iPage

Visit iPage Visit iPage   Write your own iPage review. Write your own iPage review.
1 out of 24 (or 4% of) people recommend iPage.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
3.98 / 10.0 4.79 / 10.0 2.55 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
3.17 / 10.0 3.65 / 10.0
iPage
› Overall Rating ››    17.83% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 24 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2 3

iPage reviews

uptime & reliability
1.90
server & connection speed
1.60
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.40
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Switching to iPage was a HUGE MISTAKE

The absolute worst in customer service!!! Nothing is their fault...it must be your equipment, your settings, your lack of understanding of how to send an email...PURE B.S. Their email service is terrible and about 10% of my emails are never received.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: iPage is a CON

iPage is NOT recommended by Steve. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    2.00% 
Reviewed on November 20th, 2014 at 00:20 EST by Steve
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 66.169.194.5
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 24 iPage reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
8.30
technical support & knowledge
0.50
customer service & billing
4.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Ubelievably Bad--But Now I Believe It!

I have to agree with all the other negative reviews, particularly about customer service/tech support. Even the platform stability now is getting worse. iPage advertises 24/7 American Phone Support. True, if you call between business hours on the East Coast you do get someone speaking native English, often with no more than a 20-25 minute wait. Since I live on the West coast and will no longer waste time with chat or email support (both handled apparently from India) the last time I called late in the afternoon my time I waited on hold for 45 minutes.

Chat support, usually relatively quick to respond (5-10 minutes), is a waste of time. Typically, the first response after the apparently obligatory "I can understand your concern regarding the matter and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused," the support person will pick up on a couple of words in your question and cut and paste in a completely unrelated boilerplate response. Then after multiple paraphrases of your question you get the “Please be on hold for 4 to 5 minutes while I look into your issue” (it used to be 2 minutes but now it is longer). That is usually followed by more replies that are non-responsive and in some cases contradictory information until eventually you give up.

I do have to say, though, that often after this kind of frustration you will get a "sincere" apology from an outsourced supervisor--not that it solves the problem. Emailing support or using the support ticket option generally follows the same pattern, perhaps because it seems to be out-sourced as well. Out of 48 email support tickets over the past 18 months , which seems high when they are all about problems), I would guess that fewer than a dozen were resolved even with multiple exchanges begging the technician to actually READ and TRY TO UNDERSTAND my question. On the majority of these issues, as with chat support (even more attempts) I either gave up or found a work-a-round. For just one example, here is a problem that took ten contacts on my part with four iPage responses: Issue: Spurious characters being inserted in HTML code. Never resolved. Partial apology in Last iPage response: “I apologize for the issues you are experiencing with the website and I apologize for the inaccurate information provided in previous response. I have gone through the ticket to check the exact issue you are experiencing and could see that additional character is being inserted in the URL automatically even after removing it.”

More worrisome lately are occurrences of problems with actual web pages you create and email accounts. I have found instances where I updated a web page and saved it but found the changed information failed to be retained. A POP mail address I set up suddenly failed after working flawlessly for six months. The tech support person claimed it had been improperly set up, even though I pointed out that not only was it set up the same way as other accounts which still worked, the problem account had worked just fine until something happened at iPage. This kind of thing can cost you customers.

Only inertia and the efforts in recreating a complete web site (because I can no longer count on downloading fully functional pages from my iPage account) and switching to another host have kept me going with iPage this long after signing for a two-year contract. Now, I am redoing all my pages in Dreamweaver and will be changing soon to a company with an excellent record of accomplishment and the developers of the LiveCode programming language (http://www.runrev.com).

The bottom line for me is that like most things, with cheap you get cheap. If you want a working business site or even a personal one that does not require endless hours of support communication to keep it working, you have to pay for it. And $1.89 a month does not give you what you need!

Biggest Con: Support and stability

iPage is NOT recommended by Charles. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    26.00% 
Reviewed on October 26th, 2014 at 11:48 EST by Charles
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 76.121.185.243
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 24 iPage reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Automatic Renewal Scheme - Rip-off

As I have little use for a website I was planning in terminating my web hosting service after the first year.

I paid $12.00 for the first year and to my surprise IPage automatically renewed my plan for another year for $150.00

More than 10 times what I paid the first year.

Stay away from IPage or make sure your plan is not automatically renewed. This is nothing but a scam.

Biggest Pro: Stable and reliable
Biggest Con: Their Automatic Renewal is a scam.

iPage is NOT recommended by Robert Mitchell. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 3rd, 2014 at 19:43 EST by Robert Mitchell
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 65.93.165.185
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.bobbosax.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 24 iPage reviews
uptime & reliability
5.20
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Beware of IPage Refund Policy - It's a Rip-off

You can really lose some serious money if you don't understand Ipage's refund policy. This is how it works:
They only refund the hosting amount. Any other services are non-refundable after 30 days. In my case this included:
-Site Lock
-Jumpstart
-Rapid SSL/Dedicated IP
-Simply Local
-Go Mobi Site
-Domain Privacy
are all non-refundable and that is the lions share of what you pay for. I spent over $200 for their service and receive not one dime in refunds.

Worst yet, I chose "Weebly" site set up to create my page and it never works properly. When I launched my site it wouldn't display. Worse yet, once the page was launched Weebly didn't allow me to make changes are corrections to the site and I was unable to conduct any site maintenance.

I would never recommend this company to anyone least of all a novice web designer as it is poorly designed, limited in its tools and you could be putting hundreds of dollars at risk.

Biggest Pro: Courteous Customer Support
Biggest Con: Unreliable tools

iPage is NOT recommended by Bruce. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on February 28th, 2014 at 20:44 EST by Bruce
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 75.61.139.210
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 24 iPage reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

iPage is the worst! It is a total rip off!

iPage is the worst in terms of customer service. I used to use 1and1. They were great. Always pick up my phone right away even in weekends. However, iPage made me wait for a long time before anyone talk to me. Also, 1and1 allows customer cancel a domain registration within 72 hours with full refund. However, iPage does not allow any domain registration cancellation even you register for 1hour. Also, if you registered your domain name for 3 years, but you cancel your registration within a couple days. They still charge you for 3 years. More ridiculous is: If you purchased some domain credits, but you never used it for any domain name. They still would not refund you if you cancel it. And on top of all the rip off, they charge you $15 cancellation fee. This is totally absurd!

I'll tell all my friends: DO NOT USE iPage!

DO NOT USE iPage! It is a total rip off!

iPage is NOT recommended by Ellen. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on September 11th, 2013 at 09:23 EST by Ellen
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 74.105.3.112
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 24 iPage reviews
uptime & reliability
1.70
server & connection speed
6.40
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Wow

Thought I had found something good to start an ecommerce site with. Wrong. Setting up a database was next to impossible. Constant "500 Internal Error" while trying to set up the site. They did help me out with that by mysteriously adding a php.ini file.? After some 14 hours of work to get a storefront to appear.....you can't bring your own SSL cert. You have to use theirs. I had already transferred my domain to them in order to get it to resolve properly and guess what....there is a cancellation fee for transferring out from ipage AFTER 60 days. And the control panel...???... what a mess.

If you want anything other than maybe a simple blog or a one page "about me" deal look elsewhere.

I agree with some of the other reviewers, the support staff that I dealt with were about as smart as a stump.

Biggest Pro: There are none.
Biggest Con: You name it, they can't do it or you're not allowed to do it.

iPage is NOT recommended by Tim. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on August 16th, 2013 at 16:26 EST by Tim
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 64.53.22.101
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 24 iPage reviews
uptime & reliability
9.70
server & connection speed
9.60
technical support & knowledge
0.20
customer service & billing
8.50
price value for money
2.10
* ratings are out of 10

Lots of Features That Do Not Work

On first sight, they look good, with lots of included features including many "Simple Scripts," (Wordpress, Photoblogs, etc.). Unfortunately, most of the features do not work.

There are three support options: 1) Chat (India); 2) Support Ticket: (luck of the draw); and 3) Telephone: For about eight hours a day (EST) you may get a native English speaker.

All three options rely on boilerplate response, and generally, no one bothers to actually read the customers question until you repeat it about six times.

I will be switching as soon as I find a better host.

iPage is NOT recommended by Robert. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on April 25th, 2013 at 13:50 EST by Robert
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 67.183.141.124
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 24 iPage reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Not if you need to use MySQL for anything

Only 10 max user connections allowed to your database. Causes frequent down-times for anything more complex than a standard blog with 30 or less viewers a day. I get the impression from customer support that the customers aren't worth their time.

Biggest Pro: cheap!
Biggest Con: downtime

iPage is NOT recommended by yachzo. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    15.00% 
Reviewed on January 19th, 2013 at 03:12 EST by yachzo
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 50.127.244.22
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 24 iPage reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Don't believe the HYPE !!

OK.... I went for ipage because of all the positive reviews online. The weebly drag and drop site builder is very easy to use, but that it about the only positive thing I can say ! I have had a website with ipage for about 6 months now and I am not impressed.

My real problems are the very poor customer support and the usability of their websites. I have asked for help a number of times via their 24/7 online chat support, every time has been a complete shambles, I get the impression that the people on the other end don’t know what they are doing and don’t really care about your problems. They don’t listen to what you are saying and then just bombard you with a load of regurgitated standard responses that are just cut and pasted in, often with no relevance to the problems you are asking about. They also ask to put you on hold to “check your account for 3-4 minutes”, again this is nonsense and I have been asked this 2 or 3 times during a conversation when my account has already been well and truly checked ! Either they are too busy to be bothered or they are off making a cup of coffee !

It soon became quickly apparent that the basic package with ipage is rather limited, if you want any more then you will have to pay for it, and it’s not cheap ! There are a couple of standard website features that you see everywhere but ipage simply don’t offer, a slide show in the header bar for example, I explained that I wouldn’t mind paying for this feature but the answer was “it is not possible” ! Also I have tried to enter my business logo at the top of the page, but the template always reduces it to a tiny useless size so I cannot use this feature.

So, in summary, if you are looking for a simple basic website then this may work for you, if you are looking for something better and good customer support, I’d forget it. I will be changing my webhosting shortly to a company that are up to the job.......

Biggest Pro: Drag and drop site builder
Biggest Con: customer support & lack of features in basic package forcing you to have to spend spend spend !

iPage is NOT recommended by Gary Woodburn. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on March 17th, 2012 at 04:14 EST by Gary Woodburn
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 95.145.90.95
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 24 iPage reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

Bait and Switch

Great beginning price and so-so stable. But their billing is ATROCIOUS.
1) They take your money automatically without notice
2) They bill you for things you never requested
3) They make it very difficult to get your money back
4) They more than double the prices once it is time to renew
5) they say you can cancel the hosting, and then sign up again with a new contact name in order to get the original price back, but for existing customers they have no discount but rather MORE THAN DOUBLE their pricing. Why make us go through all that trouble, if you know what we are doing anyway?

Biggest Con: STAB their existing Customers with BAIT and Switch

iPage is NOT recommended by deblein. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    45.00% 
Reviewed on March 14th, 2012 at 12:22 EST by deblein
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 82.43.22.245
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 24 iPage reviews
« Prev 1 2 3
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.