SECTIONS
  HOME
  Basic Hosting
  Dedicated Server
  ColdFusion Hosting
  E-Commerce
  NT Hosting
  Top Rated
Lunar Pages
TOOLS
  Buying Guides
  Domain Availability Check
  Read/Submit Reviews
  Add/Modify Host
SUPPORT
  Glossary
  Contact Form
Host Gator
ADVERTISE
  Information
WEBMASTER
  Link to Us
  Partners/Links
  Affiliate Programs
MySiteSpace
MySiteSpace Reviews
 
Do you have more than 1 web site?
Host Gator lets you host as many web sites as you want in 1 account. This is a great way to save money if you have more than 1 web site, or if you plan on opening more in the near future.
 
"BEWARE!!!"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: G. W.   livingwells@yahoo.com
Date/Time of Posting = Apr 23 2007 / 19:09:34
IP Address: 24.162.242.102
Rating: 1
I have hosted with mysitespace for several years. The main problem is the lack of support and ABSOLUTLY NO TELEPHONE NUMBER FOR ANYTHING AT ALL!!!! They will not call you back even if you email them your phone number and ask them too. They have just billed my credit card on file for a re-occurring hosting fee even though I followed the procedures and faxed them a cancellation notice. I have sent 4 emails asking them to please resolve this issue and NO ONE responds!

STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOSTING COMPANY because they are bound to go out of business operating in this manner. I will never host with a company again that does not provide a phone number for support, billing, sales or anything!

"poor service"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Iarsenio   e-mail not given
Date/Time of Posting = Apr 23 2007 / 10:26:04
IP Address: 213.22.216.221
Rating: 1
Beware MySiteSpace users. Their servers suffered a virus attack recently and they do not respond in time to customers neither issue a warning. My index pages are being altered and customer support does not give me a straight answer for several days. Iím leaving mysitespace. All users check your HTML pages, especially index pages to see if you find any strange code.
"good for a while, but service was not there in the end"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Steven Stahl   cda_class@yahoo.com
Date/Time of Posting = Apr 16 2007 / 20:14:01
IP Address: 216.227.99.207
Rating: 5
If you have a problem they have no telephone to call.

If you want to cancel, you must find the link on the website - they will not respond to e-mails.

I have been on mysitespace for several years. Several times the Website stopped working. I used their web ticket and all was solved quickly. This time, everything went down. They got my website back up, but after 5 days had failed to get it going (fortunately the forwarder worked, so I hopefully did not lose any mail. On the 3rd day they stopped responding to tickets. I warned them I would close both of my accounts, but no response. I e-mailed both their sales and billing departments.

I gave them a 5 because they did have problems occassionally, but had been fine. If I rated them on the last week, it would have been a zero.

"Do Not Host with this Low Budget Operation"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Jason Thacker   jason@thackermedia.com
Date/Time of Posting = Mar 28 2007 / 18:49:55
IP Address: 66.56.10.176
Rating: 1
I have a reseller account and a single account hosted with them and over the past week my site has gone up and down and email has done the same. I just found out today that all my email accounts for all my customers have magically disappeared. Customer support is rude and not very helpful. I have logged trouble tickets that have received no response in weeks. Thier support website is outdated with wrong information. I have been in the web design business for over 13 years and this has been the worst nightmare in dealing with hosting.

Seek a more professional solution! I am currently trying to move my clients.

"GREAT SERVICE"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Randy   randy@randport.com
Date/Time of Posting = Mar 20 2007 / 16:57:05
IP Address: 71.57.179.163
Rating: 10
I had such an awesome experience setting up an account with MySiteSpace. I will totally recomend their services to anyone looking for great hosting at a great price!
"Beware.."
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Billy Holland   billy.holland@gmail.com
Date/Time of Posting = Feb 08 2006 / 22:45:24
IP Address: 71.64.115.223
Rating: 1
A few years ago i had a free website with them that i used for personal use and thought it was great. Then they started having server issues left and right and people complained and started leaving them. I saw this and thought i'd send them a note of encouragement, saying that they shouldn't let it get to them and that i hoped things would improve.

They responded to me personally with an email saying i was a "breath of fresh air" and they offered me a "FREE" pro website hosting package. I thought it was very nice of them and took them up on it. There were no strings attached, no need for my billing information and even though there were minor server issues i didn't mind because it was free.

This year i wrote them to change the domain because i'd bought a new one and my old one had been purchased. I was given the letter from Don, the general manager, that they needed my billing information or transaction number or they would be deleting my account.

I wrote them a polite email reminding them of everything and that they had given me the site for free. Don wrote back saying that it wasn't meant to be a lifetime site and that he'd give me a couple days to get my billing setup. I have since decided to move my site and domain somewhere else as i was never sent an email or messege of any kind about the site no longer being free, and i don't like when people give you something for free then decide to charge you for it when they start seeing dollar signs.

Mysitespace.com can not be trusted to follow anything they say and after this experience i felt it was important to tell anyone considering them, exactly the kind of games they play with people.

It is as bad as offering someone a free membership at a club, then deciding to charge the person for it later.. changing the rules without warning or explaining yourself is bad business and makes me wonder what kind of things they would try to change later without the concent of the customer. Don't use this webhost. You can do better.

"Suckeroos"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Ryan   hydrawords@yahoo.com
Date/Time of Posting = Jan 29 2006 / 23:01:06
IP Address: 68.54.5.96
Rating: 1
After almost two years of having a free site with them, they deleted everything without notice. I always followed the rules. That is mean.
"STAY AWAY!"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Travis Brown   travisbrown@crossroads-rpg.com
Date/Time of Posting = Jan 09 2006 / 13:24:58
IP Address: 24.21.199.39
Rating: 1
If you are a massicist this provider is great, because they will abuse you, ignore you, and otherwise treat you like a burden any time you have a problem which they cannot blow off with a simple canned response. I have had this provider for about 2 years and I have never had a worse expereince with web providers. They outsource to india (like a lot of providers) for their tech support, and communication can be touch and go due to it. You ask a simple question about HOW a problem happened or what you could do to prevent it in the future and all you get in response is "It's been fixed, if there is anything else we can do to be of assistance let us know". Response time is generally quick (around an hour or two at most) the did have some down times usually late at night/early morning hours in EST. I had about 30 minutes down time several times each week. E-mail also was down for brief stretches every once in awhile. The web servers were! decent at first but became increasingly sluggish. The services they offer pale in comparison to other providers, especially for the price which was average.

The final straw fro me was this: My site suddenly was suspended with no e0mail message, no notice, no contact from them of any kind. I contacted support and Don the general manager replied back via e-mail stating "Hack scripts were found on your account, would you explain what these were doing there?" I proceeded to explain I had no idea about them, what they were, or how they got there (I run a role playing game publishing company) I asked what the scripts were and where they were located on my site in an effort to try and narrow down the source. He replied back stating he was not the one who could help me and to contact support. I contact support, they tell me to contact sales, so i e-mail sales and T get nothing in response. I try tech support repeatedly but all I got was lines about how adminstration has shgut me down for this and that, or contact this person and that person, or they are reviewing it and your site should be up soon. About 2 days later and NO responses fr! om any of my e-mails especially from their "general manager" I get messages that all my support requests were closed, and one e-mail from Don stating my account was deleted and service canceled. Bear in mind I was agitated and relayed my upset and frustration to them via my communications, but I was always polite and understanding. The threats I did send were of a service and business nature and I was never abusive to them short of refering to Don as a jerk on a live char session with one of their grunts on the last day. My advice to you steer way away from these people! They do not opperate a business, they run a horrible site sprovider who abuses upset customers and acts without communication. I thretened at one point to find a new provider if my access was not restored by a certain point, they failed to do so or even awknowledge me, so I moved to U2-web which is an amazing web host! check them out, the have exclusively US based tech support.

"Fine until I wanted to cancel"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Alison Dall   dall@bigpond.net.au
Date/Time of Posting = Dec 05 2005 / 23:27:19
IP Address: 130.220.46.57
Rating: 3
I was quite happy with mysitespace until I no longer needed the site and tried to cancel. I never received warning that I would be billed for the next 3 months. When I got an email saying I had been billed (they bill 5 days before expiry), I immediately asked to cancel the account and get a refund for the bill just paid. I was informed that I had to log into the website and fill in a cancellation form. Obviously, their security isn't good enough to submit this for online because you then need to print this form and fax it to them. I live in Australia and it cost me $8 to fax it to America at the post office because I don't have my own fax machine. They so far are denying my request to provide a refund, even though I had a confirmation of cancelling the account within the five days before the account was due to expire.
"These people hurt my reputation with a client."
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Seth Burley   sethburley@hotmail.com
Date/Time of Posting = Jan 25 2005 / 23:16:25
IP Address: 202.173.141.176
Rating: 1
The worst web hosting company I have ever used. Free web hosting performs better than these clowns, plus if you add the letter s to the website address it takes you to a porn site - entirely unappropriate for a family business website ( literally the difference between typing http://yoursite.com and httpS://yoursite.com where yoursite.com is your domain name - great isn't it) The fact that mistyping the name of the website took you to a porn site didn't pose too much of a problem as the website (my clients BUSINESS site) was viewable about 1 day in 6 -- if that. Quite frankly if you are thinking of hosting through these guys: Don't. Use a free hosting site and donate the money to charity -- at least you'll come out of that happy -- I on the other hand feel embittered. Or you could try hosting yourself = easier than you think ;)
"Unbelievably Rude and Arrogant Cust Service"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Bert M.   bmoen@usfamily.net
Date/Time of Posting = Nov 03 2004 / 12:12:08
IP Address: 192.128.134.68
Rating: 1
I was paying $7.95/mo for Windows hosting. The tech support was prompt but 9 times out of 10 they couldnít help me and basically said to figure it out for myself. When I complained that their web site promised simple and free setup for web forms but in reality they donít with Windows hosted accts they became very rude and arrogant. Even to the point of shutting down my service. It just seemed it was easier for them to cancel my service then to admit they did something wrong or at least try to correct the problem. Iíve never seen such poor customer service in my life. If you have their service, donít complain unless you want to get shut down. I have yet to see if they actually refund any of my money.
"Not Recommended"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Madeline Salocks   madelinesalocks@yahoo.com
Date/Time of Posting = Oct 21 2004 / 18:48:10
IP Address: 12.25.210.61
Rating: 1
This host turned out to be a nightmare for me. For a year I had stuck with them, though I was quite dissatisfied with the lack of customer support, and did not care for their clunky web interface. But things went from bad to worse. Shortly after my credit card had been charged for a renewal, they simply dropped me - without any reason or notice! My web pages were no longer accessible, and furthermore my ID no longer worked. I tried to contact them repeatedly by phone, email, and fax, but got no reply. So finally I was forced to spend an entire weekend setting up on a new host (though I'm glad I did!). Then, just recently, I sent MySiteSpace a final email indicating my cancellation (just in case they still had me in their system), and they sent back a rude note.
"Can't receive email"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Lorna Collier   msryter@aol.com
Date/Time of Posting = Sep 13 2004 / 08:21:16
IP Address: 12.214.33.29
Rating: 4
I have been unable to receive any email from the POP email account provided through this service. Their tech support (based in India, which I know from my statcounter info) is by web-based "trouble ticket" only, which is a pain. They keep telling me all is fine. I still can't retrieve email, either from my email program or by their webmail. Speaking of webmail: like much of this service, the customer interface is clunky and needlessly complicated. You have to pick among three programs, rather than simply going straight to webmail. Similarly, if you want to FTP using their service, you go to this horrid "xcontroller" screen, with tons of complicated choices, instead of a simple, smooth interface. It's a piece of cake to FTP using SimpleFTP, but a real pain to try to figure out how to do this from their site. I am using tigertech.net for another of my sites and the difference is remarkable. The info is much more easily presented, tech support is rapid & helpful, and the site itself seems speedier.
"Jokers"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Chris Murphy   norblits2@yahoo.com
Date/Time of Posting = Jul 23 2004 / 08:27:44
IP Address: 68.110.241.147
Rating: 1
Great pricing but watch it when paying via paypal. They have a way of automatically turning on paypal's "subscription" service. So once you turn off the domain the hosting will continue. Canceling is a joke...fax number is required. In the past year while hosting a site for my brother I have NEVER been able to FTP into the site. I would always need to use their on-line version. Yuck! The site seemed more down than up. Fortunately it was a Non-profit so he didn't really care. E-mail was a joke. I almost ALWAYS received and error message stating the host could not be found. If you don't really care about what is up on the site, yeah, go ahead use them. If make a living with your web site I would recommend wwwLunarpages.com. Their 99.9% up time is for real, and you can get a human on the phone.
"Not so good"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Eric M.   shadow-sphere@yahoo.com
Date/Time of Posting = May 26 2004 / 16:13:55
IP Address: 156.21.3.79
Rating: 4
The smtp server was constantly up and down. One time, the server was down for almost 24 hours. They kept posting in the server status page, the server should be up in 1 hour, they are changing a hard drive...Well, I guess 1 hour to them is about 24 hours for the rest of us. I didn't have a problem with getting an email answered or have any trouble with rude people, but the server reliability was just not there.
"STAY AWAY"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Joseph Salyer   josephsalyer@yahoo.com
Date/Time of Posting = May 23 2004 / 11:26:54
IP Address: 66.168.82.133
Rating: 2
Well for the first month I would have recommended these guys to everyone, then problems started occurring during my second month but their tech support was quick to fix and respond so I was pleased by that... but believe me, it didn't just get progressively worse, it was uber-worse. I had my site down for over 4 days in one week. Tech support was taking upwards of 24 hours or more to answer tickets. When they did manage to get my site up, the only restored one domain forgetting all about my addon/sub-domains and everything associated with them such as email and MySQL tables. Tech support told me I would have to go into control panel and recreate all my email addresses again. Problem was they forgot to restore my control panel. So I did like any annoyed customer would have done, I went to the message boards to vent off my frustration about my site being down for the better part of a week and when it was up it was missing 90% of it's data. Apparently there is an unwritten rule on their member forums that you can't say that their support sucks because they deleted my forums account and then deleted my service altogether a week later. I did find a phone number by doing a WHOIS and called their owner/administrative contact at the number listed in the whois record. No one even answers the the technical support number, but you would think if they have 24/7 support as they say they do, then someone would be there to answer that phone. One more complaint about these guys, half the time they don't even take the time to reply to your tickets, they are just copy/paste answers that sometimes doesn't even have anything to do with the problem you submitted. Sad to say that I actually got more support and answers off of the message boards for things not concerning downtime than I did by submitting a trouble ticket. I'm giving them a 2 instead of a 1 because I really did like them during the first month, but are very upset with them 4 months later.
"MSS offers fine service"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Sharon Peer   sevor@nana.co.il
Date/Time of Posting = May 08 2004 / 06:12:04
IP Address: 213.8.244.63
Rating: 10
I've been working with the company for a month now and i have not encountered any downtime or other problems. After my account creation i've used their support to learn the new features and all my tickets were answered quickly. I would highly recommend this host.
"Pretty cool"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Eric Duncan   eric@lereef.com
Date/Time of Posting = Mar 18 2004 / 17:04:13
IP Address: 12.41.160.162
Rating: 9
My only beef is no phone number but I do get a response to my emails within 20 mins or less. They have been very helpful on most occasions and sometimes they go beyond my expectations. Most of the problems have been of my own creation yet they still lend a helping hand. The control panel is very easy for my client to manage themselves. I like these guys
"OK for me"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Dave Lee   dave@madebydave.com
Date/Time of Posting = Mar 13 2004 / 16:08:01
IP Address: 66.81.44.27
Rating: 7
I haven't had any problems with this hosting service. When I had questions I got my emails answered fairly quickly, within hours. Mine is not a complicated account. I first had a problem because I could not get Flash to display on my site, and it took me 3 emails to correct the server settings, but then it was straightened out. I don't think anything with the web is ever without some bugs that require troubleshooting. If I have a bad experience in the future I will post it.
"The plain truth about MSS"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Glenn Blake   sales@uscybertronics.com
Date/Time of Posting = Mar 13 2004 / 10:48:50
IP Address: 24.10.189.25
Rating: 10
Surfing the net today I came upon this page, and thought I might throw our two cents in. Being CEO of a rather large firm I have had and continue to have interaction with a lot of hosting services My Site Space being one of them. We presently control over 150 domains for our own company as well as for our many customers. Although all our hosting partners do a great job one seems to always stand out not only to our staff but to me personally My Site Space! Several of our own sites are still on the very first servers they used, for those in the hosting field you know that as servers fill up and years go by things can get troublesome. These particular domains over the last several years have seen a few incidents where there were problems of one sort or another. Requests for help or service were handled professionally, and to say the least in a very timely manner. We have always been serviced in a way that stands out and says we appreciate your business. Many times bt the fellow who runs the service himself! Since we first began using MSS we have grown substantially refering all our customers to them for hosting recieving numerous letters from them thanking them for getting them on such a good hosting service. We presently have all 10 of our domains hosted at MSS keeping our own company servers available to our employees for inter company use. My Site Space has continued to grow trying always to offer bigger and better things to it's members. The forum has got to be with out a doubt the best I have seen. With it's membership growing to over 30,000 members this hosting company has proven to us that they are very serious about customer support, and fair pricing. To put it bluntly "It will be a cold dat in Haties before we even considered anyone else for hosting. As we said we deal with just about every hosting company out there and appreciate them all, but when push comes to shove MSS is a cut above the rest.
"Best Deal for Web hosting"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: David Lo   Davelo36Net@netscape.net
Date/Time of Posting = Mar 05 2004 / 22:57:18
IP Address: 24.6.138.166
Rating: 10
When I first wanted some space to host my site, I did my homework. After looking through about 30 pages of hosts, I chose MySiteSpace. Why? They had a forum based support system, where members help members. This was a first-most other web hosts leave you with just an email and then you hope for the best. Starting from a Free plan, I gradually moved all the way to Developer. They doubled their disk space and bandwith-at no additional cost to me. All hosts have ups and downs with technology. At MySiteSpace their downtime is minimal, and server outages are very rare. The technology and software they use meet or exceed most web hosting companies-amazing for a host that charges about $4 a month for 250 MB of space.
"Im signing up again :)"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: David White   spiderinashell@hotmail.com
Date/Time of Posting = Mar 05 2004 / 20:03:42
IP Address: 64.12.116.198
Rating: 10
I have been at MSS for a year now and I am signing up for my second. I have the developer plan and run 7 websites from the one single account. The cpanel makes it so easy to do this and so much more. BEfore coming to MSS I had used several other hosts and all were overpriced and under powered. At MSS I get my monies worth and more. The service is great and staff and members are very helpfull. They have a user forum filled with members always ready to give a helping hand, even if it means creating just for you. THESE GUYS ARE GREAT!!!
"Great people"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Don Kuykendall   donkuykendall@knology.net
Date/Time of Posting = Mar 05 2004 / 17:21:19
IP Address: 24.214.176.183
Rating: 9
I was with a different host before coming to MySiteSpace. The other host charge twice as much for 50MB as MySiteSpace did for 250MB. I have since moved up to the Developer account and now have 5 domains on my site. In the time I have been there (1 year) they and increased the bandwidth an hard drive space twice without going up in price. I have never seen any other host do this sort of thing. I suggested one time that the CPanel addon Fantastico would be a great thing for novices like me and at this time they are adding it to all servers. This in my opinion is a host that listens to its customers. There have been some glitches along the road but these attacks on the servers happen ever where and MSS has done its best to make sure that holes have been closed. This has caused some problems for a small percentage of the users there but the vast majority of the people including me would rather give up a little to get more security.
"They are bunch of thieves"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Not specified   amalekshahi@rogers.com
Date/Time of Posting = Jan 26 2004 / 11:47:20
IP Address: 142.205.240.212
Rating: 1
I am still waiting for them to setup my site for last 2 weeks. They don't respond to my emails and there is no phone number to contact. If anybody wants to take legal action, I am in too.
"Pirates!"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Bobby   totoleem@hotmail.com
Date/Time of Posting = Jan 11 2004 / 15:17:43
IP Address: 202.156.236.202
Rating: 1
If i have negative value for the rating, i would gladly do so. Horrendous services, i complained in the forum, they banned me, i threaten to take legal actions, they terminate my account aruptly, i lost all my clients emails and lost thosuands of money. Never believe wat they say in their forum, all crap. In fact i believe they made it up them selves, since they deleted my negative comments. I wan to take legal actions against them. Any one knows how?
"Can I Please Give Them a Zero?"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Dean Ogle   cjn253@shaw.ca
Date/Time of Posting = Oct 14 2003 / 00:44:57
IP Address: 24.85.106.123
Rating: 1
Things started out really swell, absolutely no problems signing up or getting set up. After 10 weeks I thought I was in heaven; then outbound e-mail started bouncing. My server's IP address was on and off SpamCop's blacklist. So I complained and was told, "We are sorry to say, but there is no spamming taking place from our servers as we have disabled the functionality of sending out the emails through the scripts and also relying is denied on our servers." It kept happening, so I complained again. "We can understand the trouble and problems that your are facing, your emails are being blocked by the third party which is not in our control, we cannot force anyone from not blocking our servers from receiving the emails. If any company's policy is to block the IP just on the basis of heard complaints without actual investigation, we cannot help. If any company, say xyz, blocks the IP of abc server, say for the reason that that abc does not have its reverse DNS configured and puts in his blacklist of servers, then abc adds the reverse DNS but the software at xyz just checks the blacklist first before acutally checking for the revers DNS and does not allow the emails to go through, now this is the result of using faulty softwares. So if such softwares and being used by any company we cannot help with that." It still kept happening, so I went to SpamCop and retrieved the headers from the latest spam reported and sent them to MSS. "We have taken the actions against the spamming domain. We have suspended the account." Lemme see if I've got this straight. #1 - no Spam here, brother! #2 - it isn't our fault! (sent them headers) #3 - we've booted the bad guy. This was on Friday. On Saturday the IP is still blacklisted and there's a fresh spam report with headers timed after MSS told me they had booted the spammer. By now there were over 25 reports about this IP address to SpamCop, so I did some "who-is"ing and found that the IP address of my MSS server resolved to Everyones Internet in Houston, TX. SpamCop sends a spam report to the contact person matching a spammer's IP address; I did the same, with a copy to the head honcho of MySiteSpace. That got action .... on Sunday I was notified that I would be deleted off MSS on Wednesday. "We would prefer not to service someone that goes around sending complaints to our providers." That's fine ... I'd prefer not to be serviced by a company that lies to me. I was with MSS for three months and paid for a year when I signed up; to their credit, they promptly refunded the entire amount. (This was NOT a free account, I was on their top "developer" plan at $99 a year.) If you don't mind never knowing when your outbound e-mail will be blocked because your IP address is on a blacklist, MSS provides a lot of features; 900MB of space, 25 Gigs of transfer, unlimited email, mySql, all of it. What a waste.
"mysitespace.com - Incredible Arrogance"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Jeffrey W. Smith   jeffreywsmith@earthlink.net
Date/Time of Posting = Sep 26 2003 / 17:42:00
IP Address: 69.22.76.225
Rating: 1
I, along with an untold number of other mysitespace.com customers went through at least 5 DAYS (& counting for some customers according to forum posts) of down time reportedly due to a Denial of Service attack on their servers. During this time, they shut down their "Live Chat" support, posted repeated Status Updates that indicated that either the problem was fixed or would be fixed "soon", and were almost completely non-responsive to tech support emails (according to member posts and my own experience). As bad as all of that was, those of us that complained have been stonewalled, had our posts censored in the forum, and now I find that I am locked out of the forum as well as my site (ALL WITHOUT ANY NOTICE!). My emails to their "Sales" department describing the problems they were inflicting on their customers and asking for SOMEONE to tell us what was going on received a blatantly insulting response and said to send them a list of my sites and they would be glad t o process a refund (although I had not requested one). The next thing I know (an hour or so later), I find they locked me out of the forum and then they locked me out of my site. Their: a) seeming lack of any kind of effective damage control (both operationally and from a customer relations perspective), b) incredible arrogance and c) an attitude that takes their customers for granted lead me to recommend avoiding mysitespace.com for your web hosting needs.
"They are Angry, Mean and cruel! Double Bill Visa!"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Jay   twelves@softhome.net
Date/Time of Posting = Jul 03 2003 / 14:32:02
IP Address: 196.40.43.219
Rating: 1
Below is what happened to me. If you like abuse, then this is the place to give your private Credit Card info to. I was so excited to sign up, and then Sales sent me 6 HATE letters for sending a CC to Tech support to resend the pass. (My guess is he is the same person and its run out of his motherís basement. I just don't know. And I never EVER received any login or Password EVER. However I looked at my bank statement and it clearly said the payment was cleared. BUYERS BEWARE!!! THEY DOUBLE BILL AS A GENERAL PRACTICE!!!!!! WARNING!!!! WARNING!!!!! WARNING!!!!!...[EDIT]Remainder of review removed: Unable to post original copy of e-mail conversation.[/EDIT]
"Little Hitlers"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Howard Anthony   e-mail not given
Date/Time of Posting = Jul 03 2003 / 11:58:05
IP Address: 131.137.245.200
Rating: 1
I had a site on their free plan when they offered a deluxe plan for $12.00 and year. I didn't need the extra space but I felt it was a fair price so I subscribed. From there on I couldn't change any of the files one my site. They told me there was a restriction on the number of files and I was over it. This restriction was not supposed to apply to the deluxe plan. They offered to upgrade me to a professional plan for no cost when they could not fix the problem but I did not want to pay into any plan in the future after my free year was up. However after a month of being unable to work on my site I sent a e-mail excepting their offer. They accused me of trying to strongarm them, they called me muscles and then they deleted my site without any prior notice. When I tried to complain on the forum they deleted all my entries and barred me from that. They were consistantly rude and hostile.
"Cruel to me"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Keith Ashton   aussieseek@ozzienet.net
Date/Time of Posting = May 14 2003 / 23:07:01
IP Address: 61.68.216.212
Rating: 1
They are always down and the lie to me for the reason. google will not index their domain
"Web Site often unaccesable"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: David Ramsden   dramsden@arczip.com
Date/Time of Posting = Apr 22 2003 / 12:39:59
IP Address: 208.186.77.158
Rating: 4
I actually liked this site at first. It had a lot of extras, and the staff were seemly nice. The tutorials were great. The control panel nice. The forums helpful. I thought I had found the web hosting site from heaven. My problem started when my web site monitoring service started telling me my servers were going down. When I emailed Mysitespace about the problem, they said the monitoring service I was using was unreliable and they would not respond to their data. So I got a better monitoring service that check my site every 15 minutes. Every time my server would go down, I would check my site personally and if I could not get on my site I would email support. They would always reply to my emails, after my website was back up, and tell me nothing was wrong with my site. It was always my fault, my ISP, my network etc. etc. I started to get friends to check to see if they could get on the web site when it went down. They could not access my site either. My emails were nice, but since my site was unaccesable often, they got a few of them. With the many times the site did go down, not once did they admit to it being their fault. So I started trying to convince them it was. Before when they said it was not their server, I never replied. On the last three emails I did. I really only wanted to fix this problem. Finally they emailed me saying they were tired of arguing with me, it was not worth $3.95 a month to deal with me and gave me six days to get off their site before they deleted my files A bit distressed, I asked them to wait for 3O days, promising them I would not email them again. They gave me this extension of time. To their credit, they did give me a complete refund. Support could have been nicer and than perhaps the problem could have been fixed, and I might have stayed.
"They Suck"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Tom Janes   portals22@myrealbox.com
Date/Time of Posting = Mar 28 2003 / 05:35:03
IP Address: 66.67.24.158
Rating: 1
I signed up with MySiteSpace for their premium Enterprise webhosting plan. Right from the start I had problems. Their SMTP email would not work. I could recieve email, but I could not send any whatsoever. After making several reports about the problem to their Tech Support, all I got was a series of "There's nothing wrong with our servers. Everything is running fine. The problem is in the way you configured your Eudora email client." Unfortunately for them, their own Squirrelmail Web email client failed just as miserably, with the same 'Temporary Failure' message, even though they configured it, didn't they? I lost my email service for days because I had to redesignate my DNS nameservers twice. They took my money, gave me lousy service, and then had the audacity to charge me a $4.00 setup fee upon cancelling my account without my permission. While I got back $68.00 of the $72.00 I gave them, seems to me that they weren't deserving of a dime. After all, they never setup the system right to begin with. If you are looking for a reliable WebHost, stay as far away from MySiteSpace as you can. They have been reported to the FTC. PS: Don't take credence in anything you see on their user forum pages. That's how I was bamboozled into joining. However, the opinion expressed here is only my own personal opinion. If you want to have one for yourself, join them.
"You Get What You Pay For"
MySiteSpace   http://www.mysitespace.com/
By: Ken Hill   kenh1201@aol.com
Date/Time of Posting = Nov 04 2002 / 08:46:03
IP Address: 198.81.26.167
Rating: 1
The old adage you get what you pay for is absolutely true when talking about My Site Space. I asked them a question about redirecting one of my pages to an affiliate program I have joined. This would make a long affiliate url an easy to remember url. Not all free webhosts allow you to do this and I wanted to make sure it was ok. They seemed confused as to what a redirection was and accused me of being dishonest. Whats more baffliing is that they recommend joining and promoting affiliate programs as a means of making money online at http://mysitespace.com/makemoney.htm so they should know something about affiliate programs and as a hosting company they should know what a redirection is. I explained what I meant and told them I didnt appreciate the implication that I was a crook and that they should know exactly what a person is asking before responding. To which they responded by basically saying I should get another host. Usually the idea with free webhosts is to provide a good service and good customer support which will encourage people to purchase their paid hosting which always has more options. My Site Space offers free webhosting but apparently they wont treat you with any respect unless you pay them for it -- 3.95 a month for them to bother to read and actually understand you if you send them an e-mail. Not good marketing principles. Don't bother with them unless you think you should pay 3.95 a month to people you dont know in order to be treated like a human being.
Lunar Pages Reviews
Host Gator Reviews
 
Copyright © 1999-2007 WebHostingReviews.com             support@WebHostingReviews.com
This web site is protected by copyright law and international treaties. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of copies of
this web site, or any portion of it, may result in severe civil and criminal penalties, and will be prosecuted
to the maximum extent possible under the law. Learn more about copyright. See our disclaimer.