about average on LEAF. I've had to contact support about downtime on this server at least a dozen times over the past year or so. The most recent being yesterday.

Yesterday the LEAF server went down at 1:30PM EST due to both hardware and software issues. Something that could have been addressed a long time ago when the server kept having problems. Instead they wait for a major system crash to take action. The server has now been down for almost 20 hours. We were told in a forum post last night that it could be down for another 24-72 hours.

Don't expect their support team to respond to your issues in a timely manner either. Especially if you start a support ticket. It usually takes a min of 24 hours before you get a response. I've had some support tickets go on for weeks(SSRS setup).

On a more positive note their pricing is great!

Biggest Pro: pricing
Biggest Con: uptime and support

Use to be good... now horrible!

I got on Arvixe because of the good reviews and price over a year ago. After looking at recent reviews, it seems everyone is having the same experience I am.
I have been on arvixe for just over a year now. I signed up for a 2yr plan, and that was a mistake. Things were fine for the first 3-4 months, but after that it all has gone down hill. I use a uptime monitoring website and I typically get 5-6 notices a month of downtime. Every time I complain and ask for support, they say there are offenders and then say they remove them. that's fine for a week or so, and then I keep getting all sorts of down time. When I ask for any concessions, like a new server, or just a refund to move servers, I get the same answer: sorry, it is being fixed now. Now, I get a notice that my website has been suspended because of bulk mailing?! I send and receive maybe 5 emails a week from this account. Chat responds with: please reply to your email and it will be fixed in 2 hours. They could care less about customer experience. Stay away!

Biggest Pro: price
Biggest Con: customer service and uptime

Response by Arvand Sabetian, who is the owner of Arvixe:

Hello,

I'm sorry for any issues you've encountered while using our services at Arvixe.

If you fee the server your account is currently hosted on is not working well, you can always email qa [at] arvixe.com, and asked to be moved to another server.

I would also suggest that you ensure your monitoring software is checking your website on a minute by minute basis.
All our our servers and services are monitored every minute. Therefore if you get a report that your website is down, chances are we already know about it, and someone is already working on it.

Thank you!

Posted on March 5th, 2012 at 09:44 EST

I can understand many of the reviews here but....

Hi,
I have been with Arvixe since September or so of last year, and I just renewed with them a couple of weeks ago. I did have a couple of issues with them, and it is true that sometimes there response time is not great to non-existence.

However, you have to remember that when there is a problem, sometimes that problem is in between the cracks and is really tough to find. We all demand better service, higher technical expertise and cheaper services. The three don't necessarily go hand in hand. Especially when you are talking about the variety of programs offered on the likes of softaculous.

My experience with them has been that they are trying really hard. When you submit a ticket, they are checking and need a bit of time to monitor the situation to see what is going on, and they spend as much resources as they can on it. They are good people, trying hard to make a good business, and they all generally have the know-how to understand and fix the problem, it's just that it takes time. Which is better for you- a half hour spent replying to you, or that same half hour spent getting the problem fixed more quickly? They have always replied at the end that they had been monitoring the situation since my ticket was submitted.

In addition, they do monitor to check that no one is hogging all the shared resources too much which is good for the majority.

I know it is frustrating, and some might go elsewhere, but if you back up regularly, then you might not have a problem.

cheers.

Biggest Pro: technically competent staff checking the problem out as soon as the ticket is submitted
Biggest Con: can take time to fix the problem, and on occasions they need quicker updates about what's being done.

Response by Arvand Sabetian, who is the owner of Arvixe:

Hello,

Thank you for your understanding.
We are constantly looking for ways to improve, and we are doing that right now in many ways.
We appreciate your patience, thank you!

Posted on March 5th, 2012 at 09:59 EST
Visit Arvixe
  • Filters (Advanced)

    Filters

    Only show reviews for:

    Selecting a filter will display only the reviews that match the filter. The rating averages at the top of the page will also change. Use if you want to severely limit the information visible to you.


  • More Options

    More Options

     first
     entries

Support our work: We earn a referral fee when you sign-up with some of the hosts listed on the site.

20 years operating About us

© 1999-2019 User Reviews Inc. Address: L0070-323 Coventry Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 3X6. Terms of Use & Privacy Policy