1and1

Visit 1and1 Visit 1and1   Write your own 1and1 review. Write your own 1and1 review.
18 out of 182 (or 10% of) people recommend 1and1.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.64 / 10.0 4.98 / 10.0 2.95 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.34 / 10.0 2.03 / 10.0
1and1
› Overall Rating ››    21.17% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 141 to 150 out of 182 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2  ...  11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

1and1 reviews

uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
0.50
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

1and1 is BBB rated "F" - Here's one reason why

AVOID 1and1! They will send you to debt collection for something their fault!

They failed to cancel my domains per my request. Apparently I was supposed to get an email from 1and1.com but I never saw this. They email was the last step to their very confusing cancellation process.

It literally takes research to find out how to cancel. You have to log in to another sub-domain that is not well-advertised, there you try to figure out their ambiguous terminology for cancellation (nothing simply put). You get a confirmation (which is worthless unless you answer their email) and then wait for an email to confirm you want to cancel. As it turns out, I never saw that email, so I was "uncanceled". They are now threatening debt collection for their incompetence.

No other registrar is so confusing. Others require a couple of clicks. 1and1 may say this is to protect you but I'm sure the reason for a confusing system is to keep people from leaving.

1and1 is a scam.

Biggest Pro: Cheap - that is until you find out it's a scam
Biggest Con: They make it very difficult to cancel

1and1 is NOT recommended by Al. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on May 8th, 2009 at 02:41 EST by Al
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 24.110.160.199
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #141 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
6.60
server & connection speed
2.70
technical support & knowledge
0.50
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Do not do business with these folk. Choose a reputable company

These folks make it hard to make changes to your account if it means less money for them. I was unable to logon to my account because Safari, my web browser does not reveal all the buttons needed to access it. I later learned I could use Firefox. Calling them, they will not record anything discussed. You had better make sure all your correspondence is in writing, and send it by certified mail. Who want to deal with a company like that, with no integrity? To make a long story short. I asked for a refund because they sold me something I didn't need or want. Then they billed me for it and I was unable to cancel. They sent it out to collections, and my bill doubled over night for something I didn't want, never needed or used. RAPE is the word for how these people do business. My other web site has been problematic. I've had difficulty with log on on at times. Their templates are not flexible. I would probably keep my website with them except for the fact they screwed me over on the other domain. I will gladly pay someone much more than what I pay these folks to move my website elsewhere. I won't do business with a company that treats me like crap.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: No integrity.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Conrad Senior. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    3.00% 
Reviewed on May 7th, 2009 at 06:45 EST by Conrad Senior
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 69.121.211.107
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #142 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
6.10
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
3.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

Easy to use but very limited features and no customer service

At first look they seem to have a lot of features but don't be fooled, NOTHING is customizable with them. I tried to add an SRV record to my domain and the customer service lady wildly was searching for what that means and since it wasn't on her cheat sheet, she told me to write an email to their complaints department and request that feature. Thanks for nothing lady!

Their hosted exchange is down more than up so don't even go there...

If you have very simple websites with nothing extra than go ahed with them but forget the additional thing like "Dynamic Content Catalog", they're down a lot...

T.

Biggest Pro: Easy for very basic setup (1 page website with no extras)
Biggest Con: Very limited features, horrible technical support...

1and1 is NOT recommended by Tamas Sajtos. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on April 12th, 2009 at 14:17 EST by Tamas Sajtos
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 99.178.112.124
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #143 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
9.80
technical support & knowledge
9.90
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.90
* ratings are out of 10

Not the best service but also not the worst

Overall service is good. Over the last few months I have been having sporatic issues downloading email to my outlook. One day I will get connection the next day I wont. They are also not compatible with the blackberry and they have no intentions on adding the RIM service to their program.

Biggest Pro: Price and customer service
Biggest Con: blackberry compatibility

1and1 is recommended by Tarin. This person recommends 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on April 10th, 2009 at 20:31 EST by Tarin
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 66.215.162.90
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #144 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
4.80
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Be Cautious

I am hosting 11 domains on their windows business package. The control panel is HORRIBLE. It is slow, awkward and difficult to navigate.

I moved to the business package specifically to get .Net features. At that point the revelation became obvious. The advertisements are misleading.

The feature set says - multiple domains, FrontPage support, Multiple FTP, Access DB support, ASP.Net and on it goes with features I'm not really interested in.

When I first launched my sites, the global.asa file didn't function, so I shrugged and decided that I didn't really care about that. When I up-graded to business class and couldn't get my aspx files to function, I confronted their "tech help" by phone. That was an interesting experience in hold-shuffle, but eventually I got someone to email me a FAQ (still cant figure out how to get to the specific FAQ from the top) explaining that I must manage a redirect with asp code in the root folder of my account to the folder for the domain. That means every domain must point to the root folder. That is ludicrous! Such an architecture exposes my database folders and private folders to the public browser when the asp file won't run (happens a lot here). Not to mention the fact that all my relative links would be off by a parent tier. So, after several months of trying to fit in here, I have concluded that this is a poor selection.

Bottom line:
You can not have multiple ftp accounts and FP extensions
You can not have multiple domains and ASP.Net in isolated environments
You can not have ASP.Net and MSAccess Databases
You can not have a global.asa file for each domain

A lot of these restrictions explain the site outages (maybe a good week was 96% up). The application pool is shared with all of my domains, so it was pretty easy to exceed the connection limit or other pooled resources.

I'm looking (much more diligently than before) and will be gone soon.

Biggest Pro: fine for single domain
Biggest Con: poor control panel and feature combination

1and1 is NOT recommended by Dave Richmond. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    35.00% 
Reviewed on January 31st, 2009 at 19:58 EST by Dave Richmond
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 98.28.130.212
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.therichmondfamily.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #145 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Stuck in the Past and Weird Policies

I have never had up time issues with these people, but I have never enjoyed their interface... or the way you have to use randomly generated usernames for *everything* except the control panel... and I hate the way they still insist on using PHP4 and support PHP3!!!! MOVE ON PEOPLE!!! (I am currently in the process of switching, but don't plan on renewing. My 6 month billing ends in Feb. 2008)

Biggest Pro: Price, Reliability, Feature Set
Biggest Con: Quirks

1and1 is NOT recommended by Ian Egland. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on December 18th, 2008 at 18:30 EST by Ian Egland
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 71.163.217.235
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #146 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

This is a very unfriendly company

The management site is very unfriendly. You can eventually figure out how to do things but I would say it is suitable for experts only. Adding a product is relatively easy but cancelling one is well nigh impossible. A year and a half ago I turned on the web site builder for a trial. I didn't like it so I attempted to turn it off. Could not. After three requests of customer service, I was told I had to go to a completely different web site to cancel products. I have cancelled that feature every quarter for a year and a half and I am still being billed for it.

I am looking for a new Host.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Very difficult to use. Cannot correct billing problems.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Cad. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on December 6th, 2008 at 17:05 EST by Cad
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 76.187.173.5
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.foxprotips.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #147 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

The worst web hosting company in the world!

This is the worst company I have ever had the displeasure to work with. Their customer support people lack any knowledge, They are rude and they will steal from your credit card. They refuse to cancel services in a timely manner. My web site was down the whole thankgiving weekend after I contacted them the tuesday prior to thanksgiving. It cost me in exceess of $15,000.00 If this was the last hosting company in the world I would form my own company and learn how to host web sites just so I would not have to deal with them. If I could give them a minus rating I would. Avoid this company at all costs!

1and1 is NOT recommended by Patrick J. Papnick. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on December 2nd, 2008 at 11:57 EST by Patrick J. Papnick
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 75.92.143.100
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.seriousfish.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #148 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worst Tech Support Ever

I relied on tech support to help me set up my e-shop. This process was very frustrating as I was put on hold repeatedly for long periods while the person I spoke with relayed my questions to someone else and then relayed the answers to me. I followed there instructions exactly and today I got my first sale payed for with a credit card outside of pay pal. The order shows as paid on my order page and my customer says they have payment conformation but I don't have the money! I called tech support and asked where the payment went and no one knows the just keep telling me to add pay pal as a payment method, I already have pay pal as a payment method. Dealing with 1 and 1 is the worst experiance I have ever had online.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Overseas tech support

1and1 is NOT recommended by Larry Smith. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on November 14th, 2008 at 22:55 EST by Larry Smith
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 70.185.186.59
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.briteideasdecals.biz/   Email: shanghaismith@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #149 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Avoid 1&1 like the Plague

I registered a domain name with them on Monday. I get an email from them right away telling me the name will be available in 24 hours. 48 hours later, my domain name is still "waiting for approval" in their control panel and impossible for me to configure DNS settings(I plan to host domain name with another company). I contacted them twice and both times their response time was great, except they route you to a CSR in India that means well but is absolutely no help at all. I just got off the phone with them and they asked for 12 more hours to sit and wait to see what happens. I have NEVER in my career heard of a domain registration taking 60 hours to propagate! They suck, stay away from them and go with someone else instead. Really, save yourself the frustration from dealing with total incompetence.

Biggest Con: They Lie

1and1 is NOT recommended by Marcoculo. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 22nd, 2008 at 17:46 EST by Marcoculo
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 76.194.213.135
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #150 out of 182 1and1 reviews
1 2  ...  11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.