Host Monster

Visit Host Monster Visit Host Monster   Write your own Host Monster review. Write your own Host Monster review.
11 out of 31 (or 35% of) people recommend Host Monster.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
5.93 / 10.0 6.18 / 10.0 5.86 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
5.15 / 10.0 5.94 / 10.0
Host Monster
› Overall Rating ››    50.06% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 11 to 20 out of 31 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

Host Monster reviews

uptime & reliability
9.70
server & connection speed
9.40
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
8.00
* ratings are out of 10

Used to love host monster, recently left them

Host monster started out great. I used them for about 5 years and had absolutely no problems. If any tech issues came up they were by far the best company I have worked with for tech support. Their staff is always available and always willing to walk you through the most mundane and rookie problems to get you back running. All of this stopped about 6-8 months ago. It seems the passion has left that company (layoffs? New leadership? who konws..).

I also started having some real problems with security and spam in my email accounts. I have tried numerous times to rectify the problem with them but don't have a solution. Then my ip was blacklisted and I couldn't get help fixing that. Another host walked me through the process of fixing everything and I have since switched over to them.

If you need a simple host to handle your small site or blog, these guys are the choice. If you're running anything business related, go elsewhere. You get what you pay for with Hostmonster.

Biggest Pro: price, support system, form, reliability
Biggest Con: confusion in cpanel, security, security, security

Host Monster is NOT recommended by justin. This person does NOT recommend Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    77.00% 
Reviewed on February 8th, 2010 at 17:05 EST by justin
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 24.17.210.59
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #11 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
uptime & reliability
3.00
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
3.60
customer service & billing
1.80
price value for money
1.20
* ratings are out of 10

Have some traffic ? Want security ? HM is a no-go.

we had 2 bigger shops on HM - first support was real fast and friendly. Suddenly sites became very slow.They kicked out some other customers and all OK again. Later on we had attacks on our one website, I told them and they blocked the site (instead of looking for a solution). other shop got hacked too - they left obviously many already known vulnerabilities open (scanalert was showing them). Now they blocked both accounts, keep all the money and are not even willing to provide the data we have still there and would need urgently ! Very stupid company.

Biggest Pro: connectivity
Biggest Con: security

Host Monster is NOT recommended by Tom. This person does NOT recommend Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on August 11th, 2009 at 07:33 EST by Tom
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 89.217.179.64
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #12 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
4.00
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

Hostmaster suspends without warning

Horrible mess with this company. They call me about 4 days after I signed for the service and inform me that I have been checked and all fine and rosy, thank you for your time. I receive an email with the same content. After ten minutes I notice the email set for the domain is off. I check the site and to my surprise it has been suspended for content problem. I do not want to comment on the content issue, but I believe it is a horrible practice the taking down of a website without any warning.

Biggest Pro: Price
Biggest Con: Customer support practices.

Host Monster is NOT recommended by Juan Perez. This person does NOT recommend Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on July 13th, 2009 at 15:00 EST by Juan Perez
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 68.197.173.140
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #13 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
uptime & reliability
5.40
server & connection speed
2.80
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
3.50
price value for money
5.80
* ratings are out of 10

Hostmonster were good, now terrible!!!!!!!!

There were good, cheap and I thought to be reliable until..............

From time to time, I did not question any thing about this company and trust them completely because I think their service worths the money!!!!

Today, customers called me to complaint about the sites suspension then I know how awkful this compnay can be!!! They SUSPENDED sites without notice, problems?? Don't think so. i just posted an mp3 player with no downloading functions!!!! They say------all MP3s cannot be on their server, even I showed them proof of purchase.The most stupid answer ever!!!!!! i cannot use server to store my songs????

They did not listen and suspended all sites and parked sites and quoted me nonsense rules!!!!

Extremely angry and disappointed and I need to do refunds for customers and our goodwill gone completely!!!

STAY AWAY FROM THIS HORRIBLE COMPANY. PROBLEMS WILL BE TOO LATE TO CORRECT UNDER THEIR DICTATORSHIP CENSOR PROBLEM.

Host Monster is NOT recommended by kk. This person does NOT recommend Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on April 9th, 2009 at 10:42 EST by kk
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 219.73.79.51
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #14 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
uptime & reliability
2.80
server & connection speed
5.10
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
5.10
* ratings are out of 10

I no longer Hostmonster

My website goes down now on a weekly basis including 3 times today. I always get the same reply from tech. that they are aware of this issue and it will take around 20 minutes. I kindly informed them that this has been going on for weeks! The first 2 times I was ignored and the last was suggested to look at another host organization with dedicated servers! My website is around 25 pages with very little traffic. Perhaps they should have said this before taking my money and place on their home page that they have server problems! Bad support! Seek elsewhere (as recommended by them if you want good server up-time)!

Biggest Pro: great cpanel
Biggest Con: terrible tech. support and regular downtime

Host Monster is NOT recommended by Toni. This person does NOT recommend Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on March 16th, 2009 at 14:22 EST by Toni
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 124.120.192.49
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #15 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

STAY AWAY FROM HOSTMONSTER

STAY AWAY FROM HOSTMONSTER. I've never seen a worst people like them, as soon as you start getting any real traffic, your site will be shut down. My site was SHUT DOWN WITHOUT ANY PRIOR WARNING, and no explanation was given. My site was down for 48 hours, costing me money. In addition my hosting fees were not refunded.

They really a Hosting Monster....indeed!!!

Host Monster is NOT recommended by Dawn. This person does NOT recommend Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 23rd, 2009 at 12:12 EST by Dawn
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 68.40.160.100
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Unix   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #16 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
uptime & reliability
1.50
server & connection speed
1.70
technical support & knowledge
0.80
customer service & billing
0.20
price value for money
4.40
* ratings are out of 10

They Suspend Loyal Customers WITHOUT NOTICE!!!

They will suspend even loyal customers without notice. I was with Hostmonster.com for over 2 years and I was running a PR5 entertainment site which received 14K distinct vistors a day, making +$1,800/month in revenue, and getting 3-4 new subscribers for Hostmonster.com each month at a commission of $65 each. One day someone decided to file a complaint against my site because they didn't agree with my content. The Hostmonster abuse department suspended my account and then would not allow me to make any fixes to get my account active again. Heather from the abuse department was a total bitch on a powertrip! They yanked my site without notice and I lost around 12 hours of uptime costing probably $200 in lost revenue. This is not how a decent company treats their customers. A phone call asking for a resolution would have been much more appropriate. However this bitch, Heather, decided to pull the plug without even an email. DO NOT GO WITH HOSTMONSTER!!

Host Monster is NOT recommended by Brian. This person does NOT recommend Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    25.00% 
Reviewed on January 20th, 2009 at 16:05 EST by Brian
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 141.202.248.68
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #17 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
9.80
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

hostmonster.com review - don't purchase from them

Hostmonster.com review: they suspended my account because they said there were "performance" problems. This was bs and that is why I am writing this hostmonster.com review. They took my money, never wrote or called, but suspended the account - I suspect because I got too much traffic. Recommend you find a different host than hostmonster.com. If you have a problem with hostmonster.com I suggest you write a hostmonster.com review so others will know they are not a good company if you have a successful traffic website.

Host Monster is NOT recommended by gisham. This person does NOT recommend Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on December 21st, 2008 at 16:18 EST by gisham
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 68.103.155.58
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #18 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
8.00
* ratings are out of 10

Not Recommended

I have tried several hosting companies in the past 5 years. I found hostmonster to be the worse! If you only want to host your 1 page personal page that gets 2 visitors per year, I would recommend it. If you are running a business or something else, DO NOT even think about this company. Each shared server host more than 1000 domains on it (for proof check below)

http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/web-sites-on-web-server/

If you get more than one visitor at the same time, they wil get the CPU Quota exceed error and will bring your site down for an hour. Then they try to upsell their upgraded package to you.

BTW I have requested their package and its been more than a month, the ticket still remains unresolved and am stuck with this stupid host.

Most of the features they market are not even installed on their machines!! They will install on demand!!

I guess you get what you pay for!!

If you mean real business, STAY AWAY from them!!!

Biggest Pro: cheap
Biggest Con: slow, not for pro sites, can only host 1 page sites

Host Monster is NOT recommended by Tim Kahn. This person does NOT recommend Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    70.00% 
Reviewed on October 8th, 2008 at 22:27 EST by Tim Kahn
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 76.202.8.110
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #19 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Horrible Service and major server downtime

HostMonster does not care about their customers, and unfortunately, their staff is not equipped to handle technical problems. I was with HostMonster for 2 months and I experienced downtime of 2 to 3 days at a time on FOUR separate occasions. I called them time and time again only for them to tell me that they were trying to fix the problem and didnt know what the cause was. I asked them to move me to a server that worked and they said they do not move clients. So I sat on a server that was down for days on end, costing me thousands in advertising fees and lost traffic. I have been hosting my websites for 12 years on the Internet and HostMonster is by far the worst of them all.

Biggest Pro: I wish I had one to suggest
Biggest Con: Downtime

Host Monster is NOT recommended by Mike Andrews. This person does NOT recommend Host Monster.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 2nd, 2008 at 23:03 EST by Mike Andrews
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 68.8.246.192
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #20 out of 31 Host Monster reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.