BlueHost

Visit BlueHost Visit BlueHost   Write your own BlueHost review. Write your own BlueHost review.
18 out of 42 (or 43% of) people recommend BlueHost.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
7.42 / 10.0 6.84 / 10.0 6.25 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
5.71 / 10.0 5.76 / 10.0
BlueHost
› Overall Rating ››    57.48% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 21 to 30 out of 42 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

BlueHost reviews

uptime & reliability
4.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
6.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

No Nightly Backups on BlueHost

I discovered the hard way that BlueHost does not do nightly backups. Their marketing site says "Courtesy Site Backups" but after they had a software or hardware glitch and had to restore my "/home" folder, the backup was dated from 30 days ago so a lot of my IMAP mail customers lost a month's worth of email.

Of course, as a developer, I have all the original site files, but email account additions and other settings that were made in the last month are gone.

When inquiring about this with Tech Support, they directed me to "Terms of Agreement" page on their site which he admitted was not even accessible from their main marketing site! Of course this hidden page indicated they only do monthly backups.

Aside from this recent blow-up, where the server was down for several hours, the server has had other shorter periods of downtime but probably not more than a typical B or C rated shared host.

As for my rating, this host is a "D" at best because of their backup policy and the length they go to in order to hide this fact from new customers who would expect that "backups" are industry standard, meaning "nightly".

Biggest Pro: 24/7 Phone support.
Biggest Con: No nightly backups.

BlueHost is NOT recommended by Ivan Kanski. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on July 19th, 2009 at 11:43 EST by Ivan Kanski
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 98.240.108.123
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #21 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
6.00
technical support & knowledge
4.00
customer service & billing
3.00
price value for money
8.00
* ratings are out of 10

BlueHost Sucks

On the first day I couldn't get into my account because they were "upgrading" the server where my website was hosting.

On the second day, my Ticket History had been wiped out due to another Upgrade in the Ticket management system.

I asked for hep about "a" and the next day I got an answer about "b"

Tired of their poor service and support I canceled my account and asked for a full refund on the second 2 day.

According to their Terms & Conditions I was entitled to a full refund.

Then, I got replies about fixing the technical problems that I had previously reported. But no words about my cancellation request.

I asked, again, but no replies.

After telling them that I was going to file complaints against them, I got some more questions about what was my email, my account name etc.

I answered those questions. And I got more delaying questions that I answered.

I filed a complaint.

After a few daysI was told that my BlueHost account had been canceled and that a full refund had been granted.

BlueHost is NOT recommended by Jose. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    45.00% 
Reviewed on April 16th, 2009 at 02:03 EST by Jose
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 62.101.185.157
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #22 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.80
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Simply outstanding!

I've been with Bluehost for years and will be renewing again. In my experience you really can't differentiate providers when things work well. It's when they don't that you find out what you really have. Over the years there have been several "problems" that needed Bluehost attention (most I created on my own). Each time Bluehost support has stepped up and made it work. No pointed fingers, just a total commitment to get the problem solved.

Also, with some hosts what you pay for is what you get. No more, no less. Which is fine for some. But isn't it annoying when you see new plans that are better than the one you have? But that's not the case with Bluehost. As their plans have improved by adding additional upgrades and features, my plan has improve without any hassles. It makes my investment worth more down the road.

Biggest Pro: Responsive support

BlueHost is recommended by Paul. This person recommends BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on April 3rd, 2009 at 14:42 EST by Paul
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 150.216.53.69
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #23 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
8.20
server & connection speed
6.10
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
9.70
price value for money
9.50
* ratings are out of 10

Bad experience, stay away

I was a paying customer for close to 3 years and one day they randomly shut down my account. Apparently one of my forums was reporting a high use of MYSQL logging. It was a mistake on my end, but they told me to find another host. I realize this is within their Terms of Service, but it was an honest mistake and they made no attempt to contact me to resolve the problem or make me aware of the situation. I got no fair chance to fix it.

Instead of helping me resolve the issue, they shut it down all my domains and essentially told me to leave. My script wasn't malicious, it was a forum not being configured correctly and getting spammed. This was causing high MYSQL queries.

Terrible support, they wouldn't even let me speak to the administrator that shutdown my account. They lots a loyal customer over stubbornness and their inability to communicate the problem to me properly.

For this I give them a HORRIBLE rating.

Biggest Pro: cheap
Biggest Con: bad support, bad customer experience

BlueHost is NOT recommended by JR. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on March 26th, 2009 at 16:00 EST by JR
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 70.183.1.106
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #24 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
8.00
customer service & billing
9.90
price value for money
7.50
* ratings are out of 10

Exactly one year later...

After dumping an unresponsive host last February, I moved to BlueHost as they had pretty good ranking where ever I checked. After one year of hosting I am renewing my account for another year. Their downtime is minimal-- non-existant for my account that I know of. Their customer support via email is fast and to the point. Their services are great for a small 'hostee' like myself. Unlimited domains, consistent email with 2500 mailboxes (!), their control panel is easy to use and has many features. Their shared servers are fast and so far have never had any problems as a shared account. I can't speak for big business or dedicated server people, but for a client that has four or five sites with decent but not overwhelming traffic these guys are perfect for me.

I did cut their value score because they did raise rates in the respect that if you don't upgrade to a three year deal you get bumped to %8.95 per month. It's not a deal breaker but their was no advance notice to current customers, just the larger price filled in on the renewal notice-- unprefessional in my book. I'd recommend BlueHost and plan on renewing until their price becomes unreasonable or their customer service slips.

So far I am pleased with my plan and the service that backs it up.

Biggest Pro: Nice feature set, price is competitive and customer service is responsive.
Biggest Con: Email spam control is SpamAssassin-- which is 'fair' compared to other filtering available on Windows servers.

BlueHost is recommended by Gary Mickelson. This person recommends BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    93.00% 
Reviewed on February 27th, 2009 at 12:43 EST by Gary Mickelson
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 24.179.184.104
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.spokanechessclub.org/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #25 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.10
technical support & knowledge
9.10
customer service & billing
9.90
price value for money
8.90
* ratings are out of 10

Good for small business.

I have been hosting my site with Bluehost for almost 2 yrs now.According to my experience with bluehost I think they are good small business hosting and honestly if you have a large business and million hits per month then why would you want shared hosting at all?

Pros: Good uptime,enough databases (50 mysql and 50 postgre),Goog bandwidth,Enough space,Decent customer service if you know what you are talking about otherwise no one can help an idiot.

Cons: Don't allow Full DNS management you have to open a ticket to get you CNAME or A record pushed.Don't allow streaming.Little bit overpriced for the service.

Remark:I recommend it for small business. Large business with over 100K hits/month please find a dedicated host and dont act cheap.

Biggest Pro: decent customer service,
Biggest Con: no DNS management

BlueHost is recommended by Hunter. This person recommends BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    93.00% 
Reviewed on February 26th, 2009 at 00:04 EST by Hunter
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 76.182.63.27
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.javachip.org/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #26 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
2.90
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Web site down yet again

In the last three months, bluehost server issues have caused my website to be down for periods of 15-30 minutes or more. I am running a business and the outages have cost me hundreds of dollars. This evening their entire system is down and they are saying more than an hour to restore it. If you are running a business, I would not recommend ths hosting service. Their customer service doesn't even offer to discount or refund for the service outages and doesn't seem to care that these outages are impacting our businesses.

Biggest Con: down time!!

BlueHost is NOT recommended by Danielle. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on January 16th, 2009 at 20:18 EST by Danielle
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 98.218.175.228
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #27 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
3.70
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.20
* ratings are out of 10

Bad Customer relation Jaking up price without customer content...

The jack up the price for old customers without warning. They offer 6.95 a month for new sign ups but for current customers like me who is almost 3 years with them, they bill 8.95 a month. When I called, they said that 6.95 a month is for new customers only and if I want this price I would have to pay up front for 3 years. Rip off people. Stay away from unprofessional company. Do not use BLUEHOST.COM. Once they obtain credit card they can do whatever they want. I'm reporting them also maximumpc magazine, I'll see what they going to say about it.

Biggest Pro: N/A
Biggest Con: Bad Customer relation

BlueHost is NOT recommended by Jerry. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    37.00% 
Reviewed on December 5th, 2008 at 21:43 EST by Jerry
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 67.163.52.80
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.alt-mediaproduction.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #28 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

The Absolute worst in every regard

I donít know where to start, so hereís a run down the issues the elaborate:

99.9% uptime is a joke.
In 4 months Iíve logged 11 hours of downtime. Thatís over 2 hours more than the allotted down time by that statistic, and thatís only what Iíve notices on nights and weekends.

Bandwidth is worse than dial up I had 10 years ago.
It took 37 minutes to download a 2 minute, 11MB streaming FLV file. I uploaded the same file, and same page, to another host Iím using, and it took 33 seconds to download.

Customer Service... uh, what customer service?
I reported both these problems through their helpdesk ticket system, neither which were ever replied too.

So, I called. On the first issue, that flat out told me Iím wrong. I read the dates and times, that said that couldnít be right. I asked for what their logs should on those dates, the said that information wasnít available.

The second issue - first they didnít understand at all what I was talking out. Then the tried to tell me it was a service provider issue. I then explained having both site host on my screen right now as I spoke, to which I got no reply - I was asked to hold, but was disconnect instead. My next call was to cancel service.

Biggest Pro: Well, they did manage to charge my credit card promptly if you call that a pro
Biggest Con: Everythng. I mean everything. Nothing good about this host exisit.

BlueHost is NOT recommended by Matt Hunsworth. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 2nd, 2008 at 11:23 EST by Matt Hunsworth
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 64.128.254.98
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.neozaz.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #29 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.70
server & connection speed
8.60
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
9.30
price value for money
8.20
* ratings are out of 10

This is not your long term web hosting.

I have 2 major problems with bluehost.

- Bluehost control panel and web email access use 2000 plus port number. I am behind the fire wall and totally blocked. So if you are behind firewall like me, go find another web hosting.

- I installed egroupware in my account and it works fine for long time. However suddenly it behaves strangely someday. I asked bluehost customer support if php or mysql has been updated recently. They did not answer my question directly, no any suggestion, and no any help

Finally I figured out bluehost upgraded php to 5.2.6. So I ask them if they can down grade php to previous version or move my account to different server with 5.2.5 or old php. Their response is NO. So if you are not software engineer or want have a stable website, bluehost is not a hosting company for you. Your website will stop working someday and you will not get any clue what happened. I have no choice and have to move to different web hosting company.

BlueHost is NOT recommended by zhenwei. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    70.00% 
Reviewed on May 16th, 2008 at 20:18 EST by zhenwei
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 24.128.160.102
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #30 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.