Just Host

Visit Just Host Visit Just Host   Write your own Just Host review. Write your own Just Host review.
14 out of 322 (or 4% of) people recommend Just Host.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
2.96 / 10.0 3.43 / 10.0 2.04 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
1.78 / 10.0 1.45 / 10.0
Just Host
› Overall Rating ››    12.58% 
How are ratings calculated? 
Are you unhappy with Just Host?
Read why many users are moving to Host Gator.
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 181 to 190 out of 322 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2  ...  15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ...  32 33

Just Host reviews

uptime & reliability
6.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

Avoid like the plague.

JustHost does not practice good business ethics at all. Once they take your money, you are useless to them. Their support team is incompetent and unfriendly.

The servers were very quick and had good connections when they actually worked, but they experienced frequent downtime and were unreliable for the most part. I experienced intermittent downtime only a month after service with them, the first few occurances were short, under an hour mostly. On December 28 of 2009, another instance of downtime happened, this time for much longer. I contacted support, they had it fixed after 5-6 hours of additional downtime. On January 17 of 2010, I had a critical error stating the Hard Disk on their end was full and to upload later. I contacted support on the 19th, as it now was starting to affect the site altogether. I got a response from a (very impolite and unhelpful) support representative a day later stating "Pay attention to the error that you got: 552 Disk full - please upload later". The fact that 72 hours of site downtime have passed and I was told to just "pay attention to the error, upload later" instead of being provided assurance they were working to fix the problem was very annoying. I experienced even more downtime almost on a monthly basis with their server. There was over 85 hours of downtime that I can remember, which breaks their "99.9% Uptime" guarantee.

Finally, in July of 2010, they billed me $71.40 for another year of service (which is almost twice what I paid initially), without any email notification of even being billed and without asking to be auto-renewed. Also, they decided to bill me 4 days before my service even ended, probably so by the time you're even aware of the expiration date, they've already taken the liberty of going behind your back to take your money again.

What's even more enraging is the fact that they are actually BBB (Better Business Bureau) accredited, regardless of the fact they've received 185 complaints from people that are getting the exact same problems listed here. I've already filed a complaint myself against JustHost, and strongly urge everyone else who has been victimized by these criminals to do the same. Here's a direct link to the Complaint form against JustHost:

http://www.la.bbb.org/ComplaintDetail.aspx?CompanyID=100076574

Stay away from this company, they aren't worth it at all.

Biggest Pro: Fast servers when they actually worked.
Biggest Con: Downtime and lack of support.

Just Host is NOT recommended by Tyler. This person does NOT recommend Just Host.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on July 17th, 2010 at 18:56 EST by Tyler
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 69.244.63.229
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #181 out of 322 Just Host reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
8.20
customer service & billing
7.20
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Really consider choosing just host

I have came across many different hosts, such as GoDaddy which i had really bad experience with. Their servers are EXTREMELY slow, so i switched my hosts to just host.. Well, first impression: pretty good. When i completed the payment, i was offered loads of useless stuff such as private registrations etc. I don't really need that for website that me and my friend will be using, no, no, no.. Then an offer to have quicker, efficient server. That moment i thought my domain will be slow like godaddy. Oh no. Then i read the reviews about it.. It did not actually happen though.
However, When i typed into google "justhost sucks", not many results showed up. Statistics show that about 80 pages about justhost say they are bad company, unlike many other hosting companies. No problem with them yet.. Strongly recommend..

Biggest Pro: Statistics show up a big plus
Biggest Con: Poor customer service

Just Host is recommended by Matej. This person recommends Just Host.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on July 17th, 2010 at 15:14 EST by Matej
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 78.86.80.128
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.pro-xy.org/   Email: mkramn@yahoo.co.uk
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #182 out of 322 Just Host reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

STAY AWAY!

Needed an account where I could run PHP 5.3.1 so I called the tech support people BEFORE I opened an account to ask if they supported PHP 5.3.1 on their shared accounts. I asked several times and every time the technician said, "Yes." I then bought the service and couldn't find out how to enable PHP 5.3.1, they only had 5.2.13, so I called the tech support people again, 45 MINUTES AFTER MY FIRST CALL and the same guy, I think, told me that they do NOT support PHP 5.3.1.

So I cancelled my account. And they would not refund my $20 setup fee. That is not right!

Biggest Con: Criminals

Just Host is NOT recommended by Richard. This person does NOT recommend Just Host.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 16th, 2010 at 07:15 EST by Richard
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 68.4.142.3
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #183 out of 322 Just Host reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
4.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

Too slow for Wordpress -- functions timeout.

I moved my site to Justhost from my former hosting company, Godaddy. I'd read tons of great reviews of Justhost and most hosting review websites list them as best or at least top 5, so I signed up.

After setting up my Wordpress blog, I first noticed that the news in the Wordpress Dashboard wasn't showing up. Then when I went to install new themes and plugins I found that the server was unable to connect to the directory. I would only be able to install plugins and themes manually. This is unacceptable for me so I decided to contact support via their live chat.

Their agent was quick to respond however he was not very helpful and he didn't seem very knowledgeable.

A quick internet search for my error message confirmed my suspicion: their server was too slow. The requests were timing out. The default timeout setting is 5 seconds. By adjusting the timeout delay to 30 seconds, the problem disappeared, however I feel I shouldn't have to settle for such slow speeds when there are plenty of other choices out there.

I'm not going back to Godaddy, but Justhost is unsuitable for Wordpress-powered websites. The search continues...

Biggest Pro: Low price, fast setup.
Biggest Con: Server timeouts in Wordpress.

Just Host is NOT recommended by Joe Bowers. This person does NOT recommend Just Host.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on July 14th, 2010 at 23:40 EST by Joe Bowers
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 125.83.33.111
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.chazbowers.com/   Email: joebbowers@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #184 out of 322 Just Host reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
1.50
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Good service at first, shady after you're with them a while

I've been with Justhost for over a year now and just had to pay my first yearly fee. I got in at a great, great rate, $41.88 for a year and was assured via customer service that I'd be renewing at that rate. I had talked to them multiple times about billing and they never once told me my rate would increase.

When it came time to renew, which by the way they would not tell me exactly what day I'd be billed on- just that it'd be "about a week" before my actual service expiration date, they charged me $71.50 instead of the rate they assured me I would be keeping. I contacted customer service and they refuse to give me any real answer, their version of an answer is "I can give you the lower rate if you want to pay for another year up front right now" or "Cancel and we can debit your account". Since I am not the only person that uses the website I can't really do anything to cancel the service, but it seems like they love adding charges and changing rates without notice. The customer service guys seem to have no care that they could've possibly caused me to have NSF fees at my bank because I was never informed of what the bill would actually be.

Of course, now their billing website has been updated to reflect the new rate and has no record of my old rate.
If you plan to be with Justhost be warned that although the initial hosting is cheaper they WILL raise your rate without your permission. As of right now, except for prepaying all at once I am not seeing a viable way to keep the 'lower' rate, also just so you know their plan which supports 3 domains is almost $120, plus domain privacy is an extra $10, otherwise they let anyone and everyone see your address which you must provide to them for billing purposes. You have to pay EXTRA for 'premium speed' customer service which I doubt is any faster than their standard service, and its not uncommon for you to talk to 3-4 different employees in the course of getting your problem solved- this is bad because it means you'll be explaining yourself... a lot- the service guys apparently haven't figured out how to read quoted emails. Extra domains on their service are $14.95 a year which seems like a bargain until you realize you're now paying $70+ for just one.

As far as the actual service, it seems pretty good. I probably would not recommend it for extremely tech savvy people, because it is supposed to be dumbed down a bit for the average user, which is what I am, and I find it easy to use. However I just can't recommend a place that essentially scammed me by NEVER telling me my terms would increase. Oh, I'm sure there is a clause SOMEWHERE, which is why I can't report it or anything, but it is still very ridiculous.

Biggest Pro: Cheap at first
Biggest Con: Poor customer service, sneaky billing tactics

Just Host is NOT recommended by Heather. This person does NOT recommend Just Host.
› Overall Rating ››    70.00% 
Reviewed on July 11th, 2010 at 09:34 EST by Heather
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 99.11.202.159
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #185 out of 322 Just Host reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
4.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

24 hours down time and still counting.

I have never known a hosting company like this. I have around 10 domains hosted with Just Host. Yesterday around 4:00pm GMT they all went down as did email. It's now just gone 4:00pm the next day and they are still all down.

After numerous emails (via gmail) they've agreed to credit my account with this months hosting cost, a small amount compared to the less of sales. No-one has given me any glue as to when my sites will be back up or why they are down. The support team are just fobbing me off with "our support team and they are currently working on the issue and this should be resolved shortly" SHORTLY. That was hours ago.

I moved to Just Host because of bad service and long down time from previous companies. I thought 1 hour was a to long. Until now.

From day one Just Host has been a nightmare I haven't received more than 2 months without some down time.

Congratulations Just Host you have now managed 100% down time in 1 day. Maybe they can manage it for another day.

You get what you pay for with Just Host. Low price, low level of service.
Very, very, very disappointing.

Just Host is NOT recommended by Daniel Parish. This person does NOT recommend Just Host.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on July 10th, 2010 at 10:10 EST by Daniel Parish
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 92.28.130.137
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.vintage-airfix.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #186 out of 322 Just Host reviews
uptime & reliability
1.30
server & connection speed
7.40
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
1.10
* ratings are out of 10

Horrible.

There was many incidents of downtime. There support staff asked me to give my login credentials over the internet, and it was a bad overall experience.
AZ

Biggest Pro: It sometimes worked
Biggest Con: Downtime

Just Host is NOT recommended by Andrei. This person does NOT recommend Just Host.
› Overall Rating ››    14.00% 
Reviewed on July 10th, 2010 at 00:28 EST by Andrei
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 174.25.209.148
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.andreiz.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #187 out of 322 Just Host reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
9.30
technical support & knowledge
2.90
customer service & billing
6.30
price value for money
5.10
* ratings are out of 10

When they go down, they go down hard

Been down all day. The only response is that they are working on it. No response as to when it will be up, why it's down, nothing. Basically no information at all. Just suck it up and it will be up when it's up and they're working on it. This is the first time it's ever been down, but you can usually tell the merit of support when there are issues. I won't slam them too bad unless it doesn't come up in a couple of hours.

Just Host is recommended by Norb Timpko. This person recommends Just Host.
› Overall Rating ››    80.00% 
Reviewed on July 9th, 2010 at 16:24 EST by Norb Timpko
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 173.63.38.61
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #188 out of 322 Just Host reviews
uptime & reliability
0.20
server & connection speed
0.30
technical support & knowledge
0.70
customer service & billing
0.40
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Just Host is TERRIBLE

I would not recommend Just Host to anyone.

They get a "D" grade in my book. My site is down for several hours every week, and sometimes for more than a day at a time. Even when site's running, it's intermittently slow without any explanation.The company provides no advance warning for "scheduled maintenance."

After each repair and "free upgrade" they say I'm "one of their best servers" and then, each time, the site fails again. Also, they don't do the daily backup as promised, so now that my site's been down all day Friday and they don't know when it will be fixed, they can't move it because there's no backup. Unbelievable! I pay for premium service.

I can't wait until I have the time to move my site to a better host. Unfortunately the domain switch takes time and effort.

Just Host is NOT recommended by E Schattner. This person does NOT recommend Just Host.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 9th, 2010 at 14:07 EST by E Schattner
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 69.200.226.17
Type of Plan: Semi Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #189 out of 322 Just Host reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Add-On Charge

I had found JustHost.com through the usual search and hosted my website with them. I had two other websites to build for businesses and decided to host them through JH also. When I bought the domain name for one (paid online with a CC), my email receipt had an extra $9.95 charge for "privacy service". However, I didn't order that.

When I emailed back to ask for a credit, they claim in "service agreement", there are no refunds, though I didn't order the service.

They still refuse to refund the $9.95, so I'm moving all my accounts from them.

They're crap.

Just Host is NOT recommended by Mark Moore. This person does NOT recommend Just Host.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 4th, 2010 at 16:09 EST by Mark Moore
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 174.98.29.120
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: mark@markmoore.info
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #190 out of 322 Just Host reviews
1 2  ...  15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ...  32 33
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.