ByetHost

Visit ByetHost Visit ByetHost   Write your own ByetHost review. Write your own ByetHost review.
4 out of 23 (or 17% of) people recommend ByetHost.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
5.77 / 10.0 6.13 / 10.0 4.19 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.95 / 10.0 2.85 / 10.0
ByetHost
› Overall Rating ››    33.83% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 11 to 20 out of 23 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

ByetHost reviews

uptime & reliability
8.60
server & connection speed
8.40
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

What started as a blessing is now a curse

I was referred to byethost by my web designer. He said he'd had them for years and besides a slight issue with their tech support, they were pretty good. I purchased the unlimited shared hosting at first. Warning, this is not in any way unlimited. I have roughly 20,000 visitors around the Christmas Holiday to my online store. Byethost said that this traffic violated my agreement since it caused the other servers to slow down.
My web designer was pretty upset, but I told him to see what fixes they had. They directed me to get a VPS and my site would be up and all fixed.
Cool, I purchase the site (against my web designers advice0 and think all should be good...
No luck, they forgot to tell me that the server would have no email on it and didn't even have the professionalism or courtesy to at least inform us. Days later, after receiving no emails, they claim it to be our fault for not asking...
They strong armed me into paying a lot more for hosting than I was, and it's my fault for not reading their minds?
I was just asked (via my web designer) if I wanted to switch hosting? I am likely to do so now, but at the same time informing my advertisement agency to put them on the "do not use" list. Reach Local has already been told what sorrowful service they have given on the tech side.

They are now telling me that I should use a Google apps account for my email (that they tossed) and that I should "figure it out on my own"
What Jerks

Biggest Pro: Was the price
Biggest Con: The tech support is lacking and has little professionalism

ByetHost is NOT recommended by Chris. This person does NOT recommend ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on February 1st, 2011 at 10:27 EST by Chris
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 173.161.77.97
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #11 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

If you're looking for reliable webhosting, look elsewhere

I started with their premium hosting plan. Their support staff is friendly enough, but I don't think their tech guys have a clue. Nothing but problems (lost databases, down time, etc.). I reluctantly decided to stay with them when I upgraded to VPS. BAD move. The server speed is horrendous. I contacted support for remote access to one database. They said it was initiated and gave me the login info. Not only was I NOT able to connect to the database, they brought one of my other sites down completely. I've had nothing but problems and with byet. I strongly recommend you consider another host for your needs...

Biggest Pro: Inexpensive.
Biggest Con: Nothing but problems.

ByetHost is NOT recommended by Robert Lynch. This person does NOT recommend ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on January 5th, 2011 at 21:42 EST by Robert Lynch
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 71.125.130.27
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #12 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.40
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
6.70
customer service & billing
8.20
price value for money
9.10
* ratings are out of 10

My experience with byet host

I started using byets free hosting about 4 years ago and quickly noticed that they also provide a free hosting reseller. This enables anyone to act as a free hosting provider and is also free to sign up.
After creating your re-seller account, you get a reseller control panl which allows you to set up quotas for your clients, provide custom 'welcome' emails, provide a custom default page and enter ad codes so that your google adsense (or other) ads show on your clients site. This reseller plan is also upgradeable to include extra features.
Their hosting service is, for the most part, excellent, although they do suffer downtime now and then.
(The customer is always right comment from a previous reviewer has seemed to have forgotten he is not a customer but a client. It IS free hosting!)
The biggest disappointment with byet is their awful re-direct pages. they make money through re-direct pages and back end ads. These re-direct pages they use are really terrible and reflect badly on the person re-selling their service. A re-direct page is supposed to be a page that a viewer is redirected to if they enter a bad URL, one that doesn't exist on the server, but on many occasions even pages that genuinely exist on the server go to a re-direct. It seems byet do this delliberatley when they need a bit of extra cash.
The effect on the users computer is that their browser goes crazy. It keeps trying to load page after page and several pop under ads are left on your pc. Trying to get out of the page is almost impossible and usually requires you to close your browser. When you act as a reseller, it appears that YOU are hacking a users pc....not very good.
The other problem with byet was a newer redirect system which they later adopted. On this one, it takes you to a social networking site called 'mybookface.net'. Although this was much more prefferable to the awful redirects, it again reflected badly on the reseller, because it contained a home page with a massive notice saying 'this site spies your pc'.
I haven't used their reseller for around a year now, as they mysteriously suspended my account, but have noticed it is still active now and appears to be useable again, so i'm not sure what their newer system of making money is, but whatever it is, it probably includes pop under ads.

As for quality of hosting, it's better than most and at least they are consistent, they've been around for at least 6 years, but shame about the downfalls.

ByetHost is recommended by chris. This person recommends ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on December 8th, 2010 at 23:48 EST by chris
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 178.109.179.93
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.foreverfree.0lx.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #13 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
8.90
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.40
* ratings are out of 10

account may suspend

please take a back of your site and database each day , otherwise you may loose whole work,
i had a successful website hosted in byet shared server , one morning my friend message me , what happened to your site , which showing "account suspended" , i soon contacted byet support team, they replayed after many hours saying , you must wait upto 24hours because , now our account department closed , then i made a forum thread in their support forum , that thread they deleted soon , after understanding it will affect on their business , because they never notified me the details of suspension ,they dont have any answer for my question ....

its my need .. so i contacted them again and again , and decided to buy VPS , after activating i understand its very slow one.,,

Biggest Pro: better bandwidth at cheap cost
Biggest Con: may suspend account without notification

ByetHost is NOT recommended by remshad. This person does NOT recommend ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    14.00% 
Reviewed on September 1st, 2010 at 09:22 EST by remshad
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 117.254.129.7
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.seminarprojects.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #14 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
6.60
* ratings are out of 10

Byethost lost MySQL database

Byethost is a good web host if you are just displaying static HTML pages. But if you are displaying PHP sites that require MySQL databases like WordPress, I would not suggest you place your hosting with them. Yesterday, I placed a WordPress site, and today, Byethost lost one of the MySQL databases! I'm glad I was able to retrieve the MySQL database for another mission critical site, but the site that I just set up yesterday is totally gone! I can't find the MySQL database anywhere!

Biggest Pro: free, relatively fast web host
Biggest Con: They lost a MySQL database!

ByetHost is NOT recommended by Duke. This person does NOT recommend ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on July 28th, 2010 at 09:34 EST by Duke
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 68.110.117.58
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #15 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
uptime & reliability
6.50
server & connection speed
5.20
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Extremely bad practice!

Everything is perfect untill your site becomes succesfull and then they shut you down unless you pay.
Very very bad practice!

DO NOT USE THIS HOST!

ByetHost is NOT recommended by mdepiere. This person does NOT recommend ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    15.00% 
Reviewed on June 16th, 2010 at 02:38 EST by mdepiere
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 198.176.19.40
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #16 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Steer clear of this awful host.

I'm with their paid hosting. I've used many different hosts in all my years and never have I taken the time to write a review. But they are the absolute worst host on the net and are causing me substantial loss of business. My account has been suspended for server load, they refer to me as one of the "bad customers", but in actual fact my site was only getting about 10-15 visitors a day and I have no forums or anything else that would cause excessive server load. And because they suspended my account for a couple days, my google page rank went from #2, to not even being in the top 100 now. I think the shared hosting has such low resources as a ploy to get you to upgrade to a VPS server, a scam I want no part of. I was even thinking of upgrading to a reseller account before this mess happened, good thing I didn't jump into that right away. If you're running a business off your website and rely on it to make a living, then this is NOT the host for you. But if you're ok with crappy service and don't mind having your account suspended for days at a time then go for it.

Biggest Con: Suspending your account

ByetHost is NOT recommended by Go Wow Media. This person does NOT recommend ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 27th, 2010 at 12:53 EST by Go Wow Media
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 174.4.18.100
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.gowowmedia.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #17 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Byethost.com sucks website traffic by redirecting to mybookface.n

Initially Byethost.com work perfectly but they will steal all your website traffic by redirecting it to mybookface.net. Tens of other users have the same complaint. I lost a lot of website pakistanwebdesign.co.cc traffic due to this redirection. During my last four years search I did not find fully reliable and fully featured free hosting.

Biggest Pro: Purchased Plan is not tested
Biggest Con: No reliability

ByetHost is NOT recommended by Tahir Jamil. This person does NOT recommend ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on December 6th, 2009 at 08:24 EST by Tahir Jamil
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 119.152.134.216
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.pakistanwebdesign.co.cc/   Email: thrjml@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #18 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
uptime & reliability
5.50
server & connection speed
8.90
technical support & knowledge
8.50
customer service & billing
9.70
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

Decent

Byethost is good if you don't plan to add a MySQL database to your site. The servers are fast, but it seems they sacrificed MySQL reliability for server speed, as I see my site unable to load due to MySQL errors on a daily basis, which is easily solved by refreshing the page. However, once a month, I have to go into my admin panel, add a database I don't need and delete it to get all my MySQL databases to appear, since they randomly disappear into thin air. I'm also not the only person with this issue, as one of my friends from a gaming community (Simtropolis.com) had seen his site not loading due to a lost database. It's decent, but only if you're using pure HTML only.

Biggest Pro: Fast servers
Biggest Con: Unreliable and unpredictable MySQL

ByetHost is NOT recommended by Nelson Gomez. This person does NOT recommend ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    79.00% 
Reviewed on May 18th, 2009 at 21:21 EST by Nelson Gomez
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 173.77.148.167
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #19 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
uptime & reliability
8.70
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Byethost rocks!

I have now been hosting at byethost for some 4 or 5 years. Aside from the server being down now an then, which is to be expected with free hosting, I have never encountered any problems. Even if any small issues occured, they were swiftly solved by technical support, which has been really excellent.

When you post a support request ticket, it is only a matter of minutes, sometimes seconds, until you get the answer. All that 24/7. And they are always being very helpful, even though I am using FREE hosting. Even better - you need not place any annoying ads on your page these days to host for free. You get all basic services - including e-mail support and so on.

Although I have never really used a paid program, the excellence of their support and the quality of free hosting makes me sure, that their paid programs must little short of perfect.

Biggest Pro: support

ByetHost is recommended by Glorinand Tenniel. This person recommends ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on October 31st, 2008 at 17:21 EST by Glorinand Tenniel
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 78.98.93.71
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #20 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.