IX Web Hosting

Visit IX Web Hosting Visit IX Web Hosting   Write your own IX Web Hosting review. Write your own IX Web Hosting review.
6 out of 58 (or 10% of) people recommend IX Web Hosting.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.21 / 10.0 4.16 / 10.0 3.97 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
3.24 / 10.0 4.22 / 10.0
IX Web Hosting
› Overall Rating ››    26.52% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 21 to 30 out of 58 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

IX Web Hosting reviews

uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
2.50
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Going going gone?

For many years I've used IXWebhosting and been very satisfied, but I fear they are heading downhill.

A major reason for using IX is the ability to use SQL server manager to connect to SQL Databases. I have been doing so and writing native windows back ends for websites form many years with no problems.

All of a sudden, something has happened to SQLServer. Response times that were virtually instantaneous have jumped to 5-10 seconds with no changes on my part.

The following exchange with Tech Support sums up my frustration. I would very much like to hear from anyone who believes I am being unreasonable.

Up until two weeks ago, I was recommending them. I'm afraid I can no longer do so.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Below is a very disappointing exchange with IXWebhosting's technical support. It is the first time they've let me down. I hope they aren't becoming like so many other companies who try to blame their customers for all problems. If anyone thinks I'm wrong or overreacting, I'd like to hear about it.

-----------------------------------------
To Tech Support:
All of my sites using SQL Server are experiencing incredibly slow response times. The server is mssql9.
For example, when updating one row updating one row of a 1000 row table it sometimes takes 4-5 seconds.
I just logged on to the site www.jayalums.com and it took five seconds to verify login information.

So, I logged off and logged back in. This time it took about 1/2 second.
Everything I do with SQL server has unpredictable results. This all started about two weeks ago.
If this can't be fixed can I move to a different SQL server?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dear Dave,
thank you for contacting our technical support team.
Let me express the most sincere apologies regarding to the issue you were facing. Unfortunately, I am unable to reproduce it now. As I have checked the server logs, there were no issues noticed on the server level for the specified time period. Please, could you verify the problem once again on your side, and inform us once it continues with exact steps for reproducing from our side, so we will initiate deeper investigation regarding to it. Thank you for cooperation. Should you have any further questions, feel free to contact us at anytime, we are available 24/7.
Respectfully,
Vlad Demyan
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To Tech Support:
It is difficult to tell exactly what the problem is but it seems that the server almost has to "wake up" the first time it is hit.

Try this. go to www.jayalums.com.
Below the login button click on "here" to register.
Now, on the left side of the page, click on one of the years and see how long it takes for the name list to appear. I just did this and it took 7 seconds for the class of 1965 list to appear.

Subsequent clicks on a year seem to respond more quickly but they are still much much slower than they were a few weeks ago.

Thanks,

Dave
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dear Dave,

Thank you for contacting our tech department team.

I regret to inform you but we won't be able to provide you with a better performance due to Shared Server environment. The best we can suggest you is to organize your scripts for better performance. You are using connection to database to get results from a request, maybe you should suggest to optimize your requests or database structure to be able to get requested results faster. We count on your patience and understanding.

Please feel free to contact us if you need further assistance. We are available 24/7.

Respectfully,
Stepan Radibog
Technical Department
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To Tech Support:
Stepan,

I have been a loyal customer of IXWebhosting for many years. During that time I have used SQL Server extensively and I have never experienced these problems. Your response is not an answer but a simple dismissal of my problem. This is exactly the type of response that causes bad reviews and loss of customers.

My scripts haven't changed. My databases haven't changed. Only response times have changed.

If my scripts are bad or my database structure is bad, why are the queries sometime very rapid and sometimes very slow?

Here's are two scripts that are almost identical. The first took 14seconds to execute. The second was executed immediately afterward and took less than a second.

1- update alums set password = '12345' where uniq = 10xxx
2- update alums set password = '56789' where uniq = 11xxx

It doesn't matter which script is run first, it is very slow but the second is much faster.

Please explain that.

Can we move our databases to a different server?

Dave

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Dave Davis. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on March 2nd, 2010 at 13:12 EST by Dave Davis
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 67.77.95.134
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.jayalums.com/   Email: onliine@blindsided.org
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #21 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
3.00
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Don't use this hosting

If you run a web site thatís php or html this would be an OK host, donít try to run a database site on this hosting as there so over sold you will be disappointed. Really you can find a lot cheaper host for php and html hosting with better support.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Slow database servers

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by James. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on February 7th, 2010 at 13:00 EST by James
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 96.240.67.98
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #22 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
0.30
server & connection speed
0.30
technical support & knowledge
0.60
customer service & billing
0.30
price value for money
3.30
* ratings are out of 10

ixwebhosting review and the file limitation on unlimited plans

Before you sign up for ixwebhosting, you better consider their imposed 100,000 file limit. They say the limit is 100,000 for windows and 300,000 for linux. Unfortunately, many of the staff at ixwebhosting do not even know this limitation themselves. The terms and conditions are very general and they claim unlimited storage and bandwidth. This borders upon scamming the client to sign up and then tack on a file limitation to get you to upgrade to ixwebhosting VPS account. Is this ethical? No, it's not. Should people sue ixwebhosting for doing this? Yes, clients who have been a victim of such misleading terms and limitations should work on a class action lawsuit. You can perhaps email elawcase@gmail.com but also contact your legal consultant as well. Regarding ixwebhosting hosting itself, ixwebhosting wouldn't be recommended because of their constant downtime and server speed. It will lower your website ranking and people who visit your website will leave the site due to speed. The customer service on the other hand are courteous and you can easily contact them via online chat quite quickly. But unfortunately server and service is lacking. In addition this file limitation and server speed will affect your website's future growth.

1. ixwebhosting file limitation - POOR
2. ixwebhosting server speed - POOR
3. ixwebhosting uptime - Below average
4. ixwebhosting customer service - Very Good
5. ixwebhosting Overall - POOR

Last note, Ixwebhosting should not promote unlimited hosting if they have file count limitations imposed. This is considered false advertising.

Biggest Pro: hsphere control panel
Biggest Con: server speed and file limitation

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by editorsreview. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    4.00% 
Reviewed on January 16th, 2010 at 19:03 EST by editorsreview
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 58.37.241.164
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #23 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
2.50
customer service & billing
3.00
price value for money
0.50
* ratings are out of 10

Bad solution, too many problems

HTTP downloads limited to a 2MB size, bigger files are downloaded corrupted almost always.
SMTP limited to 25 recipients.
Control panel terribly slow, if you want a reasonably speed you have to buy a "Virtual Server".

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Antonio Embid. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    5.00% 
Reviewed on January 15th, 2010 at 13:20 EST by Antonio Embid
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 81.184.2.136
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #24 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
4.00
server & connection speed
4.30
technical support & knowledge
4.80
customer service & billing
5.20
price value for money
6.10
* ratings are out of 10

Warning- this server sucks and cost me money

These guys suddenly suspend your account and give you no explanation of why. Their chat people just say there's a problem with the account and to support a ticket. When they get round to answering the ticket they dont say anything other than to get lost. I wish I had never got involved with this server and warn anyone considering them to stay clear and not risk the performance of their website with these people.

Biggest Pro: non

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Antonio Wilmsen. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    43.00% 
Reviewed on January 9th, 2010 at 18:54 EST by Antonio Wilmsen
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 189.58.73.182
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #25 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

my biggest mistake in my life

very bad servers . the up time is very good but speed and server response is very bad.
they destroyed my business and now i am searching for a new host provider respecting his serious customer who have a good traffic.
ix need kids to host their website with them.if your traffic exceed 1000 visits per day your site will be at the top of the slowest sites in the world.
keep yourself away from this company.

Biggest Pro: price
Biggest Con: Slow servers

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Osama. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on January 9th, 2010 at 02:51 EST by Osama
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 84.36.153.55
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #26 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
6.00
server & connection speed
4.30
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
3.10
* ratings are out of 10

Don't ever host with them

I have been hosting with them for almost 5 years and they were good when I first started, now they have the worse customer service and tech support.

I was hosting 5 websites with them and I was away and had no internet access, I got back and I found out that my hosting plan expired July 21, I still had active domains, so I asked them I would like to reactivate my hosting plan and that I was away. They told me that they deleted it and there is no way to restore it, I had websites there that I paid over $5000 each to have created and allot of data which I didn't have backups of, on ixwebhostings website it states that they make backups which I guess they don't!. I lost everything. The worse part is that they don't tell you they will delete it.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: they delete your files with no chance restoring

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Tigran. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on September 11th, 2009 at 16:54 EST by Tigran
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 81.16.3.101
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #27 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
6.00
server & connection speed
8.30
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
5.90
price value for money
0.20
* ratings are out of 10

Bad User Experionce with IX web Hosting (Service out for 40+)

Hi,

I have a premium account on IX web hosting. i had that account for about 6months now... and i had payed them for completely for 2years. now they are trying to ignore my tickets and giving me less support.

my account was suspended due to TOS SPAM issue (AS they say). And all my domains are un-available for about 40+ hrs now. what ever they referring as a spam mail was not even originated from any of there servers. only the body containing the URL's of the sites that hosted on the IX hosting. Actually it's a Monthly news letter that i send to my registerd customer base of 75,000 about my services. Due to the high number of users i have communicated with the IX before and got there idea about it. they tolled me that they can affored that kind of email base. so i took my own SMTP server and a dedicated domain for the mail transmition (from Slice Hosts).

All the issue wear discussed with the IX web hosting before i started transmitting the newsletter. but they didnt check any history just block my account.

Best part is they take about 12 - 17 hours to reply for a one ticket i added every time. and after waiting about 17 hours what i got as a reply was "I have sent this ticket to our call center in order to speed up solving of this issue. Please wait for a call from us." but now 10 hrs has passed by...No 1 called me at all. and i tried to call there international number 3 times, but i was on hold for 20 mints each time... (IDD calls are not that cheap in my country). then i asked to give me backup of my DB then that i can start the hosting on some wear els till this matter clear out. they refused that also.......

Now I'm totally help less... All my websites and domains are down at the moment, and they are not communicating with me, and not even letting me to get a backup of my DB's. and all this was for a previously communicated and sorted matter.

if any one have any idea, please help me on this.....

Thanks

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Malaka. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    47.00% 
Reviewed on August 10th, 2009 at 04:32 EST by Malaka
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 202.69.200.134
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #28 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Not recommended

Poor and slow tech support.

Likely to blame any problems on you before investigating.

First line of tech support "defense" can barely understand the links and instructions they send you.

As soon as I can find a better service (and some time) I will switch

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Jesse. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on June 5th, 2009 at 21:12 EST by Jesse
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 173.76.18.215
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #29 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
6.00
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

my biggest mistake is ixwebhosting

Well i do not like ix coz i lost my all visitors de to slow Databse of IX, My web almost dead 2 days in a week.. when i was on hostmonster i got daily 500+ unique visitors now it is only 50 visitors( and i am enable to view my visitors stats coz ix does not provide any reliable visitor stats software in cpanel like awstate etc) i just lost my visitors due to database errors and slow server speed :(

Let me define IX in one sentese

IX is my Biggest Mistake

But still i have to surf with IX coz i paid them money for two years :(

They does not provide any good live chat service if we asked any question to supporter it says plz hold and then does not reply even you open that chat page for 1 day or 1 week you will not get any help

:(

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Muhammad Ahmed. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    12.00% 
Reviewed on March 10th, 2009 at 03:40 EST by Muhammad Ahmed
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 110.37.78.199
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.nokialoverz.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #30 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.