Host-ed

Visit Host-ed Visit Host-ed   Write your own Host-ed review. Write your own Host-ed review.
8 out of 11 (or 73% of) people recommend Host-ed.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
7.55 / 10.0 7.85 / 10.0 8.31 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
7.36 / 10.0 7.36 / 10.0
Host-ed
› Overall Rating ››    73.73% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 11 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2

Host-ed reviews

uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Clowns STAY AWAY

This company is a joke. I have been with them for 1.5 years with a couple very simple, 1 to 5-page websites. I have had WAAAY too many issues.

Their servers go down pretty often. My last 3 hosts never went down so this is not normal. This server has been down over 10 times in 18 months! They never send out notifications when there are issues or the server is down. My server is down right now and support cannot give me the slightest hint when it will be back up. They said it went down "for maintenance due to security issues" but they cannot or will not tell me if my private info has been compromised. This is typical.

Their servers are in Bulgaria and I get the feeling that they are not in a facility that is not staffed 24/7. I think that when something happens, which is often, they have to wait until someone goes over to fix it.

I've had problems with the mail servers too. Their mail server IP is regularly blacklisted. I have submitted remove requests a few times but it gets back up there pretty quickly. Obviously, they have some spammers and/or con artists working off the server and they must not even monitor the lists to try to find out who they are and throw them off.

For the low-volume sites that I have up the speed they offer serves OK but for the price I am paying I expected something better. The times I have tried to upload larger files it has shown to be the slowest server of the 5 hosting services I have worked on.

As noted above, tech support people are empty heads. They can't give simple information. They give generic answers to most questions so I suspect that they might just be an answering service that they hire to parrot back canned lines when you contact them. They don't seem to know the most basic things about their own services. I had to explain in detail to them how to fix a problem with my email server and then had to wait 24 hours for them to actually fix it when it was just a simple change of one setting and then a restart of the service. Again, it just doesn't seem like their servers are looked after very closely.

At the price of $71.88 per year they are not anywhere near as good as my $29 per year host. So for value I have to give a 0.0. The $1.99 per month hosts work better than these clowns.

Biggest Con: They don't know how to keep their servers running well

Host-ed is NOT recommended by Bob. This person does NOT recommend Host-ed.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on April 7th, 2015 at 19:42 EST by Bob
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 50.136.50.47
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 11 Host-ed reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
8.80
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

I do not recommend

I had here free web hosting for couple months. For free web hosting they do not provide any support at all. Servers were down quite often. Then finally, they suspended my account, suddenly, without any reason or any explanation. So I had to leave and thus I do not recommend host-ed.net at all.

Biggest Pro: no ads
Biggest Con: account suspended suddenly, withou any notice or explanation

Host-ed is NOT recommended by Michal. This person does NOT recommend Host-ed.
› Overall Rating ››    33.00% 
Reviewed on August 6th, 2014 at 05:41 EST by Michal
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 80.243.110.245
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.calli.graphics/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 11 Host-ed reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Not the best hosting provider

I have been using their hosting for little under a month now and it started of working really good everything was fast and worked like new. But over the past week or so the hosting has had a lot of downtime and PHP scripts don't run on the website and get PHP errors all the time. Also the main website, host-ed.net, is down as well so there is nothing to even see how long the downtime will be. The most i have waited is a few days for my site to come back online and even then it is very slow. I am giving the support and customer serivce a 5 because i havent contacted them.

Not a very good hosting provider in my opinon, search elsewhere.

Host-ed is NOT recommended by Ash. This person does NOT recommend Host-ed.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on November 6th, 2011 at 08:13 EST by Ash
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 90.216.228.88
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://abell12.host-ed.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 11 Host-ed reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Look nowhere else

Over the last few months so, it has been increasingly difficult to make contact with my previous hosting company support team. Most wait times on the phone or chat have been in excess of 45 minutes and if I opened a ticket online, it could take 10 - 24 hours before getting a response much less a answer. There have been times when PHP/MySQL board/DB was working incorrectly-not on my errors or any changes I had done. At the end they were not even able to provide me with the transfer info of my domain name so I had to register a new one.

I filed for a divorce with my previous provider just a few weeks before my renewal with them! Hitched up with host-ed.net in a flash. Transferred all files to host-ed.net server and reset the DNS name servers.

Host-ed control panel is basic on the front end but has good depth as you move into the needed functions. The support emailed me in 5 minutes after I signed up with all the needed DNS name servers and a login.

Had a issue with PHP to the new site and need to change config.php file. Emailed support and in 10 minutes they were back with the correct link and in fact went in and did the edit of the file for me. Everything was up and running. Took no more than an hour for the domain name to resolve and show on Host-ed. Great support! Good server speed and a fair price for the product.

Biggest Pro: Good server speed and a fair price for the product.
Biggest Con: None

Host-ed is recommended by Hamid H.. This person recommends Host-ed.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on July 16th, 2009 at 05:40 EST by Hamid H.
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 95.154.214.2
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 11 Host-ed reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
6.00
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
7.00
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Beautiful, but hard to login

I have been using the free hosting with host-ed for my homepage for half an hour. Thus, my impressions are very fresh, even if naive.

It was very easy to set up an account and the site management is easy, rich, friendly, and convenient. Unlike many other free hostings, it worked straight away. It was Firefox on a Linux computer.

Then I went home and tried to login from another computer (using MS IE 6.0). The host-ed login form did not react anyhow on the button presses. It did not work. It is really a hateful part that such basic things don't work out of box.

Now, I am using my chance to test how good their customer support is.

That's how you walk away from a service, even a good one, when the problem of the last inch is not solved: you click once, twice and then you leave for something with fewer features, but working.

Biggest Pro: easy to set up and manage
Biggest Con: login seems to be unstable

Host-ed is recommended by Vsevolod Vlaskine. This person recommends Host-ed.
› Overall Rating ››    65.00% 
Reviewed on June 23rd, 2009 at 07:10 EST by Vsevolod Vlaskine
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 60.241.114.86
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://vlaskine.host-ed.net/   Email: vsevolod.vlaskine@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 11 Host-ed reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Great for VPS

I find them through a google search I thought that a VPS at $17 per month is a pretty low price for a good quality solution. After a thorough research on the internet I called them and spoke to a sales representative and he gave me the information I need, so I decided to try them. I signed up. My account was setup within less than 1 working day which made a good impression on me. For the few months I have been with them I am really surprised that such a low price solution could give such high performance! The server is fast and table the there has been absolutely no downtime! The support team answers my questions with in 30 minutes every time I send them a request.

With the time I saw that my customers sites (I am a web designer and host my customers on that VPS) google page rank has improved and this must definitely be due to the high speed server I am currently hosted at.

The only thing is that if you with to have major development (to set up MySQL) they charge a certain fee, that is their only disadvantage I've found so far.

Otherwise all I can say is - Great service, great performance.

Biggest Pro: Good investment
Biggest Con: Unmanaged service - some support is paid

Host-ed is recommended by Janice. This person recommends Host-ed.
› Overall Rating ››    96.00% 
Reviewed on June 21st, 2009 at 03:29 EST by Janice
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 66.197.225.87
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.webblies.com/   Email: janicemoulton@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 11 Host-ed reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
7.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.40
* ratings are out of 10

Great Start

I have been in need of another web hosting account and went back and forth between adding more resources at one host that I like and where I have 2 accounts already or to diversify and get an account at an additional host. The latter won and I finally settled for a new web host that is around for quite a while already: host-ed

I signed up late in the evening and just missed the cutoff for new accounts to be activated by a few minutes. No problem.

This morning things worked its way and my account was approved and setup very quickly. I also got a detailed welcome email with information about their environment and my new main account. At first I could not log into their helpdesk, but a quick ticket solved that issue in 15 minutes after submitting my ticket.

My next ticket was about moving my accounts. I asked them if they would be able to assist by moving my account (which really makes a site move a breeze). This ticket, low in priority was answered within 45. The bad thing is they do not want to offer moving of all my emails, but at least they are willing move my site and database which puts a little more work and time usage onto me, but overall that is fine.

So, so far I got very fast ticket response times combined with cheap pricing. I also browsed their knowledge base to read about problems and I get the feeling that host-ed web hosting is a great choice to host websites with.

Biggest Pro: Fast support
Biggest Con: No cons so far

Host-ed is recommended by Kevin. This person recommends Host-ed.
› Overall Rating ››    80.00% 
Reviewed on February 25th, 2009 at 11:37 EST by Kevin
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 67.206.81.35
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.kevindaley.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 11 Host-ed reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Good for both personal and professional use

Good for both personal and professional use

At first I found Host-ed.net in a forum where one person was recommending it to another. Since they have free hosting and I am working in the field of web design I started using it to test my customers' web sites, before I do the final upload and present the site to them.

With the time I realized that their service is quite reliable and I decided to try a paid account. The things there were even better. It had all the scripting for am experience web master and at the same time it was not at all hard to use. I happened to contact the support once or twice and they are good too.

That is why I started recommending them to my customers as well. Now they are happy that their sites are up and running and I am happy that I get what I need.

Apart from the minor issues that I some times have with the speed of the servers they are one of the best I hosting solution providers I have ever used, so the next time you are looking for reliable provider consider them. Anyway you will not loose anything if you start with a free account and upgrade later-the same as I did some time back.

Biggest Pro: Good for web designers
Biggest Con: it is a bit slow some times

Host-ed is recommended by John. This person recommends Host-ed.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on January 16th, 2009 at 06:14 EST by John
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 67.159.50.91
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://saipanda.host-ed.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 11 Host-ed reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

My experience with Host-ed

I was never ready to experiment with my website when I am hosting it for the first time. This is why I preferred to host it with host-ed.net, since it was recommended by a friend of mine. He told me that I would not see much of adverts about it but the technical quality was very good. I went ahead and signed up. So here their main advantages:

Their customer support is the courage and force that drives me forward in hosting. I felt free to contact them whenever I was in need of that.

They have always kept secure backups on a routine basis so that we can rely upon, whenever we are in need of it. Their load balancing technology also ensures reliability for us.

The website was hosted at the cheapest rate available in the industry.

Setting up domains and accounts was never a tough job using Host-ed.net. This is how managed to get the site hosted.

It has been 6 months that I am hosting the site with Host-ed.net. I never had any bad experience with them.

Biggest Pro: Reliable hosting solution
Biggest Con: have not find any yet

Host-ed is recommended by Shany Ivanov. This person recommends Host-ed.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on December 7th, 2008 at 09:46 EST by Shany Ivanov
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 77.91.226.116
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.chocogirl.ru/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 11 Host-ed reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Superior service at a reasonable price

I was a little skeptical about singing up for a hosting provider so... well, so cheap. I had been used to paying about $15 - $20 / month for my hosting service. However, host-ed.net has proven to be quite stable, offers a lot of features that many of my local providers weren't even thinking of adding. They also have excellent support team who has always managed to help me out with any problems that I would have to admit were caused by my mistake. Great service in comparison to the number of providers I have dealt with since I first started creating websites about 5 years ago.

I have no intention of being their reseller, but I have been recommending them to my clients. Everyone who has moved to them has been pleased so far. The only thing that was hard for me to get used to with was their control panel. They use their own one and since I was used to cPanel it took me a few weeks. Once I figured that one out, things have gone quite smoothly with them.

Biggest Pro: Superb service at affordable price
Biggest Con: Custom control panel

Host-ed is recommended by Frank. This person recommends Host-ed.
› Overall Rating ››    97.00% 
Reviewed on November 30th, 2008 at 07:17 EST by Frank
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 207.58.148.34
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.tmk520.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 11 Host-ed reviews
« Prev 1 2
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.