BlueHost

Visit BlueHost Visit BlueHost   Write your own BlueHost review. Write your own BlueHost review.
18 out of 42 (or 43% of) people recommend BlueHost.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
7.42 / 10.0 6.84 / 10.0 6.25 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
5.71 / 10.0 5.76 / 10.0
BlueHost
› Overall Rating ››    57.48% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 11 to 20 out of 42 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

BlueHost reviews

uptime & reliability
1.50
server & connection speed
1.50
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

Terrible, clueless, money grubbers!

Here's the short:
Customer service is horrible, they rarely (if ever) answer their own help desk tickets.
Customer service on the phone - rude and clueless.
Downtime of the time I know about equates to a 81% uptime, not 99.97.
Early auto renewed my account by 3 months, it took 5 months to get everything straightened out.

Here's the long:
I conduct seminar's that are video taped, and I then release them online. Because of the file sizes, they claimed I was storing copyrighted material. MY OWN SEMINARS?!??!?! I haven't even copyrighted them, where's the violation? I argued with for 3 weeks about this and what it came down too as I was "using too much space" and using "too much bandwidth" which is a bit confusing since they offer UNLIMITED STORAGE and UNLIMITED BANDWIDTH!!!

Terrible. Just Terrible. Save yourself the trouble, go ANYWHERE else!!!

BlueHost is NOT recommended by Chuck Smoothe. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on July 8th, 2011 at 22:09 EST by Chuck Smoothe
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 97.101.242.87
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #11 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
5.30
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
2.60
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
1.70
* ratings are out of 10

DO NOT USE BLUEHOST.COM. IT IS LOUSY

Blue Host Sucks.... lousy support, lousy uptime, lousy connection. Dont use bluehost if you need a business running. They are the worst i every come across after using so many hosting. I am getting out of this stupid hosting company

Biggest Pro: No + Points, everything they have all others have, they only sell it slighly cheaper
Biggest Con: not reliable. unprofessional support

BlueHost is NOT recommended by Dan. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on June 18th, 2011 at 00:15 EST by Dan
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 218.186.8.245
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.singaporecondoinfo.com/   Email: danjehh@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #12 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

If you are thinking of BlueHost choose Hostgator instead!

Below is the email I got after more than a day of outage on my brand new account with BlueHost. It is still not functioning correctly, in fact they disabled core functions and left me with broken pages and told me I have to just wait for an undermined amount of time. I have had both dedicated and shared plans with Hostgator, trust me, don't use BlueHost. DONT.

"Unfortunately your server is still under a DDoS attack and will respond extremely slowly (if at all). As soon as the attack discontinues or is otherwise resolved the server will function normally again.

A DDoS attack is essentially a highly distributed attack on the server. It's usually done by a hacker getting viruses in thousands of computers and having them send as many connections as possible, as quickly as possible, to the box.

We are working to reduce the effect of the attack and find out which account is being targeted. Unfortunately, we can't know which account is being attacked without extensive steps, as the IP Address on the server is shared.

DDoS attacks can last anywhere from hours to days.

Your data is safe. Just currently inaccessible."

Biggest Pro: cheap
Biggest Con: server non-responsive for more than a day within my first month.

BlueHost is NOT recommended by Jim. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on June 1st, 2011 at 10:46 EST by Jim
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 71.229.218.130
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.celebrity-smack.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #13 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

No security. They don't care if your site is hacked

Our web site got hacked through a flaw in a PHP script I wrote. Like any complex system, the hack would not have been possible if other common security measures had been in place. I couldn't imagine that a commercial web host would:
keep error logs and .ini files in the public root directory and not deny access by default
write PHP errors to the browser
not write PHP error logs
allow all PHP functions such as shell access and low level file operations
allow URLs to be treated as files (allow_url_fopen = On and allow_url_include = On). Setting these to off would have prevented the hack.
access and error logs were turned off

Default security should be strong. Anybody who needs less security will know how to configure it.

As soon as I discovered the hack, I opened a support ticket and was told that I was responsible for security. They e-mailed me some links to decent articles on security after I bugged them for several days. They really did not act concerned at all. The security articles on their site were rather general and did not tell the user what specifically needed to be done on their site for security.

Biggest Pro: None. They are a little more expensive than other sites.
Biggest Con: Lack of security and lack of concern about it.

BlueHost is NOT recommended by Vernon. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on January 30th, 2011 at 16:43 EST by Vernon
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 74.243.206.251
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.scacadscience.org/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #14 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
6.00
price value for money
7.00
* ratings are out of 10

Meh.

I've used Bluehost for a few years. Uptime has been pretty decent, but there have been some random outages that nobody at BlueHost seemed to know anything about. It can be difficult to get through to support, and even when I do, they aren't particularly knowledgeable. The cPanel interface is pretty good, and I love that they use SimpleScripts, which makes installing and updating WordPress and PHPbb quick and easy.

The #1 reason I am moving from Bluehost is that they changed their Acceptable Use Policy, and now any type of "profanity or profane subject matter in the site content" is cause for immediate termination. Come on now, people - have we suddenly time-traveled back to the Victorian era? I run six blog sites and a forum, and don't have the time nor the inclination to moderate all posts and comments for the f-word. Customer support claims they don't enforce this policy often, but it's a lame way to do business, so I'm moving on to a less restrictive host.

Biggest Pro: SimpleScripts rocks!
Biggest Con: Ridiculously restrictive Acceptable Use Policy

BlueHost is NOT recommended by pixiestash. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on November 7th, 2010 at 10:42 EST by pixiestash
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 69.130.148.24
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #15 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Good overall hosting

I used bluehost services for about one and a half years and I was extremely pleased with their services.

I run a web forum about sports on vBulletin with about 15,000 members and sometimes 1000 online at the same time (When running competitions) and I've never had an issue.

The only reason I left Bluehost is that I needed a dedicated server for my website with Xeon processors, and I'm still gonna extend my bluehost account for using it as a uploading image database for the forums.

BlueHost is recommended by Arman. This person recommends BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on December 30th, 2009 at 18:02 EST by Arman
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 88.208.192.146
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #16 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
4.60
server & connection speed
4.60
technical support & knowledge
4.60
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.60
* ratings are out of 10

Do not select Blue Host

My website went down often. When I called technical support many of their service reps were not very knowledgable or they played "dumb" in trying to explain why the site was going down. After getting the run around so many times I got upset and the service rep I got upset with found 1 mp3 on the server I had and suspended my account. I thought that was really petty as that mp3 had bee on their for well over a year and I know it was suspended because that rep went looking for a reason to "get me back" for being rightfully angry.

I also emailed the owner shortly after he started his blog on Blue Host and he did not care about the problems I was having with his company. The response I received did not include an apology or explanation.

I would not recommend their company based on my experience. It also seems as if I am not the only person that received their shotty service.

BlueHost is NOT recommended by Cunning Prose. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on October 3rd, 2009 at 16:48 EST by Cunning Prose
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 99.155.23.246
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #17 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
8.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Great for hosting personal websites

I've used Bluehost for about 4 years now and haven't had any problems (save when my wiki got hacked because I hadn't updated the wiki software). I don't use them for an commercial purposes but I host a family album, a wiki, a forum, and a general personal website. I have a friend who has used them for a few years as well and neither of us have had any problems. Like I said, I can't speak to using them for running a business website, but if you want to host a wiki, forums, etc. I think they are a pretty good deal. They include a lot of tools to help build website; I'm no expert but I was able to set a forum, family photo album, and wiki with the free tools that they provided.

Biggest Pro: unlimited bandwidth and storage space

BlueHost is recommended by Daemon. This person recommends BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on August 31st, 2009 at 05:43 EST by Daemon
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 210.206.75.211
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #18 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
5.10
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Bluehost sucks

On the beggining they seemed to be fine but they started make a problems with time. They say everything is unlimited but they limited EVERYTHING. They suspended my web site and actually never expleined WHY? Only what they did was offering other plans of course more expensive! They never give me a chance to received all my files back so I lost everything i kept there, all my files. They in very rude way told me THERE IS NO BACKUP on your file! Overall BLUEHOST is sucks!KEEP AWAY!

BlueHost is NOT recommended by Greg. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 28th, 2009 at 13:14 EST by Greg
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 98.109.237.6
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.eurojob.us/   Email: allinall@o2.pl
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #19 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Good customer wiped out by Bluehost

I was a good customer of bluehost, never a late payment and had been there quite a while without putting much of a strain on their helpdesk or systems. But then some hacker (hacked my system then wanted to get paid to fix it -- a bluehost employee?) got through their software and overlayed a few files in 2 of my websites. Day 1 they told me about it and told me 3 strikes and i was out. Day 2 with no other communications they shut my 5 websites down without warning. They don't follow their own rules and are totally unreasonable if a problem occurs. Not a good place for websites that are important to you.

Biggest Pro: connection speed
Biggest Con: unreasonable policies and implementation of them

BlueHost is NOT recommended by Carl. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 22nd, 2009 at 02:39 EST by Carl
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 122.52.117.12
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.beautifulphilippinegirls.com/   Email: cebuproperties@yahoo.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #20 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.