FatCow

Visit FatCow Visit FatCow   Write your own FatCow review. Write your own FatCow review.
2 out of 30 (or 7% of) people recommend FatCow.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.80 / 10.0 4.79 / 10.0 3.57 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.82 / 10.0 3.17 / 10.0
FatCow
› Overall Rating ››    27.70% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 21 to 30 out of 30 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2 3 Next »

FatCow reviews

uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
6.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

TERRIBLE & UNRELIABLE

I signed up with FatCow at the advice of my website designed - BIG MISTAKE! I've been with them for 3 months and have had nothing but problems. I constantly get complaints from visitors about the site being down at night, have had too many 500 internal errors to count, etc. All in all, I would say I've had over 50 issues in 3 months, which is unacceptable.

They do respond to calls pretty quickly and have Live Chat available, but their tech support knows absolutely nothing. The girl I talked to recently just kept saying "umm" and kept repeating "I'm sorry for the inconvenience". No concrete information, no estimate of when the problem will be fixed, nothing.

I'm switching to Host Gator. Although FatCow does prorated refunds, they also charge a $35 cancellation fee, so you basically get nothing back.

FatCow is NOT recommended by Vera. This person does NOT recommend FatCow.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on September 6th, 2010 at 11:49 EST by Vera
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 99.61.195.217
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: vvperesk@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #21 out of 30 FatCow reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

FatCow is for FAT COWS

On the surface FatCow does provide ok service, a nice UI/Admin Console and a seemingly friendly support staff. But if you have a problem, forget about it. In the two years I was with them I had two problems - the first one I was able to get around, the second made me leave.

1. First problem I had with them was when a pretty standard PHP library was missing from their servers, making my site useless. I had a fully functional site running on Host Monster and decided to port to my FatCow account to find that it would not work. When I contacted the support team about this issue they told me to use an out-dated PEAR library from like 2001. Obviously that wouldn't work so I simply ported my site back to HM.

2. Second issue is beyond me... I attempted to create my 50th or so FTP account to receive an error indicating that an FTP user home directory cannot contain a period ("."). Now that may not be a problem to some, but for me that was a deal breaker - ALL my directories have a period (".") and ALL my 50+ FTP accounts had been happily assigned to directories with periods until then. Apparently they made a change to their back-end system preventing the use and assignment of FTP home directories with special characters, including a period ("."). After numerous calls/chats with customer service it all came down to their inability to change how FTP home directories were assigned - but they seemingly forgot that they DID manage to make a change when they screwed it up.

Unless you're a run-of-the-mill FAT COW, these guys are useless.

FatCow is NOT recommended by Feros. This person does NOT recommend FatCow.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on August 19th, 2010 at 10:09 EST by Feros
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 192.100.104.17
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #22 out of 30 FatCow reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
7.20
price value for money
2.30
* ratings are out of 10

Bad for MediaWiki!

I purchased a subscription because Fat Cow is supposed to be awesome for MediaWiki BUT
1. They run version 1.6.5 -- all of the other web hosts that I spoke to run version 1.16!
2. They will not let you upgrade. They don't give you command line or shell access and you can't manually upgrade through a re-install as it requires too many MySQL queries.

Yuck!

Biggest Con: Do NOT use them for MediaWiki!

FatCow is NOT recommended by Rose. This person does NOT recommend FatCow.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on August 3rd, 2010 at 13:53 EST by Rose
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 68.8.109.198
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #23 out of 30 FatCow reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Nothing but trouble

Joined three days ago. Their mysql servers were down due to high demand intermittently the first and second days, the third day they were down for most of the day. Cancelled my account.
Support told me to refresh my browser cache and told me the problem was resolved. I got the problem on different computers with different OS and browsers. I wasnt the only one with this problem either, other blogs have had similar problems lately.

Biggest Con: mysql server often down

FatCow is NOT recommended by Ryan Kinsman. This person does NOT recommend FatCow.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 30th, 2010 at 19:52 EST by Ryan Kinsman
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 113.159.32.201
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.eigoyomeru.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #24 out of 30 FatCow reviews
uptime & reliability
5.50
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
4.00
customer service & billing
7.00
price value for money
8.00
* ratings are out of 10

Fatcow review - PHP/MySQL

I run a PHP/MySQL website, and while at first it was fine, as soon as I got more than two users everything went haywire. I started getting massive lag from the database, the phpMyAdmin would work sometimes and not others, the SFTP would randomly fail... If you just need a cheap host for a basic personal page, and maybe you want to put a little PHP in, they're good and cheap. If you actually need any server power at all(website with users, etc...) they really aren't a good choice.

FatCow is NOT recommended by Levi. This person does NOT recommend FatCow.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on February 17th, 2010 at 23:57 EST by Levi
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 192.235.8.2
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #25 out of 30 FatCow reviews
uptime & reliability
6.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

FatCow is not a good company

Never had a problem with FatCow until our domain address expired. This occurred with other web hosting companies for ther clients and all were quickly resolved.

With FatCow, we have been run around for the last 2 weeks with our website being down the whole time.

The customer support was horrible.

I would advise anyone not to use this company.

FatCow is NOT recommended by Tom. This person does NOT recommend FatCow.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on November 30th, 2009 at 17:29 EST by Tom
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 69.243.98.86
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #26 out of 30 FatCow reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
9.70
* ratings are out of 10

Absolutely AWEFUL

I join them in April thinking I had a good deal. My website is basic and I rarely go into my control panel. So two months ago I got calls from customers and friends letting me know that my email was bouncing. I went into my control panel and my email quota was cut down by 90% without my permission. The put it back to "defalut" quota when I called tech support (which were rude). Yesterday was the last straw when once again I tried to log into my control panel and they tell me that I must change my password every other week and it MUST have letters, numbers and punchaution characters. THIS IS INSANE!!!

When I called tech support a rep name "Charles" hung up on me. Then I talked to "Steve" the supervisor who was also rude but was happy to remove my credit card from the renewal form and then hung up without asking if I needed anything else. I called back and canceled my account immediately. This company started off as a nice dream but ended in a nightmare.

Biggest Pro: price
Biggest Con: tech support

FatCow is NOT recommended by Linda Miller. This person does NOT recommend FatCow.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on November 22nd, 2009 at 20:49 EST by Linda Miller
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 76.122.92.21
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #27 out of 30 FatCow reviews
uptime & reliability
3.00
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
7.00
* ratings are out of 10

MySQL = Lot's of downtime

I am running 5 sites on their system. Actual page serving time is ok. Not great. You get plenty of bandwidth, disk space, and unlimited email addresses.

BUT, you get what you pay for I suppose. It's a 1 in 2 chance that my MySQL database connections will fail. I have a script set up to test the DB connections every 5 minutes. I get at least 5 emails a day about it failing.

And, if you open a support ticket with them, you'll get someone who has no idea what they are talking about. My primary site which is a wiki, just got converted over to PmWiki, which uses no database. Now, I get decent performance.

Two other sites have forums (PHPBB3 and SMF), and I am always getting at least one email a day from each telling me they have database connection issues. Tech support says to check my passwords and user names, even after telling them I changed nothing.

So, if you are technically savvy, and don't need a Database? Fatcow should be fine. Do you need a database for your site, and need a bit of technical hand-holding? Find someone else.

Biggest Pro: Lot's of bandwidth
Biggest Con: MySQL is completely unreliable

FatCow is recommended by Corey. This person recommends FatCow.
› Overall Rating ››    55.00% 
Reviewed on November 18th, 2009 at 11:50 EST by Corey
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 71.243.177.57
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.theparanormaljournal.org/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #28 out of 30 FatCow reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
7.50
customer service & billing
2.20
price value for money
2.60
* ratings are out of 10

Stay away...

This site was praised by alot of affiliated webhost review sites, I think because it pays their affiliates $80/customer or something like that.

The features are just what they promise, but the connectivity is UNRELIABLE!! I get random 500 Internet Errors at times, there seem to be speed lag at times when my site wouldn't load, and their FTP server is horrible, sometimes unusable!!!

I've only used this service for 2 days thought, I'm cancelling now and looking for a new host.

FatCow is NOT recommended by Khoa Nguyen. This person does NOT recommend FatCow.
› Overall Rating ››    34.00% 
Reviewed on September 30th, 2009 at 16:18 EST by Khoa Nguyen
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 72.223.6.114
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #29 out of 30 FatCow reviews
uptime & reliability
3.00
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Fatcow is lousy for Joomla website

I use Fatcow for about a month. I have a simple website using Joomla. The website has been down for more than 5 times in 3 weeks and I can't get into the Joomla administrator panel. I got error message

Database Error: Unable to connect to the database:Could not connect to MySQL.

Even when it is up the connection is very slow. I did a lot research online on webhosting reviews. It was list as top 3 for hosting Joomla site. I guess most web hosting reviews are paid to advertise.

Do not sign up with Fatcow if you have Joomla website.

FatCow is NOT recommended by lake. This person does NOT recommend FatCow.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on September 9th, 2009 at 17:31 EST by lake
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 76.121.205.252
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Unix   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #30 out of 30 FatCow reviews
1 2 3 Next »
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.