SiteGround

Visit SiteGround Visit SiteGround   Write your own SiteGround review. Write your own SiteGround review.
15 out of 51 (or 29% of) people recommend SiteGround.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
7.48 / 10.0 6.76 / 10.0 4.36 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
4.95 / 10.0 3.45 / 10.0
SiteGround
› Overall Rating ››    42.02% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 51 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

SiteGround reviews

uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Switched from GoDaddy

I loved GoDaddy and used their Cpanel hosting for years, but after a unexplained change my site began to go down repeatedly and GoDaddy support could do nothing. All they could offer was a new site that I could manually transfer to. I contacted SiteGround and switched: they moved my site for free and troubleshot some post move CMS issues. Tech support is way more helpful and fast. Chat support is within 5 minutes and email is < 1 hour. They even provide CMS support and will login to your install to troubleshoot. My site is faster now and has never gone down. I also use their premium "HackAlert" scanner and standard "CloudFlare" CDN.

Biggest Pro: Tech support and site reliability is way better than GoDaddy
Biggest Con: Cpanel DNS, site auto update, and scheduled backup is not as easy as Godaddy

SiteGround is recommended by Lyle Huff. This person recommends SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on February 14th, 2016 at 20:07 EST by Lyle Huff
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 50.134.252.202
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.tvems.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
2.90
price value for money
4.90
* ratings are out of 10

Why I will never deal with Siteground again

I hosted with Siteground for years. I hosted two domains with them, but needed to add a third domain. Their tech support recommended I upgrade from their "startup" plan to their "GrowBig" account for one of my domains, then add the other two domains as "add-on domains". I agreed, they charged me $178 to upgrade and moved the websites for me. This caused major problems with my email. I spent several days on their chat and filing support tickets trying to get things straightened out. It never did get straightened out. I even tried going back to my original hosting configuration and the email problems persisted. I finally got so exasperated, that I moved all three websites to a new hosting service and canceled my Siteground accounts. This was 3 weeks after the upgrade. When I heard nothing from Siteground about a refund of the $178, I tried to use both their chat line and their support ticket ssystem, but I could not access either because I had "no open hosting accounts". So, I called them and was told that since it was an "upgrade", there would be no refund. I will never deal with them again and caution others bout them.

Biggest Pro: uptime
Biggest Con: poor tech support and customer service

Response by Lilyana Yakimova, who is a staff member of SiteGround:

Hello George,
We are sorry that you have decided to cancel your hosting account. From our records we see that the missing email folders issue would have been most probably resolved by simply re-subscribing to the desired folders. Unfortunately 2 days after the upgrade, you decided to go back to the lower plan, without testing this option. After that you contacted for assistance only our Customer Care team via chat, but did not follow their instructions to contact our Advanced technical team again.
Indeed, after a customer cancels their account, they no longer have access to the help desk system for tickets. Yet our team is available to answer any hosting-related questions via phone and chat - they is always the option to contact us as non-customer.
On your request for refund - although we have a no refund policy on upgrades or extra services different than hosting, we have made an exception and refunded the money for the upgrade on the services you did not use with us.

Posted on March 14th, 2016 at 10:20 EST
SiteGround is NOT recommended by George. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on January 16th, 2016 at 16:14 EST by George
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 24.145.86.150
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Good Hardware, Good Support, Shady Billing Practices

My Major complaint are their billing practices. They bill 5-days in advance of renewal date. I got my bill receipt and decided to downgrade my plan 4-days in advance of renewal start date and one day after paying. Downgrade was from $160/month to $80/month. Despite my actual renewal date not taking effect yet; they said I would lose my $80 difference! That's called stealing for services not rendered. I threatened to switch hosting companies and they gave me the $80 credit for next month. You should not have to fight with your Vendors to get what is right. This is not the first time I have clashed with their business practices. I like their platform for hosting, but for the premium they charge you think they would focus on the customer enjoying the business relationship. I do not!

Biggest Pro: Great Hardware Platform
Biggest Con: Shady Billing Practices

SiteGround is NOT recommended by Rick. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    60.00% 
Reviewed on December 29th, 2015 at 14:10 EST by Rick
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 73.149.182.19
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Terrible for email - avoid them

Their email is flaky at best, and at times terrible. Iíve had no end of trouble, not least that my sites keep going down because of too many open IMAP connections.

If you need more than one email address, or more than one client (eg a phone and a desktop and a laptop) you will quickly have too many IMAP requests. They offer technical solutions, none of which work and they refuse to take any responsibility. They fob you off. So your email doesnít work and your sites are down.

They recommended I switch from a £6 a month scheme to one that costs £36 in order to get decent email. Thatís bait and switch if you ask me.

I'm having to move all my email somewhere else because they can't be trusted with it. Don't sign up with these people.

Biggest Pro: Polite
Biggest Con: Dishonest marketing, terrible email services

Response by Lilyana Yakimova, who is a staff member of SiteGround:

Hello Simon, we understand the inconvenience this situation is causing you, but please keep in mind that the server on which your account is hosted is a shared one. As a result, all of the accounts in the shared environment are using their fair share of the server's resources (20 simultaneous connections on this specific plan). In your case up to 4 times more connections were used by your local email client, a situation which is very rare among our other customers. This is why until now there hasn't been a need for the global limits for the server to be increased. Our techs have tried to assist you as good as possible considering that they have no access to your local email clients. Since you did not find the rest of their suggestions (switch to an alternative email client) suitable for your case, the only other option would be an upgrade to a higher one.

Posted on February 28th, 2016 at 15:02 EST
SiteGround is NOT recommended by SImon. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on November 17th, 2015 at 04:08 EST by SImon
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 80.229.23.224
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
4.50
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

Terrible company to leave

Site ground lied on what their reps could offer and basically made it impossible for me to leave without a ton of extra charges and headaches. Their reps would promise one thing and then not follow through. They conveniently couldn't find a chat where a rep promised me something and then they didn't have to honor it.

Beware of the good rating - when I chatted with them for a quick question, I always was asked to rate them and give feedback. However, when I had an issue that they did not resolve or wouldn't help with, they never asked for a rating. This completely skews the numbers and makes them look great on paper.

This company is not customer centered. All they care about is their bottom line.

Biggest Con: Trick you into extra charges

SiteGround is NOT recommended by T. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on July 11th, 2014 at 08:43 EST by T
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 75.221.117.24
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
9.30
server & connection speed
9.10
technical support & knowledge
6.70
customer service & billing
7.80
price value for money
9.10
* ratings are out of 10

The are willing to help but don't really do much to help.

I have a real nightmare right now. All my email on many computers with several URLs stopped working after Siteground did an upgrade of their severs. They claim it is my settings but I never changed them on any of the these computers or URLs. Even my I-phone email which I use them for stopped working. It's insane to assume it is on my side that is the problem. They respond quickly to every issue but send the same response that simply does not work. I am so frustrated that I fear I will have to change all of my URL hosting and my web hosting away from them and that is a real headache. I have no other complaints with their hosting but this is a deal killer. It does seem that given all the email complaints on this and other sites that they simply do not have control of that element and potential customers need to think about that before hosting with them.

SiteGround is NOT recommended by Yehoshua Sofer. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    84.00% 
Reviewed on June 20th, 2014 at 20:17 EST by Yehoshua Sofer
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 166.137.209.44
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
3.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

Poor for small business - not as advertised

I see a review mentioning 'unlimited' claim on email...and unlimited is on their web-site despite Sitegrounds response that they do not make that claim. I saw no where that there was a 500 MB (Yes, MB) limit. What SiteGround may not understand is that novices is the market they are marketing to...and 500MB is ridiculously small as one will find once they try to use the service. They offer no options to upgrade only the email quoto...you must upgrade the entire plan. Whereas most places sell 5 GB for about $50 a year, to get anywhere close with Siteground, you will have to pay for an $80 a MONTH plan...and my understanding is that's only for 2GB. I am switching my email to GoDaddy...and Siteground refused to help. I was actually told by their rep that if GoDaddy wanted my business they would figure it out for me. I call it scammy. Whether Siteground agrees or not, that is my judgment. I believe their philosophy is flawed. Offer options to upgrade email or disclose LOUDLY and CLEARLY that your email service is sub-standard. So the value for the money...it's not cheap as it appears if you want to actually receive emails and not have to delete them / constantly maintain them as was recommended to me by Siteground. I keep emails for reference. I shouldn't have to delete them because of an extremely small quota allowance and short-sightedness on Sitegrounds part. They may be great on web-hosting if that's all they're used for, but as far as overall 'all-in-one' (which I presume most small to mid-size companies will wwant)..Poor.

Biggest Pro: Cheap
Biggest Con: Not saavy to their market

Response by Lilyana Yakimova, who is a staff member of SiteGround:

Hello Steve,
We understand your concerns (and will certainly respect your feedback when we make changes to our products), but please note that in the first place we provide web hosting services and only as part of that - email hosting. Due to this fact our email solution might be subject to some limitations, but we have made sure to mention them explicitly on our website.
When you purchase email hosting from other providers, you usually pay only for email services per user (as in the case with GoDaddy $50/year per user) and for additional users you have to pay additionally. A domain name is also usually not included in the package and neither is website hosting.
With our package on the other hand users get the domain name free, email hosting and website hosting together. With our email service we don't set a limit on the number of email accounts your can create. What we do limit is the space usage per account - as mentioned in our TOS - up to 500 MB with our StartUp plan, up to 1000 MB with our GrowBig plan, and up to 2000 MB with our GoGeek plan. We understand that our email service might be not suitable for every user, but we do not hide this fact and are always willing to improve thanks to users feedback like yours.

Posted on February 17th, 2014 at 10:56 EST
SiteGround is NOT recommended by Steve. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    25.00% 
Reviewed on February 11th, 2014 at 16:55 EST by Steve
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 76.31.247.1
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Tech support good, marketing awful

I was on Siteground for many years, with several websites. The tech support guys were good. What annoyed me was the marketing department trying to upsell me new services. For example, the access your website's control panel you first have to go through a page that tries to get you to buy new services, in big letters, with deceptive wording like "WARNING - YOUR WEBSITE WILL EXPIRE REALLY SOON UNLESS YOU CLICK HERE" just to sell you some add-on package you don't want. Then in the tiniest font possible, at the bottom, you'd find a link "No thanks, I just want to access my control panel." There were also roundabout links so that if you'd try to get to tech support you'd go in a circle through webpages trying to sell you new services.

The only technical problem I can remember was the Backup Buddy didn't work and tech support couldn't figure out why.

Biggest Pro: tech support
Biggest Con: marketing

SiteGround is NOT recommended by Thomas D Kehoe. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    35.00% 
Reviewed on September 9th, 2013 at 11:32 EST by Thomas D Kehoe
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 76.120.74.121
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.casafuturatech.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
7.60
server & connection speed
4.30
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.40
* ratings are out of 10

Falsely claimed I had a virus and shut my all my email accounts

Poorly run hosting service!!!! Shut down all of my hosted email accounts claiming I had a virus on my PC that was sending out spam? My PC is CLEAN. Refused to explain. Said I had to run virus software on my pc to get email service back. Did and still no service. SCAM!! Poor service.

Biggest Pro: Cheap
Biggest Con: Incompetent

Response by Lilyana Yakimova, who is a staff member of SiteGround:

Dear Todd Wilson,

When SiteGround receives a complaint from its upstream provider about illegal activity performed through a customer account, we post a ticket for this customer with detailed information about the complaint and measures that he/she could take to resolve the case.

Please note that we must take immediate actions to stop activities violating our ToS, otherwise we risk having the whole server unplugged with hundreds of accounts on it.

Our support reps are instructed to provide additional information on request and assist professionally customers in such cases to the final resolution.

If you let me know what your domain name is, I will investigate this case in your name and check if there has been any miscommunication. Please send an email with more details to sales at siteground dot com.

Best Regards!

Posted on June 19th, 2012 at 10:15 EST
SiteGround is NOT recommended by Todd Wilson. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    22.00% 
Reviewed on June 18th, 2012 at 16:28 EST by Todd Wilson
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 198.241.174.15
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Not as promised

Mailbox quota is not un-limited as they said. The first 5 mailboxes are only allowed to occupy 2GB, The next 5 mailboxes are 500MB, The next 5 are 250MB.
They promised unlimited diskspace.

Response by Lilyana Yakimova, who is a staff member of SiteGround:

Hello Taha Khamis,

We state in our ToS (http://www.siteground.com/tos_popup.htm?id=58) that the maximum mailbox size per mailbox is 500MB. We have never advertised to have unlimited mail quota.
The space we offer for website files is unlimited. The storage space for other multimedia files is limited as per our ToS. Please contact our Sales team if you need more info or assistance with your account.

Best Regards!

Posted on May 14th, 2012 at 06:09 EST
SiteGround is NOT recommended by Taha Khamis. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on April 25th, 2012 at 01:28 EST by Taha Khamis
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 41.196.210.85
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.elmasrya-engineering.com/   Email: tahakhamis@yahoo.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
« Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.