1and1

Visit 1and1 Visit 1and1   Write your own 1and1 review. Write your own 1and1 review.
18 out of 182 (or 10% of) people recommend 1and1.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.64 / 10.0 4.98 / 10.0 2.95 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.34 / 10.0 2.03 / 10.0
1and1
› Overall Rating ››    21.17% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 131 to 140 out of 182 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2  ...  10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

1and1 reviews

uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

Webmail 1and1 2.0 version is terrible

re:
"At this time, there is no way for a customer to revert back to webmail 1.0, and I doubt it will ever be an option since 2.0 is quite better."

But it isn't better.

It's slower.
It takes forever to load and often times out.
You can't just click a box on the left to delete multiple items at once like you used to.
There is more spam.
There is a coding problem causing intermittent problems whereby recipients of an email from me can't read the email (which has never happened before).

It's not better.

And the customer service is terrible. Call them -- each person will be reading from a script. Ask for a supervisor. He or she will read from a script as well. Try to reach someone in corporate. Try to find the corporate number -- it takes some intense research. And when you finally reach corporate, the person you talk to will reroute you to the same IT Department that you spoke with in the first place.

Email them -- and wait for a response. See if the response they give you actually addresses the problem you contacted them about in the first place. See if it looks like a canned response, or as if they have made any changes or taken any proactive steps to address the matter.

Good luck.

Biggest Con: Slowness

1and1 is NOT recommended by Lisa. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on January 4th, 2010 at 13:54 EST by Lisa
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 66.213.29.2
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #131 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
6.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
2.70
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Technical support is a joke

To say bad wouldn't do justice to how truly awful one and one (1and1) are.

If you like sleepless nights, endless hold music and contradictory advice from people with laughable technical knowledge then try one and one.

In my ten years as a web designer I haven't had such a bad experience as 1and1.

Avoid these guys.

1and1 is NOT recommended by charles fenoughty. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on January 4th, 2010 at 11:27 EST by charles fenoughty
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 81.149.181.157
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.free-date-service.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #132 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.50
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.50
* ratings are out of 10

Worst Web Hosting in the industry!

I gave them a credit card, my web master gave them a back-up credit card, I also authorized them to take Paypal payments. They STILL shut me down for non-payment!! They never even submitted the billing to Paypal! I lost thousands in revenue! Customer Service is non-existant and rude!

Biggest Pro: NONE!
Biggest Con: They shut you down for no reason!!

1and1 is NOT recommended by Stephanie Jones. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 2nd, 2010 at 19:18 EST by Stephanie Jones
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 64.12.117.72
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.condosindaytona.us/   Email: sjones9788@aol.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #133 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
2.70
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Stay far far away; especially from their "free trials"

I tried their advanced eshop because I was lured in by the 90 day free trial. After about 2 weeks of trying to configure and working with their tech support, I finally realized that it did not have some basic functions that I really needed; like interfacing to UPS and customizing the look of the template or showing product details.

I spend the next 2 and half months trying to cancel the account. Needless to say, their 90 day trial is a complete fraud and I now have to fight with my credit card company because they won't cancel the contract. Save your money and stay away from them for anything other than buying your domain name. Corecommerce is much better for ecommerce.

Biggest Pro: I would say price but I can't because you can't get a functioning site
Biggest Con: False advertising; you can't cancel the trial period offered

1and1 is NOT recommended by Sean Gillespie. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on November 24th, 2009 at 22:12 EST by Sean Gillespie
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 173.88.9.111
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.musclefeast.com/   Email: sean@musclefeast.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #134 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

They suck, I received TONS of bills when I didn't authorize charg

I have tons of bills from them that they put in collection. They CLAIM that they tried to get me re domains that were expiring, and couldn't so charged a chard. Problem is that I didn't want the domain names anymore, the card is expired and they NEVER even tried to call me (they emailed at an old email address).

They are SCUM, don't do business with them, now I'm fighting these filthy douche bags, and will never do bus with them again. If I can help save anyone the PAIN and aggregation and wasted money, my financial losses with them would have been worth it.

ANGRY 1&1 Former Customer

Biggest Con: They lie, and give inferior service. SCAM, SCUM, FILTH, DOUCHE BAGS

1and1 is NOT recommended by James Curry. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on September 24th, 2009 at 20:36 EST by James Curry
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 69.86.76.10
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #135 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
3.00
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
7.00
* ratings are out of 10

1and1 Not Recommended

If you don't mind not being able to access your web mail for hours, sometime days, on end and non-existent customer support, 1and1 is the host for you. Otherwise, do yourself a favor and find another host.

Biggest Con: Performance & Customer Support

1and1 is NOT recommended by Greg. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    25.00% 
Reviewed on July 29th, 2009 at 11:14 EST by Greg
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 170.143.252.33
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #136 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

1and1 is a ripoff

I parked a domain at 1and1 12 months ago and registered with an email account that is not frequently used.

I actually forgot all about the account with 1and1 and the credit card associated with the account was canceled.

So the reminder from 1and1 went into junk mail. anyway, there collection agency had no trouble sending me a mail telling me that the amount was in collection. 1and1 had my home phone and physical address. what a way to win the hearts of customers. :(

BAD BAD BAD, I hope my rant will save another sucker the punch from 1and1.... STAY AWAY

Biggest Pro: NONE
Biggest Con: SHARKS IN THE WATER

1and1 is NOT recommended by Blair Shaw. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 13th, 2009 at 19:22 EST by Blair Shaw
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 67.182.134.190
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #137 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
7.50
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

nightmare experience with 1and1 domain registrations

this company does everything they can to prevent you from managing multiple domains. their system makes it as burdensome and difficult, obscure and slow as possible to be able to manage multiple domains. they will gladly and quickly accept domains being brought in, but letting you out? forget about it. unless they can bill you for another year in advance, you can forget about moving your domains to any other domain registration company, as this company will make it as confusing and difficult to transfer your domains out as it can be humanly imaginable.

they recently blocked all my transfer requests on a 30+ domain transfer out of 1and1, refused to answer transfer emails that should have been delivered to our company mailbox and that were being withheld by them and not properly forwarded to me, they delayed transfers until we threatened them with legal action if they didn't allow the transfers to go through, and ultimately, changed the expiration date for many domains that had not yet expired in order to charge us for at least 15 domains that we should have never been billed for;

finally, after billing us, they didn't update the date in the whois, so the new registrar sees no updates to the registry expiration dates, and this would mean that we were defrauded by 1and1, as registry expiration dates not only were not updated, but that 1and1 BILLED US AND DID NOT RENEW OUR DOMAINS since we were transferring them out!!!!

we had to send them letters and calls and it was a NIGHTMARE to try to get our domains out, 1and1 ended up DELETING 8 domains of our 30 domains, when we tried to transfer them out; and refused to acknowledge the transfer requests, now we have 8 domains in redemption because of the REFUSAL of 1and1 to transfer our domains; charged us in advance for 22 domains that we attempted to transfer BEFORE expiration, and DID NOT UPDATE THE REGISTRY DATE AFTER CHARGING US!

UNBELIEVABLE! we are filing a complaing with ICANN about this. Do NOT HOST ANY DOMAINS WITH 1AND1! it's a NIGHTMARE to manage any domains you have, you won't be able to pull them out of there when you need to do this quickly and timely, pay 1 dollar at any other better registration company, and do not EVER consider 1and1 for your domain registration needs, not only it's a nightmare, but also have SCAM policies in order to improperly bill you in advance for unexpired domains and to make the whole process as burdensome, difficult, impossible and horrible as possible! you have to even FAX a signed LETTER and do a double confirmation ONLINE plus TWO different cancel processes, in addition to unlocking, and you must make SURE that you change to emails NOT HOSTED WITH 1AND1 if you expect to RECEIVE the transfer emails,

or else you will not receive your transfer emails, they will withhold them!

in other words,

if you have a domain with 1and1, and ALSO hosting, you have a BIG PROBLEM!

DO NOT HOST ANY DOMAINS WITH 1AND1!!! NIGHTMARE COMPANY!!!

Biggest Con: nightmare to manage multiple domains, overly slow, improper billing practices, makes almost impossible to domain transfer out

1and1 is NOT recommended by vnm webmaster. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    39.00% 
Reviewed on June 12th, 2009 at 17:30 EST by vnm webmaster
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 207.38.176.77
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #138 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
8.00
* ratings are out of 10

Zero Tech Support

I've been with these guys for quite a while using Front PAge Extentions. I am moving to ASP.Net and some of the stuff works as advertised but when it comes to databases they are terrible. They have their own protcols in the name of security, they won't support an ACCESS database and I have been rond and round with tech support until they finally sent an e-mail that told me to do what I started the e-mail string with. Amazing. I'll leave simple sites with them but I'm moving ASP.Net somewhere else.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Steve B. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on May 21st, 2009 at 08:33 EST by Steve B
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 97.104.13.43
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #139 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Poor customer service, they don't care

I started a website on 1 and 1, using their business website set up. I signed up for the service, and found an additional charge on my credit card for $19.95. Since they said they had a 30 day money back guarantee, however, they told me it did not apply to that charge. That makes no sense to me, either you have a money back guarantee or you don't. I didn't even have the service for two days, and they billed me anyway. I wrote to the company and called them several times, and they did nothing. Do not use them, unless you are prepared to get ripped off.

Biggest Con: terrible customer service and they don't back up their guarantee

1and1 is NOT recommended by Daniel Partsch. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on May 12th, 2009 at 12:51 EST by Daniel Partsch
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 69.137.114.121
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.suttonparks.com/   Email: sp37064@yahoo.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #140 out of 182 1and1 reviews
1 2  ...  10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.