1and1

Visit 1and1 Visit 1and1   Write your own 1and1 review. Write your own 1and1 review.
18 out of 182 (or 10% of) people recommend 1and1.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.64 / 10.0 4.98 / 10.0 2.95 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.34 / 10.0 2.03 / 10.0
1and1
› Overall Rating ››    21.17% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 161 to 170 out of 182 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2  ...  13 14 15 16 17 18 19

1and1 reviews

uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Don't wast you time or money on 1&1

I tried 1&1 hosting and in my opinion don't waste your time or money. First, the control SUCKS, I like Cpanel. I tried the Tools for writing HTML. Newsletters, and alike they are very slow and efficient. I was very disappointment after reading all their 5 or more page ad's, I seen in a magazine about their company and so gave them a spin.

Therefore, in my opinion, don't waste your time or money. Find a REAL HOSTING company like the one I'm using now and stay clear of 1&1 I'll be glad you did.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: All the above.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Robert Hartung. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on February 14th, 2008 at 03:32 EST by Robert Hartung
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 67.78.3.58
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.roberthartung.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #161 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.60
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

1&1 Internet is simply the worst hosting company available

Buyer/user beware of this company! They seem alright in the beginning, but if you run a legitimate business and expect them to keep their end of keeping your site up and running, provide tech support, etc. then you are in for a rude awakening. They have failed to respond to more than 30 of my emails, and their resolutions have never been helpful if they come at all. They actually were hosting a site of mine, and sold the same domain name to another company after it was paid for and up. They refused to speak to us about it, and even failed to respond to media requests. I'm an investigative journalist, and many of my colleagues both domestically and internationally have contacted them, and they don't respond. If you need further proof of their incredibly poor ethics and business acumen, check our their totally unsatisfactory record with the Better Business Bureau at www.bbb.org for more information. Also, their have been a large number of complaints against them with the Pennsylvania Attorney General's office, and I am in constant contact with my source there to keep on top if the investigation as it progresses. Finally, I am in the final phase of filing a lawsuit against them, which has already caught the attention of the media, and since I'm part of the press, print and broadcast outlets are already putting stories together about them. Please reconsider before giving 1&1 a single penny, and choose from one of the truly good solid hosting companies available.

Biggest Pro: Their good at being deceitful
Biggest Con: Tech support, billing, knowledge, customer support, telling the truth, solving issues, getting back with you, etc.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Kelli Jack. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on February 11th, 2008 at 00:07 EST by Kelli Jack
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 75.27.25.123
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.spa-art.com/   Email: kjackline@aol.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #162 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
8.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

1and1 Linux Beginner Hosting Package

I currently host 10 websites (including one for my local business) with the 1and1 beginner package. To me, 1and1 is a very reliable host and I have never had an experience where the server was unavailable in the 3 years I have been with 1and1. The server speed is exceptionally fast even though it is a shared server. I have contacted their technical support with a few inquiries in the past and they responded answering my questions in about 4-12 hours. If you want to cancel a option or domain within your 1and1 contract it is very easy and painless. In the long run, I am a huge fan of 1and1.

Biggest Pro: Price and Reliability

1and1 is recommended by Mike. This person recommends 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on February 10th, 2008 at 20:44 EST by Mike
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 24.152.202.66
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.helpmemike.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #163 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.60
technical support & knowledge
9.10
customer service & billing
9.60
price value for money
9.20
* ratings are out of 10

1and1.com Hosting Review

This is my review on 1and1 hosting. Some topics I will cover are: speed, control panel, customer service, and prices. Okay, the speed is great, I am constantly getting compliments on how fast my websites are. The speeds are sometimes very slow because of updating or adding new features, but it has only happened to me once within 4 months, for about 10 minutes. And it is perfect after that. I am very impressed with the speed. Also my websites have only been down once for about 3 minutes. The control is panel is nice looking, well organized, and easy to use. Only once thing I dislike is there are delays for most things to setup. Like MySQL Databases, take up to 60 minutes to setup, usually around 20 though. Some others are like that too. But it's okay, everything works so well after the wait. I think it's worth it. I have used the customer service once and it is very great. Their employees aren't clueless people they picked off of the streets, they know what they're doing. Prices are freat, I pay $30 a month for 3 domains, 250GB/2.5TB, and lots of other things I won't get into details. I highly recommend this host to everybody out there! Thanks for reading this hopefully I gave you good ideas.

1and1 is recommended by Tristan. This person recommends 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    97.00% 
Reviewed on January 5th, 2008 at 21:35 EST by Tristan
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 70.55.44.88
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.flawless-x.net/   Email: tristangemus@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #164 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
6.40
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
7.70
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

1and1, is so and so...

As the title says, 1and1 isn't all its cracked up to be. It has great pricing, great features, but thats all. There customer service is lack luster. Seems like they hire whoever they want. There download speeds are slow, and there connection speeds are not so good compared to other hosting companies I have had business with. One thing positive that can be said is they have good uptime and reliability. Lack luster over the board, but there price keeps me there, and there features.

Biggest Pro: Pricing and Uptime
Biggest Con: Everything else

1and1 is NOT recommended by Nikolce Jolakoski. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    65.00% 
Reviewed on January 1st, 2008 at 15:55 EST by Nikolce Jolakoski
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 76.16.117.212
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.mkfudbal.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #165 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
5.30
technical support & knowledge
4.00
customer service & billing
6.00
price value for money
2.50
* ratings are out of 10

Exchange Hosting Disaster

1and1 offers one of the lowest-cost hosting plans for Microsoft Exchange, only US$6.99 per month for a 1GB account. It is possible to access the account using a browser with Outlook Web Access (OWA), with Outlook, and with PDA clients like the Treo.

The support from 1and1 seems to have improved in terms of response time from 2005/2006.

But that is the end of any good news.

Microsoft cripples OWA so that it only works in full mode with Internet Explorer, which is still banned in my environment. Using Firefox or similar browsers results in lots of functionality disappearing, in particular the search functions. If you need to use a non-Microsoft browser, then software like Open Exchange might be a better option. But these limitations are not necessarily 1and1's fault.

If you want to use another client, you are limited to Outlook 2007, and to connect properly, you *must* be on at least Windows XP (maybe even Vista now). It should be possible to use other clients, such as Evolution, but 1and1 disables certain functionality (as per Microsoft directions for 'security' reasons) so that Evolution cannot connect. Companies running Exchange can easily enable the missing functionality without creating any security issue, but 1and1 chooses not to do this.

PDA access will work on a Treo 650, and you get full e-mail access and calendar access and synchronization, but not contacts. It is also not possible to get 'push' e-mail using any out-of-the-box 1and1 setup.

So for flexible access, you are really limited to Outlook Web Access (OWA).

Unfortunately, depending on 1and1 OWA is a really bad idea.

1and1 has suffered unpredictable service interruptions for at least two years. Their technical support line answers the phone much more quickly than they used to, but their knowledge is limited and they almost never have the ability to fix whatever is wrong, or give any idea of how long it will be down. Usually after an hour or two, the service would reappear.

Around September 2007, 1and1 apparently began upgrading its Exchange servers to a newer version. That is when things really started to go wrong. The service would become unavailable for hours at a time - sometimes refusing logins, sometimes logging in and not functioning, sometimes just not there at all. There also appeared to be occasional issues with some incoming and outgoing e-mail being discarded without any trace (though I was never able to get a smoking gun).

When these issues arise, there is a workaround to get emergency access to your e-mail: You can use the XAdmin function to request that a backup file be prepared. This .PST file can be downloaded to your PC, and you can open it with just about any old version of Outlook.

Unfortunately, when the problems started, the backup functionality also became hit-and-miss. Instead of producing a backup of the whole user account, which could be hundreds of megabytes, the system often produces a backup file of less than 2KB.

Calling technical support because the main system is down, or because the backup system is not working, is pretty much a waste of time. In numerous calls to them, they answer the phone quickly, but they have never been able to actually fix anything.

Sometimes, depending on the issue, they are able to offer helpful suggestions. For example, when OWA stopped working last week, displaying only a couple of empty frames with '404 File Not Found' errors after login, they suggested using inconfig /flushdns to fix the problem. This did indeed allow the system to work for a couple of hours, before their technicians changed something even more fundamental and the workaround no longer worked.

In the most common scenario - where technical support has received lots of calls because something is not working, but they can't actually fix anything or offer any workaround - calling them is just a frustrating waste of time. The worst thing is that they have no idea when, or even if, a problem is ever going to be fixed.

When pressed, 1and1 technical support will explain to you that if you are really unhappy, you can contact their complaints department. But this is only possible by e-mail. When you explain that the reason you are calling is because your e-mail is not working, and therefore giving a complaints address is useless, they can only suggest you wait until your e-mail is working again, then send your complaint.

But what has really taken the cake is their most recent server security reconfiguration.

As I write this review, it has been six days since I have been able to access my Exchange e-mail. It is impossible to get in with Microsoft OWA (a successful login just results in 'Page not found' errors), and it is impossible to get any valid backup (only 2KB files are produced that don't contain the real backup data).

I have called at least once each day, and they have not been able to help at all. They do seem to have confirmed that they cannot access my account from their computers either, but that's it. No idea of when it might be fixed. They even say in awed tones that the failure 'has been escalated to administration', and that I will hear via e-mail what is happening (at a non-1and1 e-mail address of course...). In fact, there has been absolutely no word from 1and1 for six days, no update, no apology, no estimated time of fixing.

I have also e-mailed the customer complaint address twice, asking for a credit for the service interruption, a fax number for their president and CEO that I can use to complain, and an estimated time that the service will be properly fixed. I have not received any response at all to either e-mail.

Fortunately, this period has included a weekend and a couple of holidays, but as of tomorrow morning this interruption will be destroying business again. Based on recent experience, I do not expect anything to change. I am now in the process of moving my e-mail account away from the 1and1 hosted Exchange service, though that is difficult and time-consuming. It also looks like I am likely to lose e-mail, at least for some time, because there is mail queuing up in the 1and1 account at the moment that I cannot get to.

I find it astounding that a company as large as 1and1 can botch a software upgrade as seriously as 1and1 has. There is obviously no organized regression testing when they make system changes, and based on so many of the errors being permission-based from IIS as they cut off access to needed pages, their security people must be complete amateurs (no disrespect to amateurs intended).

Any normal IT executive would have been fired weeks ago if there were half the problems that 1and1 has had. And given 1and1's visibility in the market, I'm surprised that Microsoft seems to have stood by and watched 1and1 destroy any decent reputation Exchange might have had. Tthough maybe 1and1's deal in Germany to offer hosted Open Exchange means Microsoft is now out to screw 1and1.

I have many other services hosted with 1and1, and I have had problems with them from time to time. However, dollar-for-dollar their other services do seem to meet a market need, and none of their other services has been a disaster on the scale of Microsoft Exchange.

In summary: Forget about 1and1 for hosted Exchange. They are incapable of delivering the service. The fact that it is cheap means nothing when it simply does not work at all.

Biggest Pro: Cheap
Biggest Con: Doesn't work

1and1 is NOT recommended by John Sinton. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    5.00% 
Reviewed on December 26th, 2007 at 22:11 EST by John Sinton
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 209.161.249.186
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #166 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

1 and 1 will screw any customer and they don't care - CS sucks!

Trying to get an issue resolved with them is next to impossible, They have Filipino's you can barely understand. I tried to pay on my account and they ended up sending it to collections and locked my account.

I am telling everyone I know to cancel with them and emailing all the magazines and trying to get a class action lawsuit started against them. Thats how pissed off I am by their Crap service.

Try to transfer any thing through them, you'll pull you're hair out.

Their Control Panel Blows, everyone says so.

These Crouts from Germany should be banned from doing business in the US.

Biggest Pro: Register domains cheaply
Biggest Con: Customer Service and any issue you can think of goes bad.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Ken Savage. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    2.00% 
Reviewed on December 22nd, 2007 at 13:33 EST by Ken Savage
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 76.112.129.182
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #167 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
8.20
customer service & billing
7.00
price value for money
8.20
* ratings are out of 10

Good basic Host, but lacks a cpanel

I have been hosting my site with 1&1 for approximately 11 months and have experienced little problems. I currently use the Business package that for starters give you some nice features. I received 3 free domains, which is pretty nice. The amount of bandwidth and space is more than I will ever need for my math site, but is nice to have. I have not experienced any downtime since February although, my traffic is not huge. The only experience I have used since getting the host is upgrading to the better host. Like most companies, they were really quick and easy to upgrade me. The biggest negative of 1&1 is the lack of a cpanel. Everything has to be ftp'd which is kind of annoying when you only have to make a small change. Especially if you are not using your own computer, and they do not have an ftp client. The website application more than make up for this. I added a nice basic form, that is really easy to create. There are a lot of nice little scripts to use. They also provide a CD with alot of nice programs including PDF2Web, Adobe photoshop and GoLive. If you do not mind not having a cpanel then 1 & 1 is a good host to go with.

Biggest Pro: Uptime and prices
Biggest Con: No cpanel

1and1 is recommended by Andrew Schweikert. This person recommends 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    76.00% 
Reviewed on December 16th, 2007 at 21:39 EST by Andrew Schweikert
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 71.61.198.231
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.mathassignment.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #168 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
8.60
server & connection speed
7.50
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Bit Slow Servers But Great Price Value & Efficient Support

Before going for 1and1 hosting i read a lot of -ve reviews but found that they were inaccurate as 1and1 hosting is one great firm in web hosting business & has maximum number of websites hosted there. Here's in brief what i found in my hosting period at 1and1.(Note-I'm also currently hosted there)

Price Value
The beginner package of Linux hosting costs only $3.95 consists of everything like huge space and bandwidth & i host some of very high traffic & have not faced any major problems there. They accept payment via cc and paypal.

What Things You Get What You Don't
But one problem some newbie webmasters can face is that there is no CPanel control panel in the beginner package & you have to do everything using FTP softwares. In the higher plan there is a easy click & build application but is too difficult than Fantascio Easy Installer of Cpanel. Again the easy installer which is available in few plans do support installation of few scripts only. Easy installer of scripts are not present in the $3.99 plan & any of it's plans do not have wordpress easy install script so forcing to install wordpress manually via FTP which may not be easy for all. Also there's noway to check stats with in the admin panel in the beginner plan.

Server Speed
The server speed was good in first months but has degraded now as websites hosted there load bit slow (not that slow) as a lot of websites are hosted in 1and1 shared plans. Some days i did notice a downtime(500 internal error in websites) but after asking their support got fixed quickly. This has happened for 2-3 times in my 4 months of hosting at 1and1 & every time calling/emailing support got fixed them instantly. But because of bit slowness i plan to shift to other host later because i host some heavy traffic forum there.

Support
That's fine every time i emailed them they replied quickly & promptly. When sites were down i emailed them and got it fixed in quick time. But i had a prob with some files taking a lot of spaces & i reported them to find out. They did find it out but with out my consent deleted them & many plugins/script broke as they deleted some files that stored session information. How come they delete my folders without consent.

Reputation & Popularity
Even tough many people hate 1and1 it's the only host to provide great facilities(10 databases,20 add on domains, unlimited 1and1 domains etc) at low price of $3.99/month(beginner plan) & is the most popular hosting company in USA, UK & world wide.

Interface
Easy interface to manage domains, search engine submissions, marketing vouchers, billing, file manager, ftp etc are present. But in the starting plan no specific easy installer & control panel like cpanel are present. Also in that plan you can't check stats there.

So except bit slow servers & absence of Cpanel everything is fine in this highly reputed company. I recommend you to go for the beginner plan if you want cheap but reputed host with all facilities.

Biggest Pro: Great Facilities In Cheapest Price(High value/price)
Biggest Con: No Cpanel - NoEasy Installer

1and1 is recommended by Satyanarayan. This person recommends 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    85.00% 
Reviewed on December 15th, 2007 at 13:42 EST by Satyanarayan
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 59.93.128.254
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.bloggingtruths.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #169 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

The true colours of 1and1

1and1 may seem ok when you start; and you trust 1and1 when you read they are the biggest etc; and I can see why some-people think they are good, when you do not have any problems.

But once you do get any kind of problem; then 1and1 show their true colours.

I cancelled a new business package after not being able to get it on line; and their customer support informed me of the month grace to cancel if not happy with the package etc; but this was false information by 1and1; as they charged me three months fee's for a service I never used once.

OK; no problem; they stole my money under false pretences; if they are that desperate; their needs are greater than mine; or any other customer's when push comes to shove.

Now; 1and1 will continue to steal your money if you do not cancel your credit card etc; and if you do protect yourself by doing just that; they will pass over their future attempted extortion racket, to another branch of their organization; who in turn will then threaten you even more, with their threats department etc..

It is no use trying to communicate with them to try and sort out simple logic or just honest common sense; as many thousands will tell you; and if you want a taste of their customer service; have a look at the website of a man called Simon etc; they are still the same today; as they were years ago; this man by the way needs congratulations on his abilty to do what he has done; if I had the ability; I could have posted much the same thing; only a couple of years later.

I am happy for 1and1 to take me to court; not only for stealing my money they had no right to; but even after all this; they want another 4 which they say I owe them; even with cancelled contracts; but it is clear they are not interested in the 4 alone; they just want my new credit card number; and are using the false claim of 4; in order to get my new credit card number; which will allow them to continue to steal money they have no right to; but underhand false claims.

For those of you that think they are fine; and you get good service; I say this to you; just wait till you get a problem with them; then you will see them for what they are; and you will then know that many thousands of us cannot all be wrong...Micky.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Michael Bishop. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on November 22nd, 2007 at 08:06 EST by Michael Bishop
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 81.159.191.249
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.mickyinlondon.co.uk/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #170 out of 182 1and1 reviews
1 2  ...  13 14 15 16 17 18 19
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.