Search

1and1 reviews – Page 11

Please enable JavaScript to view chart

On average, 1and1 is not recommended by users on our web site.

This statement was automatically generated by analyzing the reviews and ratings about the company.

See the metrics that we looked at
Page RelevancyFootnote 1 Very High
# of Reviews 190
# that Recommend 23
Very Low
% that Recommend 12%
Very Low
Overall RatingFootnote 2 23.5%
Very Low
Review QualityFootnote 2 Footnote * 100%
Very High

If this host does not meet your expectations, please browse our search section to find one that does.

1and1.com sucks

If you're thinking about doing business with 1 and 1 internet, then you may want to reconsider after your done reading this article.

1 And 1 Internet provides a range of services from web and dedicated servers. They are considered one of the worse companies in the U.S when it comes to providing technical support and customer services.

If you're thinking about getting a dedicated server with them, then do not expect to receive very technical support. If you try asking a simple question about Plesk that is installed on their servers, you will get a response we do not support it.

Comparing the price on the dedicated servers with the other providers listed on google.com, 1 And 1 Internet is way over price. You can compare some of the prices using this link http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&source=hp&q=cheap+dedicaed+linux+servers&aq=f&aqi=m1&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai= or go to http://www.santrex.com.

1 And 1 Internet can even do a simple process of syncing there email between their billing and cancellation system that is used to cancel your account.

If you want to make a complaint against the company do no except a response from 1 And 1 Internet.

If you have a complaint about 1 And 1 Internet, then you should file your complaint by going to http://www.bbb.org. They will listen to you and they keep a total numbers of complaints that they receive against the companies.

As of October 4, 2007 here is total number of complaints that have been filed against 1 And 1 Internet Inc.


Find out more about this business:
Reported on Tuesday, October 5, 2010 3:56 PM
* BBB Accreditation
* BBB Rating
* Business Contact and Profile
* Alternate Business Names
* Additional Locations and Phone Numbers
* Licensing
* Customer Complaint History
* Government Actions
* Advertising Review
* Additional Information
BBB Accreditation
Back To Top
This business has not been accredited by BBB.
Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.
To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.
BBB Rating
Back To Top
Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of F
Click here for an explanation of BBB Ratings.
Reasons for this rating include:
* Number of complaints filed against business
* Failure to respond to complaints filed against business
* Number of complaints filed against business that were unresolved
* Number of serious complaints filed against business
* Overall complaint history with BBB
Business Contact and Profile
Back To Top
Name: 1 And 1 Internet, Inc.
Phone: (877) 461-2631
Address: 701 Lee Road, Suite 300, Chesterbrook, PA 19087
Google map Mapquest map Yahoo map

Business Category: Internet Services
eMail: [email protected]

BBB file opened: December 31, 2003
Business started: May 2003
Business started locally: May 2003
Primary Contact: Mr. Oliver Mauss (CEO)
Complaint Contact: Mr. Joseph Quinn (Complaints Director)
Other Contacts: Mr. Frederick Iwons (U.S. General Manager)
Mr. Dirk Moreno (V.P. Customer Care)
Alternate Business Names
Back To Top
1 & 1 Internet Inc
1 and 1
1&1
Additional Locations and Phone Numbers
Back To Top
(610) 560-1507 (FAX)
Customer Complaint History
Back To Top
The company's size, volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by the BBB. The complaints filed against a company may not be as important as the type of complaints, and how the company has handled them. The BBB generally does not pass judgment on the validity of complaints filed.
Number of complaints processed by the BBB
in the last 36 months: 806
in the last 12 months: 249
Complaints Concerned:
Selling Practices (66 complaints)
46 Resolved
1 Unresolved
1 Company made every reasonable effort to resolve
18 Company did not respond

Advertising Issues (17 complaints)
13 Resolved
2 Unresolved
2 Company did not respond

Service Issues (113 complaints)
91 Resolved
3 Unresolved
5 Company made every reasonable effort to resolve
14 Company did not respond

Customer Service Issues (3 complaints)
1 Resolved
2 Unresolved

Credit or Billing Disputes (464 complaints)
336 Resolved
33 Unresolved
16 Company made every reasonable effort to resolve
79 Company did not respond

Delivery Issues (16 complaints)
11 Resolved
1 Company made every reasonable effort to resolve
4 Company did not respond

Refund Practices (49 complaints)
38 Resolved
1 Delayed Resolution
1 Company made every reasonable effort to resolve
9 Company did not respond

Product Quality (10 complaints)
10 Resolved

Contract Disputes (52 complaints)
39 Resolved
2 Company made every reasonable effort to resolve
11 Company did not respond

Guarantee or Warranty Issues (9 complaints)
6 Resolved
1 Company made every reasonable effort to resolve
2 Company did not respond

Repair Issues (7 complaints)
7 Resolved

Government Actions
Back To Top
The BBB has no information regarding Government Actions at this time.
Advertising Review
Back To Top
The BBB has no information regarding Ad Reviews at this time.
As a matter of policy, the BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.
BBB Reliability Reports are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Reliability Report is believed reliable, but not guaranteed as to accuracy.
BBB Reliability Reports generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Reliability Reports are subject to change at any time.
If you choose to do business with this business, please let the business know that you contacted the BBB for a BBB Reliability Report.
ID: 1040770
Report as of: 10/5/2010 3:56 PM

The CEO of 1and1.com has no control over there employees and they treat there customers like ****.

The link for the site is http://www.dc.bbb.org/report.html?national=y&compid=1040770

You can you also reach me on irc.cyberchatnet.com

how crap are 1 and 1

Extra fees, bad telephone representative, long server down time
My website was down about 2 days every week, with weird errors like 500 error (which is server side error) or simply no response.
I used it to host several simple html pages and I dont think that will cause the super long down time.

After 1.5 years I finally decided to move away from 1and1 and cancelled my account 3 weeks in advance.

However, they still sent me a bill of 5 dollars after my cancellation of the service, and when I tried to call the sales representative, they kept giving me an attitude and transferring me around the department, just to save that 5 dollars. (and their sales representative's accent is intolerable).

Hope my extra fees, bad experience from telephone representative and server down time can persuade you away from them. Don't be fooled by their "promotion" and self-claimed cheap price.


i'v had the same with them DON'T USE THEM there crap

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: all of it

Dishonest

I've used 1and1 for years, and as long as the help I needed was over the phone it's no problem. Issues arose when I needed some real support. I was in the process of moving moving my domains from 1and1 to a new host that supported ASP.net 3.5 when they came out with the deal that for a 1 year contract you could get Dreamweaver free. Great deal! So I took it and moved my domains over. It's been a month now and STILL NO DREAMWEAVER!!! All I get is a canned we're working on it response. The funny thing is I've just taken over administering a Baptist association's website that includes 161 members, and will be taking those sites to a new host, but certainly not this one!

Biggest Pro: Price I guess
Biggest Con: Technical support stinks

0

After many horrible months with a website badly hosted by 1&1.com I canceled my account but STUPIDLY left my domain registered with 1&1 and the domain expired with NO NOTICE despite my contact information remaining current. I found out the website was down from a puzzled customer who could no longer access the site. My other domains are all registered with BlueHost and they very kindly send a renewal notice. When I called 1&1 they told me I have to file a redemption request and pay $40 to get my domain back. I also have to wait 5 or more business days. When I told them this was terrible customer service to hold my domain name and refuse to let me transfer it or renew it immediately, the customer service agent HUNG UP ON ME.

1&1 is a dismal hosting company for many reasons besides this, including dreadful technical support, multiple programming glitches and lack of features for the cost of hosting, but this absolutely takes the cake.

DO NOT HOST HERE - Terrible customer service

DO NOT HOST HERE - seriously.

Their hosting service is average, but their customer service is the worst I have ever seen. I canceled my account with them and yet, they still feel the need to charge me for services I neither want nor received.

They will automatically sign you up for a 1 year contract – they did this to me after I spoke with a CS agent while I was signing up and specifically said I wanted a month-to-month plan.

On top of it all, their customer service agents AND MANAGERS are rude beyond belief. The manager I spoke with was Damien Christopher, who apparently is a 20-something year old kid with a serious attitude problem. It amazes me that this company promoted someone that immature and disrespectful to a managerial role.

Trust me – there are more important things in life, and there are better host providers out there. It’s just not worth it – move on and find another host. You’ll be better off.

Dreadful customer care - stay well away!!

I am so fed up with 1and1 that I'm leaving them. Unfortunately, I'm having difficulty communicating this to the call centre! It is in the Philippines and they use the worst headsets known to man. When you call the centre for support, you're faced with inaudible robotic and oddly squeaky mutterings which sound a bit like this "glawgloer wamug ... domain name ... rwarioii mawue ... control panel". The combination of bad English and poor headsets means that you spend 35 infuriating minutes trying to get one question answered (and of course you are paying for the long phone call!). I don't know how I've put up with it for so long! I'm off.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: The awful call centre

Avoid like the plague

Their services are reasonably cheap, and if you do not require technical support then they're great. But if for some reason you run into a situation where human contact is required on behalf of 1&1, you might as well just move to another host. The english language is not capable of describing how poor their customer service really is. Beyond being ill informed, or just not knowledgeable, if they don't know an answer they will just make something up. If for some reason you have a domain transfer issue that gets escalated, they'll tell you a resolution time frame is 24 to 48 hours. So far, that time frame has meant 3-4 weeks for me.

I was a customer for the better part of 10 years, and didn't have too much trouble until recently when I ran into financial troubles and website hosting became a low priority. My account fell behind and was sent to collections, but once I got back on my feet I called them up to pay them the outstanding balance. I was told that I caught it right on time because my account was due for deletion in 3 weeks. I paid the balance, in full, and they told me that it would take 3 business days to process, and my services would be turned back on. After 2 weeks of fighting with them, and being told different things by different reps, I decided to move my domains to another registrar. A Rep gave me the auth codes and "unlocked" the domains. I have been unable to move my domains, but I have been told that the case has been "escalated" to the transfers department, and they will handle it and unlock my domains for me. That was a week ago, and I have yet to hear anything. I am still unable to transfer my domains.

According to ICANN rules, they are not allowed to hold the domains hostage like this. I have filed a complaint with ICANN, and will be filing one with the BBB shortly. The BBB gives 1&1 an F.

1and1 AWFUL Asking Representative to Involve Commerce Dept

1and1 has held my requested name change hostage for two weeks now. they will not change over DNS servers when though they said they would. It has already cost me thousands i lost sales. fortunately I have a few congressional friends, and am going to ask them to have Commerce look at 1and1s US license status and see what complaints they are having. These guys needs to go. After reading all these negative posts, I can't imagine why they are even allowed to do business here. We'll see what shakes out.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: they are a CON

Avoid the worst host in history!

This co. started out good, but like so many ended up at the bottom of the heap. Total garbage co. now. I hosted several sites with them for years and now was forced to move them to iPower ( a good hosting service BTW.) This has cost me dearly in time and money. The most incompetent, moronic, retarded technical support and billing dept. They kept screwing up one thing after another and then still demanded payment from me for stuff.

Server down EVERY DAY after weeks of dealing with them they still weren't able to fix the slow as molasses servers and servers constantly going dead. DO you want to host your websites with a co. like that?

After I disputed some charges they totally reprehensibly locked one of my client's accounts so they couldn't get their emails which was a disgusting and unconscionable act!. THEN it cost me $20 to just unlock it - months later they're still sending me emails about money I owe them (!!!)

ABSOLUTELY AVOID THESE MORONS AT ALL COST!!!!

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: cheap to start-up then the horror starts soon thereafter

Previous reviews by Michael Philips

The information below is no longer valid because the user has posted a follow-up review above.

Read other entries by this user:

Stay away

Used them for a few years for a bunch of domains (business hosting) and they were great in the beginning. Maybe they were sold to another co. because for a year now I had nothing but problems. Their tech support is outsourced to some backwater Indian sh!thole village where you can't understand a word they're saying their English is so dwarfed. My servers were down on a DAILY BASIS, they would not do anything about it. Speed would come to a crawl at unpredictable intervals. Eventually I gave up on these guys and moved my hosting elsewhere. I would not recommend these guys to anyone.

By Michael Philips on June 7th, 2010 at 13:44 EST
URL: http://www.mozgomedia.com/ Customer for 3 - 5 years
Plan: Shared | Platform: Windows | Email: [Logged]

Was this review helpful?
15 people voted yes

What is it with all the negatives?

I've had an account hosted with 1and1 for @ one year. I have several subdomains configured and use it mainly as a testing server for prep work on client sites. The thing about that is that I work in MySQL and domain setup frequenly. The site uptime has been good and I've never had a problem at all with either configuration processes, tech support or customer service. I've read several reviews and even had another hosting provider admin say how much he disliked 1and1. He mentioned that they host 'a lot of miscreants' and are hard to get domains transferred from. What would you expect from another hosting provider??

I've yet to encounter any notable reason to validate any of it.. not saying that something might not change in the future, but that's my experience so far.

Hope this helps.

{host_name} Alternatives

SiteGround – {host_reviews1} reviews

Overall: {host_score1}/10

Host Gator – {host_reviews3} reviews

Overall: {host_score3}/10

Visit 1and1
  • Filters (Advanced)

    Filters

    Only show reviews for:

    Selecting a filter will display only the reviews that match the filter. The rating averages at the top of the page will also change. Use if you want to severely limit the information visible to you.


  • More Options

    More Options

     first
     entries

Support our work: We earn a referral fee when you sign-up with some of the hosts listed on the site.

21 years operating About us

© 1999-2020 User Reviews Inc. Address: L0070-323 Coventry Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 3X6. Terms of Use & Privacy Policy