Host Monster

Visit Host Monster Visit Host Monster   Write your own Host Monster review. Write your own Host Monster review.
11 out of 31 (or 35% of) people recommend Host Monster.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
5.93 / 10.0 6.18 / 10.0 5.86 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
5.15 / 10.0 5.94 / 10.0
Host Monster
› Overall Rating ››    50.06% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 21 to 30 out of 31 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

Host Monster reviews

uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
7.50
technical support & knowledge
9.90
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.30
* ratings are out of 10

Overall is good but no the upload speed

I've been using the Hostmonster shared hosting plan for 6 months now and bought several domains. The overall service is good but not the best experience.

Pros:
+ Fast web pages download for client browser.
+ Auto install open source scripts (so you don't need to upload common open source scripts)
+ Unlimit space and bandwidth

Cons:
- Unstable FTP connection. When I try to connect my FTP client software, either FileZilla or SmartFTP, it bans my connect during the normal week day office hours. I've been reporting this phenomenon to the company. It just fixed right away but it happens again in a few days later.
- Upload speed too slow. I'm from overseas and as I know the severs are located in the US. I guess the reason for slow upload speed is due to files are sent in packets. My experience with local hosting company has 10 times faster data uploading speed.

Biggest Pro: Fast web page download for client browser.
Biggest Con: Unstable FTP connection

Host Monster is recommended by Jon. This person recommends Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    94.00% 
Reviewed on September 7th, 2008 at 01:30 EST by Jon
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 61.238.229.164
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #21 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.90
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Hostmonster-Best Hosting

I have been with about 8 different hosting companies over the past nine years, most of which are well known. None of the companies that hosted my websites comes even close to the support and reliability, not to mention all of the features that come with Hostmonster hosting. I highly recommend Hostmonster for anyone looking for personal service at a budget price.

Biggest Pro: Full Featured Control Panel, not just he basics!

Host Monster is recommended by Jeff Plitt. This person recommends Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on June 2nd, 2008 at 03:42 EST by Jeff Plitt
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 66.29.163.1
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.aroma-pure.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #22 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
uptime & reliability
9.70
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Publishing with Host Monster

I didnít have any experience in website building when I decided to start my own online magazine. After doing some research, I read some great reviews about Host Monster and decided to give it a try. The start-up wizard showed me how to set up my Web Disk, which made it easy to update my pages quickly. In starting a magazine, advertising is vital, and Host Monster included promotional offers on advertising from online companies, which made it possible for me to publicize my website on a limited budget. I was able to set up and customize four different email accounts with no difficulty. The layout is simple and easy to use, and tech support was very helpful in answering all of my questions. My first issue is almost ready to launch and I'm definitely glad I chose Host Monster.

Host Monster is recommended by Jennifer Cummings. This person recommends Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on February 16th, 2008 at 21:12 EST by Jennifer Cummings
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 207.72.178.16
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #23 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

The absolute BEST!

Value, Value, Value complemented with Service, Service, Service. I've used Lunarpages (Very good), StartLogic (They suck), GoDaddy (So-So), and others but Hostmonster is just Fantastic. Total uptime, tons of storage, tons of bandwidth, and unlimited domains. I have 60 domains hosted on these people and they are simply the best! The only thing that is a bit of a drawback from these people is that they are constantly trying to upsell their customers on Bullshit services like Postini anti-spam and other crap. A minor annoyance considering the many pluses.

Biggest Pro: Unlimited Domains, Huge Storage/Bandwidth
Biggest Con: Trying to upsell clients with BS services

Host Monster is recommended by Elario Blanco. This person recommends Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on February 14th, 2008 at 19:54 EST by Elario Blanco
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 68.61.95.107
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #24 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.80
* ratings are out of 10

Hostmonster Review

I found Host Monster on Google, and it seemed to have a great hosting plan - very cheap and it came with a free domain name.

On live chat I asked a few questions about the plan and free domains, and the support staff were very helpful and told me everything I needed to know. I signed up immediately. I got my free domain, and access to my first cPanel account ever. I installed several PHP scripts (MyBB, Zen Cart) and played around for a while, before eventually setting up the main site.

In the 4 months I have been hosted at Host Monster, I have never had downtime - though the connection speed got a little slow on about 3 occassions.

Overall Host Monster is an awesome host to do business with, and my site is still going strong. I definetly recommend.

Biggest Pro: Free domain name and promotion

Host Monster is recommended by Tanya Dredge. This person recommends Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    96.00% 
Reviewed on December 10th, 2007 at 00:32 EST by Tanya Dredge
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 124.177.72.250
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #25 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Hostmonster has one of the best plans I have ever tried

So just for signing up, you get a free domain, and it is whatever extension you can find. I have seen some hosts give you a free domain, but it is a .info or something. Hostmonster gave me my doamin, they had to register it of course, but that takes 5-10$ out of my expenses every year. Also, any time, day or night, that I have had a question or problem, the live chat person usually responded within about a minute, and helped me find a solution to my problem.

Biggest Pro: Unlimited domains for one low price,

Host Monster is recommended by Adam Torkildson. This person recommends Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on November 16th, 2007 at 17:06 EST by Adam Torkildson
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 66.29.162.54
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.lumberjakk.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #26 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Great Host

Hostmonster is one of the best hosting company I have ever known. They are really professional. Every time they do an upgrade of some sort they inform you by email and they tell you exactly how many minutes/hours the downtime will be. Plus, if you have any question they will automatically help you. Last time I wanted to see if I could index warez on my site, they responded to my mail 10 minutes later. I really appreciate all their hard work and dedication. 9.5/10 ;)

Host Monster is recommended by Rami El Chamaa. This person recommends Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on October 30th, 2007 at 14:03 EST by Rami El Chamaa
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 85.195.137.196
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #27 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
9.90
customer service & billing
9.90
price value for money
9.80
* ratings are out of 10

Love Hostmonstor

After dealing with another "Cheap" hosting company I was a bit nervous to go with Hostmonster. The one thing that sold me was the ability to call and speak to a live person any time I needed. I have used this a few times and the help has been fantastic. A few of the sites I hosted were hacked, this happens, but they were very helpful in making some changes to help prevent this from happening again.

My old hosting company delt with emails when you had an issue. That did not work well, their tech support always reported that the issue was resolved yet the problem was still there. It took 3 tickets to resolve the average issue. Hostmonster is not that way, the phone calls work best and if you have to wait, a voice tells you where you sit in the queue and how many calls are in front of you.

Biggest Pro: NO

Host Monster is recommended by Aonie. This person recommends Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on October 30th, 2007 at 13:39 EST by Aonie
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 117.18.240.105
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.mazaonline.com/   Email: aon_raza@hotmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #28 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

10

Hostmonster is really awesome and feature-packed! We have been hosting our website here for two months now and so far, no downtimes. Their cpanel is really something to rave about, the interface is sleek and user friendly. I did have some issue with their mail server junking valid email messages from valid sources before but that was easily resolved. Their customer service is great, their agents are really helpful and very understanding. I would recommend this host to everyone, its cheap as well, if you avail of their annual rates it would only cost about $5 per month.

Host Monster is recommended by JC Mae Palmes. This person recommends Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on July 12th, 2007 at 13:15 EST by JC Mae Palmes
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 125.60.227.200
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #29 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Great webhost

HostMonster is a very good host. They provide 300GB of disk space and 3TB of data transfer, although they don't have the 300 gigs ready for you, so if everyone on your server starts to use it, you'd have a problem.

Support is great. I've used the live chat a few times, and all I can say is: wow. They're online 24/7, and they have knowledge about Linux and everything. I've performed a speed test from my home (Near Amsterdam, The Netherlands) to their server and I reached about 200kB/s, not that bad. I've not experienced any downtime yet.

I would certainly recommend HostMonster to anyone that needs for reliable webhosting, for a great price (certainly compared to Dutch webhosts).

Biggest Pro: SSH support
Biggest Con: cPanel doesn't look well

Host Monster is recommended by Albert Peschar. This person recommends Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on July 1st, 2007 at 08:08 EST by Albert Peschar
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 81.69.153.168
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.byteflowstudio.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #30 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.