DailyRazor

Visit DailyRazor Visit DailyRazor   Write your own DailyRazor review. Write your own DailyRazor review.
5 out of 29 (or 17% of) people recommend DailyRazor.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.39 / 10.0 5.17 / 10.0 3.09 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
3.04 / 10.0 2.46 / 10.0
DailyRazor
› Overall Rating ››    27.45% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 21 to 29 out of 29 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2 3 Next »

DailyRazor reviews

uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
6.70
technical support & knowledge
2.80
customer service & billing
3.80
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

They are a nightmare ...

These people always tell the client that its the client side issue when it is actually a server side issue and they need to fix it.

The double bill and despite reminders do not fix the billing.

They have one technical support solution " Start tomcat".

We are stuck and as soon as we find a new provider, they are getting the boot.

DailyRazor is NOT recommended by Zara. This person does NOT recommend DailyRazor.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on October 5th, 2009 at 09:57 EST by Zara
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 83.78.84.146
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #21 out of 29 DailyRazor reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Best Web Experience of the Year

I was totally impressed with how fast my account was setup. And it was done on Christmas day! I'm equally impressed with how easy and fast it is to manage the account without any assistance. I didn't even need to talk to a single person.

I started another account at Webfusion on Dec. 19th and it still doesn't work correctly, and much of it cannot be managed by their "easy to use" Control Panel. In fact my domain, MarkRogers.us, was supposed to be hosted there. They just couldn't make it happen. I figured I should give DailyRazor.com a shot a hosting my site, and I was blown away by the whole experience.

Biggest Pro: Best value for the money

DailyRazor is recommended by Mark Rogers. This person recommends DailyRazor.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on December 26th, 2008 at 11:36 EST by Mark Rogers
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 71.135.62.42
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.markrogers.us/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #22 out of 29 DailyRazor reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
6.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Watch your back with this company!

I have had numerous problems with Daily Razor.

Problem 1: After signing up in 2007, I waited 2 1/2 days, but my site was still not working. When I opened a support ticket about this, they told me it was because I hadn't registered my domain. But, since I had signed up for my domain through Daily Razor, THEY were supposed to register it for me!! Finally they did.

Problem 2: I received no notification when either my domain or my hosting service expired. I only received a notification that my credit card was about to billed for a new contract year. I promptly called to cancel my service (simply because I wasn't really using it). There were still several days before the new contract would start, but I was told that I still needed to pay for the next year's service because I did not inform them 5 days in advance of the contract renewal date (which seems absurd to me). So I got stuck paying for and using a 2nd year of their service.

Problem 3: About 4 months into this new contract year, my credit card was charged again for another year of service! When I called them about this, they told me they could not help me over the phone and that I would have to email them. What a pain! They did finally remove the erroneous charge from my credit card.

Problem 4: Today my brother informed me that a couple weeks ago when he tried to go to the site, it was not there. So I went looking today and indeed, it was not to be found. I opened up another support ticket and after a couple hours the site was back online and I received an email indicating "domain has been activated". So I responded asking why it was ever deactivated to which I was told that I needed to open up a separate trouble ticket with the billing department... and so the saga continues...

I am extremely frustrated with the service I am receiving from this company. They have done nothing except cause me a headache. I highly recommend that you stay away!!!

Biggest Con: customer service & billing

DailyRazor is NOT recommended by Jennifer. This person does NOT recommend DailyRazor.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on November 22nd, 2008 at 18:49 EST by Jennifer
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 68.55.241.40
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #23 out of 29 DailyRazor reviews
uptime & reliability
8.50
server & connection speed
6.50
technical support & knowledge
3.50
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

Unfair billing and poor customer service

Here's a list of problems I have had with DailyRazor:

1) Received unauthorized charge of $215.40 that was not invoiced

2) I asked them to cancel my service and they canceled immediately instead of waiting until the renewal date. I had already paid for the service.

3) Interface for restarting application server is sluggish and too delayed even when paying for a dedicated Java Virtual Machine (JVM).

4) I did not receive a reminder when my service was scheduled to automatically renew. I was then forced into another annual contract. They had my correct email address on file. They conveniently send a bill just after the window of opportunity for canceling your account is over.

5) Outdated JVM

6) Outdated Tomcat

Biggest Con: Unfair billing practices

DailyRazor is NOT recommended by Phillip Idem. This person does NOT recommend DailyRazor.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on October 14th, 2008 at 10:17 EST by Phillip Idem
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 149.173.6.25
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.philidem.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #24 out of 29 DailyRazor reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
6.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

Mac Users Beware...

So many problems, where to begin?

The Plesk control panel through which you interface with the server is a little tricky, and at times very unintuitive. This is hardly Dailyrazor's fault, except that they chose to use it in preference to all of the other options out there.

Technical support is incompetent and lazy. They don't read your trouble tickets, and frequently send back canned responses that either have nothing to do with your problem or recommending things that you have already indicated to them don't work. I had to tell them how to fix an error in their Movable Type install script which caused the application to fail upon trying to publish. When I reported a problem with the Plesk control panel, they were completely uninterested and referred me to Parallels. When I reported back to them that Parallels had indicated they needed to update their version of Plesk, they demanded that I provide them a link to the patch. Excuse me? What exactly am I paying you idiots for if I am going to maintain YOUR software?

They know nothing about the Mac platform; despite having assured me that they are completely 100% Mac-compatible, key pieces of functionality were non-functional. I had to try 5 browsers before finding one that would work with their database admin tool. NONE of the browsers that I tried would work with their online editor - either the changes would be dumped prior to saving or the editor was stuck in WYSIWYG mode, which stripped out SOME, but not ALL of the HTML tags, and made a mess of the remaining page. Their solution to this? Don't use the editor. Do your work offline and upload it. Which is fine for major upgrades, but come ON now - being able to do minor updates online is basic functionality, and they couldn't provide it.

Server up time was fine when I was with them. I only had one brief (30 minute) outage. The connection speed ranged from acceptable to atrocious, but generally sided more toward the former.

As a final note, when I contacted the billing department to cancel my plan, he asked "if there was any particular reason" I was quitting. I told him. He didn't bat an eye, or display the least bit of interest. It was just another item on his questionnaire. And I was probably the latest in a series of dissatisfied customers.

Biggest Pro: price isn't bad...if you don't need tech support.
Biggest Con: You WILL need tech support.

DailyRazor is NOT recommended by Kevin Barth. This person does NOT recommend DailyRazor.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on August 28th, 2008 at 11:51 EST by Kevin Barth
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 67.62.34.166
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.fallenkingsandqueens.org/   Email: godai.kun@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #25 out of 29 DailyRazor reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

great host

DailyRazor was helpful helpful in assisting us get our website up and running. Not only did they do the design, but they've been hosting it for about one year now. No major downtime. Everything has been very smooth and their customer service and technical support have been superb. I highly recommend their service.

DailyRazor is recommended by Kim Jeng. This person recommends DailyRazor.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on August 13th, 2008 at 20:14 EST by Kim Jeng
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 67.15.113.6
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #26 out of 29 DailyRazor reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
9.70
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

great web host at an affordable price

I've been with DailyRazor for over a year now and have been greatly over satisfied with their service. Not only are they among the most affordable web hosting service out there - their customer service and uptime reliability is next to none from my own opinion.

What prompted me to write this review today is I was very impressed on how they handled the issue with some of their servers colocated with ThePlanet. Due to the break-down of a transformer at ThePlanet's data center, the server my site was one went offline automatically. This I believe happened on Saturday the 1st of June of thereabout. DailyRazor's support team was quick to sent our an email communication informing me of this. Not only that, I was given the option to have my site migrated to another server colocated at another data center. I opted not to and decided to wait and see if the issue with ThePlanet's transformer will be resolved in due time. The next day, the problem was still there and upon my request, DailyRazor moved me over to another within ours and the move was seamless. I was rather impressed by this - i.e. the company's ability to put the customer. Good job guys!

DailyRazor is recommended by T. Galloway. This person recommends DailyRazor.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on June 4th, 2008 at 23:46 EST by T. Galloway
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 72.83.94.202
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #27 out of 29 DailyRazor reviews
uptime & reliability
8.50
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
9.80
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
8.00
* ratings are out of 10

Good host for the Money, quick technical support

When I first hosted my site with dailyrazor, I experienced several outages, with small downtime. The technical support is excellent with this company. Each time I emailed them, they quickly had my site back up and running. After a couple outages, I requested a new server and was quickly moved. Apparently my old server was having hardware issues, causing the problem. The new server has been excellent with little downtime. I had a billing issue regarding the service and after an email or two they refunded my account the money I was owed. They are a good webhost if you are willing to contact them with issues. My site requires a java hosting with private tomcat, and they are one of the few webhosts that I have found with this option. The cpanel is typical for webhost with all the features that I know how to use. I have been with dailyrazor for 4 months and have been very pleased. The bandwidth is pretty decent on the razor advanced plan although not as high as other places. The one big drawback I have found is the livehelp on their mainpage is never, available. I have used them for 4 months and have not once seen it available. Overall I would rate dailyrazor a good server for the money.

Biggest Pro: Quick technical support
Biggest Con: A little expensive

DailyRazor is recommended by Andrew Schweikert. This person recommends DailyRazor.
› Overall Rating ››    80.00% 
Reviewed on December 15th, 2007 at 23:40 EST by Andrew Schweikert
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 71.61.198.231
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #28 out of 29 DailyRazor reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.70
technical support & knowledge
9.80
customer service & billing
9.90
price value for money
9.80
* ratings are out of 10

Daily Razor JSP Hosting

I host my main business site with DailyRazor-- the RazorImpart plan. I needed Linux hosting that supported JSP and Servlets, Fantastico, PHP and the myriad of standard options available with most Linux hosting plans today.

The key for me is JSP support. I use a shared Tomcat environment along with MySQL databases for blogs and forums. I have been very happy with the service and JSP support. I am the developer of the Blogger Calendar which utilizes server side Java. The calendar draws a lot of curiosity from bloggers.

My main business site is rather large and includes several sub-domains. I also develop and maintain an array of Java tools for my sites and this hosting solution was perfect for me. For the cost, service and support have been exceptional.

I also run a web hosting service which is not under a DailyRazor Reseller plan. For business reasons, I will never host my main business site with my hosting service.

I think DailyRazor is exceptional.

DailyRazor is recommended by Regina Thomas. This person recommends DailyRazor.
› Overall Rating ››    98.00% 
Reviewed on September 25th, 2007 at 19:29 EST by Regina Thomas
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 172.164.2.216
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #29 out of 29 DailyRazor reviews
1 2 3 Next »
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.