IX Web Hosting

Visit IX Web Hosting Visit IX Web Hosting   Write your own IX Web Hosting review. Write your own IX Web Hosting review.
6 out of 58 (or 10% of) people recommend IX Web Hosting.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.21 / 10.0 4.16 / 10.0 3.97 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
3.24 / 10.0 4.22 / 10.0
IX Web Hosting
› Overall Rating ››    26.52% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 41 to 50 out of 58 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

IX Web Hosting reviews

uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

The worst ever

I would not recommend IX Web Hosting ever!

Worst service I have ever had in my whole life.

In fact avoid it like the plague!!!

My site runs on a mysql database and it was down and up and down and up more times than a kids yoyo. So, I asked them to fix the problem on many occasions. Once I waited and waited and after a couple of days I had to telephone in to find out what was going on. I called into the sales department because they were avoiding all calls! After plenty of complaining it was up and running again to great joy, then I started to get traffic and they didnít like it so they cut me off for a further few days !

I was fuming because it took me ages to get up the search engines. I did have a good ranking in Google and Yahoo and now I have slipped back several pages

So, here I am telling you all about it! I have kept all the logs to show! Also, because you are on a shared server if you send emails some spam software sees it as spam. I had a major problem with that too.

Out of 10, I would give them a 1 because they can just about host a basic site!

Biggest Pro: it just about hosts a site

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Nick. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on November 26th, 2008 at 10:16 EST by Nick
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 80.31.62.111
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.spanishhouses4u.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #41 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.40
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
8.60
price value for money
8.30
* ratings are out of 10

Worst Ever

Site ready to go live. Spent thousands in advertising dollars to promote site. IX Web server goes down, terrible tech support. Tech chat people are in the Ukraine and know nothing about what they are talking about. IX Web Hosting switched to new server , did not set permissions and site was down again. The site is still down. They may be quick as far as answering the phones in tech support. but they are terrible as far as service once they do answer the phone. If problem arises all they want to do is give refund.

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Raymond. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on November 15th, 2008 at 00:08 EST by Raymond
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 74.131.57.42
Type of Plan: Semi Dedicated   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #42 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
8.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

No problems with IX

I run a comparison price and shopping site and never had serious problems with IX Webhosting. I have had some problems and support guys always respond back with what I need or a nice solution. Their support is great and friendly and never had any downtime problem like people here had. I moved out due I needed a dedicated server.

Biggest Pro: Price and Control Pannel
Biggest Con: No dedicated server plan.

IX Web Hosting is recommended by Erico Franco. This person recommends IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on November 12th, 2008 at 13:48 EST by Erico Franco
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 201.27.42.176
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.golivery.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #43 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
6.50
customer service & billing
6.50
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

Very Disappointed

I did a lot of research before signing up with IX Web Hosting two years ago and have since been happy with them and recommended them to friends, time and time again. As an experienced web designer new to hosting my own sites, their service was more than satisfactory to me at the time. I received quick responses whenever I had a problem. However, as I've grown as a developer over the past couple of years, this hosting company has not. The customer service has definitely declined. While I was kept apprised of updates to service in the beginning and received speedy responses to the few help tickets I submitted, that has changed. Several months ago, I had a server side problem with one of my websites and wrote asking them to correct it. The problem was with an htaccess file, as I recall. I don't remember all the specifics, but I remember it was because I'd tried to add something they do not support, it caused my site to completely disappear, and it was not something I could correct from my end! First, I got absolutely no response for 24 hours to my help ticket, with my site completely down. I finally went to live chat and, like someone else here mentioned, had to argue and argue with them that it was something on the server side, not something I could fix from my end. The guy I chatted with, to his credit, did eventually figure it out and fixed it, but I first had to get through his defensive attitude. At this point, some of the features they offer with their hosting plans are embarrassingly outdated. When I signed up, I wasn't experienced enough to even realize it. Some have now been upgraded for new customers (e.g., upgrade to PHP5), while some remain outdated (e.g., PHPBB2). However, as a customer of two years, I still have the old stuff. Now that I'm venturing into CMS, I am fighting an uphill battle, especially with the outdated PHP. I wrote asking them to please upgrade me to the current levels of service - I'm paying for that service just like the new customers are. I received a great response within an hour, actually, telling me that if I would back up everything I have hosted on their server, they would migrate my account to their new system. I then received a second e-mail, from a different person, again telling me that, yes, they could update me at any time, just to let them know when I had everything backed up. Soooooo, I spent the ENTIRE DAY today backing up anything and everything for 10 different websites, including databases and Joomla websites, everything. I happily wrote to tell them it was a go, and received a response back telling me that, sorry, they are no longer migrating accounts and I'll just have to wait until mine is upgraded eventually. My help ticket was closed and marked "resolved." I wrote back and explained that, no, it was not resolved and that wasn't good enough, that I'd spent the entire day preparing for my account to be migrated, and that I wanted them to either migrate the account or upgrade it or whatever needed to be done right away, so I could get on with business. I again received a response telling me, sorry, it wasn't going to happen, I just need to wait for my account to eventually be upgraded. Well, I have a business plan and it doesn't involve waiting an unspecified period of time for my web hosting company to get around to providing me for the level of service they are offering and for which I am paying when they get darned good and ready. At this point, I have everything completely backed up, and so it will be an easy matter to simply move it to another hosting company instead. That is exactly what I plan to do, so I'm here reading web hosting reviews to find a new hosting company. I'm very disappointed and saddened. I really championed this company, but their attitude this evening was completely dismissive. If I told a client that he or she would simply have to wait an unspecified period of time to get services for which they've paid me, well, I'd be out of business pretty quickly.

Biggest Pro: Usually respond quickly to help tickets.
Biggest Con: Outdated features.

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Leanne Phillips. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    60.00% 
Reviewed on September 28th, 2008 at 23:52 EST by Leanne Phillips
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 68.185.87.65
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #44 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

usefull

this is a night mare to use IX. Up time 99,9% - please stop joking.

every signe week we are having problems, site is not responding or website database is not availble etc...

Please do not use them!!!!

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Peter. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on September 25th, 2008 at 13:10 EST by Peter
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 89.76.96.80
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #45 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
7.00
price value for money
8.00
* ratings are out of 10

Would not recommend

When I hosted only HTML pages with them everything was fine....however, I recently began hosting a dating site with a small amount of traffic. All I can say is that database access (i.e. php pages) is slow, slow, slow. I changed servers with them from my original php4.3 to php5 and my site ran even slower....so I changed back to my php4.3 server just to regain some speed.

Have sent their tech support many mails in the past years. It takes approx. 24 hours to receive a reply. Their tech support is farmed out to Russians (which is probably not uncommon and so I expected it). The tech support seems very knowledgeable but you are at the mercy of their command of the English language to explain complex things.

Have called their tech support on the phone several times. The Americans there are also very knowledgeable. I called once after midnight and got right through....but I have also called after midnight and was put on hold for nearly an hour while they took care of the 9(!) calls before me. If they would not have had a free 1-800 tech support number I would have quit right then.

My thoughts are that they try to cram as many customers as possible onto each server....and if one of the customers on the server has an active website then it slows everyone else down.

I would not recommend ixwebhosting and am at this website right now looking for a better host.

Biggest Pro: MAYBE tech support???
Biggest Con: Slooooooooow database

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by LV Smith. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    60.00% 
Reviewed on September 21st, 2008 at 08:23 EST by LV Smith
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 216.81.114.234
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #46 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
5.50
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Terrible Host Provider

I have been with this hosting company for about 2 years now. They have a terrible record with their email server. Recently, my site has been compromised and hacked two times. Both times someoe has gone into the site somehow and changed the permissions that I had set in order to write their phishing code to my files. My files were write protected! I have told IX about this both time and suggested that there is a security flaw in their server but I always get the same story, them blaming me for the lack of security. Recently, someone even was able to get into the myPHP Admin section of my account and change the names on my database tables. I am just tired of their attitude, lack of concern and their rationalization that it is always the end user's fault. I know computers and know that if a file permission is set high and write protected, it should not be able to be compromised unless there is a problem with the server. Home pages should not be able to be hacked if write protected, and there should not be access to the MyPHPAdmin areas. Don't waste your time or money with this company. Go with someone who has good support and knows what they are talking about and knows how to fix a problem if one should arise.

Biggest Pro: A lot of storage space for the price
Biggest Con: Poor security, lack of vius scanning, easy to compromise sites

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Don. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on September 10th, 2008 at 21:08 EST by Don
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 216.226.241.41
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #47 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.30
* ratings are out of 10

Worst Hosting Company on the Planet!

I had been a customer of IX Web Hosting for over 4 years. I have watched their service and support deteriorate significantly especially the past year. My web sites were routinely down and IX Web Hosting missed their guaranteed up-time metrics nearly every month. When I complained they would credit my account for an additional month. Finally after my sites were down for 10 consecutive days I decided a change was in order. I moved my sites and canceled my IX Web Hosting account. Rather than getting the money back I was told I would get a fraction of the refund I was owed. The customer service and billing department argued that the credits I received for them missing their stated guarantee were basically worthless from a monetary standpoint and that they continued to incur charges. Not only did I have to endure countless outages and deal with incompetent technical support leading to additional downtime and outages but I would pay for this "privilege" receiving a minimum refund. I've opened a complaint with the Better Business Bureau about their business tactics and I recommend to everyone to say as far away from IX Web Hosting as possible. If you already have an account there I suggest getting out while you can before you find your sites and your money drained.

Biggest Pro: dedicated IP addresses
Biggest Con: poor customer service, rude employees, bad servers

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Jeff Summers. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on August 18th, 2008 at 01:36 EST by Jeff Summers
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 70.162.97.228
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #48 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
0.90
server & connection speed
0.70
technical support & knowledge
0.60
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

IX has gone from good to bad to the WORST!

I have been with IX for over 2 years now and since they moved their location several months ago, they have been the worst - unhelpful, constantly down, no assistance at all, and even when I suggest solutions so as to not lose me as a customer (I have paid $70/mo for over 2 years, so I'm not a $3.95 customer) they could care less. I agree with one of the other postings - they are on the way out - they CANNOT survive with this type of service/attitude to their customers. Unfortunately I have a ton of files to move - that's another thing - I have periodically lost files - thankfully not crucial files, but just horrible for the last 4 months. I am moving today and can honestly say I would never have thought a hosting company could be this bad, but they are! Run, don't walk, from IX Webhosting.

Biggest Pro: Used to be pricing for my 40 IP's/sites
Biggest Con: Absolute lack of service/concern for customers

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Peter Coloyan. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    2.00% 
Reviewed on August 15th, 2008 at 09:27 EST by Peter Coloyan
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 68.213.210.211
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.dailycruisenews.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #49 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
0.40
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
0.40
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.30
* ratings are out of 10

NOT RECOMMENDED! Dont waste your money!

Not only very slow, but when i cancel my account, i was over charged. There is hidden fees involved with this hosting server. Be aware!!!The support guy was rude, didn't know the answer to my questions. NO No No!!

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Zita. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    2.00% 
Reviewed on June 2nd, 2008 at 20:10 EST by Zita
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 97.96.246.228
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #50 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.