SECTIONS
  HOME
  Basic Hosting
  Dedicated Server
  ColdFusion Hosting
  E-Commerce
  NT Hosting
  Top Rated
Lunar Pages
TOOLS
  Buying Guides
  Domain Availability Check
  Read/Submit Reviews
  Add/Modify Host
SUPPORT
  Glossary
  Contact Form
Host Gator
ADVERTISE
  Information
WEBMASTER
  Link to Us
  Partners/Links
  Affiliate Programs
GNX Online
GNX Online Reviews
 
Do you have more than 1 web site?
Host Gator lets you host as many web sites as you want in 1 account. This is a great way to save money if you have more than 1 web site, or if you plan on opening more in the near future.
 
"Avoid GNX like the Plague!"
GNX Online   http://www.gnxonline.com/
By: Rachel   twosilverstars_no_spam@yahoo.com
Date/Time of Posting = Apr 04 2006 / 15:17:24
IP Address: 24.59.120.63
Rating: 1
I signed up with GNX several years ago and have had relatively few problems.

But last August (2005) my site went down for no apparent reason. I contacted their customer service and a very rude person named Alex (apparently one of the co-owners of the company!) told me that I had refused the credit card payment for my hosting. This was a lie. The payment had been made five months prior to this incident, and had never been contested. I humored him and asked how I could get my site back online. Alex told me to scan my credit card and send it to him via e.mail. That obvioulsy sounded like a credit card scam. So I immediately contacted my credit card company and they said to never ever scan your card for anyone, which is what I suspected. I contacted GNX again and told them to re-instate my site or I would file a report with my credit card company. It went back up immediately with no explanation from them for their unethical actions.

I should have gotten out while I could, but I figured I would wait until my hosting ran out this month (April 2006) to switch to a new host. I paid for a new host and domain transfer, but I am now unable to complete the transfer because GNX will only list their own email as the administrative contact. Basically, GNX is holding my domain hostage. I am unable to log into the GNX members area with my user name and password for some unknown reason, and leaving a message with their customer service resulted in a "failure to deliver" notice. There appears to be no way of contacting them.

GNX is an unethical company and should be avoided at all costs!

"I'm with all the rest, I quit"
GNX Online   http://www.gnxonline.com/
By: Mike   jminer@uci.edu
Date/Time of Posting = May 07 2005 / 14:07:44
IP Address: 68.228.76.125
Rating: 1
DO NOT BOTHER. Horrible customer service, 99.9% uptime is almost comedic. I am currently attempting to get my domain transferred to another company, and what do you know, they won't allow it or respond, but they charged my credit card with no problems. This has been going on for about a month and they will no longer respond to me. You get what you pay for.
"GNX Online was Bad and is now Terrible"
GNX Online   http://www.gnxonline.com/
By: Not specified   e-mail not given
Date/Time of Posting = Sep 22 2004 / 20:20:48
IP Address: 68.77.58.221
Rating: 2
I have six sites hosted there. For a while, I thought GNX Online was good - low cost and OK uptime. The problem was when things went bad, they don't explain anything and were slow to fix it. You can't call them. You can only email them, so it can be 24 hours before they get back to you and if they ask for more info, you are looking at 48 hours of problems. I didn't mind it when problems only occured once every few months, but now (September 2004) they are happening every week. They are keeping my sites up, but the mail server is constantly down and they actually lose messages. You never receive them! I would avoid these guys like the plague. I feel like an idiot for sticking with them as long as I have.
"Horrible Service"
GNX Online   http://www.gnxonline.com/
By: Bryan R. Meyer   brmeyer@gmail.com
Date/Time of Posting = Sep 19 2004 / 21:42:04
IP Address: 141.151.172.113
Rating: 2
I gave GNX a shot for two years. In that time, there have been many periods of downtime for which no explanation has been provided. After they updated their server software, they failed to indicate how I could get to my Control Panel. This took awhile to resolve. Recently, my site went down. After several days, I learned that their computers were hit by viruses. I received no refund, but they did increase my webspace and gave me some free MySQL databases. The final straw occurred only two days ago when I noticed my site was down. After getting in touch with their support, they indicated my hosting expired. They simply shut down my site without warning. It's extremely frustrating. They never sent me a notice of renewal, so I'm forced to look for another provider to host my site. Stay away from this service. It's horrible!
"truly one of the worst hosts available"
GNX Online   http://www.gnxonline.com/
By: Mike   miked761976@yahoo.com
Date/Time of Posting = Aug 23 2004 / 04:32:18
IP Address: 66.75.241.170
Rating: 1
host is run by 2 guys named kashib and alex. their servers are constantly down. they don't credit you anything for the down time. no SLA (service level agreement) or guaranteed uptime. support response time is usually in days, and when they do respond, it's not an acceptable answer to the problem. avoid these guys like the plague
"Poor Support"
GNX Online   http://www.gnxonline.com/
By: Peter Mellor   peter_mellor@yahoo.co.uk
Date/Time of Posting = Jul 13 2004 / 16:31:52
IP Address: 81.98.87.122
Rating: 5
I published my site with GNX Online about 2 years ago after attending a web site design course. After the initial set up which was difficult, I have had no real problems up to now. My site was recently taken off line, due to me forgetting to re-new my domain when I re-newed my hosting. I paid the subscription, and checked that the money had been debited from my account. My site has still not been put back online. I have tried and tried to contact, but their normally prompt reply has not materialised, and the online chat is not running. I have been trying for over a week now!! Is there a problem at GNX ? If so I will have to look into getting my subscriptions back, and changing Host...... Any suggestions?
"GNX is absolutely horrible"
GNX Online   http://www.gnxonline.com/
By: Tony Zerbolio   elroyjetson2003@yahoo.com
Date/Time of Posting = Jul 09 2004 / 09:02:15
IP Address: 208.1.36.146
Rating: 1
It is NOT wise to host your site with GNX Online. Not only is the up-time/down-time ratio very poor, but the customer service is horrible! I have unfortunately recommended to a number of my friends using GNX when I first learned about them because of their pricing and features. Since then I have had nothing but headaches when each site would go down without explanation or erroneous payment renewal notices would go out. The straw that broke the proverbial camel's back was when I used their "Live Support" to chat with a very rude and unhelpful support "technician" who basically hung up on me without even trying to resolve my issue. DO NOT USE GNX ONLINE!
"gnxoffline"
GNX Online   http://www.gnxonline.com/
By: John Hargreaves   webhostreview@chilembwe.net
Date/Time of Posting = Nov 21 2003 / 15:41:16
IP Address: 162.119.64.113
Rating: 1
I have moved my Domain to a new host. Why? Well let me start at the beginning. When I first registered my own domain name and began the search for a web host (my isp doesn't host domains and won't allow servers) I found gnxoffline listed as the most inexpensive provider available. My mistake was confusing low cost with value. My first clue something was wrong was when I tried to submit my application for service and it dumped me out of the web page- no form completed page, no - 'you will receive an e-mail shortly' message , nothing. A day later I finally get a response from them telling me my logon name and password. They don't however provide the ip address of the server so until the domain name gets pointed to their DNS I couldn't log in. When I finally get logged in I find their 'MATRIX Linux server' is nothing more then a preconfigured Cobalt raq server, nothing wrong with that but they could tell people up front that's what they use. They advertise 24/7 tech. support and 99% uptime but that wasn't what I experienced. About three weeks after I posted my web pages on their server I noticed that often in the late evenings the server was completely unavailable. I checked traffic and could ping their DNS servers etc. but the server I was hosted on was completely unavailable. Then in the morning it would be up again. Then the server disappeared for a whole weekend. I went to their 'automated web support' and left a message. In a couple of days (So much for 24/7 support) I got a reply that the server needed to be rebooted. What?? my linux server at home runs for years without rebooting. Well anyway my page was up again. A few weeks later I notice the server is unavailable in the late evenings again. After watching this behavior for three weeks I again posted a query on their automated web support. Once more it took a few days to get a response which consisted of 'the problem was fixed' What problem? How was it fixed? What steps were taken to prevent it happening again? No such information was given. A week later the server is unavailable again. I ignore it, at least it's available during the day. Then on Friday the 24th of August I try to view my web page and get a 'You are forbidden to view this page' message. I try to get e-mail from the pop server and it refuses my password? Once more I try the automated web support and leave a message. The next day (a new record response time) I get a message- You may have violated our terms please e-mail support. So I e-mail them and get no response. Finally on Monday I get one of their sales people in a chat session and ask what is happening. She says she'll check. Later in the day I get her in a chat session again and she says that I have a web-cam on my site which violates the terms. Now mind you there is a link on my page which says web cam, but if you click on it, it shows a few jpegs clearly date stamped 8/4/00. This is from my old web page and was only left to show friends what my web cam looked like. I had not pointed my web cam to gnxonlines servers. I explained all this and was told I would have to sign the terms of agreement and fax them back, I asked for a fax number and was told to scan them in and e-mail them. My scanner doesn't work currently (stripped drive gear) so this wasn't an option. I then e-mailed a detailed response as to what had taken place to all the contacts at gnx I could find (there were only 5) and still did not receive a resolution. I conclude therefore that gnx is a very unprofessional business and I strongly caution anyone who is considering doing business with them to seriously reconsider. (originnally posted at http://chilembwe.net/gnxoffline.html )
"Blatant Theft"
GNX Online   http://www.gnxonline.com/
By: Dewyne Lindsay   twisup@hotmail.com
Date/Time of Posting = Oct 17 2003 / 12:59:15
IP Address: 80.6.128.159
Rating: 1
GNX online was recommended to me by a business partner to be a good, through reliable service with excellent customer service skills and response times. This is not true in all cases, and i have found it very hard to believe since they have actually stolen my money and failed to provide a valid reason or EVEN contact me in 7 days!! as oppose to their 72 hour deadline. The worst punishment any human can have is being simply ignored, and this is what they have done in abundance and without any remorse whatsoever. Token Joanne the automated computer response sent one message basically saying "wait", i was furious. If you dont live in Canada, dont bother signing up with them, the advantage in being in Canada is that i could get the train to their office and kick their F***--G heads in. The 'Live Chat' NEVER works EVER, and although they say they reply to emails in 24 hours, i am still waitng for a reply after 7 days. Bottom line is that they are an awful company who make stupid promises and only make time for people who wish to give them MONEY, then they zip up their pants and erase your email address.
"Poor web Hosting"
GNX Online   http://www.gnxonline.com/
By: Mike Parrill   darkmoontech@adelphia.net
Date/Time of Posting = Oct 15 2003 / 17:12:56
IP Address: 67.22.220.80
Rating: 3
I have had several sites hosted with GNXONLINE and as the other say here on this page, their service is not very good. As mentioned might as well not have any support. When we could not run our perl script on their servers, which they boasted were the best and offered full perl support. They were not concerned, we never did get an answer and even cancelled the account. Even when a site was down and we emailed and never got a answer as to what happened. Take your website hosting choice someplace else. Very bad experiences.
"Horrible company to deal with"
GNX Online   http://www.gnxonline.com/
By: Joshua Lipe   josh_lipe@hotmail.com
Date/Time of Posting = Sep 21 2003 / 00:20:19
IP Address: 66.235.3.43
Rating: 2
Support IS non-existant. I ran a website on their servers for one year. During that time, the downtime was extremely high - and like some other user experiences, support wouldn't acknowledge this as a bona-fide problem. My advise is to go with another hosting company, of which many have better plans for less - and service is prompt. Shop around.
"STAY AWAY"
GNX Online   http://www.gnxonline.com/
By: Tudor Oman   webmaster@ywamni.com
Date/Time of Posting = Jun 20 2003 / 08:10:49
IP Address: 195.92.168.175
Rating: 1
I signed on because it seemed like a good package - when I eventually got my account the downtime was massive - there wouldnt be a week go by without some downtime. So I transfered away - but they still got hold of me - My domain name regestered to them through bulkregestry - when trying to transfer the doamin I had to go through bulregestry to put pressure on them - when contacting them directly they did not answer my emails nor phonecalls. The transfer took a long time. I even tried to get the domain tansfered from them to my own control - no response to both bulkregestry or my self. Furthermore the domain expired 3 days ago and I have had no repsonse to my pleading emails to get it back online - once again I have sent a long email to bulkregestry asking them to force something to happen. This hoating company is onbe to stay a long way from - DO NOT GO NEAR IT.
"Don't host here"
GNX Online   http://www.gnxonline.com/
By: Jan Deskins   webbysdesign@hotmail.com
Date/Time of Posting = Jun 13 2003 / 09:51:55
IP Address: 65.33.122.92
Rating: 3
Everything listed from others regarding GNX Online is what we have experienced over the past year. Downtime has been awful. They have NO response to you when ask about it. You are usually told they are changing servers. Hard to believe a company would change servers 2-3 times per week! You always speak to "Joanne" - and regardless of who is answering you, they never take responsibility for their service. We were thinking of renewing, but too many sales are lost due to downtime; ftp remote server isn't set up right for robots to crawl your site - they list the files incorrectly and you can't correct them so robots can find you. We advise that no one use GNX Online. If you do, your upload will constantly time out; the remote server clock time won't be found most of the time (they are in Canada); and as everyone else mentioned, they do not believe in Customer Service.
"Good, but support could be better"
GNX Online   http://www.gnxonline.com/
By: Matt Pfingsten   jeditoren@nashvilleforce.com
Date/Time of Posting = Feb 02 2003 / 15:11:55
IP Address: 209.214.116.95
Rating: 6
I've had two websites hosted with them for the past year (the first website went up a few months before the second) and overall I have had a good experience. The web site doesn't have too much down time. I would say I have had about one or two major problems during the 1+ year I have been with them. FTP works well. Support is terrible. While they tend to respond quickly to my requests, I get the feeling that the people answering my problems only have a moderate understanding of English and they do not really understand everything I am saying. Their responses asking me to clarify simple statements suggest this. There is no phone # for support either, which I don't like at all. One time there was some down time because they were installing patches, yet they never sent a single e-mail and my site was down for several hours. That really pissed me off. If there is going to be planned downtime then you better tell me about it. Overall the only things that tech support has actually fixed is downtime issues, which don't happen very often. But when I have a problem using the IMail e-mail thing or the Hosting Controller there is seldom any help. My site recently got hacked and there response was that it was impossible to change or delete files unless they had my FTP password, which is absolutely ridicilous. Afterall, I doubt the folks that brought down Yahoo a few years back knew their FTP password. Overall I would say they have been great as far as features and uptime is concerned, and I went with them because they had allot of features for a very low price, which was good since our site www.rebellegion.com is not for profit, but their technical support and customer service has tested my patience a few times and if this hacking scenario gets out of hand (i.e. they hacker breaks in again and they deny there is a problem) I'll be leaving.
"You get what you pay for--and maybe less"
GNX Online   http://www.gnxonline.com/
By: Jennifer Cole   jscole@firstam.com
Date/Time of Posting = Jan 28 2003 / 12:18:22
IP Address: 208.145.195.105
Rating: 2
The reality that you get what you pay for is no more apparent than with GNX Online. While they sell you on above average services for a below average price, the majority of their claims are false. We've experienced considerable downtime over the two months since we signed up for their premium service. The 99.9% claim turns out to be closer to 60-75%, a completely unacceptable figure when you're trying to operate a business. Their support is also non-existant. Their automated email support system is rarely staffed, and answers are one line that not only are irrelevant, but down right lies. The first day my site was down, the response was that one of their vendors was responsible, and their explanation basically negated their website claims of their redundant servers etc. After begging for three days for a more complete explanation and a time frame for resolution, I received a response that their server patches were almost completed--which was a completely different explanation from the first. And four days later there still is no service, and no real response. It is abundantly clear on a regular basis that they do not even read their service requests. GNX Online offers what appears to be one of the best beals in budgeting on the web, but it has turned out to be one of the most expensive. After two months of service with GNX, I am now forced to move our company's website, although I have prepaid for the year, simply because I cannot run my business. What I thought was going to save us about 15% has meant these two months have cost us multiples more. I would strongly advise anyone to stay away from GNX online.
"Downtime 99.9%"
GNX Online   http://www.gnxonline.com/
By: Esle Patton   nuts@citynet.net
Date/Time of Posting = Dec 12 2001 / 01:17:43
IP Address: 63.147.9.143
Rating: 1
The downtime has been over 36 of the last 72 hours this week. Averages 24 hours a week. Change of server types: 3 in the last 5 months. Support: SLOW, and replies are one liners with no realevance to questions posed. Contact: Very defensive, won't face the fact that they have problems with downtime. FAQ's: Almost non-existant and WELL hidden with in the site. Product offerings and Enhancements: Keep changing, never know from one week to the next what services will be available as part of the package already purchased. Contacts: The email addresses, phone numbers, etc for this company are well hidden within pages and pages of info about non-existant or outdated offerings. I was very impressed with Gnxonline advertisements, and first contacts with "sales" department, after they took my money and laughed all the way to the bank, they just don't provide service that should be provided for the price I paid. Gnxonline is NOT the cheapestt provider, though they offer less-expensive deals...you seem to get the same service (or lack of) no matter what price is paid.
Lunar Pages Reviews
Host Gator Reviews
 
Copyright © 1999-2007 WebHostingReviews.com             support@WebHostingReviews.com
This web site is protected by copyright law and international treaties. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of copies of
this web site, or any portion of it, may result in severe civil and criminal penalties, and will be prosecuted
to the maximum extent possible under the law. Learn more about copyright. See our disclaimer.