Search

Arvixe reviews – Page 3

Please enable JavaScript to view chart

On average, Arvixe is not recommended by users on our web site.

This statement was automatically generated by analyzing the reviews and ratings about the company.

See the metrics that we looked at
Page RelevancyFootnote 1 Very High
# of Reviews 53
# that Recommend 8
Very Low
% that Recommend 15%
Very Low
Overall RatingFootnote 2 25.4%
Very Low
Review QualityFootnote 2 Footnote * 100%
Very High

If this host does not meet your expectations, please browse our search section to find one that does.

Arvixe and the Challenge of Keeping Servers Running

I transferred from HostMonster to Arvixe in late August in an effort to save some money. I was initially excited as the onboarding and email setup process were easy and well supported by Arvixe.

However, not even a month has passed and I'm now experiencing what many have already shared. I'm currently stuck in day 5 of having no access to my account, email, etc. because Arvixe's Dallas111 server is down. It would seem a prudent thing for hosting companies to have some level of redundancy or backup availability but unlike more expensive providers, Arvixe doesn't seem to have taken this approach.

After 5 days you'd think they could share some details or an ETA, but the updates on the alert page are simple boiler plate lingo along the lines of "we're sorry, our technicians are working on it".

They may be a decent company and it seems like they really are trying but I can't afford for this to happen again.
Not being able to communicate with clients via my official email for 5 days means that Arvixe has lost my business. On the bright side, at least it happened within the 60 day money back window. Unfortunately, I can't even access my account to unlock my domain so that I can take my business elsewhere. So I'm hoping that Arvixe can figure it out soon.

*sigh*.

I had high hopes but I guess you really do get what you pay for.

Biggest Pro: low cost
Biggest Con: Downtime

WELCOME TO THE WORST HOSTING SERVICE!!!

Not one day has gone with the site actually up all day.Our website was down almost every day, especially in the late night hours. Arvixe says its because of workload problems, so basically they don't have good business class servers to keep up with the workloads. It would be best to stay away from their service. Horrible service and a joke.I would NOT recommend them!!!

STAY AWAY FROM ARVIXE SITE GOES DOWN DAILY THEY GIVE EXCUSES AFTE

We're going to agree with everyone here. STAY AWAY FROM THEM we mean it! As you can see, they give nothing but BS canned responses. Thats because thats all they can come up with. Cant count the number of times we've been switched from server to server, been promised (lied to) that the problem wont happen again and then days later BOOM SITE DOWN! We log into a text file every single time our sites go down, 3 lines for each outage, and we're over 55 pages!

Their QA department are nothing but a bunch of liars, they will make every excuse in the book and try to con you into making you think the problem is you when its them! They will give excuses like -"oh the shared hosting package is for bloggers" - "or the hosting package you have doesnt fit your criteria" or "they will makes to you".

We have the site monitored with 2 different programs that alerts us when the site goes down (and yeah Arivixe insert your next lying excuse here), when the alert goes off, guess what the site is down so dont tell us anymore of your lyes Arvixe.

Expect days of your site going down and getting messages like this - THIS IS WHAT YOU WILL EXPECT WHEN YOU SIGN UP WITH THESE THEIVES

We are still working on stabilizing performance on this server, currently all services are up , we will keep this server monitored and alert updated.

-5 minutes later-
The server load continues to stay normal for the past ten plus hours.

This alert will now be closed. If you continue to have any issues, please feel free to contact our 24/7 support department via Live Chat, phone, or ticket.

Thank you for your patience while this alert was active.
-AND MIND YOU OUR SITE IS STILL DOWN ITS UP AND THEN DOWN 4 HOURS LATER AFTER THIS MESSAGE!-

-5 minutes later-
We are currently facing issues with the web service on this server. We are working to identify the issue relating to the web service.

Services affected include HTTPD and Webmail access. Services not affected include MySQL, POP/IMAP, SSH and FTP.

During this outage, access to your websites will not be possible. All other services are online and available. We apologize for this inconvenience and we will continue providing updates as soon as possible.

THIS IS WHAT YOU GET WHEN YOU SIGN UP WITH ARVIXE. EXPECT THIS EVERY SINGLE WEEK, MULTIPLE TIMES A MONTH X THE NUMBER OF SITES YOU HAVE WITH THEM!

Biggest Pro: NOTHING
Biggest Con: Site is always down on a daily basis

Arvixe Hosting is Bad

I have been using Arvixe services for many years. Their service over recent years has degraded. Over the past 2 months my websites have been up and down daily. My customers and I can't get emails, can't get to the websites. The answers I get are that they are working on the problems with no ETA. Sites come back up for a while and then go down again.

When my sites are up they connect slowly. I have started moving sites to other services and see an immediate improvement in speed and reliability.

Biggest Con: down all the time

STAY AWAY FROM THIS CON ARTIST OF A COMPANY

First off their QA Department is nothing but a joke. They will make every single excuse in the book to put blame on everything else but the fact that they cant even keep a server up for 1 day!

Be prepared in days of signing up to get alerts like this on a weekly basis :

Outage on 7/23/15 : http://www.arvixe.com/alerts?key=217477-1279%20target=
Outage on 7/21/15 : http://www.arvixe.com/alerts?key=216375-1279%20target=

This is a weekly and daily basis on every single site you host with them. We finally had it with this nightmare of a company called Arvixe and are currently moving away and saving ourselves hours of fustration, loss of profits all because of this company not even able to keep a simple website up for 5 minutes.

Right now our site was down for 4 hours, it went back up for 4 hours and now its down again. And we have numerous sites. Current support ticket has been opened for 9 hours straight and yet they still haven't responded to it.

Look for yourselves :

http://www.arvixe.com/alerts?

MIND YOU THIS IS ALL TODAY!

http://www.arvixe.com/alerts?key=223485-1279
http://www.arvixe.com/alerts?key=222225-100093

Arvixe Servers : mongoose - starfish -

Biggest Pro: NOTHING!
Biggest Con: Your site will go down consistently.

Bad host

The support staff, while often polite, is absolutely incompetent and shouldn't be allowed to handle transactions or your data. 99% of the staff is clearly outsourced (India) and struggles with basic English, not to mention any complex issues you might have.

A while ago, I experienced a problem and contacted support. During the conversation, the staff member openly disclosed my password in chat. I could have been anybody; I was not logged in, only specified my name and email and they literally typed out all my info in the chat for the purpose of confirmation... This is elementary school stuff. I have NEVER seen a company do this before.

To top it off load times are awful, my websites are offline as we speak, the staff has zero answers and is not even attempting to provide any. It is not the first time that this has happened but will surely be the last. I will be moving everything within two weeks, and I am using a variety of hosts and every single one is better than Arvixe.

Biggest Pro: Price; Free domain privacy
Biggest Con: Awful servers, horrible support

Response by Noah - Customer Relations, who is an employee of Arvixe:

===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== To potential Arvixe Customers: WebHostingReviews.com is affiliated with those on the top list and does not approve good reviews for Arvixe. Arvixe is one of the fastest growing companies in the world and has been in business since 2003, there will naturally be complaints. We do our best (such as below) to identify what may have caused the issues for our customers and resolve them. We have partnerships with some of the biggest names in open source (OpenCart, Joomla) which we would not be able to do if we provided a sub-par service. However, this site (WebHostingReviews) has chosen to deceive web hosting customers by only posting bad reviews about our services and discarding the good reviews. As you can also see there has been no new reviews for the top 3 listed hosts in over a year. WebHostingReviews earns a commission off of the higher rated hosts' sales and has completely ignored our communication. ===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE =====

Hi Igor, we are sorry that you had an issue with our service. Please note that our staff is not outsourced. As for the chat, the techs do not have access to your password. All they can see are the last four characters which is used for verification. The full password is hashed in the database. Alerts for server issues can be found here: http://www.arvixe.com/alerts and it gives information on any server-wide issues. We do limit the amount of resources that can be used on an account and if your site is hitting that maximum it can be throttle so not to affect other users. We do send e-mails when this happens and responding to those e-mails will put you in touch with our server techs. You can also e-mail our QA department. For anyone that has issues with their account, we would like to help. Please e-mail us at QA [at] arvixe.com (this e-mail address also goes to management).

Posted on April 16th, 2015 at 14:04 EST

Arvixe -- Worst Web Host. Period.

Okay, so I joined arvixe at the recommendation of PCMag. It was super cheap and promised the moon. Unfortunately, everything positive they say about them is a flat out lie.

Arvixe takes incompetence to a whole new level. Their "service" barely functions. When it's not running at slug speed it's returning 404 errors or screwing up the name servers of your domains.

Good luck getting help from customer support. Their "award winning, 24/7" service might get back to you tomorrow. Need immediate assistance? Then be prepared to wait on hold for a half hour, then another 10 minutes while their rude Quality Assurance department "gets familiar with your situation"--a period of weird silence while you wait on the phone for them to read all your emails.

Then, finally, they'll tell you that "they're looking into your problem" and when they can't find anything--and believe me, they won't--they'll say that the problem must be on your end. They can't help you.

I finally called it quits after being unable to access my brand new site for 4 days. All the while being told by Arvixe that nothing was wrong. There was no error. And never once was I given an apology (even a we-don't-really-mean-it Post Office apology). Because of course, it was my fault.

I've been in IT for close to a decade and I've used other hosts before (GoDaddy, and HostMonster), and while they weren't the greatest, I never had any problems like Arvixe. At least they worked.

So yeah, I get that Arvixe is really cheap, but $70 bucks for nothing is still nothing. Not to mention the lost time and frustration.

There are better hosts out there. Save yourself and choose somebody else.

Biggest Pro: They give you a full refund--if you're prepared to argue.
Biggest Con: rude, brainless support, service rarely fuctions

Response by Noah - Customer Relations, who is an employee of Arvixe:

===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== To potential Arvixe Customers: WebHostingReviews.com is affiliated with those on the top list and does not approve good reviews for Arvixe. Arvixe is one of the fastest growing companies in the world and has been in business since 2003, there will naturally be complaints. We do our best (such as below) to identify what may have caused the issues for our customers and resolve them. We have partnerships with some of the biggest names in open source (OpenCart, Joomla) which we would not be able to do if we provided a sub-par service. However, this site (WebHostingReviews) has chosen to deceive web hosting customers by only posting bad reviews about our services and discarding the good reviews. As you can also see there has been no new reviews for the top 3 listed hosts in over a year. WebHostingReviews earns a commission off of the higher rated hosts' sales and has completely ignored our communication. ===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== Hi DCN, I am sorry that you had such a bad experience at Arvixe. For anyone that you talked to, that was rude to you, we would like to know as that is not behavior we want at Arvixe. Please note that our support team did constantly work with you to get your queries solved. Unfortunately the problem was with the DNS servers of your ISP, as they would not read the changes that were set on your domain. The reason the techs said everything was fine, was that the domain was up and always returned the site that was on our servers, even when using a proxy to view it. The techs did explain this and we are sorry that it did not work out. For anyone that has issues with their account, we would like to help. Please e-mail us at QA [at] arvixe.com (this e-mail address also goes to management).

Posted on March 2nd, 2015 at 16:04 EST

So hopeful but so disappointed

Ok, to begin with I found that their reviews are amazing. Whoever is in charge of marketing has done a good job.
But the service itself leaves a lot begging. I have a simple wordpress site and man, it's down 40-50% of the time. And, it's so slow.

Uploading to their site via FTP and drive-transfer was one of the worst experiences I had. I don't know if their servers are running on dialup modems, but I wouldn't be surprised. 500 byte p\s - 1KBps transfers??Are you kidding me?

Their support seems good so far, but I'm going to have to take the site down. Hopefully they will honour my refund amount.

Response by Noah - Customer Relations, who is an employee of Arvixe:

===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== To potential Arvixe Customers: WebHostingReviews.com is affiliated with those on the top list and does not approve good reviews for Arvixe. Arvixe is one of the fastest growing companies in the world and has been in business since 2003, there will naturally be complaints. We do our best (such as below) to identify what may have caused the issues for our customers and resolve them. We have partnerships with some of the biggest names in open source (OpenCart, Joomla) which we would not be able to do if we provided a sub-par service. However, this site (WebHostingReviews) has chosen to deceive web hosting customers by only posting bad reviews about our services and discarding the good reviews. As you can also see there has been no new reviews for the top 3 listed hosts in over a year. WebHostingReviews earns a commission off of the higher rated hosts' sales and has completely ignored our communication. ===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== Hi Arvind, I am sorry that you had those issues. I do see that you have worked with our support team and it appears you problem has been solved. If there is anything else we can assist you with, or anyone else who reads this review, please e-mail us at QA [at] arvixe.com.

Posted on February 9th, 2015 at 17:04 EST

Your Better " WITHOUT " Arvixe

I wish I had seen these reviews 7 years ago and "HEEDED" the warnings of stress, frustration and misery hosting with Arvixe.

Unfortunately, I made the choice to host my sites with Arvixe.

It took some time for me to accept the fact that there is literally " NO " knowledgeable tech support to be found within the Arvixe infrastructure. All of the so called "TECHNITIONS" both in the U.S. but mainly abroad (India) are hindered by their inept ability to perform simple technical tasks or customer requests. Their unwillingness to successfully communicate as a technical support team is even more appalling. Arvand claims there are over 50+ tech's, by my count there are about 15 and I have communicated with everyone of them over the years.

All of their shared systems are old, outdated and shared to maximum capacity which constantly causes problems with all of my websites. Application Pools only updating every "29" hours instead of "on command" as one would perceive to be true when applied from within the cpanel {this being one of the bigger offending problems}

In a nutshell, "SALES" and "FAUX SOCIAL MEDIA PROPAGANDA" is the only thing Arvixe does best. They will sell you anything. They will tell you they have everything anyone could ask for. They will sell you everything "UNLIMITED" for one low monthly price and if you buy multiple years at one time the price will be even cheaper. It is unfortunate but true, the only reason I went with Arvixe was because of the price. Seasonal coupons found on the web can make Arvixe final hosting prices one of the cheapest around. I've never added up all of the hours wasted fixing Arvixe bugs, screwups and failures so I changed the value for money from 10 to .1 because Arvixe probably cost me more than a monthly dedicated server over the past years.

There it is, I could probably write a book about how ridiculously bad Arvixe is to include all of the bugs, screwups, anomalies, outages, problems, billing errors, names, dates, times, trouble tickets, the works but all it really boils down to is if you enjoy being miserable then you and Arvixe are made for each other.

Now your probably thinking this guy is an insane hypocrite!

Yes, I question my sanity every day that I continue to host with Arvixe but like I said in the beginning after more than seven years of script, app, SQL and site moves, changes, restores, etc., the sites do work most of the time and some of my clients are relatively happy.

I am currently in the process of transferring domains and rebuilding sites from the ground up with a industry leading service provider. Unfortunately I still have a year or so left on my nonrefundable Pro Plan.

To: Arvand Sabetian (Arvixe Owner) - If this is really "Arvand" (FSMP Team!)
Please refrain from posting your insincere responses in an attempt to vindicate Arvixe. Placating reviewers by pretending to be apologetic and now {after the damage is done) try to pacify customers by promising to " MAKE IT RIGHT " when it should have been addressed by your feeble minded staff and " MADE RIGHT " when customers complained.

Really, its kind of pathetic for a belated response?

Biggest Pro: Coupon Discounted Cheap Price
Biggest Con: So many....where do I begin.....!

Response by Noah - Customer Relations, who is an employee of Arvixe:

===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== To potential Arvixe Customers: WebHostingReviews.com is affiliated with those on the top list and does not approve good reviews for Arvixe. Arvixe is one of the fastest growing companies in the world and has been in business since 2003, there will naturally be complaints. We do our best (such as below) to identify what may have caused the issues for our customers and resolve them. We have partnerships with some of the biggest names in open source (OpenCart, Joomla) which we would not be able to do if we provided a sub-par service. However, this site (WebHostingReviews) has chosen to deceive web hosting customers by only posting bad reviews about our services and discarding the good reviews. As you can also see there has been no new reviews for the top 3 listed hosts in over a year. WebHostingReviews earns a commission off of the higher rated hosts' sales and has completely ignored our communication. ===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE =====

Hi betterwoarvixe, we are sorry that you had issues are sorry you had issues. At the time of this response we have over 80 employees at Arvixe. We hire employees from all over the world to make sure that we can provide the best support possible. We use the best possible hardware to give our customers a solid platform to work on. Our server specs are available for anyone that requests them and also posted all over our website.

I am also sorry for the confusion over our "UNLIMITED" plans. We do provide unlimited DiskSpace and Bandwidth but usage of CPU/RAM/MYSQL is NOT unlimited. We even have a detailed post here: https://support.arvixe.com/index.php?/Knowledgebase/Article/View/129/4/how-limited-is-unlimited and it is also in our tos: http://www.arvixe.com/tos.php

If management or our QA team QA[@]arvixe[.]com is reached out to we are more than happy to address concerns and reach a resolution that is suitable. If a customer complains in a public forum without contacting us first we do what we can there to help that client.

******READERS OF THIS REVIEW: If you have been with Arvixe and are having issues as this clients says they have, you would have heard from Arvand or someone on the management team right away. As mentioned above, the QA address is a direct line to them. To have been at Arvixe for 7 years and not to have heard from anyone in management when trying to resolve issues as described above, is not possible.

Posted on December 2nd, 2014 at 18:00 EST

Total rip off

Arvixe total rip off I never got the chance to make my site live to the public because whilst building my site I got a suspension notice from them saying I had exceeded the c.p.u I have never been able to use the site for anything you would expect without being bombarded with not very friendly email saying I was abusing their server, but the fact is I never got the chance to use it, my account was only a small account but they did promise I could run RMS but every time I tried to use it I had to ask support to reboot the server as there was never a connection available, some of the support team are nice people but they haven't got a clue about anything and pass you on to their senior tec who at best very rude and at their worst blame you for all the problems, in the end I hosted my site on an old PC which is running under my bed at home and can only thank Arvixe for making me so frustrated with their poor service that it forced me to make the decision of using my old PC which has been running for over 2 years now without a problem, I even got my own RMS running on it and everything is 2000 times better than what I got from Arvixe hosting

Biggest Pro: forced me to run my own server
Biggest Con: their hosting

Response by Noah - Customer Relations, who is an employee of Arvixe:

===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== To potential Arvixe Customers: WebHostingReviews.com is affiliated with those on the top list and does not approve good reviews for Arvixe. Arvixe is one of the fastest growing companies in the world and has been in business since 2003, there will naturally be complaints. We do our best (such as below) to identify what may have caused the issues for our customers and resolve them. We have partnerships with some of the biggest names in open source (OpenCart, Joomla) which we would not be able to do if we provided a sub-par service. However, this site (WebHostingReviews) has chosen to deceive web hosting customers by only posting bad reviews about our services and discarding the good reviews. As you can also see there has been no new reviews for the top 3 listed hosts in over a year. WebHostingReviews earns a commission off of the higher rated hosts' sales and has completely ignored our communication. ===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE =====

We are sorry you had issues. It looks like WebHostingReviews released this review a few years out of date through. Every e-mail since then there has been a happy resolution. Again we are sorry for any issues that occurred at any time. For anyone reading this review:

For the e-mails sent, they are automated information e-mails of what is happening with the account on the server. We provide details on the processes that are causing the issues.This allows customers to see what is happening with their account so it can be fixed. When automated processes are being run through a users account (such as a cron job) it can increase the usage. That is why we send the e-mails, to work with the customer. These shared plans have other users and we make sure that everyone's account is functioning properly.

We would also like to know if anyone at Arvixe is rude or disrespectful so upper management can discuss that with them. We do not approve of any rudeness to our customers and work to make sure it does not occur. We do have a 24/7 QA team (which can be reached at QA(@)arvixe[.]com) whose only job is to make sure issues are resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Posted on July 18th, 2014 at 15:43 EST
Visit Arvixe
  • Filters (Advanced)

    Filters

    Only show reviews for:

    Selecting a filter will display only the reviews that match the filter. The rating averages at the top of the page will also change. Use if you want to severely limit the information visible to you.


  • More Options

    More Options

     first
     entries

Support our work: We earn a referral fee when you sign-up with some of the hosts listed on the site.

20 years operating About us

© 1999-2019 User Reviews Inc. Address: L0070-323 Coventry Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 3X6. Terms of Use & Privacy Policy