IX Web Hosting

Visit IX Web Hosting Visit IX Web Hosting   Write your own IX Web Hosting review. Write your own IX Web Hosting review.
6 out of 58 (or 10% of) people recommend IX Web Hosting.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.21 / 10.0 4.16 / 10.0 3.97 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
3.24 / 10.0 4.22 / 10.0
IX Web Hosting
› Overall Rating ››    26.52% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 11 to 20 out of 58 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

IX Web Hosting reviews

uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
0.60
technical support & knowledge
6.20
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Do not pick IX for hosting...

IX was an ok hosting provider when I started with them years ago, I didn't have many complaints, until I started noticing a pattern. Starting in about October, servers would crash, I would have huge outages every year. I would lose sales because the server would timeout in the middle of the transactions. I watched it happen on numerous occasions. Finally, this year, they had a scheduled maintenance that went wrong, and my service was again down for over a full day. Unacceptable in this day and age not to have a backout plan in a scheduled maintenance period. But I said...OK, we will see how this holiday season goes and give them a one last chance to change my mind that I should continue hosting with them. They assigned support heroes to each account, and this was a great change in support and working with my hero has been awesome. However it is not nearly enough to keep my business. I am moving as soon as possible and requesting a full refund. My recommendation: Please do not give your business to IX WebHosting. They need to just refund their current customer's money and help them move to some place that can provide service and shut down. They are DONE.

Biggest Pro: Support hero
Biggest Con: Uptime...down at least part of every day where I can't get to it.

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Dennis Parker. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    9.00% 
Reviewed on December 20th, 2010 at 00:37 EST by Dennis Parker
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 72.102.218.89
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.fancyfiber.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #11 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

ixhwebhosting are liars

ixhwebhosting says "Unlimited storage space" but actually after 15GB they disable your account. The mail servers and mySQL are very slow and they have no respect for customers. DO NOT USE THEM.

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Pat. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on December 16th, 2010 at 15:00 EST by Pat
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 173.13.135.107
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Unix   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #12 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
1.10
server & connection speed
2.90
technical support & knowledge
1.50
customer service & billing
4.00
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

ixwebhosting is NOT recommended.

Unstable Servers.
down every day about one hour and they just lie on customer, i call them many time with my report show the down time period and they just know one word call us when problem happen an d when call them while the problem do nothing just rest memory pool that is only thing they know how to do.
- Timeout
if website run it take from 1~20 minute to load
- Web Speed, Unacceptably slow.
and if load and work in some time it work very slow
- Technical services: just lie on me they still told me the site run ok while i face many problem and if they change any thing they told my it work ok now so they know this site have problem in time they say no problem, just a big lair
- ixwebhosting is NOT recommended.

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Ahmed Fawzi. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on December 14th, 2010 at 09:00 EST by Ahmed Fawzi
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 217.139.255.214
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #13 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
3.70
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

VERY POOR

I HAVE BEEN HOSTING FOR LESS THAN A MONTH WITH THESE GUYS AND THE WEBSITES ARE EXTREMELY SLOW, CUSTOMER SERVICE / TECH SUPPORT BLAMES IT ON SHARED ENVIRONMENT AND WILL DO NOTHING TO RESOLVE ISSUES. EVERY ERROR, EVERY DOWN TIME IS NOT THEIR FAULT.

THEY CLEARLY LET YOU KNOW THAT DOWN TIME AND SLOW TIMES ARE A RESULT OF SHARED HOSTING AND THEY ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE. CLEARLY THEY DO NOT CARE WHO LOSES BUSINESS AS A RESULT OF THEIR POOR NETWORK AND WAY OVERLOADED SERVERS!!!

SHOP AROUND, DO NOT GO BASED ON PRICE YOU WILL BE SORRY

Biggest Pro: NONE
Biggest Con: EVERYTHING

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Glen Hoehn. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on December 11th, 2010 at 06:52 EST by Glen Hoehn
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 74.69.121.63
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: it@rigapc.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #14 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
4.50
technical support & knowledge
0.50
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

"I would not say NO to ix webhosting, its HELL NO" is right...

I've been a long time customer of IX and as of late, since they have outsourced support to Ukraine, this company is going down fast. If your site is getting decent traffic, it's guaranteed that the site will be hacked. It's not what you do, it's what the support will do to your site; keep in mind that the tech support has full access to your folders, files, and code. They even hide sub-folders in your site directory that you cannot see with the web based or FTP connection to your site. You'll notice the hidden folder when Google blocks your site and it shows up at stopbadware.org site as such:

URL: http://www.yourdomain.com/3wjc9dm/

You check your site directory and there's no "3wjc9dm" folder visible. You go ahead and chat with the support online and asked them, can you see this directory? You guest it, the answer is no.

Then out of the blue, you get an email from tech support that they have opened a support ticket for you. And of course, they do blame you for all of the issues. Quote from their standard answer:

"We regret to inform you that we have found that your FTP password has been compromised. It is likely that it was stolen by a "hacker" (or someone with malicious intent against your account) or a Trojan. This means that your account is now vulnerable to malicious scripts. Your account will be completely cleaned from all known malicious code in the nearest time.

The root of the problem is that your FTP password appears to be stolen by hackers. It means there is a trojan running at your local machine that reads the password when you connect your FTP account and then sends it to hacker. Thus, it is recommended that you scan your local machine and remove viruses and trojans if any found. And please, do not reset your FTP password until you sure your machine is clean. We prefer not to tell you your new password, in order to keep it secure. "

Really???

a. how come tech support noticed the hacked FTP account password, after complaining about the invisible folder?
b. how does tech support know where the hack has taken place?
c. even if the FTP account gets hacked on the "local machine", there's no way to make a folder "invisible" by that FTP account
d. after five years being an IX customer, running WordPress, PHPBB, and PHP websites, all the sudden during the last couple of month, I forgot how to protect my sites?

I did not forget how to run my site; I am moving them as far away from IX as possible.

Biggest Pro: List serve service
Biggest Con: Lack of providing a secure hosting environment

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Web Master. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 22nd, 2010 at 08:26 EST by Web Master
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 67.87.0.92
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #15 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
0.50
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
0.50
* ratings are out of 10

SERVICE GOING DOWNHILL

Do NOT get IX. Note the following email sent to users of their service sent by their CEO on October 19, 2010. Judge for yourself. They have "upgraded" their systems 4 times within a year.

--

I am writing to you to apologize. Last Thursday, October 14th through Saturday, October 16th, our CP9 & CP10 customers were put through frustrating and severe service issues, which should not have happened.

We had become arrogant with our level of confidence in making changes to our new infrastructure, and wrongfully assumed that there would be no problems in the change we had decided to make. In doing so, we put all of you through a lengthy and horrible period of multiple outages. Clearly this is terrible service, and not the kind of provider we want to be.

For those of you that are interested in understanding the full technical explanation of the issues that caused the service problems, please read the "post-mortem" that is posted on our blog. There is one bit of bad news, all customers on CP10 will have to undergo a 5 minute restart on Wednesday, October 20th in order to prevent a possible repeat of Saturday afternoon's outage. Please read the blog post for details.

We have definitely learned some valuable lessons from this outage and we want to commit to all of you that we will not repeat the same mistake again. So we are making some changes. First, we have instituted a maintenance freeze for the time being, so that only emergency maintenances will be allowed to happen for now. Emergency is defined as a maintenance that has to happen to correct or prevent a problem that is customer affecting. Second, we are hardening and cleaning up our testing procedures and back-out plan policies for all production environment changes. Third, a new Change Management Advisory Board made up of our senior leadership team will review and approve all changes to our systems, software, or interfaces from now on.

I sincerely hope that you will forgive us, and give us the opportunity to prove that we are taking this very, very seriously.

Fathi Said, CEO
IX Web Hosting

Ecommerce Inc
1774 Dividend Dr
Columbus, Ohio 43228
United States
614-534-1960

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: poor reliability

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Onix. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on October 19th, 2010 at 12:39 EST by Onix
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 68.183.250.47
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #16 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
0.20
customer service & billing
0.20
price value for money
0.30
* ratings are out of 10

IX Victim

This has to be the worst company I have ever had the misfortune to host on, and I have hosted on many being in IT for 30 years, sites down daily, hacked weekly, tech support lying, and I have only been with them for 3 months. PLease dont ever use these people. Your sanity is at stake here.

Biggest Pro: price
Biggest Con: everything else

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Carl. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on May 18th, 2010 at 04:03 EST by Carl
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 212.159.83.111
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #17 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
4.10
server & connection speed
7.90
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

I would not say NO to ix webhosting, its HELL NO

well i was kind of lured to signup with them coz of the pirce and the self proclaimed gauranteed and reviews on their descent website ,but i didn't know what I am getting into.

1) They dont know how to run DATABASES, or may is say WEBHOSTING , coz a website without a DB is frankly no website. Yeah they claim to have unlimited DB space but even a properly indexed table with a few(7-8) thousand rows that is queried 200 times can OVERLOAD their servers. If you have a descent website that is DB dependent and has a traffic of arounf 100 or more visitors per day, you will wake up on every monday with a "TOS Violation - MySQL Overload" ticket awaiting you for 2 consecutive weeks with your DB not there as it is chmod to 0, and that can only be restored if you assure them of not voilating the TOS (that you will never find as to how you voilated) and on your 3rd week, awaits the "Suspended: ToS Violation". Well thats preety much my experiece and I for a moment thought that may be its just me but visit their blog and you find it all over.

2) "Money Back Gaurantee", "Full money back gaurantee", thats what you find all over, well lets just try it for a moment, ok here you go :
-1- give them explanation for why you are cancelling account
-2- open a cancellation ticket and wait 3-5 days as it takes that much time because CANCELLATION and REFUND is a manual process (unlike signup process that is almost instant)
-3- get on phone with them or on chat to know about your cancellation and refund, only to know that they are EXCALATING your Ticket.
-4- repeat #3 a few times
-5- get to know that THEY(support people, to whom we/their customer have access) DO NOT GOVERN THE CANCELLATION DEPARTMENT and its for the cancellation department to process our cancellation (Yeah, I can imagine the requirement to have a whole department for cancellation requests/tickets)
-6-haven't received my refund as of now

3) You are entitles for a FULL MONEY BACK if you cancel your account within 30 day of signup. well thats only what theysay or have on the website. Their FULL MONEY BACK FORMULA is : AMOUNT PAID AT TIME OF SIGNUP - COST EVERY FREE DOMAIN REGISTERED (fine to me, usually 20 $ per domain) - COST OF FREE ADVERTISMENTS USED

4) A CONTROL PANEL that sucks, BIG TIME. Even if you have not seen any other descent but not extraordinary control panles like cPanel and plesk, their control panel is a place with little or no control and the somewhat control that is there is often hidden at the oddest of places. Dont fall for their talk of 'Developing a new control panel' coz thats all shit that they have been saying for years and are expected to continue to do so.

5) Oh i forgot to mention, if your account gets suspended, there is NO WAY to get the data/contents back. NO DB BACKUP, NO WEBSITE FILES: Thankyou IX, we are all set to be doomed.

6) hmm they got excellent support, thats is if you define support as "A person to talk to, whom you can share your problem with", but thats very much it. To every problem, Firstly, they will tell you to open a ticket and if you have already done so, they will tell you that they have ESCLATED your ticket. Thank you for calling IX.

I AM HAVING THE WORST POSSIBLE EXPERIENCE & I WOULD NEVER EVER REFFER ANYONE TO GO FOR IX, EVEN IF THEY OFFER SERVICES AT $1/YR

Biggest Con: DB Issues. Control Panel, help less Live Support

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by taIMUR. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on May 14th, 2010 at 15:54 EST by taIMUR
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 175.107.0.246
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #18 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.80
technical support & knowledge
6.40
customer service & billing
8.30
price value for money
3.30
* ratings are out of 10

Your website will get hacked

My website was hacked 5 times within 6 months. I went with them because of the cost, but in the long run it cost way more after Google blocked my website when malicious scripts were inserted. I did everything to prevent this, but their web servers are compromised. If you get any decent traffic to your website it will eventually get hacked and flagged by Google. There are too many other hosting companies to choose from to deal with IX webhosting!

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by darren. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    38.00% 
Reviewed on April 18th, 2010 at 23:21 EST by darren
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 72.201.218.31
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #19 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
6.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
7.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Servers go down daily...

For the past month I've noticed that my site(s) hosted on IX Web Host crashes daily. It may be only a few minutes but typically it lasts for a few hours. I'll never renew a hosting package with this site. Here is the very typical response from their technician that I just received back this morning:

"We are very sorry for this recent inconvenience, please accept our sincere apologies. Our administrators have been notified and they are doing their best to fix the problem as soon as possible. It may take some more additional time to get it fixed. Thank you for bearing with us. We hope for your understanding and cooperation."

-Nate

IX Web Hosting is NOT recommended by Nate. This person does NOT recommend IX Web Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    18.00% 
Reviewed on April 5th, 2010 at 09:23 EST by Nate
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 63.239.108.54
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #20 out of 58 IX Web Hosting reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.