HostNine

Visit HostNine Visit HostNine   Write your own HostNine review. Write your own HostNine review.
11 out of 24 (or 46% of) people recommend HostNine.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
6.62 / 10.0 7.12 / 10.0 6.11 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
5.75 / 10.0 5.83 / 10.0
HostNine
› Overall Rating ››    50.75% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 11 to 20 out of 24 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

HostNine reviews

uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Working out so far...

Iv only been with hostnine for a few weeks no. but the servers are fast with very minimal server overhead. I like that you have the option as a reseller to place your customers website over 10 different data centers which in terms doesn't just fill up one server. their customer service is doing a great job. when i first signed up i had about 9 tickets open for website transfer and billing software and all got resolved in a good time frame. I have had alot of problems with other hosting company's but hostnine seems to know what there doing. I hope my review of them will still be the same in the upcoming months and years

Biggest Pro: Choose your datacenter
Biggest Con: Reseller Central needs a little work on some of the options.

HostNine is recommended by Tim. This person recommends HostNine.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on September 2nd, 2009 at 13:56 EST by Tim
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 24.83.204.159
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #11 out of 24 HostNine reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.90
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Up's and downs but getting better

I have been with H9 for approx. 3 years now, for my part have always had good service, there have been periods when I have been frustrated with the service and I think mainly is not the fault of their service but miss-understanding in interpretation of questions asked when trying to get an issue resolved, the staff have been more than helpful on occasions even when my patience was wearing thin.

I think that one of the main reasons that there has been a few negative feedback regarding H9 is that over the past year H9 has made so many positive changes in regards to availing hosting all through the world has probably put a lot of pressure on their staff, I have noticed however that their service has improved remarkably over the past few months, downtime hardly noticeable, pricing just right for my budget, don't sell much myself, my sites are mostly non-profit, I do make a little for their upkeep.

Here's one way to get really good service if you are experiencing problems, that is to detail questions separately to support, for example 1, 2, 3, etc. even if you are not so proficient in English it's easier for support to interpret your meaning.

I have never needed to call H9's hot-line, as the expense would be to great, have been able to come to some other arrangement with H9 when they have needed Docs authenticated and all this through normal email, their Chat service is now solely used for new clients, in the past anybody could start a chat, problem here was that, chats were taking to long, and people with real issues were getting put on hold, now only support tickets and they can be answered in a few minutes or take a little longer, depending on the support queue.

H9's forum and blog are also available, you can get a few answers to general question on the forum, but if you have a real issue you are advised to contact support, it has been stated the H9 staff do not monitor the forum, this is untrue, H9 take great value from what is written there, you can see from reading threads and posts that most questions are answered by H9 staff. (I am not a Staff member)

Well summing all up, I can say that I am quite satisfied with HostNine's Service and will continue to grow with them in the future.

Jan Edmund

Biggest Pro: Very friendly staff and CEO + good service

HostNine is recommended by Jan Edmund. This person recommends HostNine.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on September 2nd, 2009 at 13:22 EST by Jan Edmund
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 203.115.181.46
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.swefil.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #12 out of 24 HostNine reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Hostnine - Excelent Support & Security

We 've been working with hostnine for almost 2 years.

We are a company that develops web based applications and corporate websites. Most of our developments use PHP & MySQL. All our customers get their site hosted in Hostnine, and we are vall ery happy with them.

I think the best thing they have is their customer support. Ben and Alex have always been there for helping us when we need them.

The security of the servers is excelent, never had a security issue with them. Their uptime is also very very good.

I like their reseller plan and i think their prices are good.

The only negative thing i cant state from hostnine is they have some problems sometimes with the spam filters.

I don't like a 250mail/hour policy they have because in a particular project it was a stone in the road for me, because those emails were not spam.

Another big point for them is that servers are always updated which was the thing that made me choose them at first time.

I remember i bought a reseller plan at hostgator which didn't have InnoDB databases, so i switched to HostNine.

Hostnine is one of our keys of success for my company (www.solcre.com).

Biggest Pro: Customer Service
Biggest Con: Their email limit 250mails/hour per host

HostNine is recommended by Jorge Fuster. This person recommends HostNine.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on September 1st, 2009 at 11:04 EST by Jorge Fuster
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 190.135.62.178
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.solcre.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #13 out of 24 HostNine reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

One of the best web hosting provider ever!

I've been hosting with HostNine for 2 years and I've tried different web hosting companies before. Nothing compares with the customer support that Hostnine provides.

One thing that I really love about their customer support is that all of their employees live in United States. In other words, you're sure that whoever it is that your talking to on the other side is an American employee of Hostnine and not just a call center agent from somewhere.

Also, unlike other web hosting companies, you can talk directly to the managers for your concerns, which means you're talking with the decision maker.

Aside from the excellent customer service, the control panel is easy to use and uptime and reliability is excellent as well.

I definitely recommend Hostnine to anyone who wants excellent web hosting!

Biggest Pro: Great customer support

HostNine is recommended by McBilly Wilford Sy. This person recommends HostNine.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on September 1st, 2009 at 10:36 EST by McBilly Wilford Sy
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 222.127.172.189
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.mcbilly.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #14 out of 24 HostNine reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

HostNine.com Won Me With Amazing Customer Support

I first signed up for HostNine last year before the election as a place to put my political blog (I won't link here as much of the language is unprofessional, and potentially offensive). I registered what could be, to some, considered a fairly offensive domain name (nothing sexually explicit or anything bad like that, just offensive in general) and after I had made the payment through paypal I still had no services showing. I figured there might either be a setup timeframe between payment being received and services being activated, or somebody at the company didn't like the domain, so I opened a ticket for the matter. It did take them awhile to resolve this, there were issues with the server they had placed my account on, and eventually moved me to a different server and resolved the billing issues I had been having. The level of support however was excellent, they kept me updated throughout the entire process and I was pleased with their customer service, although displeased with my lack of a website. Then, after that issue was resolved I was very pleased with the service as well and had no further contact with their customer service.

Soon after the election was finished I lost my job, and since it was mainly a political themed website I so no need to make sure I continued to fund it, and let the account go into arrears, still owing another $20-ish. This was an ***-hole move on my part, which I take full responsibility for.

Recently I've gone back to school, and am taking several classes in web and graphic design to freshen up some of my skills that have been lost due to me not actually designing or coding anything in a few years. I decided that in order to make this class easier for me, and any classmates that would like to have a small website on my host, that I would simply re-activate my account and buy a new domain for it. At first I thought of just finding a new, very cheap, 'unlimited' hosting provider but since I happen to have a few extra dollars in the bank account right now due to some refunds on my student loans I figured I would make good with H9.

The process started on 8/29, I paid what was showing as the outstanding balance via CC, no further statements showing, so I opened a support ticket asking to have my account opened back up. Almost a full 24 hours later (23 hours and 5 minutes to be exact) I received what I thought was a somewhat short, unfriendly, response to my ticket stating that I still had an overdue balance. To this I responded in an equally short and unfriendly matter that as soon as they bill the amount to me I will be most willing to pay it to get my services reactivated. I had gone out last night so my response wasn't until sometime early in the morning my time.

I will insert a side note here: after being in arrears for 6 months I do not expect the staff to be overly friendly with me, at this point I was not a paying customer of theirs and had owed them money for quite some time, and the response, in my opinion, does not reflect in any way their customer service. I simply wish to make this a full written-review since I see so few of them on here.

At this point this was becoming slightly time sensetive to me, I want to have at least a bare-minimum site up and running before my class starts today at 6. The ticket response average time was about 4 hours for their billing department at that time so I, eternally impatient, decided to make a post on the forum. I understand they are busy, their ticket reporting software shows the queues so I'm very aware I'm not the only customer asking for help, and normally would not do something like this, but as I said I wanted to try to get this working by tonight.

In the forum I posted it in I had seen several other threads with billing related issues that had been very promptly resolved by staff members, so I made a post there namely to get more information as to how long the resolution might take rather than to try to push my ticket ahead in the line (as I said, at this point I still wasn't a paying customer of theirs and still owed them money, and obviously the customers maintaining a current account should be ahead of me in line). My thread was then locked by a forum moderator (however not an employee of the company) saying that I should not post billing questions there and to open a ticket instead.

I decided to open another thread in the Customer Testimonials section, which I knew would be read by a member of the staff, stating that I thought it was incredibly unprofessional to let non-employees make actions such as that to a customer that is attempting to make good on payments to the company, and attempting to upgrade their services (read: more money to the company) when others had done the same and not been treated in the same way.

This is when my customer service experience turned from somewhat poor to what has made me decide to recommend H9 to anyone that asks me. Upon creating that thread I got an immediate response (as in 3 minutes after I posted the ticket numbers) and my site was once again up and running, with a personal apology from the H9 staff member for my problem not having been resolved originally.

To summarize:
Most hosts have roughly the same products and services, if you can offer me CPanel and Fantastico (yes, I am willing to write my own web applications in PHP but I am not willing to install my own blog software because I'm lazy) and good uptime you are good in my book. I've never once had a problem with uptime with H9, all of their products and services have operated exactly as advertised. Where a host stands out to me (and between me and several people in my family we have gone through a bunch in the last 5-6 years) is the level of customer service that they provide. For this HostNine has been second to none for me. I will be ugrading to a reseller account as soon as I get my web and graphic design site finished (I've always hated designing sites meant to advertise designing, they have to be that much more perfect) and will recommend HostNine to any of my friends, colleagues, or fellow students that are looking for affordable hosting.

Biggest Pro: Excellent customer service, very friendly and responsive employees
Biggest Con: None

HostNine is recommended by Eric Spittle. This person recommends HostNine.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on August 31st, 2009 at 13:51 EST by Eric Spittle
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 67.251.101.224
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.drownneworleans.com/   Email: skitchen8@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #15 out of 24 HostNine reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worst hosting in 12 years experience

The people at Hostnine are nothing but a bunch of chuckleheads, except for Matt. To reach Matt though you may need to place your call at 1 a.m. The company has no understanding of the meaning of timeliness. Tickets hang and hang forever.. then finally 10 days later someone contacts you and asks if this was ever taken care of. Then that person botches things up and in order to fix the problem you need to talk with someone else from a different department. When that person finally responds rather than look up your tickets they ask you redundant questions.. waste more time.. maybe help you.. or maybe just forget about you and hope you go away. Nevermind trying to contact them by phone during regular business hours, you will be forever on hold until the system finally boots your call. The way they operate with other people's livelihoods is nothing short of sabatage. Hostnine is absolutely the most unreliable, unbothered, unprofessional hosting experience I have ever encountered in 12 years of running online businesses. Unless you're a fan of ulcers, migranes, anxiety attacks and anger issues avoid H9 at all costs. They will shorten your lifespan and rob from you your quality of life, peace and happiness. They're complete fucking worthless idiots.

Biggest Pro: cheap and not worth a single cent of it
Biggest Con: heads up asses

HostNine is NOT recommended by Absolutely Amazed!. This person does NOT recommend HostNine.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on August 5th, 2009 at 16:17 EST by Absolutely Amazed!
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 71.208.81.201
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #16 out of 24 HostNine reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Avoid Hostnine or risk your site and visitors

HostNine seemed to be the answer to my dreams. The transfer to them from my previous host was seamless. Their monthly billing of $3.95 was ideal for me. I could try them out...but everything went well. Except for one downtime of a few hours after about a month with HostNine, I never noticed any other problems...or so I thought. It is my guess that they decided to increase their price to $6.95 a month to be paid a year in advance and wanted to weed out those of us only paying $3.95. You would think they would just discontinue that lower rate and give their customers the chance to leave or upgrade to the new price. I wasn't given such an opportunity.

On 4/11/09 my site was shut down with no warning. I then discovered an email from them that I had been suspended for exceeding their acceptable memory and cpu usage. The problem was very easily corrected, which I then tried to do, only to find that I had been totally locked out of my account. I couldn't even access my files via ftp. I emailed them and asked if they could fix the problem and reinstate my account. They merely responded that they could no longer host me and that I needed to look elsewhere. I had been with them for 9 months with no problems. Couldn't they have let me know ahead of time that there was a potential problem that needed to be fixed? Was it really better to decide that what was done was unforgivable? I guess so with HostNine. I then asked if they could at least provide me with a backup, so I could get my site back up and operational. The support at HostNine said they could provide a backup. It took me a week to get that promised backup and that was only after I publicly posted a complaint on a popular web hosting forum where hostnine is a member.

And the drama is not over with. I got my normal monthly invoice from HostNine's billing department on the 18th. I wrote them back and told them of my suspension and advised them to contact the support department. I got a response with a link that I needed to visit and fill out their special cancellation form or I would be billed for service! They suspended my account on the 11th, and I was paid up through the 18th! They owe me for those 7 days, but they expect me to continue to pay them?

My cancellation with HostNine went through on the 20th, and they sent me my first overdue invoice notice on the 22nd. I just feel so sorry for those of you that used this pitiful host and paid for a year in advance. Especially those that used a credit card instead of Paypal.

I have done a few searches, and most of the problems people have had with HostNine is that it's hard to cancel billing with them, especially if you used a credit card. I did want to point out that this is another HUGE reason not to host with them. Let me detail a situation for you. Let's say that you are naive enough to sign up with them and pay a year in advance. At their current rate of $6.95 a month, that will set you back $83.40. Let's also say that a month goes by with no problems. You're feeling pretty good about your new host, since they have great uptime and you know you won't ever have any problems exceeding the space and bandwidth of your plan. Unlimited is unlimited, right? Then one morning you check your site, and it's down. You stare in shock and wonder what happened. You paid for a year and still have over 10 months left, so what could be wrong? You then check your email and find a suspension notice that is dated that morning and only a few minutes ago. suspended? For what? They copy and paste a bunch of mumbo jumbo that means nothing to you and inform you that you have exceeded their acceptable memory and/or CPU usage that is detailed in their TOS. You can only blink at first. Didn't I pay for unlimited, you ask yourself? Remember though, that HostNine doesn't know what unlimited means, and they are sneaky in their TOS. If something wasn't covered in their TOS, they will simply edit them to include whatever they say you did. You've been suspended, and you try to see if they will reinstate you. You beg and plead, only to be told that you will need to find hosting elsewhere. You gasp and sputter, after all you paid for a full year. You ask them about your unused months, only to be told that they do not issue refunds after 30 days...but you canceled me, you respond. No we didn't, they spew, we only suspended you. See, that's their trick. They don't cancel your account, they suspend you. Your account and all your files are still there, and won't be deleted until YOU cancel. If you want to cancel billing, so they won't say you owe them even more money, you would then have to cancel. Then they are covered as far as having to refund anything, since you are the one that canceled. How can they get away with it? I'm not sure how it can even be legal, but until someone takes them to court, I doubt it will stop. The only thing you can do to keep them from doing it to you is....Don't host with them.

Oh, and I almost forgot! There was a virus within the backup they sent. At least the removal is as easy as deleting the file.

Biggest Pro: uptime, free transfer
Biggest Con: untrustworthy and unprofessional

HostNine is NOT recommended by Jude. This person does NOT recommend HostNine.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on April 23rd, 2009 at 10:57 EST by Jude
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 68.8.120.162
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #17 out of 24 HostNine reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
2.40
technical support & knowledge
3.50
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
5.20
* ratings are out of 10

DOn't make this mistake by choosing this host

Been with this host of rless than thirty day and still have been unable to get them to transfer my domains as promised. A million excuses and still no solution. Spend you money selsewhere. VERY DISAPPOONTED. CUstomer service does not respond to problems and looks like I will bee looking for a decent host. Are they any out there for a reseller? God what a buch of crap they reseller site are. HORRIBLE for the most part. I just want something that works. Is that too much to ask for!!!!!!! really

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: horrible solutions fix. All talk and no solutions

HostNine is NOT recommended by CURRENT UNHAPPY CUSTOMER. This person does NOT recommend HostNine.
› Overall Rating ››    17.00% 
Reviewed on February 6th, 2009 at 02:25 EST by CURRENT UNHAPPY CUSTOMER
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 68.164.150.10
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #18 out of 24 HostNine reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
4.20
customer service & billing
0.20
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Constant outages.. every month another drama..

i would avoid this hosting company ..... i love the site, the support is great, the control panel, the price.. great.. but constantly going down and losing my sql databases.. showing visitors a database cannot be found page is not acceptable ... and no backup solution...

Biggest Pro: cheap and looks nice.
Biggest Con: always upgrading or rebooting or some excuse to be down

HostNine is NOT recommended by rendog. This person does NOT recommend HostNine.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 14th, 2009 at 06:27 EST by rendog
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 124.19.1.190
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #19 out of 24 HostNine reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Downtime...Downtime...Downtime!

I can say that HostNine customer support is ok for the reason that they are very polite in answering my questions and by providing assistance. However, I will not recommend this company due their uptime problem.

It's really a very wrong decision when I paid my hosting for 6-months. I'm with them for more than a month already with more than 10-times downtime as well.

But I will still give them a chance since I still have 5-months to go.

Biggest Pro: Customer Support
Biggest Con: Uptime Reliability

HostNine is NOT recommended by Gene. This person does NOT recommend HostNine.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on March 31st, 2008 at 05:38 EST by Gene
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 124.107.31.218
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.quiettimeswithgod.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #20 out of 24 HostNine reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.