PowWeb

Visit PowWeb Visit PowWeb   Write your own PowWeb review. Write your own PowWeb review.
4 out of 15 (or 27% of) people recommend PowWeb.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
7.07 / 10.0 5.58 / 10.0 5.11 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
3.65 / 10.0 4.03 / 10.0
PowWeb
› Overall Rating ››    40.40% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 11 to 15 out of 15 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2 Next »

PowWeb reviews

uptime & reliability
5.30
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.40
* ratings are out of 10

PowWeb.com and PowWeb-inc.com

We have thirty-one hosts. PowWeb, is among the worst. Among so many other issues, you cannot set your password, although they claim otherwise. Account lockouts are common. Downtime is scurrilous, and FTP speed is reminiscent of 1994 AOL dialups.

We recognize that flexibility is important to maintaining good relations with webhosts. IN RE Powweb.com and powweb-inc.com, we find no flexibility on the part of PowWeb or its service dep't, which may be functionally illiterate, or based in some far-flung place where working knowledge of English is not required.

We'd like to warn people away from PowWeb. It's just gotten worse over time, and, there are far better hosts out there.

Biggest Pro: We're free to go elsewhere
Biggest Con: Poor service, slow server, unreliable, bad deal

PowWeb is NOT recommended by Dr. Cohen. This person does NOT recommend PowWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    17.00% 
Reviewed on April 28th, 2009 at 22:37 EST by Dr. Cohen
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 70.4.50.195
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #11 out of 15 PowWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Can't beat the price

Powweb is a shared hosting provider that I have been using for just under a year now. They have a price of only $5.77 a month for 300 gigs of space and their one and only plan includes a free domain (for a year). For the price I really don't think there is a better shared hosting provider. Now that's not to say that they are perfect by any means. I have noticed some slowness with some of my pages loading. It usually only lasts a few hours and then the speed picks right up again. Their other fault is that you can only host 1 site for that price (you can create many sub domains though). I've found the 24/7 tech support to be quite helpful and knowledgeable as well. Also for that price you get a bunch of free programs already installed that you just need to activate. The best being wordpress.

Overall I'm happy with Powweb and I recommend them for anyone looking to start a new site.

Biggest Pro: The price and diskspace
Biggest Con: Only 1 site included per account

PowWeb is recommended by Steve M.. This person recommends PowWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on December 30th, 2007 at 22:59 EST by Steve M.
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 99.243.109.96
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.weightlossweapons.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #12 out of 15 PowWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
8.50
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
9.80
* ratings are out of 10

Good Value for Money

I signed up for PowWeb as my first host, having heard about it from a friend. Having previously been on a free host, I was somewhat daunted by the huge amount of space on offer, and along with the traffic allowed, not unlimited, but more than enough I find (200 pages and I haven't scratched the surface). There's an easy to use control panel which everyone can use (even my mother) and for the more technologically minded the FTP is easy to access, which I connected to no problems. I found the PHP support very useful, though it was annoying to find out after muchbannoying discussion with Technical Support they don't support custom dlls. All-in-all you get a lot for virtually no cost: more than enough for small to medium sized businesses.

Biggest Pro: Space and traffic you get for the money
Biggest Con: No techie support base/forums

PowWeb is recommended by Harry Burt. This person recommends PowWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on October 28th, 2007 at 13:45 EST by Harry Burt
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 172.188.89.235
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.foundation-flash.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #13 out of 15 PowWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
8.70
price value for money
9.90
* ratings are out of 10

Powweb - for the empowered

I hosted my old website on powweb for more than a year. They have only one plan. But it in essentials had all what i needed. Their Support was terrific and the servers uptime was 100%. I never had my website down . The serrver was very much reliable and lightning fast. But one major pitfall on the host is that they have only one plan and I felt that the resources given was too much to me at that time when i nowhere touched 35% of the total resource available and thought that the price i had to pay for that was a sky high. But on the whole they are a great host. I would recomend anyone to sign up there if your site sucks that much mamoth resource and you can afford to spend 100bucks a year just for your site.

Biggest Pro: Great support, Mamoth Resource
Biggest Con: Only one plan

PowWeb is recommended by Vasu. This person recommends PowWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on October 14th, 2007 at 11:59 EST by Vasu
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 122.164.158.69
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #14 out of 15 PowWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
8.60
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.50
* ratings are out of 10

PowWeb's famous OnePlan

PowWeb is a host that has been around for quite a few years now. I personally believe this is a great host. They have many benefits, including 300GB space, 3000GB data transfer, 24/7 live support and a custom built control panel that lets you dynamically modify many things such as the PHP.INI file and interpreter versions. The only disappointing thing about this host is that they are a little elusive. They have only one plan, and on their site they claim to allow ‘unlimited domains’ which one would think means you can have as many sites as you want, but in reality ‘unlimited domains’ just means you can have multiple domains point to the same site. However, overall I think this is a great host with a large community forum and other great features. All this at just $5.77 a month. I recommend this host.

Biggest Pro: 24/7 Live Chat
Biggest Con: Only 1 site per account unless you pay more per month.

PowWeb is recommended by Jeff Brown. This person recommends PowWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    96.00% 
Reviewed on September 7th, 2007 at 02:07 EST by Jeff Brown
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 67.185.141.111
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #15 out of 15 PowWeb reviews
1 2 Next »
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.