IX Web Hosting

Visit IX Web Hosting Visit IX Web Hosting   Write your own IX Web Hosting review. Write your own IX Web Hosting review.
6 out of 58 (or 10% of) people recommend IX Web Hosting.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.21 / 10.0 4.16 / 10.0 3.97 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
3.24 / 10.0 4.22 / 10.0
IX Web Hosting
› Overall Rating ››    26.52% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 31 to 40 out of 58 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

IX Web Hosting reviews

uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

IX Web Hosting has become totally UNRELIABLE

I continually check my page and I am getting server failures and REALLY slow performance in all my domains: MovieManager.ca etc. This seems to happen every Sunday and how I can I tell if it's happening at other times as well?

IX Web service level isn't 99.9% it's way way lower.

I IX Web is forcing me into an Emergency situation. I now have to decide if I should pull all my sites from IX Web. This is a disaster.

If I am forced to change providers I will be sure that the hosting rating services get my severe complaint.

This is unacceptable !

Biggest Con: SERVERS ARE GOING DOWN ALL THE TIME !!!

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Alan. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on March 8th, 2009 at 13:15 EST by Alan
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 99.246.159.110
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.moviemanager.ca/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #31 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

avoid ix at all cost!

Over the years of working with ix I had just gotten used to their bad service. But in the last few months I've just had enough and am moving today.

In the last few months this has happened while at ix:

* Their entire web hosting environment was hacked - every single web page. When I asked for help they blamed me.
* The deleted my database - and then after a week of fighting with them to restore it they said they no longer had a backup of it.
* Their imap email service only works 30% of the time. I've filed multiple service requests to get help only to find that they honestly have no idea what they are doing.

Avoid this place. You will end up moving away from them soon if you do.

Biggest Con: no security, customer service

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by cologuppy. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on March 6th, 2009 at 11:09 EST by cologuppy
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 148.87.1.172
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.cozard.net/   Email: tcozard@yahoo.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #32 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

I would not suggest this company

They have terrible customer service and support. They deleted our db's which caused major problems. After a few weeks when they hadn't recovered our data we decided to start from scratch and asked them to not overwrite this data....the did it anyway and screwed us for a second time.

It also seems that there sever is infected with a virus, after check with several sources and reading thousands of customer reviews I confirmed this. It seems thousands of their customers are all experiencing the same probelms.

The only reason I did switch early is because they gave me a year free for all their screw ups, given the latest issues I am not waiting for the free year to expire....I am switching now.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Terrible service from top to bottom

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Mike. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    15.00% 
Reviewed on February 8th, 2009 at 10:44 EST by Mike
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 68.35.221.211
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #33 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
8.90
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
7.50
* ratings are out of 10

Possibly Vunerable Servers

It seems that three of my domains were hacked by TheWayEnd Turk Hacker recently on IX. In researching it, it seems that they have been vulnerable for nearly a YEAR and still haven't been able to fix the issues according to some of the complaints I saw. One person even has a dedicated blog on the wordpress site just to complain about IX.

Would not reccomend until they can guarantee effective security measures against attacks.

Biggest Pro: Decent product for the price
Biggest Con: Unsecure

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by S Alexander. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on January 20th, 2009 at 11:30 EST by S Alexander
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 70.168.212.180
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #34 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
8.00
* ratings are out of 10

IX Webhosting is a PITA!!!

I am totally and completely disgusted with IX Webhosting. It used to be a great host and I recommended it to everyone I could. But something has changed. I believe they got sold. Since then, we have had nothing but endless trouble with this host...

Last year, they proudly moved to a new Data Center. Of course this caused us problems for several months. They kept apologizing, but the problems persisted. After a very long period, things calmed down and remained that way until November...

Without prior warning, IX moved our site to a new server in November. After 60+ hours of calling, using Live Chat, and using the ticket support system, they finally worked out most problems. I felt like I had to beg to get IX to help resolve the problems that they created. I lost an entire weekend fighting them. The IX response times average between 12-24 hours...

Then again this January, IX updated all of our cgi-bin files in our domain and all of our sub-domains recreating the problems that were caused in November's unnecessary server move. Again, it took over 60+ hours to get our site up and running. I had to find workarounds to get our site up and running, and amazingly, IX tried to take credit for getting our site up and running again even though they had nothing to do with it...

Even though our site is up and running now, we still have many problems. After 176 hours of fighting IX for help, they have yet to correct the Cron job errors that still plague our site...

The last two days, the server has crashed in the evening requiring another call to IX to get the server restarted/reset and our site back online. This was the same pattern that plagued us after the Data Center move last year. And early every morning, the page load response times drag down to a crawl. This seems to start between midnight and 4 AM every single night. The other day, the slowness continued well into the following day. We get an apology from IX each time this happens, but they don't seem to be doing anything to permanently correct it...

IX has tried very hard to blame these problems on our code, which worked fine before the server move in November and again up until January. IX does not want to take responsibility for their actions and it is frustrating and disgusting dealing with them. I cannot in good conscience recommend IX Webhosting to anyone until they improve the skills of their own Technical Support staff. It wouldn't hurt if they hired a few more knowledgeable people to improve their response times too. Waiting 12-24 hours for each new response to a ticket is totally unacceptable. With IX's lack of effort, a resolution to a problem can drag on for days and weeks. IX does the bare minimum to assist its clients and they do it as slow as they possibly can...

Dealing with IX technical support gets real old real fast. I wouldn't wish this on anyone...

Biggest Pro: Server Setup
Biggest Con: Lousy Technical Support

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Blake. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on January 17th, 2009 at 21:00 EST by Blake
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 71.99.97.18
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #35 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
8.30
technical support & knowledge
3.10
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
3.50
* ratings are out of 10

My first web hosting company... bad choice

1. Server is down a lot.

2. Phone tech support is hard to reach. Online chat support are outsourced to somewhere in Eastern Europe.

3. My web sites became unavailable once for several hours and when they came back, they appeared the way they did several weeks before. There was some major server issue that ix must have resolved by backing it up to an earlier date. I received no apology or notification. It also permanently screwed up all of my 301 redirects.

4. Problems with some emails getting tons of spam.

5. they suck

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Gregory. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    35.00% 
Reviewed on January 14th, 2009 at 16:34 EST by Gregory
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 71.145.155.204
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.cdstudies.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #36 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Great Hosting

I truly love IXWebhosting. I have been a customer for a long time and I have never had any issues out of them. My site is always up and I have always gotten fantastic service. Their tech support is wonderful and always available when I have a question or an issue. I have many friends that are with them also, and they agree with me totally. I would highly recommend them to anyone who is looking for an affordable shared host.

IX Web Hosting is recommended by Amanda Goodman. This person recommends IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on December 18th, 2008 at 21:40 EST by Amanda Goodman
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 75.131.114.234
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #37 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Several Reasons to avoid IX Web Hosting

This will be a long review describing what I have recently gone through with IX web hosting and why I am choosing to leave them.

I have been with IX Web Hosting about 2 years. As I researched, I visited some other web host review sites and noticed that IX web hosting was highly ranked at that time.

I signed up for the Business Plus plan for $7.95 per month . This plan offered 8 dedicated IP's for an excellent price. IX web hosting also offered renewal at the same price as long as you stayed with them. Unfortunately, a bargain is not a bargain unless the company that is offering the service can actually provide it without constant issues.

In the two years I have been with IX web hosting I have not really been very active other than putting up a very simple webpage with the assistance of one of my friends. What I have encountered is a lot of spam type email. On more than one occasion I have had over 1000 spam emails in my mailbox. I was told that finally that issue is being addressed and they are putting some time of spam filtering in place on their servers.

Recently I decided to get more active and create both a forum that included a photo gallery on my website. I am a photographer and I have a son who fights amateur mixed martial arts. I have been called to photograph several events and have been asked by the fighters and their families about purchasing images. I called IX tech support and asked them which forum software and photo gallery they recommended.. One of their tech support people suggested to me that I get a copy of E107 for the forum and Coppermine for the photo gallery. I followed that suggestion.

Once I got the software was to read its requirements and then contact IX to see if they supported ImageMagicK and MySQL databases. I was informed they did and those things were available to me under my current hosting plan. Then I noticed that even though I had changed the pointing of my name servers and typed the names of my domains in the control panel on IX hosting, IX never bothered to create or put up the temporary template or place holder each domain. So when I want to my domains the server name and the port number were exposed.

The first big issue I ran into was when I attempted to create a MySQL database. The data base creation went smoothly but when I went to add users it would not allow it. So I called tech support and we walked through it together. When the tech experience the same issue he told me it was on the server side and he would send an email to the administrator and it would take about two hours to fix it and they would notify me by email once it had been corrected.. Of course this delayed my installation of my forum software. I checked in two hours and I had received a notification that the issue had been resolved so I signed on and attempted to add users to the data base. I discovered the issue still was not fixed so I made another call to tech support. After another delay they finally fixed the issue and I was able add a user to the data base.

The second issue arose when trying to load the E107 Forum software through a zipped file onto the web server. I loaded the file in only to get a Bad response from Server Error when I attempted to extract it in the control panel. Of course I generated a trouble ticket only to be told it was probably a browser issues and could I provide more information. I responded and told them that I had used three different browsers attempting to get this to work and still received the same error. Finally I had to expand the program on my desktop which made loading the program take twice and long.

The third issue ran into came when I was attempting to install the coppermine photo gallery which is designed to work with the forum software I had installed as well as many different forum programs. One of the options is the ability to use a thumbnail program called ImagemagicK that I mentioned above. ImageMagick is a program that resides on the server of your web host and has to be enabled for you to be able to use it. You also need the correct data path to enable it to be used with your photo gallery. I called Tech support several times and no one seemed to know the correct data path. I was actually given the wrong data path by tech support on 3 separate occasions. Once I received the correct data path for it, the program still would not install. So once again I called tech support only to be told that permissions had to be enabled for me to be able to install ImagemagicK and that it would take an Admin to enable it. Since I was calling at night, I was told that it would take until the next day to get the permissions enabled. I was also told that I need to file a trouble ticket through their web system in order to get the problem taken care of. So I asked, if I am calling tech support, and they understand there is an issue then why wouldn't they generate the ticket instead of expecting the customer to jump through hoops to get something on their system corrected.

The forth issue I ran into occurred on the same night. I was continuing to modify my front page of my website and I needed to change some permissions in my program and the control panel on IX Web Hosting would not allow me to do so. So I attempted to use Filezilla which is a third party FTP. The server still would not allow me to change permissions. So once again I called into tech support only to be told that we are sorry we do not support third party software. So I asked for a supervisor and he saw there was an issue on their side that was not allowing me change permissions and finally after fighting with tech support once again and having to ask for a supervisor the problem was corrected.

As you can see, a pattern is developing here and I was starting to get angry.

The fifth issue came up later that evening. I went to back to continue to work on my web site and I click on the control panel and the icon just kept spinning. After several attempts and trying to use different browsers, I called tech support again. I was told by a tech support person " Oh we are sorry but we are running a maintenance script on the server and you should have access again in 2 to 4 hours. I asked, how come your company did not mail an email notice that they were going to be doing some maintenance and the server would be unavailable during this time period. The tech responded we just don't.

At this point, I about had enough and the next day I called in and spoke to ask for a management person and complain about my experiences. I ended up with a billing person who was very nice and convinced me to keep my account and offered me 2 free months of service to compensate me. I told him I did not call to get anything for free but accepted 1 month. Then the billing person told me that I was on an old server called CP4 and that the company had moved their servers from Hopkinsville Ky to Ohio because of bandwidth issues. He said there was also a new server called CP8 and he could not understand why they had not switched me to it because the programs I wanted to install actually resided on the new server as a simple script type install. What that means is that I would not have to load up the program manually and should be able to do a 1 button click install. Since I really did not have any content that resided on the old server I told him to switch me. Which brings me to the sixth issue.

The sixth issue to do with the reinstall of my programs. I used the one button install for the E107 program only to have a problem with the with the program not working properly and the front page not showing. When I called tech support, I was told sorry we do not support third party software. When I mentioned this is a program you have in your control panel and use to encourage people to sign up for your service, I was given the same line that this third party software and not supported. Then I pointed out that there control panel was third party software as well and asked if they supported that. I was told well we have a deal with the company writes that program and our company has modified it so we support it. I was told that if I wanted help with the E107 installation that they offered in their control panel that I would have to call back in the morning and ask for a specific person who was the person most experienced with it. When I called the next morning I was told that person was unavailable. What is ironic is that the same person I had talked to the night before answered the phone. That person was given instruction to help me by the person she had told me to call and we attempted to once again install the E107 software that resided in their control panel and on their server.

The CP8 server was running extremely slowly at this time. For some reason we could not get the e107 program to install properly that resided on their server so I told her I had a zipped copy loaded up but I was having problems getting it to extract properly on the IX server. The tech also had problems extracting it so she loaded it down to her desktop to extract it and asked if she could call me back once the 2997 files had been uploaded and we could walk through the install. I agreed and then she and I also agreed that I would upload the coppermine program through my FTP to the site from my side. After waiting for over 2 hours with no call back, I called back into tech support. I talked to another person who told me the tech I was talking to wanted to know if I could call back in 20 mins. At this point I said No and asked for a manager. I was given to a woman who was supposed to be the Manager over the Tech dept. When I told her what happened the tech who was supposed to call me back lied to her and told the manager she had. I informed the manager I had both a land line with an answering machine and a cell phone with voice mail and there was nothing on either one of them. Of course the tech then changed her story. The manager and I then went about installing the E107 program on the new server, but ran into difficulty because the server was so slow, I was put on hold several times during the install process while the manager went to find out why the server was having the speed issues. At some time during the install the Manager gives me the line we really do not support third party installs and needed to get off the phone. Of course I could not believe that I was hearing this again. So when she got off the phone, I called back in to the company and asked to speak to someone in higher management like a Customer Service Manager. I was told they had none. So I asked how do you get to speak to the vice president or CEO of the company and I was informed you don't. This of course was unbelievable.

I also had a trouble ticket filed outlining my complaints and asking for a call back from the CEO of the company. That ticket is dated Dec 3, 2008 To this date of Dec 17, 2008 I have not had any of complaints addressed in regard to the customer service or tech support complaints. Even so they keep trying to close my ticket and basically I have been ignored.

As you can see there are many problems with the IX Web Hosting Service, I have not listed everything I have experienced but I think you get the idea. I would strongly suggest that you avoid IXwebhosting at all costs.

During the time I have been waiting for a response I opened an account with Blue Host Web Hosting and so far my experience with them has been outstanding. The server appears to be much faster than IX hosting. The customer support is very friendly, and they have both E107 and Coppermine available in their control panel. They also support the install of these programs.

Compared to IX webhosting, Blue host is a breath of fresh air and IX webhosting is a nightmare.

Thanks for reading.

Biggest Con: Please read Review it tells it all

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Jason Stoller. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on December 18th, 2008 at 04:17 EST by Jason Stoller
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 66.82.9.49
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.ammapics.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #38 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.50
* ratings are out of 10

This is a GREAT hosting company.

I have used at least a half dozen hosting companies since the mid 90's. IX Web Hosting is totally reliable, totally responsive, never down and has the easiest to use web site I have found. The only company I have found that is as good as IX is Verio and they are much more expensive.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and management of domains
Biggest Con: none known

IX Web Hosting is recommended by Cad. This person recommends IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on December 6th, 2008 at 16:57 EST by Cad
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 76.187.173.5
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.loansoftware.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #39 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

IX Webhosting billing scams and focus only on new customers

IX Webhosting gives you less than one week to fix a credit card issue when an issue is discovered otherwise they suspend your account which causes all of your domains to be down causing you to lose traffic and faith of your regular visitors.

I had been a customer for nearly 5 years and never missed a payment. My credit card happened to expire while I was on vacation and they gave me less than a week to simply enter the new expiration date. I come home to all kinds of emails from folks saying all my websites were down. Found out, my account was suspended a mere few days after my credit card had failed. They claim they emailed me to tell me of the billing issue and claim I must have a spam filter that prevented the emails from arriving even though I DO receive all of their other emails.

Nothing is ever their fault, customer is always wrong which is why IX webhosting won't be in business much longer.

Also, they lower their prices to try feebly to stay competitive but unless an exisiting customer asks to get the lower price for their exact plan, they are charged the higher price from the past. I was on a quarterly billing cycle so I am eligible for price changes EVERY QUARTER and assumed I would be given lower prices for the SAME EXACT PLAN and billing cycle. Wrong.....they continued to charge me the old higher price with each renewal.

Lastly, their prices are way too high as me and a gang of 10 others are going to STARTLOGIC and pay only $5 per month for all the same services!!!

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Ernie D.. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on November 29th, 2008 at 10:55 EST by Ernie D.
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 67.84.237.228
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #40 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.