1and1

Visit 1and1 Visit 1and1   Write your own 1and1 review. Write your own 1and1 review.
18 out of 182 (or 10% of) people recommend 1and1.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.64 / 10.0 4.98 / 10.0 2.95 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.34 / 10.0 2.03 / 10.0
1and1
› Overall Rating ››    21.17% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 151 to 160 out of 182 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2  ...  12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

1and1 reviews

uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
4.00
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

HORRIBLE. Downtime King is all I can say.

Downtime King. My business package goes down every other week, I already have these guy's phone number on speed dial because I have to call so often regarding down time. Absolutely horrible customer service and its unacceptable.

Biggest Pro: NONE
Biggest Con: Downtime every other week.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Tanaka. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on September 23rd, 2008 at 19:21 EST by Tanaka
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 67.159.170.66
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #151 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

A Quadriplegic Company

24/7 Tech support is only able to make changes as long as the 9-5 department is open. Our account was locked because we sent out an email blast to our company subscribers, something very common to companies today. It was locked for email abuse. We called tech support to have it unlocked and were referred to the abuse department which was closed. They say to respond to the email notifications they sent us, but WOW! ... we can't get to our emails because OUR ACCOUNT WAS LOCKED! So now our website is down until tomorrow and we can't sell tickets to the event that we're hosting. Thanks 1and1, for being there when we need you most!

Biggest Con: Tech Support

1and1 is NOT recommended by Pissed beyond belief. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on August 14th, 2008 at 17:52 EST by Pissed beyond belief
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 76.235.150.131
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
36 out of 36 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #152 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.40
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Just horrible

This is the worst hosting service. I had an account with them and it is the worst customer service, the platform is slow, lack of support, etc. I also have an account with other host service and I can appreciate the difference. This is the last time in my life that I will use 1and1. They also charge you without notices and their personnel are rude and unprofessional. They went down to often and it is simple horrible.

Avoid them.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Customer service

1and1 is NOT recommended by Carlos. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 30th, 2008 at 15:40 EST by Carlos
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 71.243.98.29
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
36 out of 36 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #153 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
6.60
customer service & billing
1.10
price value for money
5.40
* ratings are out of 10

Terrible Security, Admin response extremely slow.

Start off to say that for a few years I used 1and1 with no problems at all. I had a few mickey mouse sites, nothing big. Not until I started actually building some sites did I notice that there was a HUGE security hole in their system. Safe_mode is off by default, you can see the entire shared server root with the upload of a single .php file uploaded to any directory anywhere. Regardless the chmod permissions on the folder, as long as the .php file is there you can see everything.. and I mean EVERYTHING! You can upload anywhere to that particular shared servers folder. Not only that but a we other holes. I emailed the admin but they have not gotten back to me in days. Even left it up for them to see. Hackers uploaded a linux trojan to their server, the webadmin.php file I was referring to, plus a canadian bank phishing page to my site!! My sites have basically been down a week while I have been switching. Now it even gets better! My 5 domains I had hosted and registered with them I transferred to another place and now they are locked!! Still waiting for them to get this resolved while I lose money everyday. Long story short if you are just doing some little site and you want a pretty good deal, look somewhere else :) If you have a good site then dont even think about it!

Biggest Pro: Decent hosting company for average websites.
Biggest Con: safe_mode is off, you are able to view the directory list of the other shared servers. Highly UNSAFE! I WAS HACKED SEVERAL TI

1and1 is NOT recommended by Elijah. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    55.00% 
Reviewed on July 16th, 2008 at 19:15 EST by Elijah
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 98.148.191.211
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #154 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
9.80
technical support & knowledge
9.80
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Keep your 'Cancel Service' confirmations

I signed up for the service enjoyed the features and low cost.

However, I no longer needed the website and so I cancelled it. i chose the option for keeping the website on until my contract expired.

After that period, 1and1 tried to bill me again, claiming that I did not unsubsribe for their service. They did not acknowledge my confirmation of cancellation number and sent me to collections (which I fought and won)

I do not recommend their service to anyone, unless you like dealing with bill collectors for fraudualent claims.

Wake

Biggest Pro: Good features // good uptime
Biggest Con: Lack of respect. Lack of intergrity when cancelling services

1and1 is NOT recommended by Wake Gregg. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on June 12th, 2008 at 17:20 EST by Wake Gregg
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 192.65.41.18
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #155 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.50
* ratings are out of 10

Customer No Service is their plan

We have an account with 1&1. for the first 2 1/2 years there were no problems. The past 1 1/2 years have been a bad experience. The support staff is in the Philipenes and they are pretty friendly but the sales staff in Chesterbrook, PA is rude and only reads from a script. If the sales people in my organization acted so irritating and discourteous, I'd hire a bull dozer and level that end of our building. My experience each time I've had problems (6 times this year alone) has made my blood pressure rise and set a bad tone for my whole day. These guys are the example of terrible customer service. I'm changing my host as soon as I can.

Biggest Pro: Big Company
Biggest Con: Anti Customer Service Tactics

1and1 is NOT recommended by Jim. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    23.00% 
Reviewed on May 29th, 2008 at 15:09 EST by Jim
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 67.76.171.160
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #156 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
7.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
8.50
* ratings are out of 10

A review of 1&1's shared Linux hosting

When I first started using 1&1 I found their custom control panel very easy to use, and in the subsequent years have found it meets almost all my needs. It is very intuitive, user-friendly and self-explanatory. It also has plenty of extra features that less technical website owners can drop into their sites. Its faults? Can be slow at times, and the statistics section takes more patience than it should. For example, you can't pick a domain, select number of unique visits per month, then click "Go"; instead you have to click unique visits and wait for a page to load, then select a domain and wait for a page to load, then select monthly and wait for a page to load. I have stopped using it in favour of Google Analytics. But that is two small faults in a brilliant control panel that beats the hell out of cPanel.

In total I have used 1&1 for about 5 years, and never once have I seen one of my sites unavailable or received a report of one being unavailable. That is impressive.

The one major fault I have found is customer service. On two occasions I have had cause to contact their call centre. Once for a billing issue, once for a technical issue. On both occasions I had long waits on the phone followed by conversations with people who had low levels of knowledge. Both customer service experiences turned into nightmares that I found hard to resolve. Both these issues arose over 2 years ago, and I haven't had cause to contact them since they were resolved. However, I have had cause to contact them by email, and the response has been prompt, full and helpful more recently (within the past year).

On price, their domains and hosting are reasonable, and they occasionally have good offers e.g. free .com for a year. Certainly not the cheapest, but good value.

Overall, a good host when things are going well, but if something goes wrong, it can be very frustrating.

Biggest Pro: control panel
Biggest Con: customer service

1and1 is recommended by Neil Barron. This person recommends 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    85.00% 
Reviewed on April 22nd, 2008 at 18:01 EST by Neil Barron
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 78.148.175.117
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #157 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
6.50
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.40
* ratings are out of 10

STOP DO NOT DEAL WITH THEM!!!

I went to this so called hosting company three times. The first time I left because I found a better provider at the time. The second time I came back was because of their promotions. The site that I had with the previous company was lost due to a reseller package I had purchased from Ebay. ( you learn from trial and error). Anyway I left them again, this time because there Cpanel tools sucked big time.

(Still sucks!)

I went back to them because they offered another promotion and a magazine article I read gave them a good review. Saying that they were messed up before and their service, pricing plans and Cpanel improved. So I gave them another chance where I started to open my auction site. I hosted with them on their Linux server. I did not starting using their tools or uploading my files right away, but when I did the first thing I found was that they did not have a cgi- bin directory. I had to create one which me being kind not too knowledgeable on the subject i asked for tech support. Tech support sucks. I am not trying to be funny but I made very suspicious of when I called I gotten the same reps they all spoke Indian accent. So i am thinking that this is a family owned call center that handles their account and passing on trouble tickets to them. Anyway to make a long story short the tech gave me the wrong info on how to do it and then verified that i have put the site up right...... Dumb #$$&+

I finally figured it out myself and got my site up. ( I paid someone to do it HA HA...) So after one week of my site being up I wake up this morning to start maintenance, changing files and advertising I can't do it because the Cgi- bin disappeared... poof it's gone. Tried to make another directory their piece of crap Webspace explorer said that the file already exist. What the ..... So I tried to delete it, .... DAH I can't because it's not showing in the directory. So i called tech support again they said that they know of the problem and they are working on it. No garauntee of my site being up and running in no time just please wait for an email that will notify you of what to do or when your site is back up.Still as of yet no site up. so I am going to try one of these top rated sites.

Biggest Pro: NONE
Biggest Con: THEY ARE CONS

1and1 is NOT recommended by Stephen Reed. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    2.00% 
Reviewed on March 1st, 2008 at 13:50 EST by Stephen Reed
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 24.158.102.66
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.301ave.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #158 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
7.00
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

1&1Business Pachage

I have been with 1&1 for a little over four years now. I currently have the business package and host a total of 13 sites with them. They have excellent uptime and a great rate for all the services that they do offer. I have had a few issues with them as their technical support isn't what I would call the greatest and my sites have been hacked several times as it seems they leave it up to you to make sure your web space is secure. I tried a few other hosts but nothing offered as much as 1&1 did for the price and after learning ways to secure my websites I haven't had any real issues with them.

Biggest Pro: Price and amount of space and bandwith offered
Biggest Con: Not very secure

1and1 is recommended by Scott Fuqua. This person recommends 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on February 29th, 2008 at 19:31 EST by Scott Fuqua
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 76.2.235.19
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #159 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.40
server & connection speed
0.40
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Horrible Service and billing system

When it come to cancellation, 1and1 won't do it, even I send a request and said that I follow their direction to cancel one of the service, but I still got billing. I refuse to pay for the service I'd like to cancel. 1and1 shut down all my service, including the one I already pay and still under contract for a few more months... I ask them how about just shut down the one that I like to cancel instead since I don't want service. They refuse to do it and kept shutting down all services have.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Lamina. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on February 27th, 2008 at 19:13 EST by Lamina
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 64.105.253.234
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #160 out of 182 1and1 reviews
1 2  ...  12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.