Aplus

Visit Aplus Visit Aplus   Write your own Aplus review. Write your own Aplus review.
1 out of 22 (or 5% of) people recommend Aplus.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.10 / 10.0 4.25 / 10.0 1.74 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.05 / 10.0 3.09 / 10.0
Aplus
› Overall Rating ››    12.59% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 11 to 20 out of 22 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

Aplus reviews

uptime & reliability
0.80
server & connection speed
1.20
technical support & knowledge
3.20
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

APlus.net is Awful

Aplus.net was the first company to host our corporation web site. We are international, and rely on web functioning. In 2000, APlus.net ranked among the top three web hosting companies. Since the "upgrade" in 2009, we've had significant downtime with little help. APlus.net lost its placement in top ten rankings. Basic tech support takes weeks, with little to no success. Knowledge at APlus.net is minimal. Our OSCommerce has worked on and off, mostly off, for over a year. APlus.net blame our top web designers and web masters for the problem, yet provide no evidence to back up their claims. Their "legal" department, i.e., a paralegal trained at a low-ranking community college, makes false accusations and, when challenged, goes silent. Thus, we find APlus.net unaccountable for its deficiencies, and dishonorable. After ten years with APlus.net, we've left for another hosting service, and do not recommend APlus.net.

Aplus is NOT recommended by sam. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    2.00% 
Reviewed on October 26th, 2010 at 18:47 EST by sam
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 99.101.128.14
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #11 out of 22 Aplus reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Jumped the Shark

This company underwent a complete meltdown in the fall of 2009. Up until then I was relatively happy, although their tech support was never very good, and their people were never very helpful.

But last fall, they did a "server upgrade." My page load speeds went from the top 5% to the bottom 10%. My site became so slow I could watch my images unroll slowly as if someone was pulling down a window shade. Some of my pages suddenly took 15 seconds or more to load.

Repeated complaints were to no avail- they told me they "tested" my server and could find nothing wrong.
It was funny, but my site was relatively fast in the middle of the night, only to become unusable in the daytime! On and on it went, and I lost tons of revenue until I got the hell out of there.

Now I'm battling with them because they keep charging my credit card for a hosting plan I cancelled weeks ago. That's another thing - nothing you do in your "control panel" has any effect until you CALL THEM SOMETIMES 3 OR 4 TIMES.

Imho, you'd have to be crazy to use this schlock outfit - they are every publisher's nightmare.

Aplus is NOT recommended by Bruce. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on August 30th, 2010 at 09:40 EST by Bruce
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 71.239.128.139
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.cirrusimage.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #12 out of 22 Aplus reviews
uptime & reliability
4.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

No Longer Viable Hosting Service

I thought I had found a great company, however since the recent forced "upgrade", (which was really a sale to another company) they have been the worst hosting company I've ever used. They even shutdown any web or email changes for a week during the "upgrade". I've never had an upgrade require that before.

Long waits for tech support which now simply enters trouble tickets since they don't have any expertise. They changed settings in MySQL database, and it is still down 2 weeks later. Changed email account login settings without notifying us and still having email problems. Their SPAM filtering took a large step backwards!

- STAY AWAY! -

Biggest Con: Terrible Customer Support

Aplus is NOT recommended by Tom Rose. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on November 11th, 2009 at 09:42 EST by Tom Rose
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 173.57.54.220
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #13 out of 22 Aplus reviews
uptime & reliability
8.50
server & connection speed
7.90
technical support & knowledge
4.60
customer service & billing
5.80
price value for money
4.30
* ratings are out of 10

APLUS is losing ground

We are an APLUS Gold Reseller and were just informed that they are doing a platform upgrade. No problem, that happens with all companies. The problem is that it took several emails to support and phone calls to get the details. The bigger problem is that while our sites, we have 23 separate sites with APLUS on shared servers, will be up during the upgrade, we are not allowed to make any changes for 7 days. How can anyone explain to their customers that that no emergency or any other notices can be posted for 7 days.

We are now forced to find another hosting company and move our sites because we cannot afford for our sites to be static for 7 days. Clearly they do not have the technical knowledge required to maintain their business.

We have used several hosting companies over the past 15 years and never had this happen. It appears they made a decision on what is best for them, not their customers.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: upgrade process

Aplus is NOT recommended by Allen. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    48.00% 
Reviewed on October 29th, 2009 at 19:09 EST by Allen
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 68.37.151.47
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Unix   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #14 out of 22 Aplus reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
9.80
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Aplus gets a D-

I was a Cedant customer for years until they brought them out. I had major problems with them billing me for extra band width without a good explanation. Our email has been down for over a day and we just get a run around. Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else. I have sites hosted with Hostgater and we have never had a problem, here it is one after another.

Biggest Pro: Connection Speed
Biggest Con: Customer Service

Aplus is NOT recommended by Ted Garoutte. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on October 28th, 2009 at 23:10 EST by Ted Garoutte
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 98.247.63.79
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #15 out of 22 Aplus reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

Poor Services and no follow up.

I was with Aplus for a couple of years. Many a times whenever we need customer support, there is a slag in waiting time and response. Howevere, this is not my biggest concern as we have to consider their conveniences until recently i was totally blew off.

Aplus changed my email setting without my consent. I have lost all historys of my business transactions. I told them to replace and they said that cannot do anything without admiting their fault.

In the very first place, I did not request for an update, and most importantly, they did not tell me about the upgrade. We were denied log in to our emails for almost a week and no one bothers to attend to us. We log in to customer support and they cant do much things to help.

This company is cheating and spam mails are always sending to us 24/7 without fail. They cannot give us a reasonable answer and simply brush us off.

Aplus is NOT recommended by Cassandra. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on October 25th, 2009 at 10:18 EST by Cassandra
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 122.45.14.69
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #16 out of 22 Aplus reviews
uptime & reliability
3.80
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
0.80
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
0.30
* ratings are out of 10

Avoid Aplus unless you want poor service

Aplus is a nightmare. STAY AWAY. They have limited or no technical expertise and the customer service is abysmal. I have been trying to get an MX record altered for more than 3 weeks and they still cant figure out how to accomlish this 3 minute change. Now they lost all my email distribution lists! Ahhhh!

Biggest Pro: cheap
Biggest Con: everything else

Aplus is NOT recommended by Dave. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    12.00% 
Reviewed on October 19th, 2009 at 10:30 EST by Dave
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 174.146.33.113
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #17 out of 22 Aplus reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
2.50
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Utter hell

Stuck with another year on contract.

Cant wait to get out of this hell hole.

Horrible customer support and response time is in the order of weeks.

And they have everything covered in the license agreement.

So even if there is downtime of 1 week, the license agreement will take care of it so that you dont get even a penny back.

And the management just wants to make money at any cost. This is largely because there is no standard authority monitoring these guys. They can do what ever the hell they want.

Biggest Con: Support and Management

Aplus is NOT recommended by Anand. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 19th, 2009 at 03:04 EST by Anand
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 70.176.40.9
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #18 out of 22 Aplus reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
8.30
technical support & knowledge
9.60
customer service & billing
9.30
price value for money
9.40
* ratings are out of 10

For Spammers Only

Legitimate businesses may want to avoid Aplus. They seem to prefer only spammers. After using Aplus for years, last year I notice many of my emails to customers using portals including Yahoo, MSN and Hotmail were routinely blocked. I lost track of the number of times. My suggestion, avoid Aplus.

Aplus is NOT recommended by Greg. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 14th, 2009 at 19:36 EST by Greg
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 67.35.117.93
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Unix   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #19 out of 22 Aplus reviews
uptime & reliability
7.50
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

They blame ME for their problems!!!

Aplus.net reminds me of those hosts where you get unlimitted space, bandwidth, etc. all for just $10/year, but without the price.

I tried to run one of their built in scripts but had several failed attempts. Basically just trying to run a basic web site to show pictures to friends. Funny thing is their built in scripts (Gallery) weren't working. When I called them they said that the problem (Aplus control panel gave me error saying that my domain was not recognized). I tried everything that could have possibly be resulting from my computer, flushing dns, restarting, flushing again, restarting, clearing cache, cookies, etc., flushing dns, restarting, nothing. THe tech insisted that their servers were fine and it was my cache.

Another error involved them somehow blocking my IP address so that I couldn't send or receive email. I had to use a VPN to get into my work's IP space to get my email, then I was able to get another IP from my ISP (in same class C sapce) and it worked but they refused to acknowledge me email. Not to mentioned turned my firewall clear off.

They continued to claim my email client wasn't configured correctly in this case, but my email client (using laptop) worked fine when I connected to a port in the same ISP!!!

Aplus is NOT recommended by Gavin Northey. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on September 5th, 2008 at 23:24 EST by Gavin Northey
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 206.174.63.62
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: gm@northeys.net
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #20 out of 22 Aplus reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.