SECTIONS
  HOME
  Basic Hosting
  Dedicated Server
  ColdFusion Hosting
  E-Commerce
  NT Hosting
  Top Rated
Lunar Pages
TOOLS
  Buying Guides
  Domain Availability Check
  Read/Submit Reviews
  Add/Modify Host
SUPPORT
  Glossary
  Contact Form
Host Gator
ADVERTISE
  Information
WEBMASTER
  Link to Us
  Partners/Links
  Affiliate Programs
Globat
Globat Reviews
 
Do you have more than 1 web site?
Host Gator lets you host as many web sites as you want in 1 account. This is a great way to save money if you have more than 1 web site, or if you plan on opening more in the near future.
 
"AVOID"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: Gene   gbr21@gbresearch.com
Date/Time of Posting = Jan 14 2007 / 01:20:49
IP Address: 71.139.13.191
Rating: 1
Here is what you get from Globat for your money:

1) slow hosting, probably severely oversubscribed and outdated equipment. It doesn't matter how many GB/month they promise you, it won't be possible to pump thru even fraction of it, and slow connections will scare all your visitors away.

2) incessant upgrade offers, including automatic upgrades, so even if your spam filter recognized them as spam, read emails from them carefully to opt-out in time before they charge your credit card.

3) customer service only processes payments promptly, everything else is either ignored or takes forever. I'm trying to cancel my account with them for 4 weeks and counting ...

"Avoid signing up with Globat at all costs"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: Not specified   e-mail not given
Date/Time of Posting = Oct 02 2006 / 21:30:41
IP Address: 68.184.23.228
Rating: 1
I choose to remain anonymous, because I am still stuck with some sites on Globat. Just about every other negative comment about this website could also be written by me. It is sad and horrifying to read my story over and over.

I have lost untold $$$ in business through downtime, forced renewals, etc.

The run-arounds are unbelievably absurd. When I last attempted to get through to a customer service rep--no profanities, no yelling, just trying to set the record straight after hours of conversations and emails getting nowhere--he "terminated" the conversation, as though I were some rude weirdo. I have read that some former Globat customers are ready to engage an attorney for a class-action lawsuit. I'd join them in a flash.

This company needs to be investigated and brought to justice.

"Fraudulent Charges"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: Dean VanDruff   public@vandruff.com
Date/Time of Posting = Jul 13 2006 / 13:13:50
IP Address: 71.198.207.164
Rating: 1
From the horse's email...

[EDIT]Content Removed: Unable to post original copy of conversation.[/EDIT]

This is fraud, pure and simple. Can anyone say class action lawsuit? Count me in.

"Avoid Globat at all costs!"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: Johnny   snowbdr9@yahoo.com
Date/Time of Posting = Jun 20 2006 / 20:22:29
IP Address: 198.69.252.106
Rating: 1
Globat's service is average but their customer service related to any billing or service inquiries is terrible. I am not a tech guru so I cannot make informed statements about their capabilities, but they will bill you for upgrades that you do not ask for and then completely ignore you when you try to challenge the charges. They just charged me for a renewal that I did not ask for and kept me on the line for about 40 minutes to tell me that I need to take care of everything with a support ticket. I am certain that this will be ignored but I am going along with their procedure for the time being anyways. Since I initially paid with an E-Check, I now must change my bank account number in order to avoid future charges by Globat.

If anyone is interested in starting a class action lawsuit, please let me know. This business is a complete sham!

"Crooked Business"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: Nipa Wathan   nwathan@mail.com
Date/Time of Posting = Apr 03 2006 / 13:40:08
IP Address: 208.246.86.5
Rating: 1
They'll rip you off. They upgrade the system and charge you $29.95 extra without your approval. They give you 10 days to disagree, but you have to do extra steps so that your web hosting is not automatically upgraded and billed for. But if you wants to cancel your account, you have to let them know a lot more time in advance (3 weeks). Horrible! Will not recommend to anybody I know.
"AVOID THEM! DISHONEST BILLING!"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: Neil Wester   neilwester@hotmail.com
Date/Time of Posting = Aug 26 2005 / 19:12:01
IP Address: 65.6.149.114
Rating: 1
I have hosted 4 sites with globat over the last 2 years. I have had some of the technical problems you commonly read about with them but things have really gotten much worse this year. Two clients insisted that I cancel and find a new host, so I was obligated to. THIS IS WHERE IT GETS REALLY BAD. Globat will continue to try and bill your credit cards after cancellation. I emailed there billing department back with the cancellation confirmation codes and was ignored. They then turned me over to their "internal" collections department. Where I filed a dispute that was ignored. I then started receiving correspondence from FBCS collections I informed them of the cancellations, gave them the codes and they punted that back to globat who now calls me almost daily leaving nasty messages. The irony, I still have two sites with them (one a personal site) even my threats to cancel them went unanswered. SERIOUSLY- AVOID THEM AT ALL COSTS!
"They let my domain name expire!!!!"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: George Hageman   ghageman@myshoes.com
Date/Time of Posting = Aug 16 2005 / 08:21:04
IP Address: 67.8.200.176
Rating: 1
In the beginning, Globat.com seemed really good. Good price, good service. However, they allowed my domain name to expire. The contract for hosting and for the domain name was 2 years. The domain name expired after 1 year. I've had no end of problems getting support to do something about this problem! I have also experienced incredibly slow PHP/MySQL response times.
"Globat is Complete crap!"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: J. Cosgrove   admin@dubfx.com
Date/Time of Posting = Aug 06 2005 / 08:57:36
IP Address: 67.188.87.170
Rating: 1
These guys are truly incompetent. Tickets get answered by what is in the "subject line", if they are answered at all. Which is about every 7 days. They don't even read what you write in them. So don't even waste your time... A pack of trained monkeys could do a better job supporting your issues then these fruitcups. MySQL is so slow, you'd think the web host was hosting 869 websites on the each server, Oh wait.. THEY ARE! *shocked* http://whois.sc/dubfx.com E-mail is down 50% of the time. And as of 7 days ago they totally broke my website with there supposed e-mail "upgrade". These screwball rookies broke the standard PHP mail function and have the nerve to tell me to re-upload my files and try my script again. You got to be kidding me, right? Nope.. they aren't! Unbelievable! It was working for the last year with you guys and YOU broke it! *sigh* These guys need to be removed OFF of every web hosting top 10 list there is. Because its complete bullshit. These guys are on the top 10 worst web hosts in my opinion and several other individuals as I'm starting to find out. DO NOT FALL FOR THE 1.99 a month hosting! Its complete garbage. I'm moving our site this week I cant take it anymore. Were trying to run a business here. Not some play school "my first web host" crap that cant even hire people in our own country to work for them and take care of customers the proper way. Globat gets the flying finger from me!
"Globat are VERY BAD!"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: Zoran K-P   tekmil-removethis-@netscape.net
Date/Time of Posting = Jun 29 2005 / 05:42:13
IP Address: 81.197.55.219
Rating: 1
These guys are totally a waste of time and money! I would NEVER reccommend them to anybody. This is a cut and paste of a LIVE CHAT I just had with them..Keep in mind that this same scenario has been repeated OFTEN over the last 12 months!!!...[EDIT]Remainder of review removed: Unable to post original copy of e-mail conversation.[/EDIT]
"Horrific"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: Richard Gerber   rich@richthecomputerguy.com
Date/Time of Posting = Jun 22 2005 / 14:11:13
IP Address: 24.45.238.53
Rating: 1
There mail servers have been down for three day!!!
"Extremely bad service: DO NOT USE!"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: Samir Sugathan   ssugathan@rocketmail.com
Date/Time of Posting = Jun 04 2005 / 13:49:57
IP Address: 68.235.192.238
Rating: 1
Globat started off as being decent enough. But, the forum I had was shut down with no explanation. I found out I exceeded the allocated bandwidth, but instead of warning me, they shut me off. I then moved to a PHP solution of the forum based on Globat's recommendation, only to find slow loading times. I was then advised to move to another PHP solution (PHPBB) and again, the loading was so slow. It got so bad that people would not post on the site due to how slow it was. Globat kept claiming that it was the board softweare that was slow and not their servers, which was a bunhc of BS. Finally, I decided to move hosts and my speed improved hundred-fold on my new host siteground.com. I then asked for the remainder of my money back from Globat and they refused. I am thus goling to report them to BBB. I am also interested in pursuing a class action lawsuit against Globat. If anyone is interested, please contact me at my e-mail address. Bottom line: bad experience, bad customer service, and a horrible webhost who does not care about their customers at all.
"The worst ISP company"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: Not specified   e-mail not given
Date/Time of Posting = May 26 2005 / 22:07:10
IP Address: 216.113.168.141
Rating: 1
It should be zero, even 1 is too much for their poor services. globat.com has the worst ISP services and they need to be banned by BBB. STAY AWAY!!!
"Problem solving=0 Constant excuses"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: Scott Foster   fosters005@hawaii.rr.com
Date/Time of Posting = May 07 2005 / 07:06:36
IP Address: 66.91.18.102
Rating: 1
The only reason we are still with them is because we have not had the time mid-project to move our Web sites. SICK TO DEATH of their endless (and mindless) tech excuses for THEIR intermittent email servers. It's not you user folks! It's their servers! So don't let them BS you.
"I thought Globat was good"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: Stewart Hay   haysjj@dsl.pipex.com
Date/Time of Posting = Apr 28 2005 / 20:23:05
IP Address: 62.190.224.133
Rating: 2
When I first discovered Globat, they seemed to be the best thing since sliced bread. I needed a lot of filespace, and download was fast. More recently I've become increasingly irritated by them. My first major issue was when I upgraded from 2GB to 2.5GB - for about $5 once 0ff. I knew my credit card info was out of date but the Globat online form had a "radiobutton" option that they would contact me for updated details. That never happened. Instead they suspended my account despite the fact that the original plan was fully paid for. I asked why they didn't just not do the upgrade: no response. Because my account was suspended, I couldn't access the control panel to update my credit card details. They didn't answer my emails. EVENTUALLY someone answered the phone (after many 2 minute on-hold timeouts) and they updated my credit card details. Some time later I discovered that new customers were getting 5GB for the same money. I then discovered that my upgrade to 2.5G never happened (though paid for). I was able to upgrade (for a fee) to the 5GB that new users were already getting. Lastly (and most serious) is domain registration renewal. That never happened, and my site is currently down. I received 2 emails about a month before telling me to renew my domain name. I could find nowhere on the Globat site where I could do this. Then "Live chat" (Cindy) told me it would happen automatically from my credit card details. 3 days before expiry I got an email to say they had billed my credit card. Great! All will be well! It wasn't. 1 or 2 days after expiry, it expired, and the site went down. I emailed Globat. They emailed with a a copy of a WHOIS report (status expired), and implied it was my fault for paying late. They said my site would be back up in 5-7 days. I emailed (very angry) that Globat was in total control of the renewal process on my behalf, and they had screwed up (no response). I also emailed enom.com (the registrar) and they have informed me they have received no payment from Globat. I am urgently seeking a different way to renew my domain th! at doesn't rely on Globat. I would in no circumstances recommend Globat.com to anyone.
"Horrible, horrible"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: John McRee   john@spicyhotwebdesign.com
Date/Time of Posting = Oct 20 2004 / 15:48:44
IP Address: 206.195.77.1
Rating: 1
I've had several hosts, and these guys are the worst. My email only makes it to clients, friends, and family intermitently. I've missed bids on contracts because of this, and have angered clients who never got my replies. BAD NEWS!!! I do NOT recommend them
"avoid the globat"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: W. Brookes   will_nm8@hotmail.com
Date/Time of Posting = Oct 12 2004 / 19:56:22
IP Address: 151.196.137.199
Rating: 1
I am posting this message to warn other consumers of the deplorable service and illegal tactics used by globat toward their "valued customers." Globat web hosting services recently shut down two sites of mine they were hosting because their billing department received a chargeback on a credit card that was used to sign up for a site unrelated to me or my business. Sounds ridiculous? Whats worse was trying to actually speak to someone who could tell me what was wrong! I would call and call, and be put on hold, then they would hang up on me! Another wonderful tactic would be to transfer me to another Globat department, or transfer me directly to someone's voice box, where they promised to "get back with me as soon as possible." After several weeks of down time for my sites, I finally left enough messages for Mike Reno, (1.877.245.6228 extension 237) that one of his employees called me back to try and explain why my sites were down. I am now waiting for a written explanation to! be emailed to me so I can send it to my lawyer. Beware, Glbat is a mess, host your site somewhere else. Sincerely, dissapointed customer.
"customer service leaves much to be desired"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: Winfield Scott   rosencrantz@flashmail.com
Date/Time of Posting = Jun 28 2004 / 09:14:16
IP Address: 24.24.30.173
Rating: 4
I have been a Globat customer since shortly after the company started. The first month was fine, and I experienced fast connection times. Then page-loading times got slower and slower, and I was experiencing periodic downtime. Several phone calls and support tickets later, they moved me to a less crowded server. That helped for a while. But lately, there have been additional problems. The email servers recently went down for three entire days, during which time, all I could get from tech support is "the admin is working on the problem." Today, my email, FTP, and site hosting are all down. Tech support indicates that Globat is currently experiencing an "unscheduled" down-time. Really? Their estimate (which is not really a reliable estimate from a technician, but the standard response tech support people are instructed to give) was that the problem should be corrected in approximately three hours. This is not good news for ! my website on a Monday morning. Additionally, I have an ongoing problem for which I submitted support tickets a while back, which was not resolved. It seems that the Globat email system "hangs" on email messages with corrupted attachments (like spams with virus attachments.) There are no filters available on the server side. When the system encounters one of these spams it doesnít like, it will not allow the message (or any message received after this message) to be downloaded from the server, and the server does an abrupt disconnect from my regular Outlook email client when it gets to that message in the cue. The only way to access the email then is to load their webmail interface, and delete messages that are labeled as having (no sender) and (no subject). Only then can I download the rest of the messages with my regular email client. Frankly, this is a real hassle, and Globat has been unresponsive in resolving the problem. I would go and start another support ticket, but Globatís main page and customer support page are also offline this morning. Good thing I wrote down the tech support number! Let the buyer beware, Globat's cheap, and you get what you pay for.
"Globat 's a breeze A+++"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: Kim Dumey   kim@dazzlemstudio.com
Date/Time of Posting = Mar 29 2003 / 17:41:01
IP Address: 216.184.223.234
Rating: 10
I stumbled across Globat quite by accident; took a chance and BANG! All the problems I had been experiencing with my current ISP were solved, not only overnight, but with intense customer support and a "hold my hand" attitude. Their offerings of space, speed, cgi access and low cost made this change one I highly recommend. Note: I was concerned about utilizing a UNIX server as I am accustomed to a Windows platform. No more; it's a breeze. Now I'm moving all my urls to Globat!
"Globat's the best!"
Globat   http://www.globat.com/
By: Michael O'Connor   michael@yorktownevolution.org
Date/Time of Posting = Feb 17 2003 / 12:09:17
IP Address: 66.159.202.156
Rating: 10
Started with them back in August of last year and have yet to be disappointed. I'm almost kinda waiting for it because my former host really sucked. So far its been great. They recently added live chat support and the overall time it takes to solve a problem is good. Globat's the best as far as I'm concerned.
Lunar Pages Reviews
Host Gator Reviews
 
Copyright © 1999-2007 WebHostingReviews.com             support@WebHostingReviews.com
This web site is protected by copyright law and international treaties. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of copies of
this web site, or any portion of it, may result in severe civil and criminal penalties, and will be prosecuted
to the maximum extent possible under the law. Learn more about copyright. See our disclaimer.