1and1

Visit 1and1 Visit 1and1   Write your own 1and1 review. Write your own 1and1 review.
18 out of 182 (or 10% of) people recommend 1and1.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.64 / 10.0 4.98 / 10.0 2.95 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.34 / 10.0 2.03 / 10.0
1and1
› Overall Rating ››    21.17% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 121 to 130 out of 182 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2  ...  9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

1and1 reviews

uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
0.20
technical support & knowledge
4.40
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.60
* ratings are out of 10

1and1 truly sucks

if you are lucky enough to see all these BAD reivews BEFORE you sign up with them, DONT!
If you are still with them (LIKE ME) try to move right away. The more of us that move, the quicker they will be forced to shut down. COntinue to spread the word about this terrible company so that others are warned - together, we can bring them DOWN. PS, the techs over there do not know about shopping cart software!

1and1 is NOT recommended by james. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    2.00% 
Reviewed on April 12th, 2010 at 13:17 EST by james
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 67.49.8.237
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #121 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
4.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Well, they were good.

Gee, I thought I'd already gone through all the paypal hoops the first time I selected it as a payment method. Apparently not! Realised my site was down, went to check why, for some stupid reason even though I'd already done the payment authorization garbage the first time, it had apparently wanted me to do it again and the emails were going to an old address I don't use anymore. So yeah, they sent it to collections over a 9 buck charge.

Oh yeah, the 9 buck charge. Apparently you can't transfer an external domain in and have it be one of your included domains. Isn't that fabulous? Oh, not to mention that whatever the hell they did with the transfer process screwed it up so badly that that particular domain name was down entirely for two months. Thank the gods it's a personal site and I don't run a business.

And yeah, because of that garbage they freeze the ENTIRE account. They make you pay six months at a time and mine's paid up through freaking May. So uh, why again is my other site down? The one with a different domain name? That's paid through May? Too late tonight to call them and complain, but I'm sure as heck doing it in the morning.

Ridiculous. I'd had no problems with them for years, but it's time to go elsewhere.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Shawna. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on March 23rd, 2010 at 01:16 EST by Shawna
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 68.210.140.254
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #122 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
3.50
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worst Customer Service ever.

1&1 internet has the worst customer service, tech support and billing people that you will ever deal with. Tech support always blames everything on the customer even when it clearly is not our fault. All billing errors on their part are our responsibility to pay and if you ask for their supervisor like I did you get lectured then hung up on if you dare to ask for their name.

Biggest Pro: Good user interface
Biggest Con: Horrible people

1and1 is NOT recommended by James Burke. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on March 11th, 2010 at 12:12 EST by James Burke
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 173.15.192.217
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #123 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
2.30
server & connection speed
2.20
technical support & knowledge
1.50
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.30
* ratings are out of 10

Awful Company - no ethics and no concept of Customer Service

Rarely do I take the time to write a review, but our experience has been so awful with this company that I had to put something online to warn other potential customers that no matter how tempting the cheap price might be -- you really lose in the end. A maze of customer service -- that's more aptly a "Customer Disservice" program.

Biggest Con: Customer Service/Billing

1and1 is NOT recommended by Kelly . This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on February 19th, 2010 at 12:24 EST by Kelly
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 174.58.9.236
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #124 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
3.10
server & connection speed
4.10
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
5.60
* ratings are out of 10

Lamentable... and getting worse

There are plenty of reasons to not use 1&1, from an overseas based, heavily accented, entirely script driven technical support department nobody can understand, to really bizarre aspects of their control panel such as the arbitrary constraints puts on resource records (to give you an example, there is an inexplicable 30 character limit on CNAME records).

When it comes to the administration of your package, what really grates are the small things, such as the fact when transferring or cancelling a domain you have to print off and fax back a form only to discover that no fax number is listed either on the form or anywhere on their site. You have to phone the 0871 helpdesk and ask for it. If you Google, all you bump into is other mystified customers asking the same question.

When it comes to hosting, for our sins we have a number of dedicated servers and one virtual server. The virtual server is of course shared and for whatever reason reboots possibly once per week - no explanation is ever given as to why it happens. It just does and with frustrating regularity.

Nobody on the help desk knows and nobody cares either. The dedicated server has a dedicated line which in all fairness is answered promptly, but the shared server does not. So even though we've been paying 1&1 a tidy sum every month for years now, we are always asked to phone back on another number and talk to the incomprehensible phone robots when enquiring about any matter not directly related to the dedicated servers.

In essence, you are treated not as a valued customer but purely on the basis of whichever product it is that you're phoning about at the time. Which makes everything feel like the company is run on the basis of 'least cost' rather than 'best service'. And of course it's then that you are then reminded why you foolishly signed up to them in the first place.

In short: AVOID. Avoid like the plague. 1&1 are really not worth any savings you think you might make. We've had enough of a backend they have made little effort to improve over ten years, a helpdesk run from screen prompts an an assumption that everyone on the phone is an idiot, and we're FINALLY taking the time out to move everything someplace else.

Bye, 1&1!

Biggest Pro: Highly competitive pricing
Biggest Con: Highly awful everything else

1and1 is NOT recommended by Jamie Cunningham. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    8.00% 
Reviewed on February 1st, 2010 at 10:18 EST by Jamie Cunningham
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 81.178.13.31
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #125 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
7.60
server & connection speed
8.50
technical support & knowledge
0.80
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

DO NOT EVER and I really mean EVER do business with this company

What can I say, this company is the WORST. It is virtually impossible to resolve any issue whatsoever in a timely or satisfactory fashion. Their tech support is awful, the customer service is worse. Promises mean absolutely nothing. Expidited action means several weeks. If I had some way of putting this business out of business, I would.

Please do yourself and anyone you know a BIG favor. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH 1and1.

You WILL be sorry if you do.

Biggest Con: They are completely worthless in every respect.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Marc Wexler. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 29th, 2010 at 17:56 EST by Marc Wexler
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 24.20.33.142
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: marcwex@verizon.net
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #126 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

RUN AWAY FROM THIS CORRUPT COMPANY! NOW!

I have experienced nothing but pain and obstacles. I agree with all the complaints. They canceled my domain for my business without notice, consequently my website and business e-mail went down. I don't iknow how long it is going to take me to get my website running again.They require paperwork and $40 for redemption even though my domain expired just yesterday. They removed it from the control panel, and I was informed thar I cannoy pay the $8.99/year fee before I fill out the redemption form. I should have left them when they sent me to collections a few years ago for the same amount regardless of the fact that i did not get a reminder or a bill. I feel pretty stupid and conned. Just move your services from them NOW! You can't afford to stay in their sticky nets. Take action and report to BBB. Tell all your friends. We should get together and sue this company all together. UNETHICAL PRACTICES! I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF A WORST WEB HOSTING/DOMAIN REGISTRY COMPANY. THEY ARE CROOKS!

Biggest Con: UNETHICAL BILLING AND PAYMENT PRACTICES

1and1 is NOT recommended by Missy Little. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 16th, 2010 at 15:48 EST by Missy Little
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 207.108.121.68
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #127 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
4.00
customer service & billing
7.20
price value for money
1.80
* ratings are out of 10

Bad Hosting

I contacted 1and 1 hosting four or five times becouse my web site could not be found by the search engines. They would me to try this and that but not one thing they told my to try worked. I was on a year contract that up on 1/3/10 but I was charged for service up to 2/04/10.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Richard Hilderbrand. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    22.00% 
Reviewed on January 13th, 2010 at 13:27 EST by Richard Hilderbrand
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 99.197.241.51
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #128 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

HORRIBLE HOST! HOST ONLY IF YOU WANT TO LOSE MONEY & SERVER TIME!

This company is the worst host provider out there. Their customer service department lies to you and their billing department bills you for things that you never ordered.

STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY. I promise you will regret going with them!

Biggest Pro: NONE!!
Biggest Con: Customer Service LIES to you!!

1and1 is NOT recommended by Andy. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 7th, 2010 at 11:48 EST by Andy
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 70.109.140.135
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: wats3221@yahoo.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #129 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
7.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Very disappointed with 1&1

1&1 sent my account to collections for not paying $7 to keep my domain active. I didn't want that particular domain name anymore, and was happy to just let it go. I figured, by not paying, the domain would be made available to the public again. True, I could have called to cancel. However, I don't think you send customers to colletions after only one email reminder. Yes, that's all 1&1 sent out. I save ALL my emails, as they don't take up that much room, and double checked just to make sure. They sent me one email saying that if I wanted to keep my domain name, I needed to pay the $7 fee. There was nothing in that email about how to cancel my account, nor any mention of being sent to collections if I don't pay. This is a very poor business practice and I will not use nor recommend 1&1 to anybody.

Biggest Con: Sent me to collections after two months, for $7.00.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Jeff Markowski. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on January 5th, 2010 at 14:18 EST by Jeff Markowski
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 97.90.18.160
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #130 out of 182 1and1 reviews
1 2  ...  9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.