iPage

Visit iPage Visit iPage   Write your own iPage review. Write your own iPage review.
1 out of 24 (or 4% of) people recommend iPage.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
3.98 / 10.0 4.79 / 10.0 2.55 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
3.17 / 10.0 3.65 / 10.0
iPage
› Overall Rating ››    17.83% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 11 to 20 out of 24 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

iPage reviews

uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Find better web host.

It was pretty hard to create a web site with the iPage. I never finished it. Use Godaddy or some other webhost. Websitetonight worked very good for me.
iPage also charged my credit card two weeks before the renewal date. I closed my account with them.

iPage is NOT recommended by tn1812. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    31.00% 
Reviewed on March 7th, 2012 at 18:10 EST by tn1812
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 63.149.121.82
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #11 out of 24 iPage reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
0.50
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
6.00
price value for money
9.90
* ratings are out of 10

I am so disgusted with iPage

I have been with iPage for about 2 months so far and I have 6 sites that I have online or working to get online. For the first month and a half things were ok but in the last 5 days my sites are loading slow on the front end and on the back end it is just getting horrendously worse. It took 5 minutes just to install a JCE editor in Joomla. It takes over a minute or two for it either load a new category or article and then another minute or over for it to save the changes. I have been getting errors messages saying that the "Server sent no data" many times.
I contacted them and they told me it is my plugins that are doing it. They said I was making to many requests to the SQL server which I found an outright lie. So I downloaded programs to reduce, compress, and minify my html for the sites. I added a program to improve the caching so the sites would load faster. I have tried many things that they have suggested. One site in particular I blew up last night and started all over again thinking maybe it was my fault. So I did that but now it is even slower in the admin side than before. All I get is excuses from them and saying it is my fault that the sites are slow on the front end and back end. Maybe I am all wet but I personally think that they are throttling the service or have too many sites on one shared server but I have no proof.
So all those that are having a great experience with them I am happy for you but unfortunately I am not having the same experience with them.
As a side note I was with them a year ago and after a few days the service went down and it took them all weekend to resolve the issue. So I said then that I would not go back with them but they gave me a deal I could not refuse for unlimited everything to come back and so I did with reservations and my reservations have come true. The service and usability and performance has been sub-par so far compared to 1and1 and Lunarpages. I don't like 1and1 but at least my sites were not slow and I could work on the admin or back end of my sites without slowness issues and errors.
So for me I cannot recommend iPage to anyone.

Biggest Pro: Price for the year of hosting
Biggest Con: Server/connection speed, tech support is horrible

iPage is NOT recommended by Robert VanVoorhis. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on January 25th, 2012 at 13:26 EST by Robert VanVoorhis
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 67.167.134.191
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.musiclearningprograms.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #12 out of 24 iPage reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
9.40
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.10
* ratings are out of 10

iPage - bad idea for personal hosting

If you are looking for hosting for a large business, or you just don’t care about decent support, iPage might be OK; but if you are in individual, or not really savvy with the complexities of hosting your own web site, I’d say – “stay as far away from iPage as you can!”

I am currently in the process of canceling my account with them for the following reasons based upon my experience with them.

1. They break the service down into tons of little ‘add ons’ that should be part of the basic package, and then nickel-and-dime you on charges for these ‘extra’ services.
2. When I selected that I wanted ‘Domain Privacy’ as an extra service, I was triple charged for it twice – triple charged when I signed up with them and triple charged again when my service renewed. When I brought this to their attention they asked me what I wanted to do. (What kind of service people do they have working for them? If a company triple charges you for something a refund would be the first order of things.)
3. I was lied to by their service representative who assured me that I would be charged for renewal at the date specified on my bill. I was instead charged 15 days before that date. I had planed my finances carefully and this was not acceptable.

I had informed them that if they charged me for renewal (only automatic, no manual renewal for their “service”) 15 days in advance of my due date that it would cause my rent check to bounce (a BAD thing..) I was assured that I would be charged on November 9th (a year from when I originally signed up and a time when I would have more than sufficient funds to cover the charge) and was instead charged October 25th (rent time.) Upon contacting their customer service I was told simply, “we are sorry for your inconvenience, but that’s our policy.”

Jeopardizing my ability to pay my rent isn’t an ‘inconvenience’, it’s a threat to my survival. Now, why in the world would I want to continue to do business with a company who treats their customers like that?

Biggest Pro: Over other comapnies: none.
Biggest Con: Their service.

iPage is NOT recommended by Matthew. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on October 26th, 2011 at 01:16 EST by Matthew
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 75.36.225.234
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #13 out of 24 iPage reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
7.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

iPage - Regular OUTAGES, ALWAYS SLOW, POOR SUPPORT

Well what a dissapointment. After leaving my last hosting company because of performance issues I did my homework and iPageg seemed to be a good bet. How wrong I was. The website is down frequently, I dont check it that often so the fact I frequently find it is down suggests its probably down more often that its up. When it is up it frequently loads very slowly. Tech support told me that a 4 second load time was acceptable for a page which kind of tells me Im with the wrong company. 4 seconds is good compared to normal iPage load times btw but wholly unacceptable IMO. I'm losing custom, paying for clicks which don't make it to my site and for good measure being ignored then patronised by their support - NOT happy. AVOID THIS HOSTING COMPANY, I WISH I HAD.

Biggest Pro: Price
Biggest Con: Terrible Reliability

iPage is NOT recommended by charlie. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on September 27th, 2011 at 02:52 EST by charlie
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 82.71.192.106
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.willowbabes.co.uk/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #14 out of 24 iPage reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
8.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

The only good thing is their support

I signed to iPage after seeing grades from other web sites. It is the first web hosting for me and it is very hard to find a descent one with all that promotional sites, each of them has its very different top list.
I loved iPage's control panel and I installed a Joomla website. But site was very slow to load, sometimes it didnt load at all and I got a blank page. The FTP connection disconnects every seconds and trying to manage my site through it takes ages, cause every action you make, the FTP client has to reconnect, sometimes it takes a minute to connect.
I contacted several times about it, I got fast replies (in 20 minutes), They said they fixed the problem, and they did, for a couple of hours. I asked to get a refund, and I got it minus the months I used thei service.

Biggest Pro: good support
Biggest Con: Slow speed

iPage is NOT recommended by Yaniv. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    65.00% 
Reviewed on January 27th, 2011 at 07:11 EST by Yaniv
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 85.250.133.56
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #15 out of 24 iPage reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
3.70
technical support & knowledge
9.90
customer service & billing
9.40
price value for money
9.90
* ratings are out of 10

Cheap hosting, great support, absolutely horrible service

Like many fresh young webmasters, we started out with Godaddy. They were good, expensive, but good. A little hard to understand at times, but good. Time for renewal and we do some research. One of the tops on the list at the time (and not this site) was Ipage. They were cheap, they were easy and had a decent review.
In the few months that we've had them our website has gone down at least once a week. Sometimes it was our fault, admittedly, but more times than not it was theirs. Just recently our site went down and was down for almost 3 days. It recently came up this Sunday, and today, Tuesday our site is down for the second time today. Every time we try to chat with someone online, they are terrible and can never help us. Pick up the phone and they're golden. Until the service can catch up with the support they need to give it a rest.

Biggest Pro: Price
Biggest Con: DOWNTIME

iPage is NOT recommended by Erik Yates. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    28.00% 
Reviewed on January 25th, 2011 at 19:35 EST by Erik Yates
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 184.32.154.99
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.behindthethrills.com/   Email: yaytez@hotmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #16 out of 24 iPage reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Server down, pages not loading, LOSING BUSINESS

I selected iPage becuase of the great reviews I have seen. But I have to tell you it has been absolutely horrible. My pages wont load sometime and others I get partial page loads. I am losing business. I have not had a single sell during the last several days while the server has been acting up. I am sure my customers are getting disgusted with the site perfomance. It is time to find a new service provider.Now I have to go through the baggage of moving my website, what a pain!

Biggest Pro: Cheap, but you get what you pay for
Biggest Con: Server performance issues

iPage is NOT recommended by Kirk Garrison. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on November 21st, 2010 at 12:03 EST by Kirk Garrison
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 70.190.25.196
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #17 out of 24 iPage reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Awful.

"Anytime money back guarantee" fail. They won't give you any money back. They have a mysterious cancellation fee that appears :) No refund for your free domain.

My site crashed randomly at least 5 times, always the same problem, always the same flawed solution by "tech support".

Cheap hosting? Sure, but you get what you pay for.

Biggest Pro: cheap
Biggest Con: they just lie a lot

iPage is NOT recommended by Eli. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on October 19th, 2010 at 16:33 EST by Eli
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 67.70.70.10
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.livelongertips.com/   Email: eli.marshall23@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #18 out of 24 iPage reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
2.50
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Horrible provider

iPage is one of the worst providers I've ever used, and I've used Powweb

I went in not expecting much and they still disappointed me.

I figured it would run my wifes wordpress blog just fine.
1 MySQL database, some php, that's it. It's not like her blog is even that popular.
But, no, that was too much for it. They've oversold their servers to the point where
even some of the basic web pages I made would take 5 minutes to load.

Take my advice, stay away.

Biggest Pro: Um... cheep, I guess.
Biggest Con: out of all the issues... probably the database timeouts.

iPage is NOT recommended by John Powell. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    12.00% 
Reviewed on October 17th, 2010 at 04:07 EST by John Powell
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 174.16.145.123
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #19 out of 24 iPage reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worst hosting provider imaginable

Their non-standard admin panel (they don't have Cpanel) and their shaky/unreliable/janky "Install Central" service are fatally flawed. Their install central simply ate our web-site. "Oh well!" says the support agent.

Piss-poor isn't even close to negative enough to describe how terrible the attitude of their support people are.

Oh, and "Install Central" doesn't generate any kind of "log" or "receipt email"--see also SimpleScripts for an example of how this function should work.

Biggest Pro: I guess it sort of works.
Biggest Con: Support, Customer Service, Admin panel all flat-out suck.

iPage is NOT recommended by Tom. This person does NOT recommend iPage.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 2nd, 2010 at 14:39 EST by Tom
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 98.226.165.49
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #20 out of 24 iPage reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.