1and1

Visit 1and1 Visit 1and1   Write your own 1and1 review. Write your own 1and1 review.
18 out of 182 (or 10% of) people recommend 1and1.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.64 / 10.0 4.98 / 10.0 2.95 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.34 / 10.0 2.03 / 10.0
1and1
› Overall Rating ››    21.17% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 111 to 120 out of 182 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2  ...  8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

1and1 reviews

uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.80
* ratings are out of 10

Stay away

Used them for a few years for a bunch of domains (business hosting) and they were great in the beginning. Maybe they were sold to another co. because for a year now I had nothing but problems. Their tech support is outsourced to some backwater Indian sh!thole village where you can't understand a word they're saying their English is so dwarfed. My servers were down on a DAILY BASIS, they would not do anything about it. Speed would come to a crawl at unpredictable intervals. Eventually I gave up on these guys and moved my hosting elsewhere. I would not recommend these guys to anyone.

Biggest Pro: Cost and speed - when it's working!
Biggest Con: Reliability is very poor customer service sucks

1and1 is NOT recommended by Michael Philips. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on June 7th, 2010 at 13:44 EST by Michael Philips
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 76.169.35.87
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.mozgomedia.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #111 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Beware and avoid!

Had a problem right from the start, I canceled right away and confirmed by email but I was billed anyway. Now I have to go through all the hassle of disputing the bill and monitoring my card for the next year. Think about it you were warned!

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: dishonest

1and1 is NOT recommended by PM. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on May 28th, 2010 at 10:30 EST by PM
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 97.103.24.31
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #112 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Terrible Experience

They will not stop charging me. I canceled my package and tried to get rid of everything and they still charge me. Now when I get on their site, I have no package to cancel but I still have to pay for a package.

Biggest Pro: I can't find one
Biggest Con: Too Many

1and1 is NOT recommended by Sam. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on May 25th, 2010 at 16:48 EST by Sam
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 68.46.194.107
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.slash360.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #113 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
8.40
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worst Web Host EVER

Under no circumstances should you think about hosting with 1&1. The worst customer service I have ever experienced. I am presently trying to cancel my hosting account with them, and have paid for several calls due to their rude, unhelpful customer service. I am STILL trying to get out of this account! Go with TSO Host, they're wonderful.

Biggest Con: Their people. Their service.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Monica. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on May 25th, 2010 at 08:19 EST by Monica
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 217.34.40.170
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #114 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
6.40
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

1 and 1 support is awful.

I am new to building websites. I am just now starting a business. Twice in the last two months, 1 and 1 has lost my website and my files. I called support today to find out why, and the fellow on the line had no clue what the term "my website was deleted" meant. He kept thinking I wanted to delete my website. After several minutes of trying to communicate with him, I asked if I could speak to another support person. He said he was the only one. I told him that I doubted that. I asked for his supervisor, but apparently the supervisor was on another call (perhaps another lie). I asked again for another support person. He told me I had to call back. This is the worst service I have ever had, even worse than working with AT&T (and that is really bad).

Biggest Con: Absolutely no service

1and1 is NOT recommended by Lisa Winn. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on May 11th, 2010 at 12:02 EST by Lisa Winn
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 99.63.121.111
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #115 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
6.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
6.60
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Run as Fast as You Can from 1and1

There are at least four reasons why you should never deal with 1and1:

1. Substandard domain setup
2. Outdated technologies
3. Extremely frequent outages
4. Poor support

I've written a dedicated blog post about all these reasons. The post is available at http://www.ko-sw.com/Blog/post/Changing-the-Hosting-Provider.aspx

Biggest Pro: Unlimited traffic
Biggest Con: Poor support, constant outages

1and1 is NOT recommended by Kirill Osipov. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on May 4th, 2010 at 09:07 EST by Kirill Osipov
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 194.85.173.1
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.ko-sw.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #116 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.20
server & connection speed
8.40
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

STAY AWAY FROM THESE CROOKS

1and1 took advantage of my little knowledge of hosting and instead of exchanging plans to get me the right one for my website SIGNED ME UP FOR 5+ yearly contracts. They told me I can only use their money back guarantee once and that I'm stuck even though I was just trying to get the right package to host my site. Their billing managers are dicks and are very rude. They DARE you to take action against them and are just unorganized. They promise one thing one moment and then renig the next moment. They sent me to collections for 40 dollars all while charging my credit card monthly without notifying me or anything. I hate this company with a passion. I hope their ship sinks along with the crooks it keeps afloat. Also I remind you Sedo and this company are in kahoots. Just google Sedo and you will see what I mean.

Biggest Pro: A lot of bad reviews out there
Biggest Con: Bad billing practices

1and1 is NOT recommended by Justin Whitesides. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    3.00% 
Reviewed on April 27th, 2010 at 16:03 EST by Justin Whitesides
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 12.165.62.178
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #117 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

BUYER BEWARE!

Know what you are committing to. It is not going to be easy to CXL after the trial period for 1 YEAR! Their customer service is NO SERVICE and have and “attitude”. I signed up and never transferred OR used their web service and find I missed some “fine print” and locked into a year of NOTHING! Good Luck and WATCH OUT! Buyer Beware!

Biggest Con: CUSTOMER "NO" SERVICE > Billing and Contract!

1and1 is NOT recommended by Ken Teeter. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    5.00% 
Reviewed on April 26th, 2010 at 09:19 EST by Ken Teeter
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 184.0.133.166
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #118 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
3.00
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Avoid 1and1, nothing but trouble for three years now.

I have used this company for three years. They constantly have server problems with very slow servers. E-mail service is the absolute worst I have ever seen. Their website creation tool freezes mid creation and you lose all your files. At first I thought it was my pc causing the problems but even after buying a new pc I still have problems. It is on thier end not mine. I am definitely moving to another host just as soon as I can. Never pay a new host more than a few months up front. You have to be able to try them out before a long committment.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Horrible server speeds and software interface

1and1 is NOT recommended by jim. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on April 17th, 2010 at 18:03 EST by jim
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 66.188.15.19
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #119 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
7.00
* ratings are out of 10

Avoid 1and1 for its very poor tech support

My VPS worked fine during 1 year, then it went down for no reason.
I called the support 4 times and after 30 hours my VPS is still down.
I received absolutely NO information from the support, "an incident is open on your server" is the only reply I got. Not even an estimated timeframe to get my server back.
I asked them if 30 hours of down time seemed normal for them and they replied me that is it the average problem resolution time :-(

I'm realy realy pissed at them, and beleive me it is the last time I'll use their services.

Biggest Con: Really poor tech support

1and1 is NOT recommended by alain. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on April 14th, 2010 at 13:01 EST by alain
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 77.84.169.200
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #120 out of 182 1and1 reviews
1 2  ...  8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.